Questions tagged [spellcasting]

For questions relating to the process of casting spells within a game. Including, but not limited to: spellcasting mechanics, improving likelihood of success when casting a spell, interrupting the casting of a spell, and mechanics surrounding spellcasting attributes (when applicable by system).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
102 views

Can you Heighten the fear spell to level 2 or level 4? What happens when you do?

Really, the fear spell is just an example and this can be generalized to other spells, but let's look at this spell in particular. Cast at 1st level, fear targets 1 creature, and, looking at its ...
6
votes
2answers
640 views

Clarifications on how rituals work

I play a bard and my party wants me to learn the spell Leomund's Tiny Hut (or Tiny Hut for those without the full access to D&D Beyond). That spell is tagged as ritual, and before agreeing to take ...
-3
votes
4answers
585 views

How can Flameskulls cast fireball without fingers?

This thread points out that although DMs can (and probably should) interpret rules to cover certain cases themselves, nothing within spellcasting rules or spells written at the time clearly states ...
5
votes
1answer
638 views

What are the balance implications of letting a wizard subclass have more prepared spells?

I'm working with a player who has a homebrew wizard subclass and we were discussing the possibility of giving it a list of spells that was automatically learned and prepared for this class. We ...
7
votes
3answers
544 views

Can you use your infused Armor as your spellcasting focus?

Artificers have to hold a tool or an infused item in hand to cast spells... Tools Required You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves' tools or some kind of artisan's tool—in hand when ...
0
votes
2answers
117 views

What spells on the TCoE Artificer Spell List require a free hand when the Artificer holds an infused item in their hand?

Considering the class feature Tools Required: You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Redundant bonus spells for cleric peace domain

At first level, peace clerics gain heroism and sanctuary. But don't all clerics already have access to all cleric spells (at the appropriate levels), which includes sanctuary? Only wizards, warlock, ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

The Genie warlock patron's Expanded Spell List adds the Wish spell as a 9th-level Mystic Arcanum option. Do they suffer stress from using Wish?

I was flicking through the Warlock section of the Tasha's Cauldron of Everything book, and found that the Expanded Spell List for the Genie warlock patron (p. 73) offers the spell wish at 9th level. ...
2
votes
1answer
214 views

Sheathing/unsheathing weapons to cast spells

My friend is playing as a cleric that uses a shield in combat. I am unsure of how the rules for sheathing/dropping weapons work. The way my friend is playing, he seems to be able to cast a spell and ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

How can this regular hobgoblin from the Acquisitions Incorporated adventure "The Orrery of the Wanderer" use a Spell Scroll?

The official D&D 5e book Acquisitions Incorporated published by Wizards of the Coast includes an adventure, The Orrery of the Wanderer. In a section of Episode 2 (p. 116), a hobgoblin carries ...
6
votes
3answers
400 views

Please review my Occult Caster homebrew feat

I got this feat idea thinking what I would like my Lore Bard to become. I wanted him to play with dangerous lore, one that could get him hurt in exchange from some power. On the other hand, I do not ...
6
votes
2answers
257 views

What is "caster level" referring to in the rules for activating a magic item?

The rules for Activating a Magic Item state: Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and ...
3
votes
1answer
227 views

What are the benefits of being able to remove somatic components from casting a spell?

What are the full benefits if somatic components are removed from casting a spell (ie. using still spell metamagic feat.)? A lot of d20 based video games have the benefit of removing the arcane spell ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Do spells gained via feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched count as "always prepared" for classes that prepare spells?

Feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 79-80) grant you spells that you can cast once per long rest for free, or you can spend spell slots on them. For ...
4
votes
1answer
778 views

Lore of relation between warlock and wild magic

I have a question about wild-magic areas in D&D. I'm playing D&D 5e but my question is more lore related. I can accept a dead-magic answer (the same logic applies here) :) Do wild-magic zones ...
5
votes
1answer
224 views

When a caster affected by the Slow spell doesn't complete the spell they're casting, does it consume the spell slot and material components?

One of the effect of slow on a creature is (emphasis mine): If the creature attempts to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, roll a d20. On an 11 or higher, the spell doesn't take effect ...
6
votes
1answer
206 views

Question regarding Pact magic with multiclassing and a class specific bonus

I play a 6 bard/ 4 warlock multiclass. My character recently obtained a rhythm makers drum +3, giving a +3 bonus to my bard spells' DC and rolls. I am curious if I were to cast a spell I had taken on ...
4
votes
1answer
203 views

If my character has the Familiar Conduit feat, how do I calculate the success or failure of a touch spell that uses the familiar?

The description of the Familiar Conduit feat reads: Under your tutelage, your familiar has grown attuned to the hidden currents of the world and can serve as a conduit for your magic. If the next ...
1
vote
0answers
58 views

Casting Somatic Spells while handless (rules as intended) [duplicate]

This question hasn't popped up in any of my games, whether as DM or player, but I thought of it while coming up with character concepts and wondered how it should be ruled. If a caster does not have ...
2
votes
1answer
304 views

Can you target yourself with touch spells [duplicate]

I have been asked by one of my players “can I touch myself with a spell the has a range of touch?” Most touch spell say “you touch a willing creature of your choice,” or something along those lines. ...
2
votes
2answers
303 views

Can a character with the Magic Initiate feat use the appropriate arcane/druidic/holy focus?

The Magic Initiate feat lets you pick a few spells from a number of classes' spell lists, each of which has their own rules for using a focus in place of material components - notably, it excludes the ...
8
votes
3answers
932 views

Can I just hold my Spellcasting Focus, instead of a material (with a price) that I own, to cast a spell?

Let's say that I want to cast Soul Cage. I know that I need the tiny silver cage worth 100gp. Can I just have it attached to my belt and cast the spell using my Spellcasting focus, or do I need to ...
12
votes
2answers
579 views

Can an Aberrant Mind Sorcerer cast Scrying using sorcery points without a 1000 gp focus?

Scrying has an M requirement of a focus worth at least 1,000 gp, such as a crystal ball, a silver mirror, or a font filled with holy water. While not explicit, this focus is presumably used to ...
2
votes
1answer
637 views

Does a warlock require material components for a Mystic Arcanum spell?

The description in the Warlock class says only: At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. ...
-2
votes
1answer
202 views

What is the longest possible time a player character can spend preparing their spell list?

Steve is a hypothetical PC with 20 levels in Wizard and an intelligence modifier of +5, and as such he can prepare a total of 25 spells every day. He also has all spells a Wizard could ever learn in ...
6
votes
1answer
618 views

Mirror Image and shield combo

On the topic of mirror image and shield combo, lets say a creature successfully attacks the real one and then the defender decides to use shield as a reaction, which comes first and which has priority?...
4
votes
1answer
391 views

Can you choose same spell twice from different sources?

I am optimizing my Warlock character now and wanted to pick new UA (for now) Hexblood race (detailed in this Unearthed Arcana article). I will get a free hex once per long rest as racial trait. I'm ...
5
votes
1answer
637 views

Can an Alchemist Artificer use Alchemical Savant on the casting of a spell with no Material components?

I have looked for any rules on this and cannot find any, and before you say "It doesn't matter flavour however you like", I have a specific example. In the alchemist subclass for the ...
9
votes
1answer
329 views

Can a high level warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets learn ritual spells higher than 5th level?

Let's say I'm an 11th level Pact of the Tome Warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets. I'm able to learn spells to cast as rituals from any source, I can transcribe spells up to half my level rounded up, ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Does True Strike alert an enemy to my presence? [duplicate]

The spell text makes no mention of any effect that would be perceived by the target, so unless there is another rule that would come into play, I suspect that a player could use True Strike without ...
4
votes
0answers
71 views

Trouble with spellcasting classes and their save DCs in Pathfinder [closed]

So I've played a caster in several Pathfinder games with my friends over the years, but I've continued to have the same problem with a lot of them. Namely, because of how save DCs work and how a lot ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul Sorcerer replace two spells at level up?

All sorcerers are allowed to replace one spell they known when they level up: Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the Sorcerer Spells you know and replace it with ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

If a spell is twinned, does the caster need to provide costly material components for each target?

The Divine Soul Sorcerer can gain access to the revivify spell pretty easily (along with other costly resurrection spells), which has a costly material component that the spell consumes (300 gp worth ...
2
votes
0answers
24 views

When casting Faerie Fire from Ring of Shooting Stars, do you need to maintain concentration? [duplicate]

Ring of Shooting Stars says Faerie Fire: You can expend 1 charge as an action to cast Faerie Fire from the ring. Since it says you cast the spell from the ring, I wonder if you need to maintain ...
11
votes
1answer
123 views

Does Heart of the Storm still trigger if the spell was countered?

The Storm Sorcerer has an ability called Heart of the Storm: At 6th level, you gain resistance to lightning and thunder damage. In addition, whenever you start casting a spell of 1st level or higher ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

2-Action Heal vs. 3-Action Heal

Quick and easy question: Does the 3-Action Level 1 Heal Spell heal for 1d8, or 1d8+8? Is it a general rule that a 3-Action variant of a spell includes the effect of the 2-Action variant? Or is it a ...
1
vote
1answer
427 views

Can you Counterspell a spell cast using a Ring of Spell Storing? [duplicate]

Is a spell cast using a Ring of Spell Storing observable, in the sense that you could Counterspell it? Or is it essentially same as if you cast a spell using something like a Sorcerer's Subtle Spell ...
2
votes
1answer
223 views

Can you silence a spell? (i.e. Eldritch Blast, Thunderwave)

I'm going to multiclass as a Rogue Warlock, and I thought it'd be fun to use Eldritch Blast (Eldritch Spear) as a sort of sniper weapon. Is there some ability/item that allows you to silence spells, ...
0
votes
0answers
42 views

Can you use your once a day Lv1 Spell with Magic Initiate feat with a higher spell slot you have if you are a caster class? [duplicate]

Can you use you once a day Lv1 Spell with Magic Initiate feat with a higher spell slot you have if you are a caster class? EX: If Wizard with Magic Initiate feat hand chose the Lv1 Chromatic Orb spell ...
9
votes
1answer
218 views

Spell Attack for Cantrips not of your tradition

This occured to me when reviewing the Kobold Sorcerer Grimmnir from the "Little Trouble in Big Absalom" Module. As a Sorcerer of the demonic bloodline, Grimmnir is a spontaneous divine ...
5
votes
2answers
356 views

How does absorb elements work with pre-existing resistances

So I've looked around and can't find an answer that quite fits what I'm wondering. For example, if I were to already have fire resistance, and I get hit with a red dragon's fire breath, would casting ...
4
votes
1answer
396 views

Is a spell still active if a character does not sustain it one turn?

On round one, K'zard the wizard casts Flaming Sphere. On round two, K'zard doesn't sustain the spell. Can K'zard sustain the spell on round three?
3
votes
0answers
31 views

Casting spells that require sight through familiar sight [duplicate]

Here is the setup: I play a sorcerer and got blinded and deafened at the start of the combat I use my action to use my familiar's senses, which leaves me blinded and deafened, which I already am My ...
4
votes
2answers
516 views

Can an Order of Scribes wizard cast 'touch' spells through Manifest Mind?

If I wanted to cast bestow curse via the spectral mind from the Order of Scribes' Manifest Mind ability on an enemy adjacent to it, would I be able to? Manifest Mind lets you cast spells 'as if you ...
4
votes
1answer
326 views

Does Voice of the Chain Master allow casting certain spells from an isolated space?

An interesting question popped into my brain recently while researching the Pact of the Chain for a Genie Patron Warlock. Casual shenanigans aside, I was wondering if taking Voice of the Chain Master ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Spell with “Self” Range be Cast by Homunculus Servant?

I’m playing an artificer for the first time and trying to decide whether or not to use an infusion for the homunculus servant. But I’m wondering about the channel magic ability. It says The ...
0
votes
0answers
95 views

Is an Immovable Rod a valid spellcasting focus? [duplicate]

The Dungeon Master's Guide classifies an immovable rod as a rod rather than a wondrous item. Does this imply that it is a valid spellcasting focus? If not, what purpose does this classification serve?
1
vote
0answers
39 views

Can Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells that are not Enchantments or Illusions? [duplicate]

Can multiclass Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells they know that are not Enchantments or Illusions?
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Can hags still cast when members of their coven die?

My last D&D session included a fight against a coven of sea hags. Hags have some interesting and a bit ambiguous rules about how the coven works. One of the rules was this: Shared Spellcasting (...
7
votes
1answer
498 views

Do the Illusionist's Bracers allow you to concentrate on two cantrips?

Illusionist's Bracers (GGR p178) Says: whenever you cast a cantrip, you can use a bonus action on the same turn to cast that cantrip a second time. However some spells like Create bonfire require ...

1
2
3 4 5
13