Questions tagged [spellcasting]

For questions relating to the process of casting spells within a game. Including, but not limited to: spellcasting mechanics, improving likelihood of success when casting a spell, interrupting the casting of a spell, and mechanics surrounding spellcasting attributes (when applicable by system).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Do monsters with a Spellcasting trait get spell slots back after a long rest?

Some monsters, like a lich, have the Spellcasting trait. This trait allows such monsters to cast spells using spell slots, much as spellcaster player characters do. However, taking the lich as an ...
3
votes
0answers
168 views

Can you break up Eldritch Blast attacks? [duplicate]

EB at higher levels makes multiple beams. Can you choose targets after each beam, move in between them, and use bonus actions as well? Case in point, level 5 Warlock casts EB. Decides to target Alice ...
11
votes
2answers
747 views

Can the Encode Thoughts cantrip be acquired outside of the Dimir Operative background?

The encode thoughts cantrip is normally only available to characters with the Dimir Operative background, via the Dimir Guild Spells added to the character's spell list (GGtR, p. 46-47). Is encode ...
5
votes
3answers
682 views

Could I cast a range spell as a melee attack?

I'm wanting to make a sorcerer that throws a little flare in his spell attacks. I was wondering if I could use a range spell attack as a melee attack. Like casting firebolt, but punching with it ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

How does Mythic Haste interact with 1 round spells?

Mythic Haste states: Affected creatures gain an additional move action each round. The rules for casting spells state: A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into ...
6
votes
1answer
358 views

If a spellcaster's racial trait grants a spell that requires material components, can they use their class' focus to cast that spell?

Based on the answer to this question about non-spellcasters, spells granted by racial traits don't waive the need for material components. However, can spellcasters use their class' allowed focuses ...
1
vote
1answer
119 views

Is a sorcerer with the domain-access alternative class feature considered both an arcane and a divine caster?

The alternative class feature Domain Access (Complete Champion, p. 52) reads, in part: Choose one cleric domain. If you worship a specific deity, the domain you choose must be one to which your deity ...
4
votes
1answer
646 views

How does the spell Plant Growth work in a dungeon?

With a Ranger character I’m considering picking up the Plant Growth spell but I’m worried that it might be limited by the environments my character is often presented with. How does the spell work ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Can the artificer's spell-storing item store their specialist spells?

The artificer's "Spell-Storing Item" feature says: ... you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires one action to cast... [TCOE pg....
4
votes
2answers
86 views

Can an urban druid use their companion creature as a divine focus?

Urban druids can have a manufactured object like a gear or a horseshoe as a divine focus, and their companion creature can be a small animated object. Is there anything stopping them from having an ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I make an attack as my action, and cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as my bonus action?

I am playing a rogue who chose the archetype Arcane Trickster, which means I can cast spells. Can I make a normal-range or close-range attack for my main action, and as a bonus action cast a spell ...
5
votes
1answer
365 views

Tech Casting - Limiting OP use with Modern Magic UA Ruleset

We're many sessions into a homebrew cyberpunk 5E, and I've recently introduced hacking using this Modern Magic UA. I can't see in there any stipulation on how frequently a hacker class can cast a ...
3
votes
1answer
373 views

Can a Trickery Cleric cast spells through their duplicate when the Cleric would normally be unable to cast spells?

Inspired by this question, can a Trickery Domain Cleric get around effects that would normally prevent the Cleric from casting if they move their Invoked Duplicate outside of the effect? As a ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can your familiar use the frozen spell bead from Arcane Abeyance to indirectly let you concentrate on a 2nd spell?

Arcane Abeyance (p184 EGtW)Says: ...A creature holding the bead can use its action to release the spell within, whereupon the bead disappears. The spell uses your spell attack bonus and save DC, ...
8
votes
1answer
501 views

How does readying a spell interact with the Sorcerer's Metamagic feature?

The Ready action states (emphasis mine): [...] When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. [...] Thus, when you ...
6
votes
1answer
139 views

For a multiclassed caster targeted by Spell Thief, what spellcasting ability does the target use?

Spell Thief states: [...] Immediately after a creature casts a spell that targets you or includes you in its area of effect, you can use your reaction to force the creature to make a saving throw ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Can concentration spells be "adjusted" while silenced?

For an example, the party is fighting Strahd, a vampire spellcaster. The party cleric casts Dawn, off center on Strahd to only affect him. Then the party wizard casts silence directly on top of ...
3
votes
1answer
875 views

What is your spellcasting ability when casting a spell from a Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing states (emphasis mine): [...] While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and ...
11
votes
1answer
568 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon allow casting a spell with somatic and material components using a Heavy-crossbow as the focus?

As stated in the title, I've read about casting spells with somatic component with two-handed weapons here. The thing is that the Xanathar's warlock invocation [Improved Pact Weapon] says that you can ...
17
votes
1answer
597 views

Does the "higher level spell slot" clause in the Globe of Invulnerability spell do anything?

The description of the Globe of Invulnerability spell says, in part (PHB, p. 245): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if ...
18
votes
4answers
1k views

If a spell caster loses concentration on Greater Invisibility, and an opponent has readied a reaction, what happens first?

As an example, both the spellcaster and the opponent ("the archer") have 1 hp remaining, so whoever completes their action first will knock the opponent unconscious. The spellcaster casts Create ...
1
vote
1answer
283 views

Are the Power Word spells especially easy to identify?

There are various high level spells named "Power Word: X". They are all verbal-only spells (except Power Word: Heal), and tend to have the following text in them(...except Power Word: Heal): You ...
4
votes
2answers
218 views

Can spellcasters try to make it difficult to identify what spell they're casting?

How to identify a spell being cast? discusses how to identify a spell. This question seeks to discover whether there are steps a spellcaster could take during casting to make this identification more ...
2
votes
0answers
78 views

Spell that mimics tha bag of holding [closed]

is there a spell that mimics a bag of holding? i got this idea from reading american gods, where the character "Mad Sweeney" can take small-ish objects (mostly coins but he has put bigger objects ...
2
votes
0answers
907 views

Can you cast racial spells with a spell slot? [duplicate]

Take for instance, a level 5 (standard) tiefling warlock. Would you be able to cast your Darkness and Hellish Rebuke spells with a spell slot? Both spells appear on the warlock spell list and could be ...
6
votes
1answer
667 views

Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own: Can you cast a ...
1
vote
2answers
521 views

Do clerics always have their full spell list prepared?

Something I read in a post on Paizo forums is that clerics always have their full spell list prepared (excluding ones locked by alignment). However, when I went into the SRD that wasn't reflected in ...
1
vote
0answers
123 views

Can a sorcerer cast the same spell twice if enough spell slots are available? [duplicate]

In D&D 5e, let's say that I have two level-1 spell slots available and want to cast Burning Hands. On one turn, I use one of the available spell slots to cast Burning Hands. On my next turn, I ...
0
votes
1answer
159 views

Can concentration be kept through dimensions? [duplicate]

Say you, in the middle of a battle, cast a spell such as Magnificent Mansion. You go inside and then start casting Conjure Elemental. You then order the elemental to exit the mansion and start ...
0
votes
1answer
725 views

RAW can creatures with Innate Spellcasting cast spells while using their Change Shape ability?

While researching monsters that can shape change to mess with my players there are a few that also have innate spellcasting. I'm trying to figure out RAW if each of the examples can use their ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you add the same modifier to damage rolls multiple times if they come from different sources?

A friend of mine is wanting to do a specific build and as far as I am aware you cannot apply a modifier multiple times in this way. Can someone confirm if this is a RAW legal tactic? Scenario: level ...
2
votes
1answer
131 views

The Noble Genie Line of Sight/Effect

The Noble Genie Unearthed Arcana warlock subclass states: When you can cast a spell, you can deliver the spell from your space or the bound creature’s space. My question is, do you need line of ...
2
votes
0answers
50 views

Concentration on a spell while casting a spell with a longer casting time [closed]

Is casting a spell with a casting time longer than 1 action considered “concentrating” on it, for the purpose of keeping concentration on a different spell already cast? Ex.: Flaming sphere on the ...
-7
votes
3answers
728 views

How can Chromatic Orb ever miss the target?

The description for Chromatic Orb states (PHB, p. 221): You hurl a 4-inch-diameter sphere of energy at a creature that you can see within range. You choose acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, or ...
5
votes
2answers
795 views

Can a Glamour bard cast a level 1+ spell and cast the Command spell using the Mantle of Majesty feature in the same turn?

For clarity It's already clear from several other questions that a Glamour bard may not maintain concentration on Mantle of Majesty and another concentration spell at the same time. This is not my ...
7
votes
3answers
325 views

Can you choose to cast a spell at a lower caster level?

In AD&D, many spells have effects with areas that are a specified amount “per level”. From my understanding, this is the caster’s level. My question, is whether or not a spellcaster could choose ...
-1
votes
2answers
847 views

Does the 1st-level spell you can cast using the Magic Initiate feat need spell slots?

I'm having a hard time understanding how the Magic Initiate feat works; does it require spell slots? The feat doesn't say the spell cast is free; it only says you can cast it at its lowest level once ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

How long does it take a wizard to change just one of their prepared spells?

Suppose my 10th-level wizard wakes up from a good night's rest and, using all 20 points of his Intelligence, he realizes that he needs to change his spell list a little. It's time to retire Magic ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a sorcerer use the Quickened Spell metamagic option on a spell cast from a magic wand?

The sorcerer in my group has a wand of lightning bolts: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the lightning bolt spell (save DC 15) from it. For 1 ...
4
votes
2answers
247 views

In the Forgotten Realms, how does a Wizard cast spells when away from their plane?

In the Forgotten Realms, how does a Wizard cast spells when away from their plane? That is, how exactly do they wield magic when they have no access to the Weave? Can a Wizard still cast if he is ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Casting a spell and then preparing a new one while the previous is still in effect

Classes like the artificer can prepare a new spell list in 1 minute, can an artificer cast a long-duration spell such as false life (1 hour), and immediately prepare a new spell list while retaining ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you cast Eldritch Blast twice in the same turn using the sorcerer's Quickened Spell Metamagic option?

Someone has been telling me that I cannot cast eldritch blast twice a turn, because by some rule you are only able to cast one spell and one cantrip a turn, regardless of casting time. I trust his ...
5
votes
1answer
412 views

Multiclass spell casting and spell modifiers

I know that you use your spellcasting modifier from the class you gained the spell from. However, for something like Tempest Domain cleric gaining the use of thunderwave from their subclass (...
5
votes
1answer
209 views

Is there a way to accelerate or pre-cast spells with long casting times?

Some spells have casting times of 1m (Tsunami, Conjure Elementals, etc). I am a low level caster with no access to Wish. Is there a way to prepare the spell (maybe somehow pre-cast it the day before ...
8
votes
2answers
7k views

Does Magic Initiate allow the chosen spell to effectively be "always prepared" if the spell is on their spell list?

The Magic Initiate feat allows you to pick a 1st level spell, which you can cast once per long rest. From the PHB (p. 168): Choose a class: bard, cleric, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two ...
19
votes
2answers
3k views

Is counterspelling a warlock different?

My question is about something that happens in S2E98 of Critical Role (potential spoilers if you haven't watched it yet). In the episode, the wizard attempts to counterspell a dimension door spell. ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Is summoning an air elemental with the Censer of Controlling Air Elementals still a concentration spell?

Items that let you cast a spell through them (e.g. wands , staves, etc) use specific wording such as: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the xxxxxx ...
14
votes
1answer
684 views

Are there instances where a character can cast a non-cantrip spell while having no spell slots available and they later suffer negative consequences?

Last night, I DMed a game with only two players, and neither of them had any prior experience with D&D. All in all, it went great, but towards the end, they got into some serious trouble and the ...
4
votes
0answers
75 views

Can a Wizard write spells in something other than a spellbook? [duplicate]

So basically I have a bard that I am about to multiclass into a wizard. I’d like to know if it’s possible to not need a grimoire specifically, but be able to say write my spells by writing them on or ...

1
3 4
5
6 7
13