Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange
Join us in building a kind, collaborative learning community via our updated Code of Conduct.

Specific manifestations of magic that can be generically called "spells". Use [magic] for more generic questions about magic.

3
votes
1answer
51 views

What happens if you “unlearn” Animate Dead?

I died and I became a skeleton (using this homebrew race). It appears that I might gain access to an ability/item (created by my DM) which lets me switch between both races. When you are a skeleton ...
1
vote
2answers
39 views

Using the Heroics spell properly

Heroics states The heroics spell temporarily grants the subject a feat from the fighter's bonus feat list. For the duration of the heroics spell, the subject can use the feat as if it were one of ...
3
votes
2answers
143 views

If you are falling, can you Misty Step to the ground to avoid damage?

If I fall off a cliff - say, 1000 feet - can I wait (readied action?) until I am near enough to the ground (my understanding is you fall 500 ft/round) then misty step safely to the ground? Or, does ...
1
vote
1answer
43 views

Does marking the same target with Hunter's Mark end the effect of the Cavalier fighter's Unwavering Mark on that target? [duplicate]

I'm the DM. During one of our games the party's Cavalier used Unwavering Mark on an enemy. Then the Ranger used hunter's mark (PHB, p. 251) on the same enemy. The Cavalier's Unwavering Mark feature (...
6
votes
2answers
143 views

What level should a spell that lets a character briefly attune to an extra item be?

I am considering adding a homebrew spell to a game I DM. Here is the exact wording I intend to use: Superior Attunement 8th level transmutation Casting Time: 1 action Range: Touch ...
19
votes
1answer
330 views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Abjuration Wizard with Armor of Shadows repeatedly cast Mage Armor to recharge Arcane Ward?

The warlock's Armor of Shadows eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 110) says: You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components. The School of Abjuration ...
1
vote
2answers
40 views

Determine spell save DC for an Illusory Wall based on caster level

There is this illusory wall in a published adventure I'm running, cast by an arcane caster with CL 20. We don't have more information about the caster (e.g. their stats) or the wall (e.g. its save DC)....
2
votes
0answers
49 views

Would the target of Enemies Abound change weapons to be more effective? [on hold]

The description of the enemies abound spell (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 155) states: On a failed save, the target loses the ability to distinguish friend from foe, regarding all creatures ...
1
vote
0answers
73 views

If I multiclass from Arcane Trickster rogue to Warlock, can I swap some of my AT cantrips for warlock cantrips? [duplicate]

I started out out as an Arcane Trickster rogue 7, so I could only pull from Wizard spells and cantrips, but now I have multiclassed into Warlock. Am I able to change some of my AT cantrips to Warlock ...
8
votes
1answer
343 views

If you have dis/advantage on a roll, do you have dis/advantage on a reroll?

This might be a duplicate but I can't find it. To be clear this has nothing to do with Halfling Luck trait. Or similar abilities that allow the reroll of a die that rolls a natural 1. (I was ...
3
votes
1answer
145 views

Can one use Alter Self to assume the form of a Skeleton?

One of the options of alter self doesn't specify creature type when transforming appearance. Change Appearance. You transform your appearance. You decide what you look like, including your height, ...
6
votes
1answer
162 views

How do I deal with displacement or blink as a rogue?

Both blink and displacement give my opponent a chance to completely evade my attacks (regardless of my attack roll) and prevent me from ever dealing sneak attack damage. From 3.5e, I know that true ...
4
votes
1answer
102 views

Truth Domain + Domain Wizard = 2nd level spells?

Truth Domain, from Races of Eberron, has Detect Thoughts (WIZ 2) in the 1st level Domain Spell slot. With Domain Wizard, "a domain wizard automatically adds each new domain spell to her list of known ...
4
votes
1answer
307 views

In which directions can I direct Gust of Wind?

I recently played in a session where Gust of Wind was used in a way I had not seen before, and I wanted to see if my gut instinct on whether that was actually how Gust works. Gust of Wind states: ...
10
votes
2answers
781 views

Does Flame Blade count as a weapon for Green-Flame Blade?

The description for the green-flame blade spell (SCAG, p. 143) says: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell'...
0
votes
2answers
111 views

What does “functions like greater polymorph” mean for Polymorph Any Object?

There are two main interpretations that I have come across for this spell. The spell "functions like greater polymorph" with objects added. They interpret "functions like" to mean “behaves exactly ...
-2
votes
2answers
117 views

Does a Wall of Force block concentration on a spell?

If a spell was cast on a recipient prior to the wall of force being brought into existence, and that recipient was then on the other side of the wall from the caster, does wall of force prevent ...
-2
votes
1answer
102 views

Question about Warlock/Arcane trickster spells [on hold]

I am a Rogue level 7 arcane trickster/level 1 warlock. So, can I go into any warlock spell of level one and how any spells am I able to know at this level?
9
votes
2answers
507 views

If you cast Disguise Self and then Project Image, is the illusory copy from Project Image disguised?

Disguise self's description contains the following: You make yourself--including your clothing, armor, weapons, and other belongings on your person--look different until the spell ends or until you ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

Multiple influences over an undead, who controls it?

There are many ways to gain control of a mindless (or even intelligent) undead, but none of the methods indicate what happens when more than one have influence over it. Lets take a good and evil ...
1
vote
0answers
7 views

What is the spell point cost of a greater ghost strike command undead?

Using Spheres of Power (SoP), what would the spell point cost be of a command undead greater ghost strike? Would it be 2 points, 1 for command undead and 1 for greater ghost strike? Would it be 1+ ...
1
vote
1answer
85 views

Can True Seeing tell the difference between a statue and a foo creature?

A creature with the foo template has the ability called freeze A foo creature can hold itself so still it appears to be a statue. A foo creature that uses freeze can take 10 on its Stealth check to ...
9
votes
1answer
424 views

Can I teleport within an area warded by Forbiddance?

Can you teleport within an area warded by Forbiddance? It's already been established you can teleport out of it, but not whether, once inside, you can teleport from one part of it to another. You ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

Is there an effect comparable to Dimensional Anchor in 5e?

In 3.5, the spell Dimensional Anchor could be used to prevent an enemy from escaping combat via teleportation. This would be helpful for our party as some of our enemies have opted to escape us ...
2
votes
2answers
131 views

Can you summon a spell caster using Summon Monster?

The Dungeon World 5th-level spell summon monster lists some choices, one of them being a useful adaptation. If the player picks "spell caster" for a useful adaptation, could they end up with an Orc ...
7
votes
2answers
757 views

Can a Ritual Caster guide another person without ritual casting to make a ritual spell?

Can any caster with ritual casting, or a character with the Ritual Caster feat guide another person to make a ritual? For example, a Wizard guiding a Rogue to make the ritual spell of find familiar ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Can Mage Hand be used to scribe the circle of blood used in the Summon Lesser Demons and Summon Greater Demon spells?

The spells summon lesser demons and summon greater demon from Xanathar's Guide to Everything both say: As part of casting the spell, you can form a circle on the ground with the blood used as a ...
21
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I Misty Step into Midair?

If I had a flying speed due to being Aarakocra or having fly cast on me, would I be able to use misty step to teleport to midair rather than staying on the ground?
13
votes
4answers
2k views

How much XP does a monster created by Animate Objects add to an encounter?

I am making a boss fight. The boss can cast animate objects, a spell that can animate statues. The spell gives information for, eg., 1 Large Construct: Large - HP: 50, AC: 10, Attack: +6 to hit, ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a spellcaster use a natural weapon attack to deliver a touch spell?

Forgive me if this has already been asked, but I've been through pages of searching various combinations of "attack", "touch", "spell", "melee", "bite", "weapon", and a few others. Most touch spells ...
24
votes
1answer
3k views

What is negative damage?

I'm relatively new to TTRPGs and completely new to making Wizard characters. I'm currently trying to make a Wizard, and having trouble fully understanding the Grim Tendrils spell from the Pathfinder ...
11
votes
4answers
4k views

Would a Fireball cast by a Pixie/Human/Dragon of the same level have the same power?

In essence this relates to weapon damage from creatures using "identical" weapons: A human's long sword does 1d8 damage, sure, but a storm giant with a proportionally sized long sword shouldn't do ...
4
votes
1answer
168 views

What is the correct spell attack bonus for a cleric casting Guiding Bolt?

For a Cleric with Wisdom 16 and Proficiency Bonus 2, if they cast Guiding Bolt, shouldn’t they get an Attack of +5? From PHB p.58 (Spellcasting Ability). In Roll20 it seems to only give the Attack as ...
4
votes
1answer
129 views

Does Sanctuary end if my Conjured Animals attack an enemy?

The sanctuary spell description states: If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends. If I conjure 8 wolves with conjure animals, and ...
12
votes
1answer
625 views

Compelled Duel with Sanctuary Spell Interaction

The sanctuary spell description states: Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, ...
22
votes
3answers
1k views

Does Wild Shape count as a spell?

I just started playing a druid, hit level 2 and chose Circle of the Moon. This gives me the ability to use Wild Shape as a bonus action. A situation came up where I wanted to cast a spell, and then ...
11
votes
1answer
612 views

Can the Wish spell be used to cast 8th-level or lower spells that are not on your spell list?

I can't seem to find anything that contradicts this. The description of the wish spell says: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to ...
5
votes
1answer
58 views

Does enlarge person add more effects than described in its description?

When subjected to the Enlarge Person spell, a creature takes a +2 to strength, a -2 to dex, and a -1 to ac and attack due to its size. However, page 290 of the monster manual has a table that shows ...
5
votes
1answer
222 views

Can you Wish to teleport someone into a reversed Magic Circle?

The rules of magic circle state that a being of the target type cannot enter/exit except by use of teleport/planar travel, succeeding on a Cha Saving throw. If I go by the description, I read it as: ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

Can a shadow dancer's summoned shadow be polymorphed? [closed]

Let’s assume I'm playing a Shadow Dancer, epic level 70 or so. If I summon my shadow, can I polymorph it? If so, what are the limitations: can I polymorph it to be me and have a "doppelganger" of ...
3
votes
1answer
47 views

How does Epic Spell Seed: Fortify work when trying to enhance multiple ability scores?

The Epic Spell Seed: Fortify has a base DC of 17 and has the following use among other uses: Spells using the fortify seed grant a +1 enhancement bonus to whichever one of the following the caster ...
-3
votes
1answer
113 views

Can you apply the Vampiric Touch and Shocking Grasp damage together in one attack?

Can you apply vampiric touch and shocking grasp damage together in one attack? Vampiric touch has concentrated duration of 1 minute and requires melee spell attack to deliver. Shocking grasp ...
15
votes
3answers
1k views

Is a teleportation circle usable as a destination during the one-year setup period?

In addition to teleporting to an existing circle, the teleportation circle spell allows one to "create a permanent teleportation circle by casting this spell in the same location every day for one ...
5
votes
2answers
220 views

Is there a spell that can teleport to an unfamiliar but known location?

Teleport takes you to a designated location, not a relative position - you can't teleport to "Latitude 52 Longitude 18" without knowing what is there. Dimension door does allow you to teleport to a ...
11
votes
2answers
966 views

Can Conjure Animals summon swarms?

The spell conjure animals (PHB, pg. 225) says: You summon fey spirits that take the form of beasts and appear in unoccupied spaces that you can see within range. Choose one of the following options ...
2
votes
1answer
138 views

Can a Dao cast spells while Earth Gliding?

A dao (MM, p. 143) is described as having the following ability: Earth Glide. The dao can burrow through nonmagical, unworked earth and stone. While doing so, the dao doesn't disturb the material ...
14
votes
2answers
329 views

Can you combine Polearm Master with War Caster to cast Booming Blade as enemies approach?

The Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) says: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach. The ...
4
votes
2answers
70 views

Can a Swiftblade with Perpetual Options benefit from extra attacks that don't normally stack with Haste?

A 9th level Swiftblade gains the Perpetual Options class feature: Perpetual Options (Ex): At 9th level, you can perform even more actions with the haste spell. Instead of making one extra attack at ...
9
votes
2answers
676 views

What would a Warlock understand from written spells outside of their class, via Eyes of the Rune Keeper?

This related question asks if you could transcribe a ritual spell to the warlock book via the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation regardless of spell lists, and the answers were generally "yes, but you ...
7
votes
1answer
165 views

How does casting Animate Dead on a True Polymorphed corpse get resolved?

Inspired by some similar questions and a comment on this answer, I'm curious how one might resolve the casting of animate dead on a creature who has been true polymorphed into a corpse. The ...