Questions tagged [spells]

For questions about specific manifestations of magic that can be generically called "spells". Use the [magic] tag for more generic questions about magic, and [spellcasting] for questions specifically about the process of spellcasting.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a creature be True Polymorphed into a corpse and then raised?

Inspired by If a corpse is polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality? True Polymorph can turn a creature into an object Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can a warlock scribe a scroll from their ritual book?

Say I’m a warlock with Detect Magic in my tome as a ritual spell. I otherwise don’t know Detect Magic. Can I make a scroll of Detect Magic? I’m pretty sure the answer is no, since a ritual spell in ...
7
votes
1answer
71 views

Is this change to the Magic Initiate feat unbalancing?

The Magic Initiate feat states: Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's list. In addition, choose one 1st level ...
9
votes
1answer
86 views

If a Dragon under the effects of their Change Shape feature is cloned, can the cloned Dragon revert to their true form?

Some dragons have the Change Shape feature. For example, the Ancient Gold Dragon's Change Shape feature reads as follows: Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that ...
21
votes
2answers
5k views
+500

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
7
votes
1answer
493 views

Can a gem used as the material component for the Magic Jar spell also be used for the Imprisonment spell?

I want to cast Magic Jar to transfer my soul into a gem, then possess someone, then cast Imprisonment (using the Minimus Containment option) on my now-soulless body to store it safely into the same ...
6
votes
2answers
751 views

Is there a way for a Bard to learn one more known spell?

Looking at the Bard progression table, Bards begin at level 1 with 4 spells known, and then gain (on average) 1 new known spell per level, until they cap at level 18. I'd like to know if there is a ...
4
votes
1answer
72 views

What does the Gentle Repose spell do that allows Raise Dead-type spells to work later?

I got into an odd debate and now Im wondering exactly how gentle repose is supposed to work in game. So it started when I asked if gentle repose would increase the length of time it was possible to ...
8
votes
1answer
728 views

Is my soulless catatonic body a valid target for the Imprisonment spell?

I want to cast Magic Jar to transfer my soul into a gem, then possess someone, then cast Imprisonment on my now-soulless body to store it safely and be able to carry it everywhere with me in case my ...
15
votes
3answers
4k views

Does a bag of holding burst if brought into the space created by Rope Trick?

A bag of holding has a special caveat: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Handy Haversack, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens ...
9
votes
1answer
795 views

Would a house rule letting anyone cast their ritual spells as rituals be game-breaking?

By default, there are limited ways for characters in D&D 5E to cast ritual-tagged spells as rituals. Either they choose a class with the Ritual Casting feature, choose warlock with the Book of ...
6
votes
1answer
368 views

Is the “Find Greater Steed” Spell affected by Barovian Magic Alterations?

So, in Curse of Strahd there's this thing called "Alterations to magic" which causes spells to take an evil turn. For instance, a wizard casting Mage Hand will find himself with an skeletal hand ...
20
votes
4answers
8k views

Can you use Wish to duplicate a spell at a higher level?

Wish allows you to duplicate the effects of any spell L8 or lower. Does that include a lower-level spell, cast at L8? Say, as a Wizard, casting Heal at L8. I'm leaning towards yes, but it wouldn't be ...
8
votes
2answers
709 views

Is there a limit on how long the casting (speaking aloud part of the spell) of Wish can be?

The wording of spell Wish is: "Wish is the mightiest spell a mortal creature can cast. By simply speaking aloud, you can alter the very foundations of reality in accord with your desires..." Is ...
6
votes
1answer
69 views

How does targeting work when casting the Call Lightning spell through Glyph of Warding?

The Call Lightning spell targets an area, then the caster chooses a point in that area and anybody within a 5-foot radius of that point is damaged. Then on each of their turns, the caster can use an ...
10
votes
2answers
894 views

Do ability scores have any effect on casting the Wish spell?

Is a sorcerer able to cast wish in the same way and as effectively as a wizard can? Recently, I had a friendly argument. I wrote my hypothetical wish somewhere around draconic sorcerer level 3. Being ...
3
votes
1answer
861 views

Is there a listed value for a soul gem?

In one of the campaigns I play an evil wizard. My PC recently learnt the spell lesser planar binding. I'm considering binding a cacodaemon to my service and having it use its supernatural ability soul ...
21
votes
4answers
5k views

Would a cleric's domain ever preclude them from casting a general cleric spell?

First time player playing as a tempest cleric. As I understand the rules, a cleric of any domain has access to all the general cleric spells (i.e. not the ones that are only accessible to certain ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Does an object count as “being moved” when placed in a Bag of Holding before its wielder moves, and then after moving they take the object out again?

Context The Eldritch Knight in my game is looking for ways to make the spell magic circle be used quickly in battle, since casting it takes one minute. He came up with casting glyph of warding on his ...
5
votes
1answer
162 views

Can True Polymorph create creatures with the Spellcasting feature?

One notable limitation of the Shapechange spell reads as follows: You transform into an average example of that creature, one without any class levels or the Spellcasting trait. However, True ...
8
votes
2answers
315 views

Can an ally use your Shadow Blade without it dissipating?

Xanathar's Guide to Everything includes the spell shadow blade, which seems intended to be used only by the caster. It creates an actual weapon (XGtE, p. 164): You weave together threads of ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

In what ways can a Non-paladin access Paladin spells?

What different options are available (in the published materials of D&D 5e: rulebooks, UA, etc) for a Non-paladin to access Paladin-specific spells? Notes Only spells that are unique to the ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

How to deal with darkness spells and spell-like abilities, such as Darkness or Deeper Darkness?

Every adventurer lurking through dungeons risks getting caught in one of the darkness spells, such as Darkness or Deeper Darkness. Not being able to see anything because of such spells is a sure way ...
15
votes
4answers
623 views

Can either the Nondetection or Mind Blank spells prevent information about oneself being divined from others through the Legend Lore spell?

Can either the Nondetection or Mind Blank spells prevent information about oneself being divined from others through the Legend Lore spell? In this instance, the party was trying to legend lore the ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Thaumaturgy cantrip be used to give advantage in combat?

Can Thaumaturgy be used as a kind of taunt? I understand D&D doesn't have taunts but it's the only way I know how to describe what I do with Thaumaturgy in this scenario. So, in theory, let's ...
-2
votes
4answers
232 views

Can you use a melee spell attack with the Hunter Ranger's Whirlwind Attack?

The Hunter Ranger's Whirlwind Attack feature states: You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet of you, with a separate attack roll for each target....
7
votes
2answers
227 views

Can an Evocation Wizard that casts Wish to duplicate Chaos Bolt add their Intelligence modifier to the damage?

The Evocation Wizard gets the Empowered Evocation feature which states: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast. ...
10
votes
1answer
753 views

Does Swashbuckler's Fancy Footwork apply if the attack was made with Booming Blade?

The Roguish Archetype Swashbuckler (SCAG/XGtE) has the following feature: Fancy Footwork When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you learn how to land a strike and then slip away without ...
2
votes
1answer
130 views

Can you copy a Tiny Hut spell onto a Medium-sized mount from the Find Steed spell?

Tiny hut is a "self"-target spell that allows the target (typically one's self) to exist in the hut with up to 9 other Medium creatures. Find steed allows spells that only target yourself to be ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can spells from the Ritual Caster feat be cast using spell slots?

I am a 4th-level Fighter (Eldritch Knight). I can choose to take a feat. I am interested in the Ritual Caster feat. If I learn the Ritual Caster feat, could I later cast the spells learned from the ...
4
votes
2answers
344 views

How many spells can a level 1 wizard learn?

I’m kind of new to the game and I want to make a wizard, but I can’t understand the part of the hero’s handbook (pg.29) where it says: “Pick a number of spells from this page equal to 3 + INT” I have ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there a spell that grants the ability to see in both magical and non-magical darkness?

I'm looking for a spell which I thought existed, but now I'm unable to find it. The main effect of the spell was to grant the see-in-darkness ability (darkvision + see in magical darkness, both with ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

Can the Conjure Animals spell summon swarms?

The spell conjure animals (PHB, pg. 225) says: You summon fey spirits that take the form of beasts and appear in unoccupied spaces that you can see within range. Choose one of the following options ...
71
votes
5answers
51k views

Is the Moonbeam spell amazing, or are we doing it wrong?

The description of the moonbeam spell (PHB pg. 261) says: When a creature enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Green Flame-Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell?

Does the Green-Flame Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell? Specifically, I am unsure as to whether the Zephyr Strike spell (XGtE, p. 171) requires you take the Attack action. Its ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can spells from the Magic Initiate feat be swapped out for different ones?

For example, a character takes the Magic Initiate feat at level 4, picking spells from the Wizard spell list, because they have been researching and learning all they can about magic (such as a ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Do temporary hit points count as part of the HP for resisting certain magical effects?

Temporary hit points in Dungeons & Dragons are a mechanic that allows "a buffer against damage" (PHB 198). There are a few spells of note that can affect a character based on how many hit points ...
2
votes
1answer
154 views

How to spend unused divine spells?

As a lawful neutral cleric / Ruby Knight Vindicator of Wee Jas, I can spontaneously cast only Inflict spells. Unlike Cure spells, they are useless after combat, and unless something with stellar AC ...
4
votes
0answers
37 views

Can a character replace their Magic Initiate spells using the Spellcasting feature? [duplicate]

The feat Magic Initiate lets you learn a 1st level spell: You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using ...
7
votes
4answers
4k views

Can the creature created by a Simulacrum spell be affected by healing magic?

Relevant rules for simulacrum: The duplicate is a creature, partially real and formed from ice or snow, and it can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature. And: If the ...
7
votes
3answers
624 views

Does the Temple of the Gods spell nullify critical hits?

I am already aware of this other question "Can a Lore bard's Cutting Words feature cancel a critical hit?" And do not believe it answers my question as this spell specifically mentions the d20. The ...
10
votes
2answers
214 views

When does the Shocking Grasp spell actually start preventing the target from taking reactions? [duplicate]

I have now asked my "real" question (one whose answer effectively answers this question) here ("Are getting hit and taking damage simultaneous events"). The shocking grasp spell's description states:...
7
votes
1answer
449 views

Can you use a Ring of Spell Storing to store a spell cast from a magic item?

Some magic items, like the Staff of the Magi, let you cast spells. The Ring of Spell Storing lets you store spells for latter use (by yourself, or somebody else). Can you store spells cast from ...
6
votes
1answer
208 views

Can my familiar turn me invisible?

If, as a multiclassed wizard/druid, I have an imp familiar from the find familiar spell and I wild shape into a rat, can the imp hold me and turn invisible?
0
votes
1answer
37 views

How many Hit Dice of undead does an acquired scroll of Animate Dead raise?

Animate dead is one of the few spells which has a variable cost to its casting, as it's based entirely on the amount of HD you are going to raise with the casting, which is partly dependent on the CL. ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a counterspelled spell still trigger the Mage Slayer feat's reaction attack?

Counterspell states: You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell. If the creature is casting a spell of 3rd level or lower, its spell fails and has no effect. This ...
5
votes
3answers
170 views

Is it possible to benefit from multiple Shield spells?

The Shield Spell allows you to use the Shield Block reaction, which ends the spell and prevents you from casting it again for 10 minutes. But what if you know the Shield spell from multiple different ...
1
vote
2answers
56 views

Can the witch hex “Gift of Consumption” be combined with Fortitude (Harmless) spells?

The description of the Gift of Consumption (Su) hex says: The witch curses a creature to share any effects that target her vitality. Whenever the witch is exposed to an effect that requires her ...
3
votes
1answer
63 views

Does climb speed from other sources stack with the climb speed from the Spider Climb spell?

Spider climb doesn't say how your base climb is affected, so I’m confused. Does it stack, does the larger amount override the smaller, or does spider climb just overwrite it, period? For example a ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does duplicating a spell with Wish count as casting that spell?

Premise This question was inspired by the line of reasoning in this answer. There are a number of spells that have wording "when you cast" or "as you cast" included. Specifically, some effects ...