Skip to main content

Questions tagged [spells]

For questions about specific manifestations of magic that we generically call "spells." Use the [magic] tag for more generic questions about magic, and [spellcasting] for questions specifically about the process of spellcasting.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
174 votes
7 answers
28k views

What is the source of the "spells do only what they say they do" rules interpretation principle?

Every time somebody asks a question like "can I use X spell for doing Y" the answer is usually "no" because spell descriptions are very short in 5e, and usually they don't ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 70.3k
69 votes
4 answers
12k views

Is there “flavor text” in D&D 5e spells?

Is there any evidence, in the rules or from developer comments, that parts of the description of a D&D 5e spell is “only flavor text” and should be ignored for determining what happens in-game? ...
Yakk's user avatar
  • 16k
28 votes
1 answer
32k views

If I multiclass into 2 or more spellcasting classes, how do I determine my known/prepared spells?

If I multiclass into 2 or more classes/subclasses that can cast spells, how do I determine what spells I know or can prepare? For instance, if I am playing a multiclassed character with 1 level in ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50.1k
44 votes
6 answers
34k views

Is a dead creature's body considered an "object"?

I never really gave this much thought until this question brought it up: Is a dead creature's body considered to be an object? And is it still a creature? My initial reaction was that it would not ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
35 votes
6 answers
13k views

What counts as a target for a spell?

There have already been several questions regarding what counts as a target for a spell; some, such as this Q/A, are regarding glyph of warding as it states: The spell must target a single creature ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
61 votes
5 answers
63k views

Can a multiclass character with 1 level of wizard copy any wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The "Your Spellbook" sidebar for the wizard includes the following line: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 145k
63 votes
5 answers
51k views

Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

This question is updated to request additional answers and details in light of information now available in the Dungeon Master's Guide. In the released DM basic rules, Lost Mine of Phandelver, Hoard ...
Orvir's user avatar
  • 5,987
48 votes
4 answers
37k views

How loud/obvious is a wizard casting a spell?

Some spells have somatic and vocal components, that's well known. How loud must a wizard talk? How obvious/wide should his gestures be? Some spells that would be awesome would be fairly limited if ...
Mouhgouda's user avatar
  • 3,345
99 votes
5 answers
204k views

Do Cantrips use your character level or class level?

Cantrips seem to be the only type of spell that cares only about your class level. However, in the multiclassing section they are not mentioned, does this mean that cantrips use your character level, ...
András's user avatar
  • 65k
56 votes
8 answers
126k views

Can spells be cast through a Wall of Force?

The spell description of wall of force is silent on the question of whether spell effects can pass through the wall. The semi-relevant part of the description states: Nothing can physically pass ...
PurpleVermont's user avatar
22 votes
7 answers
5k views

What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?

My understanding is that when a spell is known or prepared via one of your class features, or if you cast it via a class feature, it's considered a "class spell" (sorcerer spell, cleric spell, etc.) ...
CTWind's user avatar
  • 19.4k
44 votes
3 answers
11k views

What happens when a caster targets an object that looks like a creature with a spell that targets only creatures?

There are many spells which explicitly target creatures: Choose one creature within range The target creature is normally supposed to make a saving throw in this case. What happens when the ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 70.3k
44 votes
2 answers
25k views

Can you make an unwilling creature willing? In other words, what defines “willing”?

Going through the spells, I see the phrase "Willing creature" used to determine who you can cast some spells on. I don't ever see a proper definition of what a willing creature is, but I would assume ...
Nicholas's user avatar
  • 2,348
21 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is a spell suppressed or removed when the target temporarily becomes invalid? [duplicate]

Based on Jeremy Crawford's tweet, if a target is under the effect of an ongoing spell, and then the target changes such that it is no longer a valid target, the spell no longer effects them. But does ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
69 votes
6 answers
17k views

Does Burning Hands really require touching thumbs?

The D&D 5E spell Burning Hands has verbal and somatic components, and is described like this: As you hold your hands with thumbs touching and fingers spread, a thin sheet of flames shoots forth ...
mattdm's user avatar
  • 30k
37 votes
4 answers
47k views

Does going outside of range or line of sight after casting a spell have any effect?

Does going outside the range of the spell or breaking line of sight between the caster and target break concentration or otherwise affect control over the spell? For example, a Heat Metal spell has a ...
Kevin's user avatar
  • 387
42 votes
2 answers
9k views

Can Polymorph end spells that require the target to be humanoid?

There are several spells that require the target to be "humanoid" such as Hold Person, Dominate Person, etc. However, if the target is Polymorphed after that spell has been successful, then what ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
55 votes
5 answers
86k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
42 votes
8 answers
38k views

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don't require speech or hand gestures?

The Polymorph spell states (in part): The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality....
PurpleVermont's user avatar
94 votes
5 answers
144k views

Is the Moonbeam spell amazing, or are we doing it wrong?

The description of the moonbeam spell (PHB pg. 261) says: When a creature enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause ...
Taejang's user avatar
  • 5,213
26 votes
2 answers
10k views

Does order matter when casting a cantrip with a casting time of a bonus action and another spell?

When casting a spell as a bonus action, you can't cast another spell on the same turn except a 1-action cantrip - can the order be "reversed"? Can you cast a cantrip first as a bonus action, then any ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.5k
23 votes
2 answers
33k views

What happens when you target a "magical effect" with Dispel Magic?

In D&D 5e, the spell Dispel Magic says Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. The rest of the spell description explains that spells "on the target" of a level lower ...
mattdm's user avatar
  • 30k
41 votes
2 answers
67k views

How many times do you roll damage for Magic Missile?

The "Damage Rolls" section of the rules (PHB p. 196, also in the online Basic Rules) says this: If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage ...
user avatar
38 votes
8 answers
42k views

Does Mirror Image affect spells that have no attack roll?

I have two questions concerning the mirror image spell. If I am under the effect of mirror image and was targeted by a spell like blight, do I roll a 1d20 to determine whether myself or an image was ...
suzeff's user avatar
  • 705
30 votes
3 answers
17k views

What is the maximum number of Simulacra I can have?

Simulacrum seems like a powerful spell; I assume that the duplicate gets all my known spells and spell slots due to this part of the description: Otherwise, the illusion uses all the statistics of ...
JasperNakamura's user avatar
29 votes
7 answers
10k views

Is there a rule for how to handle creative use of spells?

During a fight in a semi-flooded room, one of my players wanted to use Shocking Grasp on the water: Lightning springs from your hand to deliver a shock to a creature you try to touch. Make a melee ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.7k
24 votes
5 answers
14k views

The verbal component of 'Suggestion'

In a recent game the verbal component of 'Suggestion' came up. I had assumed that the verbal component was just me saying the words and was added to mechanically stop me from casting it in magical ...
Findec's user avatar
  • 565
57 votes
5 answers
132k views

Counterspelling a counterspell

My party went up against two wizards. Wizard NPC 1 cast a spell, and Wizard PC used their reaction to Counterspell to try to block it. Wizard NPC 2 counterspelled Wizard PC. I have two questions about ...
Nicholas's user avatar
  • 2,348
27 votes
5 answers
20k views

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.8k
43 votes
3 answers
29k views

Can you permanently True Polymorph into yourself?

Can a character true polymorph into itself (possibly after transforming into some other form first)? Possibly to prevent aging, cure wounds, or alter their original body in some way? Or as a means of ...
Taejang's user avatar
  • 5,213
24 votes
4 answers
55k views

Do you need line of sight to cast spells on someone?

The rules on spellcasting contain the following section: A Clear Path to the Target To target something [with a spell], you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you ...
András's user avatar
  • 65k
23 votes
2 answers
33k views

Is a melee spell attack also a melee attack?

The absorb elements spell says: The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage ...
Voromir Kadien's user avatar
20 votes
3 answers
3k views

At what point does a caster define the target of a spell?

The new School of Invention tradition for Wizards (Unearthed Arcana) while still in playtesting (and indeed a bit silly in my opinion, more of a "chaos wizard"), got me thinking about its reckless ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.8k
18 votes
3 answers
8k views

Does a spellcaster know when their spell has no effect due to a save or immunity?

Suppose a cleric casts Zone of Truth on a captured enemy. Unbeknownst to them, the enemy is a rakshasa. Zone of Truth says (PHB, p. 289): You know whether each creature succeeds or fails on its ...
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.4k
40 votes
2 answers
6k views

Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?
Dale M's user avatar
  • 213k
38 votes
5 answers
57k views

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): You ...
Temp's user avatar
  • 9,310
29 votes
3 answers
15k views

It is commonly said that epic spellcasting in D&D 3.5e is broken. What are some examples of broken epic spellcasters?

It is commonly said that epic spellcasting in D&D 3.5e is broken. What are some examples of broken epic spellcasters? Available options I've read about include things like chain-gating solars to ...
user7535's user avatar
  • 291
23 votes
3 answers
12k views

When are targets picked for spells with multiple "missiles"?

For spells like Magic Missile and Scorching Ray that involve multiple ranged attacks, when do you pick targets for each ray/missle? Do you pick them all up front and then roll attack/damage? Or do ...
Colin D's user avatar
  • 11.1k
17 votes
5 answers
4k views

How do you determine the 'most potent effect' for overlapping spells?

Inspired by this question: Does the Spirit Guardians spell stack with multiple casters? Using the spirit guardians example described in the linked question, suppose the 3 clerics had the following ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
29 votes
9 answers
27k views

Does the Darkness spell block vision?

In discussing this question, I came to realize that the real question was whether Darkness blocks vision or merely creates "darkness". Per the wording of the spell: Magical darkness spreads from ...
Will Rhodes's user avatar
  • 1,111
27 votes
5 answers
23k views

Living forever in D&D (via spells)?

I was thinking of a way for a humanoid (PC or NPC) to live forever in a D&D setting, but through rather "common" and reproducible means, such that they will be available to many. By this logic I ...
user12010's user avatar
  • 455
62 votes
2 answers
191k views

How much should NPCs charge for spells cast as services to PCs?

As the title suggests, I need to know how to compute the appropriate cost for spells that NPCs provide as services (components included) to the party. My search has come up with the following: ...
adonies's user avatar
  • 1,938
33 votes
4 answers
6k views

Can a spell be readied to trigger when its intended target comes into view?

Can I ready witch bolt, for instance, with the condition of attacking "the first goblin to come out of the cave" if I cannot see the goblin at the time of my (Ready) action? To be perfectly clear: at ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
32 votes
4 answers
113k views

How does Mage Armor interact with Unarmored Defense?

If a character with the Unarmoured Defence class feature casts Mage Armour, what is their AC? Do they choose which 'base' AC they take, or do they stack somehow? Is there rules text that explains ...
DuckTapeAl's user avatar
  • 48.8k
30 votes
3 answers
14k views

Can a spell be cast through (semi) transparent things?

Abby, the little gnome illusionist, ran to the nearest window. Grabbing the windowsill, she stood up on tiptoe, getting her chin on it. Unfortunately, the rough, tinted glass hinders what could be ...
Abby's user avatar
  • 913
29 votes
4 answers
15k views

Can you use Wish to duplicate a spell at a higher level?

Wish allows you to duplicate the effects of any spell L8 or lower. Does that include a lower-level spell, cast at L8? Say, as a Wizard, casting Heal at L8. I'm leaning towards yes, but it wouldn't be ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.5k
27 votes
2 answers
8k views

Can the Portable Hole magic item be used to get around the 10-foot movement restriction on the Glyph of Warding spell?

The description of the Glyph of Warding spell states, in part (emphasis mine): When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a ...
Voromir Kadien's user avatar
20 votes
3 answers
18k views

Does the Spirit Guardians spell stack with multiple casters?

Recently played with a group, where 3 of their clerics would cast spirit guardians, claiming monsters in the area had to make 3 wisdom saves for 3d8 damage each, potentially adding up to 9d8 damage ...
Ἄρτεμις's user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
5k views

Does the Mordenkainen's Magnificent Mansion spell's mansion exist on a separate plane of existence?

In particular: the telepathy spell (PHB, p. 281) states: [...] The creature can be anywhere on the same plane of existence as you. The spell ends if you or the target are no longer on the same plane. ...
orcorco's user avatar
  • 1,369
7 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells?

Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells? When character multiclasses into multiple classes that can cast spells, which modifier do you use for casting the spell?...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,812

1
2 3 4 5
66