Questions tagged [spells]

For questions about specific manifestations of magic that can be generically called "spells". Use the [magic] tag for more generic questions about magic, and [spellcasting] for questions specifically about the process of spellcasting.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
0answers
49 views

Concentration on a spell while casting a spell with a longer casting time [closed]

Is casting a spell with a casting time longer than 1 action considered “concentrating” on it, for the purpose of keeping concentration on a different spell already cast? Ex.: Flaming sphere on the ...
12
votes
1answer
455 views

What happens if you end concentration on a spell with a long casting time without your concentration “breaking”?

Certain features rely on concentration "breaking" rather than simply ending. To show the difference, there is first the "Concentration" section of the rules which states: [...] If you lose ...
-8
votes
3answers
193 views

How can Chromatic Orb ever miss the target?

The description for Chromatic Orb states (PHB, p. 221): You hurl a 4-inch-diameter sphere of energy at a creature that you can see within range. You choose acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, or ...
5
votes
2answers
380 views

Can a Glamour bard cast a level 1+ spell and cast the Command spell using the Mantle of Majesty feature in the same turn?

For clarity It's already clear from several other questions that a Glamour bard may not maintain concentration on Mantle of Majesty and another concentration spell at the same time. This is not my ...
3
votes
1answer
588 views

After I True Polymorph myself and concentrate for the full duration, how can I get back to my normal form?

After 1 hour of concentration on the True Polymorph spell, the transformation lasts until it is dispelled. If the target is myself, how can I get back to my normal form?
3
votes
2answers
563 views

Can the Continual Flame spell be cast on an opponent's helmet to blind them?

The spell continual flame (p. 227 of the Player's Handbook) is a touch spell. It does not offer any parameters as to what qualifies as a target other than it has to be an object. In theory you could ...
4
votes
2answers
153 views

Can the Immovable Object spell target an object held or worn by an opponent?

The description of the immovable object spell says (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 187): You touch an object that weighs no more than 10 pounds and cause it to become magically fixed in place. [...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Wish on a scroll: Who suffers the consequences?

If I create a scroll with the Wish spell and an other person uses it to do anything that would trigger the penalty (anything that is not replicating an 8th or lower level spell causes necrotic damage ...
3
votes
1answer
176 views

Can you cast Sequester on yourself after creating a Simulacrum?

Is possible to cast Sequester on yourself after having a Simulacrum? I can have my real body protected for years as my Simulacrum lives my life. Something like The Flesh from Doctor Who.
2
votes
1answer
77 views

What happens if Animal Growth is cast in a constrained environment?

The spell animal growth (Player's Handbook 198) says If insufficient room is available for the desired growth, the creature attains the maximum possible size and may make a Strength check (using ...
10
votes
3answers
10k views

Does Sacred Flame or Firebolt do more damage on average to a Shadow over an arbitrary but finite number of rounds?

Assume the following character build: Level 2 Variant Human Wild Magic Sorcerer with Magic Initiate Feat; relevant spells are Sacred Flame and Fire Bolt. While I don't think character level is ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

Are the effects of a conjured object or creature nonmagical? [closed]

Spells like Conjure Animals and Web can conjure creatures (a wolf) or objects (a sticky web). While the conjuration itself is magical (it was created by a spell), the effects of a conjuration are not ...
9
votes
3answers
635 views

Was a “divine wish” spell ever mentioned in any published game materials?

Official or unofficial materials. Not necessarily a spell available to players; it could be a creature or item ability. Various people from the AD&D 2nd edition up to Planescape (primarily 90's) ...
4
votes
1answer
175 views

Can a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender be used to hurl Magic Stones?

When designing a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender (E:RftLW, p. 61), the feature description states: You determine the creature's appearance and whether it has two legs or four; your choice ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

How can non-humanoids benefit from enlarge person?

I am playing a tiefling who is a native outsider. During play it has come to my attention that enlarge person will not work for me because I am not a humanoid. This seems like a silly restriction ...
4
votes
0answers
74 views

How powerful is the Planar Binding spell? [closed]

The Planar Binding spell is the answer to the classic trope of dark mages summoning and binding demons to their service. But what is the extent of this spell’s capacities in 5e? What scope of orders ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Glamour bard maintain concentration on another spell while using Mantle of Majesty?

According to the text of Mantle of Majesty (a Bard College feature from the College of Glamour, Xanathar's Guide to Everything, page 14): As a bonus action, you cast command, without expending a ...
4
votes
2answers
795 views

Can you cast Mirror Image twice on successive turns and have 6 duplicates of yourself instead of 3?

Mirror image (PHB, pg. 260) is a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, and a duration of 1 minute. My question is, can you cast Mirror image twice on successive turns, gaining 6 images by turn 2? ...
15
votes
1answer
891 views

What plane would an aboleth be from for the purposes of Banishment?

An aboleth is classified as a large aberration. If someone were to use the Banishment spell, what plane would it be banished to? (if it is from a different plane?) Or would it just be banished to the '...
2
votes
0answers
79 views

Can a Sorcerer Gain Additional Spells Known with Magic Initiate? [duplicate]

The Magic Initiate feat states: Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's spell list. In addition, choose one ...
2
votes
2answers
185 views

Can you use the shapechange spell to turn into a unique or named creature?

Inspired by this comment on an answer of mine, I'm now wondering how exactly shapechange works. The spell states (emphasis mine): You assume the form of a different creature for the duration. The ...
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the reply to the Message cantrip have a time/distance limit?

The message cantrip says the following: You point your finger toward a creature within range and whisper a message. The target (and only the target) hears the message and can reply in a whisper ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

Does the Message spell truncate messages over 6 seconds long?

The Message spell's duration is "1 round" (PHB, p. 259) and a round "represents about 6 seconds in the game world." (PHB, p. 189) Is a message longer than "about 6 seconds" truncated? Does the caster ...
5
votes
1answer
776 views

Can I double a single spell attack's range multiple times by taking multiple versions of the Spell Sniper feat?

I was looking at the Player's Handbook and I saw that there are 3 different types for Spell Sniper. Simply put, does choosing all three of them create an 8 times multiplier? For example, say that a ...
3
votes
2answers
186 views

What is the highest possible DC for the Circle of Death spell?

What is the highest possible DC for Circle of Death? Restrictions: Level 12 Wizard (you may choose an archetype, as long as it has a familiar) Cyphergull Familiar At least 3 unused general feat ...
11
votes
2answers
11k views

What is my attack bonus and damage bonus with Shillelagh?

The description of the Shillelagh cantrip says: The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature’s power. For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead ...
10
votes
1answer
400 views

Do Bane/Bless apply to death saving throws?

Possibly related. The text of Bane reads: Whenever a target [...] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the ...
11
votes
1answer
581 views

Can the Moonbeam spell negate the effect of the Meld into Stone spell?

I was playing a druid in a free-for-all with other players. In a moment of near death and desperation, I cast meld into stone to escape from a paladin to try and heal a bit. Because it was a Battle ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

Can a spellthief use a metamagic rod when casting a stolen spell?

A spellthief (Complete Adventurer 13) cannot apply metamagic feats to stolen spells. The ability steal spells reads, in part: A spellthief can't apply metamagic feats or other effects to the stolen ...
2
votes
0answers
40 views

Do racial spells need spell slots? [duplicate]

Do the spells from Drow Magic need slots to cast? Or can they be used by characters without spell slots, like a fighter?
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Wall of fire: What's a 'solid surface' and what happens if it stops existing?

Wall of fire has to be cast on a solid surface. What's a solid surface? Can it be the back of a dragon? Dragon scales are pretty solid.. If the solid surface disappears (ice melts away, roof ...
2
votes
1answer
812 views

Does a creature have to be directly in contact with the ground to be affected by the Destructive Wave spell?

My character just got the destructive wave spell, which is a great AOE for close quarters combat (you designate who it affects). However, the other spell I use for that (spirit guardians) says it ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the Destructive Wave spell be triggered on a ship by striking the deck or an open container of earth (“ground”)?

My 9th-level Tempest Domain cleric is about to embark on a sea voyage to the ice sea. I realized that my new destructive wave domain spell requires that "You strike the ground" to trigger it. Is ...
20
votes
4answers
3k views

Can I change appearance multiple times with one casting of Disguise Self?

The Disguise Self spell states: You make yourself - including your clothing, armor, weapons, and other belongings on your person - look different until the spell ends or until you use your action ...
11
votes
4answers
814 views

Does the Flail Snail's “burst of destructive force” do no damage if it's triggered by a cantrip such as Eldritch Blast?

My party encountered a Flail Snail in our adventures, and the Warlock in the party had no real combat ability versus said snail other than the Eldritch Blast cantrip. The Warlock missed their attack, ...
34
votes
8answers
25k views

Does Mirror Image affect spells that have no attack roll?

I have two questions concerning the mirror image spell. If I am under the effect of mirror image and was targeted by a spell like blight, do I roll a 1d20 to determine whether myself or an image was ...
3
votes
1answer
71 views

What counts as a “specific goal, event, or activity” for the Divination spell?

The divination spell states: Similar to augury but more powerful, a divination spell can provide you with a useful piece of advice in reply to a question concerning a specific goal, event, or ...
8
votes
3answers
951 views

Is this homebrew Chromatic Blade spell balanced?

Honestly, this spell was my Eldritch Knight player's idea but I thought it interesting and am trying to work out the balance. It's sort of a hybrid of the chromatic orb and green-flame blade spells. ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

What happens when you cast the Disguise Self spell again while currently under its effects?

Let's say you are a human warlock with the Mask of Many Faces invocation. You cast disguise self and alter your form to that of an elf. While under the effect of this first illusion (before it expires)...
0
votes
5answers
249 views

Is there a reason to investigate illusions like Phantasmal Force other than some kind of metagaming?

If I cast phantasmal force on an NPC to make him think a creature has jumped onto his back and is trying to strangle him, assuming he fails his initial roll, why would he use an action to make an ...
2
votes
3answers
117 views

Can you use a Wall of Sand to blind a creature without obscuring it?

Recently, I was taking a look through the Wizard spell list, and the Wall of Sand spell sparked my interest: You conjure up a wall of swirling sand on the ground at a point you can see within ...
4
votes
1answer
309 views

What happens to Wall of Fire if the surface moves [duplicate]

The situation I am wondering about is if Wall of Fire is cast upon a wall and then the wall either falls over or crumbles. Would the wall of fire remain floating in the air? Would it disappear? Would ...
14
votes
2answers
266 views

Does Shadow of Moil heavily obscure you against an opponent with Truesight?

Shadow of Moil is a 4th-level necromancy spell with the following description (XGtE, p. 164): Flame-like shadows wreathe your body until the spell ends, causing you to become heavily obscured to ...
23
votes
4answers
8k views

Is the casting of the Charm Person spell obvious?

Charm Person has verbal and somatic components. Is there anything in the rules as written that defines how obvious those verbal and somatic components are? Would it be obvious the caster was casting ...
6
votes
1answer
88 views

When the Entangle spell ends, do the plants disappear after they “wilt away”?

The description of the entangle spell reads: Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square [...] When the spell ends, the conjured plants wilt away. Does "wilt away" ...
9
votes
2answers
657 views

Does a creature targeted by the Charm Person spell “know it was charmed” if it succeeded on the saving throw?

The Charm Person spell description says: When the spell ends, the creature knows it was charmed by you. There is an ambiguity here — does this happen only if the target failed on the saving throw, ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

When I cast the Charm Person spell on a shopkeeper last session, why did the target point a weapon at me after her eyes glowed slightly?

I am fairly new to D&D; however, I have years of roleplay experience. Last night I attempted to charm a shopkeeper, and the DM didn't tell me if I succeeded or failed — he seems to do this with ...
2
votes
1answer
90 views

What is the weight of the web created by the Web spell?

So my friends and I were playing a campaign. We were at 3rd level, and I was playing a sorcerer. There was a flying creature that we wanted to get down, so I tried to catch it with the spell Web. ...
-1
votes
1answer
106 views

Magic Missile vs Rug of Smothering

If you cast Magic Missile on a Rug of Smothering, does it still deal half damage to the grappled creature? I know that by RAW it should, but it makes no sense, because Magic Missiles can’t miss. Is ...
3
votes
0answers
18 views

What happens when a Held ooze splits? [duplicate]

I'd created a homebrew ooze monster with the same Split reaction that Black Puddings have. A PC cast Hold Monster on it before it was hit with any attack that would split it, so what would happen ...