Questions tagged [spells]

For questions about specific manifestations of magic that can be generically called "spells". Use the [magic] tag for more generic questions about magic, and [spellcasting] for questions specifically about the process of spellcasting.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
49
votes
3answers
10k views

Would striking someone at 0 hit points with an entire Magic Missile spell automatically kill them?

Assuming the target is able to be hit and does not have immunity to force damage, would firing all three missiles at a target with 0 hit points inflict three guaranteed death saves ergo death? ...
26
votes
4answers
14k views

What does “when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there” mean?

From When do you roll the damage for Cloud of Daggers?, it was suggested that some comments be made into a Q&A. So: From the Cloud of Daggers spell (others have similar wording) You fill the ...
18
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a portable hole be used to get around the 10' movement restriction on Glyph of Warding?

Glyph of Warding states : When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a surface (such as a table or a section of floor or wall) ...
27
votes
6answers
82k views

Is Thunderwave centered on the caster?

This came up in game tonight. Thunderwave is a spell with Range: Self (15-foot cube). The description reads: A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube ...
17
votes
3answers
34k views

Why can't the “Variant: Imp Familiar” be found with the Find Familiar spell?

The Find Familiar spell describes a familiar The Find Familiar spell description explains what a "familiar" is. It describes its properties — acts independently, can't attack, can deliver ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?

Based on this question: Can Dispel magic be used on a readied spell before the trigger occurs? Can you Counterspell a readied spell after the turn the original spell is cast as normal, but before the ...
41
votes
4answers
3k views

When using wish to replicate a spell, what school of magic does it count as?

Wish is a conjuration spell that is able to be used to duplicate lower level spells as follows: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to ...
34
votes
3answers
21k views

Can a Familiar aid a Rogue's Sneak Attack?

A Rogue character with the Arcane Trickster archetype chooses Find Familiar as her non-enchantment, non-illusion, 1st level spell. How does that creature interact with the Sneak Attack feature? From ...
32
votes
2answers
287k views

How do I calculate if a spell hits and how much damage it does?

I'm not entirely sure I understand what the PHB is telling me about spell attacks. Say I'm a wizard who's casting Fire Bolt (I could also be a Cleric casting Inflict Wounds or what-have-you), the ...
30
votes
7answers
27k views

Can I use Minor Illusion to create a wall, hide behind it, and attack with advantage?

Minor Illusion allows the creation of a 5-foot illusory object: can I hide behind this object (wall/crate/anything) and gain advantage vs. creatures who can't see past the illusion? If so, given that ...
21
votes
4answers
4k views

Can your own death be a trigger for Glyph of Warding?

I had made an assumption in an answer and am wondering if your own death is a legitimate trigger for a Glyph of Warding spell you have previously cast. The requirement simply states: You decide ...
8
votes
4answers
4k views

Are spells learned from feats considered to be associated with your class?

The multiclassing spellcasting rules (PHB p. 164, or here in the basic rules) state: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability ...
51
votes
3answers
19k views

Can you cast banishment on yourself?

Can you cast banishment on yourself from a non-native plane, as a way of returning to your native plane?
22
votes
2answers
17k views

Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat use spells from each other's books?

How compatible are the spellbook used a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets ...
19
votes
2answers
5k views

Can Hex be Twinned?

Twinned Spell says: When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self [...] To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the ...
30
votes
4answers
16k views

Do Nondetection and Invisibility protect you from True Seeing?

Nondetection says it hides the target from all divination spells. Invisibility hides you from normal sight. When combining both effects on one target, are they hidden from true seeing?
21
votes
3answers
4k views

Can I use Silent Image to create the illusion of a torch that illuminates the area?

Assume the players are in an area of natural darkness (no magic involved). Can I use silent image to create a bright illusion such as a torch or maybe a miniature sun to illuminate our way? A good ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

(How) Can a Rogue use Use Magic Device to cast spells from Scrolls?

Thief Rogues can get the Use Magic Device feature at 13th level, which lets them ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items. Spell scrolls are an unintelligible cipher ...
16
votes
3answers
10k views

Does a Readied spell immediately use a spell slot?

The PHB is a bit unclear when it comes to readied spells in combat. If I lose my concentration do I lose the spell slot? What about if the trigger never occurs, do I get the spell slot back?
14
votes
2answers
18k views

How to identify a spell being cast?

My players want to be able to identify a spell being cast by another spellcaster like it was possible in 3.5 with the Spellcraft skill. So are there any rules, spells, feats, class features or ...
14
votes
1answer
4k views

Can you Dispel animated dead?

Can you use the dispel magic spell to take out undead that have been created using the animate dead spell? As I understand it, counterspell is used to stop spells during their casting and dispel ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Tempest cleric's Thunderbolt Strike feature still work if the target is immune to lightning damage?

Tempest Domain clerics (PHB, p. 62) get the Thunderbolt Strike feature at 6th level: At 6th level, when you deal lightning damage to a Large or smaller creature, you can also push it up to 10 feet ...
9
votes
1answer
11k views

Can you perform a reaction to somebody else's reaction? [duplicate]

Imagine Wizard A tries to cast fireball. Wizard B casts Counterspell as a reaction to try to nullify said fireball. Can Wizard C cast counterspell as a reaction to nullify Wizard B's counterspell? ...
6
votes
1answer
20k views

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set?

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set? For example, say you cast armor of Agathys and false life on yourself. Do you have two separate pools of temporary hit ...
45
votes
5answers
44k views

Does the Clone spell make someone effectively immortal?

While reading through PHB 5e spell list, I found an interesting spell: Clone. This spell grows an inert duplicate of a living creature as a safeguard against death. This clone forms inside a sealed ...
27
votes
5answers
9k views

How can I send long messages over long distances?

For communicating short messages (of 25 words or less) over long distances, we have the Sending spell. However, if I wanted to communicate, say, the contents of a 1-page letter (i.e. long enough that ...
24
votes
6answers
31k views

Rules for creating new spells?

Is there a good source for allowing players to create new (non-epic-level) spells, or combining spells? For example, how can a Wizard research and create a new spell? What if a sorcerer improvises ...
20
votes
3answers
22k views

Does Booming Blade and Spell Sniper Stack?

If you have the spell sniper feat (doubles range of spells), and you use a weapon with reach, can you cast booming blade and hit a creature at 10ft? Can you also combine this with the polearm mastery ...
51
votes
5answers
18k views

Can one enter Leomund's Tiny Hut from below?

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund's tiny hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from ...
28
votes
2answers
32k views

What happens if you Twin Spell a spell that requires concentration?

Can your character maintain concentration on two spells? If concentration is broken, do both spells fall, or are separate checks made on each?
23
votes
4answers
8k views

Is the casting of the Charm Person spell obvious?

Charm Person has verbal and somatic components. Is there anything in the rules as written that defines how obvious those verbal and somatic components are? Would it be obvious the caster was casting ...
19
votes
9answers
47k views

How to allow cantrips to be changed

The wizard in my game has requested the ability to change out his cantrips similarly to his higher level spells. His justification is that every other wizard spell is memorizable, so having fixed ...
47
votes
2answers
152k views

Can wizards really cast spells in armor?

I've just read the D&D 5e basic rules, and I'm not sure I'm up to speed regarding casting spells while clad in armor. The only mention I can find about this (page 79): Because of the mental ...
33
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?)

Is it possible to make crafting materials, like adamantine, out of a goblin or such using the True Polymorph spell for the full duration of the spell? On a side note, while adamantine is mentioned in ...
29
votes
4answers
3k views

Does the Darkness spell cast a shadow?

If you were outside during the day and you cast darkness above you somehow, would the darkness spell cast a shadow? If you cast darkness in a tunnel, and the only source of light was from one end of ...
24
votes
2answers
3k views

Is Command's one-word-command the only verbal component, or is there more?

The spell states that: You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. and the spell requires a Verbal component. When I cast this spell, is the one-word command the only ...
23
votes
5answers
48k views

How effective is Witch Bolt?

After reading the effect of Witch Bolt from the D&D PH, it really seemed to me like an insanely powerful spell, especially when cast at 2nd level or higher. I have had no experience with the ...
22
votes
5answers
10k views

Covertly casting a spell

This question about Charm Person got me musing about a problem with the spell. Obviously, you can't cast Charm Person in the middle of a forum to sway an interlocutor to your side without the other 20 ...
21
votes
1answer
23k views

Can I cast a spell and attack in the same turn?

Specifically I am asking as a level 1 Half-elf Bard. As far as I know he doesn't have any dual wielding capabilities yet, or anything that states he has a bonus action to attack. So I'm wondering if ...
17
votes
2answers
4k views

Does teleportation trigger Booming Blade?

I've seen this question (about whether standing from prone triggers the Booming Blade additional damage) and this one (whether other actions trigger it), but neither seems to address exactly what I'm ...
16
votes
4answers
11k views

What happens to spells (buffs, curses, etc) that are active on you when you die?

Let's say I have a Wizard. I cast mage armor on myself. Nasty kobolds kill me with their traps. Luckily, I have a cleric who (for sake of this question) can cast breath of life, at will. He "raises"...
15
votes
3answers
8k views

Does Improved Divine Smite work in an Antimagic Field? [duplicate]

At 11th level, a paladin gains Improved Divine Smite. This means (PHB p85): you are so suffused with righteous might that all your melee weapon strikes carry divine power with them. Given that the ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Warding Bond: What is the Order of Operations for calculating cleric damage taken?

The warding bond spell allows a support character (cleric) to buff another creature (Basic Rules p. 105): While the target is within 60 feet of you, it gains a +1 bonus to AC and saving throws, and ...
5
votes
1answer
428 views

How can an ultimate magus control spellcasting progression when Practiced Spellcaster isn’t enough?

A background in the ultimate magus class and how it progresses spellcasting An ultimate magus progresses a prepared-spellcasting arcane class and a spontaneous-spellcasting arcane class at each of 2nd,...
35
votes
3answers
18k views

Can a Wizard cast Shield in reaction to a stealth attack?

Scenario: Rogue is hidden and sneaks up on a Wizard. Rogue attacks and hits the wizard with 1 above his AC. Can the wizard take his reaction to Shield from it? Shield's casting time is 1 reaction, ...
27
votes
2answers
183k views

Does your spell modifier add to your spell damage?

So I know how to calculate spell DC (8 + proficiency + modifier) and spell attack rolls (1d20 + proficiency + modifier), but I am not clear on spell damage. Namely, do you add your spell modifier (e....
26
votes
3answers
9k views

How does Armor of Agathys interact with getting temporary hit points?

The spell Armor of Agathys states: You gain 5 temporary hit points for the duration. If a creature hits you with a melee attack while you have these hit points, the creature takes 5 cold damage. ...
24
votes
6answers
5k views

Is it possible to attack enemies through a scrying sensor?

The Scrying spell allows players to look at distant targets. Are there abilities or spells that allow players or characters to launch attacks against a target they are scrying? While I am aware that ...
20
votes
4answers
2k views

When must the wizard choose to overchannel?

The Evocation specialist wizard's overchannel ability says: When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with your spell. Does the "that deals ...
15
votes
1answer
4k views

Does casting Disintegrate on a polymorphed enemy still kill it after the 2018 errata?

After the 2018 errata, the disintegrate spell description now reads: A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. ...

1 2
3
4 5
46