Questions tagged [spheres-of-power]

Spheres of Power is an alternate magic system developed and published by Drop Dead Studios and designed to work with Pathfinder and other RPGs based on the D20 system.

0
votes
1answer
73 views

SoP: Can Sage's take 'Natural Enhancement'?

The Sage class from the Champions of the Spheres book has several class features that let them modify their class feature or gain powers from magical talents as if they were casters. One such is the ...
0
votes
1answer
52 views

Creating a SoP Energy Wall in a straight line

Using the Spheres of Power rules, the destruction sphere has a talent called Energy Wall You may spend a spell point to shape your destructive blast into either a wall up to 20 ft. per caster level ...
3
votes
2answers
195 views

SoP Staff, caster, and feat talent stacking

This is a rather cheesy question about min-maxing. Staffs in SoP work a little differently than plain Pathfinder ones. The enhancement bonus applies to CL of the sphere effect, and extra talents can ...
1
vote
1answer
166 views

SoP Destructive Blast Damage Dice Steps

Related: Pathfinder Damage Dice Steps Spheres of Power (SoP) is an alternative/expanded magic system for Pathfinder. The destruction sphere gives the caster access to an unlimited ray attack which ...
1
vote
1answer
188 views

Can you meet caster level requirements with conditional bonuses?

I am playing a level 8 Incanter from Spheres of Power. As a full caster, this gives me a caster level of 8. I have a trait which increases my caster level for the destruction sphere by 1, and I have a ...
1
vote
1answer
69 views

Do SoP wands require SP be spent on abilities that dont require SP?

The magic items in Spheres of Power (SoP) are a little incomplete for some rulings. Im currently trying to figure out if a wand always uses spell point (SP) for activating any ability, or only if the ...
2
votes
1answer
163 views

Multiple influences over an undead, who controls it?

There are many ways to gain control of a mindless (or even intelligent) undead, but none of the methods indicate what happens when more than one have influence over it. Lets take a good and evil ...
2
votes
1answer
44 views

What is the spell point cost of a greater ghost strike command undead?

Using Spheres of Power (SoP), what would the spell point cost be of a command undead greater ghost strike? Would it be 2 points, 1 for command undead and 1 for greater ghost strike? Would it be 1+ ...
4
votes
1answer
128 views

How does Skilled Casting interact with Silent Spell and Still Spell?

A caster using the Spheres of Power system can get the drawback Skilled Casting. This forces her to roll a Craft, Perform, or Profession check in order to cast spells. This means that she must be able ...
4
votes
1answer
83 views

How do Area Glow and Revealing Light work differently when revealing invisible creatures?

When using the magic system Spheres of Power, the sphere of Light can cause a creature or object to glow. This effect negates all the bonuses given by invisibility. If you augment it with Area Glow, ...
1
vote
2answers
88 views

Can a Spheres of Power caster recharge staves?

A SoP caster has no issues casting spells from staves, but its unclear if they have the ability to recharge them. Would giving up a spell point each day be equivalent to the lose of a spell?
3
votes
3answers
455 views

Is there any way to be able to cast a spell as an attack of opportunity?

Is there any way in Pathfinder to be able to cast a spell (any casting time of a standard action or less) in order to take advantage of AOO's. Now, I know spells already cast like held touch spells (...
6
votes
4answers
344 views

Using Armorist without Spheres of Power

Having recently come across this question and subsequently being introduced to the Armorist class I had one inkling I can't shake: Could I finally make a great armor summoner ala Erza? The mechanics ...
0
votes
1answer
81 views

Can a Mageknight that selected Time Shift as her Spellsword ability make as many attacks with Relentless Pursuit as she has Spell Points?

The Mageknight has these abilities, relevant to the question: Relentless Pursuit (Requires Marked class feature) You may spend a spell point as a swift action to make a single manufactured or ...
0
votes
1answer
71 views

SoP War Sphere - Can a totem be attacked?

Using the Spheres of Power rules for pathfinder, I am wondering if the totem created by the war sphere is attackable in any way? Could a warrior come up and destroy it with a mundane weapon? What ...
1
vote
1answer
80 views

Can a Sage use her Infuser package ability with the Chi Gong attack?

The Champion of the Sphere's Sage class has these abilities: Chi Gong (Su) At 1st level, the sage learns the chi gong technique, which allows him to wield his ki as a precise instrument, ...
1
vote
1answer
170 views

Is the armorist capstone ability useless on a blaster archetype?

The armorist level 20 ability: Infinite Arsenal (Su) At level 20, you no longer need to spend a spell point to summon equipment. But on the blaster archetype, summon equipment is replaced: ...
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Does the Scourging Totem deal damage as soon as it lands, to people already in its area?

I am using the SoP rules and have cast a Scourging Totem. There are already creatures within the area of effect when I drop it. Scourging Totem This totem emits pulses of energy, damaging every ...
4
votes
1answer
252 views

Does a thaumaturge knows all invocations

The thaumaturge is confusing. The class progression table has "invocations" at several levels, and the entry for the ability does not state how many they know: Thaumaturges control power in its ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

Does an armorist need to pick “bound fang” more than once?

So, a half-dragon armorist wants a lots of claws as bound fangs. Since claws are OK natural attacks for a half-dragon's form, it passes. But does he need to pick the arsenal trick only once, or one ...
1
vote
1answer
156 views

Do multiple heads allow multiple concentrations?

The rules that describe what additional limbs can do fails to describe what multiple heads are able to do for you. My primary concern is, does having an additional head allow you to concentrate on ...
1
vote
1answer
154 views

SoP and Circle Casting feat, how do some talents stack?

When two SoP (spheres of power) casters both have the circle casting feat, one of them is able to spend a standard action to grant their spheres, talents, and spell points. To use a simple example, ...
5
votes
1answer
235 views

Are concentration checks made at full caster level if you are casting a spell with a lower CL than your highest possible?

In a related question I had asked when you must choose if you are using a lower caster level when casting a spell. If for some reason you want to cast a spell at a lower CL and are forced to make a ...
2
votes
1answer
87 views

In SOP can you automatically have the negative level from resuscitate removed with restore soul?

When using the Spheres of Power rules for Pathfinder, if you have taken the Restore Soul talent and Resuscitate talent from the life sphere, would restore soul prevent or remove the negative level ...
3
votes
3answers
123 views

How does SoP focus use work?

I am building a spellcasting character using the Spheres of Power rules and one of the casting drawbacks I have taken is focused casting. Focused Casting Your magic requires you to use an item ...
1
vote
1answer
106 views

Does SoP have a magic item similar to ring of ki mastery/pearls of power/runestones of power for spell points?

I am creating a Spheres of Power character and having just discovered the magic items for them I went looking for their equivalent of pearls of power or runestones of power, or other classes which can ...
2
votes
1answer
336 views

Ways to increase a summoned creatures inherent caster level

I am working on a concept for a Spheres of Power character. My end goal is to get the psudo-Eidolon to a sphere caster level of 10 so that it can take the feat circle casting. If I can do this then ...
0
votes
1answer
97 views

Can two ability scores (or the same score twice) be added to your spell pool when you multiclass?

We are using Spheres of Power (SoP) 3pp for pathfinder for the first time in our group and theres something I need to clarify. I have a question about how the spell pool works when you multi-class. I ...
2
votes
2answers
156 views

SoP Multiclassing and talents gained

We are using Spheres of Power (SoP) 3pp for pathfinder for the first time in our group and theres something I need to clarify. I was considering multiclassing in SoP to gain more talents at the cost ...
1
vote
1answer
189 views

What is the range for energy blade?

Energy Blade states that As a standard action, you may make a single weapon attack in conjunction with making a destructive blast. Any creature damaged by the attack is also struck by the ...
1
vote
2answers
346 views

How many magic talents does a multiclassed level 2 spellcaster have in Spheres of Power?

On page 8 of Spheres of Power, it states about magic talents: but all characters gain two bonus magic talents the first time they gain a level in a casting class Does that mean a Shifter 1 / ...
1
vote
1answer
497 views

Dragon shifters turning into humanoids or other dragons

I just got my hands on the Spheres of Power book. Am I reading it correctly that as a first level shifter, everyone, even a dragon (or a taininim), could turn himself into a humanoid (of the same ...