Questions tagged [stacking]

For questions about whether multiple effects stack on the same target.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
2 answers
235 views

How do Armors and Shields with special abilities with no bonus stack?

I am not sure how some of the magic special abilities of armors and shields work. Is an element resistance on an armor or a shield (e.g. acid /10) a bonus or is it not considered a bonus? (there is a ...
  • 1,412
1 vote
2 answers
157 views

How do a dragon's Frightful Presence and Becoming More Fearful interact?

Scenario A dragon attacks, which activates its frightful presence. Everyone in the party has at least 5 HD, but fewer HD than the dragon. At least one party member is affected, and they are shaken. ...
9 votes
3 answers
975 views

How do on-hit pushback effects interact with multiattacks?

Do "on-hit" effects which allow you to push a creature backwards get decided immediately when you roll the hit? Or after all attack rolls are made for multiattacks? If you have to decide ...
2 votes
1 answer
87 views

Do untyped penalties from the same source stack?

The Mesmerizing Tattoo for example applies penalties to an opponent when specific conditions are met, like using Hypnotic Stare on them or targeting (only) them with an Enchantment spell. I know there ...
  • 21
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Does one good STR saving throw free the monster from being restrained both by Entangle and Ensnaring strike?

Say a party of a Druid, Wizard and a Ranger REALLY doesn't want the creature to move during combat. The Wizard casts Maximilian Earthen Grasp The Druid casts Entangle The Ranger casts Ensnaring Strike ...
1 vote
1 answer
228 views

Can I use Tool Expertise and Fire Rune both at the same time? [duplicate]

Tool Expertise At 6th level, your proficiency bonus is now doubled for any ability check you make that uses your proficiency with a tool. (Artificer) Fire Rune This rune's magic channels the ...
  • 13
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Do bonuses to AC stack?

The Warforged get +1 to AC from their Integrated Protection feature. The forge domain cleric can use the feature Blessing of the Forge to enchant their armor for another +1 to AC. The Soul of the ...
  • 1,273
5 votes
2 answers
969 views

Can you stack passive wisdom boosts?

I am currently putting together a dhampir blood hunter character and I noticed something interesting, which I would like to verify the RAW about: The Order of the Lycan, Heightened Senses is described ...
  • 5,862
7 votes
1 answer
790 views

How do temporary HP stack in D&D 3.5 under the rules as written?

Just what the title says: how do temporary HP stack in D&D 3.5 under the rules as written? I have a way that I run the game, which has worked for me just fine. Based on some other answers here, I ...
  • 10.3k
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

If multiple sources halve damage, do they stack?

Playing Dungeons & Dragons 5E and a situation came up tonight where a barbarian in rage (the barbarian takes half damage from bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing weapons) also rolled a successful ...
3 votes
1 answer
704 views

Would the Insignia of Claws interact with the Fighting Style: Unarmed Fighting turning magical the bludgeoning damage to one creature grappled by you?

The description of the Fighting Style: Unarmed Fighting states, in part (TCE, p. 42; emphasis mine): At the start of each of your turns, you can deal 1d4 bludgeoning damage to one creature grappled ...
  • 670
4 votes
1 answer
515 views

What happens if you use the Optional Class Feature 'Wild Companion' when you already have a Familiar already summoned from the spell?

I am mainly asking for the purpose of answering Is it possible to have two familiars? Noting that effects from the 'same' spell don't overlap. The Wild Companion ability reads as: You gain the ...
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a paladin stack Divine Smite, Thunderous Smite, and Wrathful Smite?

Is it possible to cast wrathful smite then on the next turn use Divine Smite and thunderous smite stacking with the effects of wrathful smite on the first attack? If not, can I instead cast wrathful ...
  • 79
14 votes
2 answers
1k views

If I cast the Bestow Curse spell on myself, choosing the fourth curse, and then cast Life Transference, will I heal one creature for an extra 1d8?

The fourth option of the Bestow Curse spell (PHB, p. 218; emphasis mine) states: [...] While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. The Life ...
  • 670
4 votes
3 answers
194 views

Do special abilities and wonderous items with similar effects cumulate?

Our monk's build contains various abilities and items that, in part, give him the same bonus, I am not sure if all of them would accumulate or not. Item: Monk's Belt (DMG 248) This simple rope belt, ...
  • 1,412
3 votes
1 answer
76 views

If a character wears a magic item created with a particular spell, then cast the same spell, does the character gain both effects?

This is a general question on whether the effects from a spell stack with the effects of a wondrous item that was created with that same spell, in case the item's effect is different from the spell ...
  • 1,412
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you apply more than one Sword of Wounding wound per round?

The description for Sword of Wounding states the following: Once per turn, when you hit a creature with an attack using this magic weapon, you can wound the target. At the start of each of the ...
  • 11.2k
2 votes
0 answers
51 views

Do the cyberlimb bonuses stack?

Page 177 in the Genesys core rules are the cyberlimb rules. It is stated that replacing a limb lets you increase your characteristic (Agility or Brawn) by +1, and that your strain is decreased (up to ...
  • 7,305
10 votes
2 answers
860 views

Do spells with options stack when different options are chosen?

Re: commentary on my answer here For example, resist energy provides "resistance 5" against one of acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic damage; could a creature benefit from another ...
  • 37.1k
9 votes
1 answer
844 views

Does healing from Fast Healing and Regeneration stack?

I have Fast Healing 14 (from level 14 Battle Oracle with Major Curse) and Regeneration 15 (from casting Regenerate on myself). Does the healing from Fast Healing and Regeneration stack, resulting in ...
  • 773
6 votes
1 answer
519 views

How quickly can a Thylean Centaur climb?

I'm playing the Thylean Centaur race (from the third-party Odyssey of the Dragonlords module), which has the following trait: Quadrapedal Stride. Climbing or maneuvering in tight spaces is considered ...
9 votes
2 answers
881 views

Do Totem Barbarian Aspects Stack?

The Totem Barbarian's Aspect of the Beast, Elk aspect increases travel speed by double. If two Totem Barbarians both with the Elk aspect were traveling together, would their traveling speeds double a ...
7 votes
0 answers
82 views

Do abilities with the term "Greater Than Normal" stack with other abilities that also use the same term and refer to the same [duplicate]

I was looking into fun builds that would work with the bug bears "Long-Limbed" feature and thought of the Astral Self monk which increases the range of unarmed strikes made with the "...
  • 383
8 votes
1 answer
463 views

In what way does two weapon fighting reduce the penalty of natural attacks?

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Natural-Attacks States the following (emphasis mine): You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee ...
  • 315
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do the Bugbear's Long-Limbed trait and the Way of the Astral Self's astral arms stack for reach?

The Bugbear has a trait called Long-Limbed that states: When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal. The Way of the Astral Self monk has a feature ...
4 votes
1 answer
340 views

Does energy resistance from my class and race stack?

In the rules it says resistance doesn't stack with spells but if I get resistance from my race and if I have resistance with my class (Ex: Efreeti bloodline) does the resistance stacks?
  • 165
3 votes
1 answer
240 views

Can you apply the Seeking Spell and Empowered Spell Metamagics to the same spell?

The general rule on Metamagic states (emphasis mine): You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. Meanwhile, the Seeking Spell and Empowered Spell ...
  • 73.4k
14 votes
1 answer
4k views

Do I need to use the Arcane Grimoire as a spellcasting focus to gain its bonuses?

The description of the arcane grimoire magic item states (TCE, p. 120; emphasis mine): While you are holding this leather-bound book, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells, ...
  • 670
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Do the swim speeds gained from Gift of the Sea and Gift of the Depths add together?

I made a warlock that gains 40ft of swimming speed due to the fathomless pact (Gift of the Sea). If I now pick the Gift of the Depths Eldritch Invocation will they add up and result in a swimming ...
  • 61
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

If a creature with a fly Speed of 30 ft. has the Fly spell cast upon it, does it now have a 90 ft. fly speed, or only 60 ft. total?

According to the wording of the fly spell: You touch a willing creature. The target gains a flying speed of 60 feet for the duration. When the spell ends, the target falls if it is still aloft, ...
  • 199
8 votes
1 answer
529 views

Is Flame Wisp cumulative with itself?

I cast Flame Wisp, than hit with a Strike. Now I have 2 wisps. What happens if I cast Flame Wisp again? The new one overrides the old one, I have 3 wisps The new one is added to the old one, I have 6 ...
  • 53.5k
4 votes
1 answer
596 views

How do Wildfire + Burn It! interact?

Burn It! increases fire damage: Your spells and alchemical items that deal fire damage gain a status bonus to damage equal to half the spell's level or one-quarter the item's level (minimum 1). ...
  • 53.5k
2 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can an Armorer Artificer wear another set of armor with their Arcane Armor?

The Arcane Armor feature from the Armorer subclass has the following line: “The armor continues to be Arcane Armor until you don another suit of armor or you die.” If an Armorer Artificer is wearing ...
  • 2,060
5 votes
1 answer
398 views

In-world justification for stacking rules?

Inspired by this question on World Building, I'm curious if the bonus stacking rules from various editions of D&D have ever had an in-world justification published. From what I've found, there's ...
  • 3,399
7 votes
1 answer
878 views

Do spells halving movement stack?

If a group of monsters were, say, Slowed and then subjected to Sickening radiance would their speed be one-half normal, or one-fourth? Slow has, in part: An affected target’s speed is halved... A ...
  • 1,557
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you stack AC bonuses with an Artificer's Infusions?

Can you stack AC bonuses with an Artificer's Infusions? I get that you can't use the same Infusion on multiple items. However... does the Enhance Defense Infusion and Repulsion Shield Infusion stack ...
0 votes
1 answer
975 views

Does a Warlock's Repelling Blast Stack with Lance of Lethargy?

Lance of Lethargy states: Lance of Lethargy Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can reduce that creature’s speed by ...
5 votes
1 answer
350 views

Does Scorching Weapons stack with Elementalist Shifter?

Scorching Weapons is a feat that adds 1 fire damage to your held metallic weapons. This damage explicitly does not stack with certain other fire damage (emphasis mine): Scorching Weapons ...
8 votes
1 answer
556 views

Can you stack Bracers of Striking and Necklace of Natural Weapons?

Let's say you play a monk or other unarmed character and wear both a bracers of striking and necklace of natural weapons. Magic Fang established that for the exclusive purposes of enchantment, unarmed ...
5 votes
1 answer
266 views

Does bleeding damage stack?

As an operative I have Bleeding Shot and make level bleeding damage if I hit. My question: what happens if I do bleeding damage after I hit the first shot. Does the bleeding damage stack?
  • 6,487
11 votes
3 answers
3k views

Do multiple instances of the Death Ward spell stack on the same target?

In most situations, spell effects of the same name do not stack, per the rule on combining game effects added in the errata for the DMG (p. 252): [...] when two or more game features have the same ...
  • 2,288
3 votes
2 answers
193 views

Do the Psychic Strike soulknife class feature and the Greater Psionic Shot feat work with the Manyshot feat?

Can the Manyshot feat work to allow you to apply the Psychic Strike soulknife class feature and the Greater Psionic Shot feat to all the arrows? The hang-up is that you are creating 3 arrows so you ...
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do the bonuses to attack/damage rolls for unarmed strikes from the Eldritch Claw Tattoo and Insignia of Claws magic items stack?

I'm playing a level 11 monk/barb in D&D 5e. (I've put 8 levels into monk and 3 into barbarian.) I recently got the Eldritch Claw Tattoo from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 126), and I also ...
  • 69
15 votes
1 answer
1k views

Do caltrop penalties stack?

As an action, caltrops can be spread to cover a 5-foot-square area: Any creature that enters the area must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or stop moving and take 1 piercing damage. Until ...
  • 9,068
8 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can I stack the duration time of Animate Dead?

Animate Dead can reassert control over undead you created. It spells: The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you've given it. To maintain control of ...
  • 343
4 votes
0 answers
64 views

Two instances of Haste with one ending? [duplicate]

If a creature has two instances of Haste cast on it, and the first one ends, does the character suffer of lethargy? Relevant rules I can find: “Combining Magical Effects” (PHB 205). The effects of ...
6 votes
1 answer
667 views

Does the short-rest bonus from the chef feat from TCoE stack with the the short-rest bonus of cook's utensils in XGtE

The chef feat grants, among other benefits, the ability to cook a meal during a short rest As part of a short rest, you can cook special food, provided you have ingredients and cook's utensils on ...
  • 930
1 vote
1 answer
124 views

Cursed Item Drawback Price Reductions: Do They Stack?

The rules for intentionally crafting cursed items in Pathfinder 1e lists the different curse types and how they modify an item's price. If a cursed item possesses multiple types of curses, for example,...
  • 387
7 votes
2 answers
348 views

Does UA Step of the wind: wings unfurled stack with Aarakocra?

The aarakocra gains a base 50 flight. Step of the wind: wings unfurled states When you use your Step of the Wind, you can unfurl spectral draconic wings, gaining a flying speed equal to your walking ...
2 votes
1 answer
86 views

Does the same attribute modifier necessarily count as the same source when adjudicating stacking rules?

the SRD says this about stacking: Stacking In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or ...

1
2 3 4 5 6