Questions tagged [stacking]

For questions about whether multiple effects stack on the same target.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does being under the effect of more than one Sanctuary spell require more than one saving throw?

The description of the sanctuary spell says (PHB, p. 272): You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a ...
2
votes
5answers
271 views

How is the “most potent effect” determined for combining the effect of multiple Bless spells without rolling both bonus dice?

In the rules on "Combining Magical Effects" (PHB, p. 205), the bless spell is given as the example of spell effects not being combined (not 'stacking'): The effects of different spells add ...
38
votes
6answers
6k views

If two Moonbeam spells are placed on a Large creature, does it take damage from both beams on its turn?

If two moonbeam spells are placed on different parts of a size Large (or larger creature), does it take damage from both beams on its turn? Or is this subject to the rule on combining magical effects ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Do the benefits of Oil of Sharpness stack with those of +X magic ammunition?

Do the benefits of oil of sharpness stack with those of +1/2/3 magic ammunition? I'm really just curious whether these also stack as +X ammo does with a +3 bow, or if there's a point at which things ...
8
votes
3answers
6k views

What happens to a creature who is enlarged and then reduced?

Inspired by Does an Enlarge/Reduce spell on a druid affect the beast form if the druid Wild-Shapes? Focusing on the specific effect of the Enlarge/Reduce spell: You cause a creature or an object ...
7
votes
1answer
201 views

Does the +1 AC bonus from the Warforged racial trait Integrated Protection and the Forge Domain cleric's Blessings of the Forge stack?

The Warforged race (from Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 36) has a racial feature called Integrated Protection, which among other things, grants the following: You gain a +1 bonus to Armor ...
7
votes
2answers
165 views

Does the artificer's Enhanced Weapon stack on top of hexblade's Improved Pact Blade?

I play a hexblade warlock with an Improved Pact Blade longsword. I like the idea of the eldritch tinkerer, who builds his patron's gifts into his gadgets, which fits in a warlock/artificer multiclass. ...
4
votes
3answers
589 views

Does a Barbarian stack rages while raging or does he reset his rage?

If a barbarian enters a new rage while he is raging do the rages stack on top of each other or would his current rage just be reset? I think the rage would be reset because its closest equivalent ...
4
votes
2answers
157 views

Do Boots of Speed boost climb speed twice?

Let's say you have the Quick Climber feat, and have a climb speed equal to your land speed. If you put on Boots of Speed, does your climb speed increase by 5 feet, or 10 feet? For example, when the ...
6
votes
2answers
148 views

If 3+ characters cast Flesh to Stone on the same target, and the target fails the saving throws against all of them, is it petrified?

The flesh to stone spell states: A creature restrained by this spell must make another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. If it successfully saves against this spell three ...
19
votes
3answers
8k views

Does the Spirit Guardians spell stack with multiple casters?

Recently played with a group, where 3 of their clerics would cast spirit guardians, claiming monsters in the area had to make 3 wisdom saves for 3d8 damage each, potentially adding up to 9d8 damage ...
4
votes
0answers
77 views

Does Tool Expertise and Wonder Maker stack? [closed]

I have a Rock Gnome Artificer, which grants Tool Expertise, but I want to take the Wonder Maker feat. Do you add +3 for proficiency, +3 because of Tool Expertise, and +3 because of Wonder Maker when ...
12
votes
1answer
413 views

What are all the ways that stacking resistance becomes immunity by RAW?

In this supplement for Rise of Tiamat, on page 4, the properties of the "dragon mask" magic items are described, including this property (bold emphasis mine): Damage Absorption. You have ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

If you cast a spell with different effect options twice on the same creature, do multiple castings of the spell stack?

After researching into how spell effects stack, I find some ambiguity regarding certain spells that have multiple possible effects. Notably, this answer regarding stacking spell effects contains ...
1
vote
0answers
55 views

Do Fire Shield of fire and Fire Shield of ice stack? [duplicate]

If I cast Fire Shield for fire and ice, will they stack?
9
votes
1answer
351 views

Do the War Domain cleric's Channel Divinity options Guided Strike and War God's Blessing stack?

The War Domain cleric has the Channel Divinity option Guided Strike (PHB, p. 63): Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to strike with supernatural accuracy. When you make an ...
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Do the Improvised Weapon Mastery and Shikigami Style feats stack?

The Improvised Weapon Mastery feat says: Increase the amount of damage dealt by the improvised weapon by one step (for example, 1d4 becomes 1d6) to a maximum of 1d8 (2d6 if the improvised weapon is ...
8
votes
0answers
114 views

Can I gain additional Glyphs of Warding if I know it from multiple traditions?

The description of glyph of warding states that: The maximum number of glyphs of warding you can have active at a time is equal to your spellcasting ability modifier. What happens if I know the ...
21
votes
3answers
23k views

Combining various AC-providing clothing and armor

Are there any rules for combining different clothing/armor for providing AC? For example, can an adventurer wear full plate and bracers and get the AC bonus from both? Can an adventurer wear a Cloak ...
7
votes
1answer
183 views

Does the Bestow Curse spell's extra damage apply to the Dragon's Breath spell?

The bestow curse spell states: [...] While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. [...] I'm wondering how this interacts with the dragon's ...
2
votes
2answers
75 views

Does help from other players stack?

Players can help each other if they're trained in the skill - doing so provides an asset to the player being helped. Does multiple skilled players helping stack? Say three characters are trained in ...
3
votes
2answers
142 views

Can a Swords bard benefit from Blade Flourish's speed increase again if they take the Attack action again?

The Swords Bard's 3rd level feature, Blade Flourish, states: [...] Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, your walking speed increases by 10 feet until the end of the turn [...] So if a ...
6
votes
2answers
246 views

For the “Running a Franchise” activity in the Acquisitions Inc. book, do days spent on the task by different characters stack even if they overlap?

I am running Orrery of the Wanderer, the pre-made adventure in the Acquisitions Incorporated book. My PCs have just gotten to the point where they acquire their franchise, but I have a question about ...
10
votes
2answers
208 views

What happens when identical overlapping effects have their end-condition met?

The Dungeon Master's Guide errata (direct download) added the "Combining Game Effects" section which states (emphasis mine): Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when ...
2
votes
1answer
86 views

Do any of the various effects that adjust wind speed stack, and if so which ones?

There are multiple ways to affect wind speed: natural phenomena, psionics, magic, even certain feats can produce minor wind effects.... Do any of the various effects that adjust wind speed stack, and ...
4
votes
1answer
164 views

Can you wield the Staff of Defense and a shield, and have their AC bonuses stack with the Mage Armor spell?

The staff of defense from the Lost Mine of Phandelver Starter Set campaign (p. 53) is a magic staff that grants +1 to AC when attuned. As a magic staff, it also functions as a quarterstaff, which has ...
15
votes
2answers
6k views

Does the extra damage from Booming Blade stack if the spell is cast twice on the same target?

The booming blade spell (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, p. 142) says: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the ...
3
votes
0answers
71 views

Do 2 instances of the Booming Blade spell stack on the same creature, in terms of the damage it takes if it moves willingly? [duplicate]

I'm creating a NPC for a campaign that is a sorcerer using a longsword and the booming blade spell (SCAG, p. 142). With the Metamagic option Quickened Spell, this NPC can cast booming blade twice per ...
41
votes
4answers
5k views

When a creature is hit with more than one fireball simultaneously, do they take damage from all of them?

Say a creature walks through a door and triggers two spell glyphs from two glyph of warding spells that are programmed to cast a fireball at the creature that walks through the door. Both glyphs are ...
4
votes
2answers
93 views

Can the effects of the combo discipline Bliss stack?

The combination discipline Bliss (V20, Lore of the Clans, Dominate ••, Presence •••) is described as allowing any virtues for a willing target to be temporarily raised on a successful roll. It doesn't ...
30
votes
4answers
42k views

Does natural armor stack with unarmored defense?

In D&D 5E, does natural armor stack with Unarmored Defense? We have a level 2 player character who wild shaped into an animal. The player said they could stack its natural armor with Unarmored ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Is a Minotaur's Powerful Charge ability a virtual feat?

References: The Minotaur, from Monster Manual I, has the ability called: Powerful Charge (Ex) A minotaur typically begins a battle by charging at an opponent, lowering its head to bring its ...
14
votes
1answer
839 views

Can you add the same modifier to damage rolls multiple times if they come from different sources?

A friend of mine is wanting to do a specific build and as far as I am aware you cannot apply a modifier multiple times in this way. Can someone confirm if this is a RAW legal tactic? Scenario: level ...
4
votes
2answers
886 views

Can you cast Mirror Image twice on successive turns and have 6 duplicates of yourself instead of 3?

Mirror image (PHB, pg. 260) is a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, and a duration of 1 minute. My question is, can you cast Mirror image twice on successive turns, gaining 6 images by turn 2? ...
5
votes
1answer
791 views

Can I double a single spell attack's range multiple times by taking multiple versions of the Spell Sniper feat?

I was looking at the Player's Handbook and I saw that there are 3 different types for Spell Sniper. Simply put, does choosing all three of them create an 8 times multiplier? For example, say that a ...
14
votes
1answer
34k views

Do resistances stack?

If a creature had resistance to spells, and then cast fire resistance on it, would it take only 1/4 damage from all fire spells?
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Do Armor of Agathys and Fire Shield stack?

I have a party of a paladin, rogue, and warlock. The warlock player thinks having only 2 spells per short rest is making him really weak, so he is trying to find the best possible ways to be more ...
4
votes
1answer
132 views

Do Heighten Spell and Eldritch Corruption stack?

Can Heighten Spell and Eldritch Corruption stack?
6
votes
1answer
110 views

Do diseases stack?

Say you're fighting dire rats and get bit 9 times, failing your save each time. If their incubation period rolls are evenly spread, do you take 3d3 Dex/Con damage after 1 day, then possibly 6d3 damage ...
4
votes
1answer
132 views

Does a storm sorcerer's Tempestuous Magic stack with the Levitate spell?

On the back of What happens when a Storm sorcerer uses Tempestuous Magic to fly 10 feet straight up? if a Storm Sorcerer uses Tempestuous Magic to move vertically 10' and then casts Levitate on ...
6
votes
1answer
21k views

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set?

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set? For example, say you cast armor of Agathys and false life on yourself. Do you have two separate pools of temporary hit ...
5
votes
2answers
672 views

Do the temporary hit points I get each turn from the UA Order of the Immortal Mystic's Psionic Resilience feature stack?

Right now I am playing a Mystic (UA), and I have chosen the Order of the Immortal as my discipline. The Psionic Resilience subclass feature gives me temporary hit points equal to my Int mod at the ...
4
votes
1answer
874 views

Can an Order of the Mutant Blood Hunter benefit from multiple instances of the same Mutagen at once?

The Order of the Mutant archetype of the Blood Hunter class has the ability to use mutagens to increase ability scores. The rule for using mutagens reads in part: As a bonus action you can consume ...
13
votes
1answer
17k views

Does the additional attack from the Gloom Stalker ranger's Dread Ambusher feature stack with Extra Attack?

The Gloom Stalker Ranger from Xanathar's Guide to Everything gets the Dread Ambusher feature at level 3, which says (pg. 42): At the start of your first turn of each combat, you walking speed ...
7
votes
1answer
128 views

What are the balance implications of letting the Order of the Dragon cavalier's Aid Allies feature's +3 bonus stack with Aid Another's +2 bonus?

The Order of the Dragon cavalier order gives an Aid Allies ability, which states: At 2nd level, whenever an order of the dragon cavalier uses the aid another action to assist one of his allies, the ...
7
votes
1answer
254 views

Do numerical Conditions stack?

2e introduced quite a lot of new rules, one being conditions. I didn't find any quote there and it left me wondering: Does drained (and other conditions) stack? Example: One poison says: Stage 1 ...
1
vote
1answer
90 views

Do psionics powers' effects stack?

If an Elan Aegis obtains the Unlocked Talent and Access Psionics Powers, can they stack fortify, lesser +1 and fortify +2 and Resistance (due to Elan) +4 on saving throws (spending Power points)?
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat?

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat? I won't detail it heavily, but can an Elf and/or Half-Elf Wizard (Bladesinger) combine all these for enhanced ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can green flame blade, slashing flourish, and sweeping maneuver be combined for a massive sweeping attack?

A character with the classes: Rogue(Arcane Trickster) lvl 3, Bard (College of Swords) lvl 4, Fighter (Battle Master) lvl 3, has: Green Flame blade. The Bardic College of Sword's slashing flourish. ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there ever a mechanic that causes advantage/disadvantage to stack and cause more than 2d20 to be rolled?

I am new to D&D 5th ed. I have purchased the books but not played in a group. One of the first big things I see is that advantage (or disadvantage) replace most of the die roll modifiers. Is ...