Skip to main content

Questions tagged [stacking]

For questions about whether multiple effects stack on the same target.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
32 votes
4 answers
62k views

Does natural armor stack with unarmored defense?

In D&D 5E, does natural armor stack with Unarmored Defense? We have a level 2 player character who wild shaped into an animal. The player said they could stack its natural armor with Unarmored ...
newbie 5e thats me's user avatar
21 votes
3 answers
28k views

Combining various AC-providing clothing and armor

Are there any rules for combining different clothing/armor for providing AC? For example, can an adventurer wear full plate and bracers and get the AC bonus from both? Can an adventurer wear a Cloak ...
user1's user avatar
  • 707
20 votes
3 answers
18k views

Does the Spirit Guardians spell stack with multiple casters?

Recently played with a group, where 3 of their clerics would cast spirit guardians, claiming monsters in the area had to make 3 wisdom saves for 3d8 damage each, potentially adding up to 9d8 damage ...
Ἄρτεμις's user avatar
18 votes
1 answer
4k views

Do features that allow you to add twice your proficiency bonus, under some other name, stack with Expertise?

Do features that allow you to add twice your proficiency bonus, under some other name, stack with Expertise? For instance, dwarves' racial Stonecunning trait, with bards' Expertise as applied to ...
Stackstuck's user avatar
  • 2,809
48 votes
4 answers
6k views

When a creature is hit with more than one fireball simultaneously, do they take damage from all of them?

Say a creature walks through a door and triggers two spell glyphs from two glyph of warding spells that are programmed to cast a fireball at the creature that walks through the door. Both glyphs are ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
16 votes
1 answer
3k views

If you cast a spell with different effect options twice on the same creature, do multiple castings of the spell stack?

After researching into how spell effects stack, I find some ambiguity regarding certain spells that have multiple possible effects. Notably, this answer regarding stacking spell effects contains ...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
2k views

What happens when identical overlapping effects have their end-condition met?

The Dungeon Master's Guide errata (direct download) added the "Combining Game Effects" section which states (emphasis mine): Different game features can affect a target at the same time. ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.3k
33 votes
3 answers
4k views

How are numerical bonuses combined?

Are there explicit rules for combining numerical bonuses in 5th edition, or is it just left implicitly to "common sense"? There are special cases (e.g. damage resistance and vulnerability, ...
Sebkha's user avatar
  • 12.1k
6 votes
1 answer
29k views

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set?

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set? For example, say you cast armor of Agathys and false life on yourself. Do you have two separate pools of temporary hit ...
Harris's user avatar
  • 71
20 votes
4 answers
6k views

When a wizard with the War Caster feat carrying a shield casts the Shield spell, does the AC bonus stack?

Basically, if you are a wizard with the War Caster feat carrying a shield and you cast shield, do you get both the bonus of your physical shield (+2 AC) and the bonus from the spell shield (+5 AC)?
FRANKTHETANK's user avatar
18 votes
1 answer
43k views

Do resistances stack?

If a creature had resistance to spells, and then cast fire resistance on it, would it take only 1/4 damage from all fire spells?
Timi's user avatar
  • 4,321
22 votes
2 answers
31k views

Do you have advantage when multiple sources give advantage and only one gives disadvantage?

As I understand it: if you have Advantage from two different sources, you simply have Advantage (no stacking) if you have advantage from one source, and disadvantage from one source, they cancel out. ...
cyberferret's user avatar
19 votes
1 answer
109k views

Do proficiencies with one thing from multiple different sources stack?

In D&D 5e it is possible for a character to receive proficiency in the same skill, tool, weapon and/or armor more than once via Class, Race, and/or Background. Do any of these proficiencies ...
Joshua Aslan Smith's user avatar
17 votes
3 answers
14k views

Does the extra damage from Booming Blade stack if the spell is cast twice on the same target?

The booming blade spell (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, p. 142) says: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the ...
Clarus_Nox's user avatar
  • 4,087
12 votes
3 answers
18k views

Can casting the Aid spell stack on the same targets?

When you cast Aid at second level, it buffs three creatures' max HP and current HP by 5 for 8 hours. Can this spell stack, either by casting it multiple times or by having several spell casters cast ...
Ross Constable's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
9k views

Do the rules for combining magical effects apply to non-spell effects?

In the chapter on Spellcasting, there is a section called "Combining Magical Effects". However, despite the seeming generality of the title, the text of this section only talks about magical effects ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
17 votes
1 answer
12k views

Does the Jump spell stack with the monk's Step of the Wind ki ability?

Inspired by this question, I wonder about the Monk feature (PHB p. 78): Step of the Wind ... Your jump distance is doubled for the turn And the jump spell (PHB p.254): Jump ... the creature's jump ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 212k
16 votes
3 answers
7k views

Do the benefits of Oil of Sharpness stack with those of +X magic ammunition?

Do the benefits of oil of sharpness stack with those of +1/2/3 magic ammunition? I'm really just curious whether these also stack as +X ammo does with a +3 bow, or if there's a point at which things ...
EMontizzle's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can a caster stack castings of Leomund's Tiny Hut on the exact same area?

RAW, can a caster stack castings of Leomund's tiny hut on the exact same area? As in, when the remaining duration is greater than the casting time, they would ritual-cast it a second time. (The motive ...
Mindwin Remember Monica's user avatar
21 votes
6 answers
4k views

Can I repeatedly Awaken something in order to give it a variety of languages?

So, the Awaken spell must be cast on a beast or plant with int of 3 or less. For beasts, it has the following permanent effect: "The target gains an Intelligence of 10. The target also gains the ...
Ben Barden's user avatar
  • 25.6k
17 votes
2 answers
23k views

Do the Rod of the Pact Keeper and Wand of the War Mage stack?

Can a warlock hold a +3 Rod of the Pact Keeper in one hand and a +3 Wand of the War Mage in the other and gain +6 on her spell attacks?
Sebkha's user avatar
  • 12.1k
16 votes
1 answer
8k views

Does the Powerful Build trait stack with the benefit to carrying capacity from the Totem Warrior Barbarian's Aspect of the Beast (Bear) feature?

Does the Goliath's carrying capacity increase from its Powerful Build feature stack with the Barbarian's carrying capacity doubling from its Bear Totem feature? For example, would those two together ...
SageAdvice's user avatar
15 votes
2 answers
20k views

Do save bonuses stack from multiple magic items in AL?

I play in Adventurers League and have a character that has a +1 Ring of Protection, which gives +1 to AC and saves. I also have a Stone of Good Luck which gives a +1 to saves and ability checks. If I ...
Charlie M's user avatar
  • 493
13 votes
2 answers
1k views

If two Lore Bards used the Cutting Words feature on an ability check or attack, would they stack?

Let's say the party had two Lore Bards, and both used Cutting Words on a creature who tried to attack. Does that stack, since they are separate penalties and not enduring effects (like bless)? Or ...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,812
12 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can more than one creature benefit from multiple Hunter's Mark spells cast on the same target?

The Hunter's Mark spell states: You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
9 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is there ever a mechanic that causes advantage/disadvantage to stack and cause more than 2d20 to be rolled?

I am new to D&D 5th ed. I have purchased the books but not played in a group. One of the first big things I see is that advantage (or disadvantage) replace most of the die roll modifiers. Is ...
jasonfm's user avatar
  • 123
8 votes
3 answers
8k views

Are the spells Leomund's Tiny Hut and Tiny Hut considered the same spell for the purposes of combining magical effects?

The Player's Handbook contains the spell Leomund's tiny hut (on p. 255), and the Systems Reference Document contains a version of this spell called tiny hut1. The descriptions of these spells are ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the reach increase of the Eldritch Claw tattoo stack with Fangs of the Fire Snake?

The Eldritch Claw tattoo released in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything includes the Eldritch Maul ability which grants the following benefit: For the duration, each of your melee attacks with a weapon ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
15k views

Does Damage Reduction Stack In Pathfinder?

I have not been able to find it stated explicitly anywhere but does damage reduction from different sources stack? For example I have a Lycanthropic character who has dr10/silver and I was looking at ...
Aaron's user avatar
  • 6,965
4 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you cast Mirror Image twice on successive turns and have 6 duplicates of yourself instead of 3?

Mirror image (PHB, pg. 260) is a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, and a duration of 1 minute. My question is, can you cast Mirror image twice on successive turns, gaining 6 images by turn 2? ...
NoLongerForeverDM's user avatar
18 votes
6 answers
4k views

Can two mages cast Wall of Fire in the same place?

I've been playing D&D for a long time but I've never encountered this situation until now. If a party has a wizard and a sorceress who both know Wall of Fire, can they cast it in the same place? ...
Chase Sandmann's user avatar
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

If two Ensnaring Strikes affect the same target, does it have to make two saves to be unrestrained?

Say two Rangers shot the same target with ensnaring strike and the target failed its saves on both. The PHB says the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine such as two Clerics ...
Payden K. Pringle's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
7k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
Hollowed One's user avatar
15 votes
2 answers
79k views

Do multiple instances of the Extra Attack feature stack?

The WotC article Unearthed Arcana: Modifying Classes creates the "Favored Soul" sorcerous origin, which grants the the sorcerer the Extra Attack feature at level 6. Say I made Favored Soul ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
15 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do caltrop penalties stack?

As an action, caltrops can be spread to cover a 5-foot-square area: Any creature that enters the area must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or stop moving and take 1 piercing damage. Until ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.1k
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can Plant Growth be repeatedly cast on the same area to exponentially increase the yield of harvests there (more than twice)?

I was looking into getting the spell Plant Growth because we work with some agrarian societies in our campaign. If you cast the 8-hour version that enriches plants in a 1 mile radius to double their ...
Hartmanclan's user avatar
13 votes
5 answers
11k views

Do Nightsticks stack with themselves?

The Nightstick is a magic item from Libris Mortis (p. 78) that gives anyone who owns one 4 extra turn/rebuke attempts per day. A number of builds use this item in conjunction with abilities that ...
DuckTapeAl's user avatar
  • 48.7k
13 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can I cast Bestow Curse twice at greater than 5th level on the same creature?

Is it possible to cast bestow curse twice on the same target using a spell slot of 5th level or higher (so it doesn't require concentration) to bestow different curses? I can't see anything in the ...
Rob Rose's user avatar
  • 3,066
12 votes
1 answer
14k views

Does the same fighting style stack with itself?

Suppose I have a ranger with the style Archery, and I take a one level dip into fighter and also pick Archery. Do I get an additional +4 to my attack rolls, or just +2? More generally, does the same ...
Leo Izen's user avatar
  • 1,329
10 votes
1 answer
4k views

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature?

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature? This question has two parts related to the same spell and game mechanic. Scenario 1: The Three Warlocks walk into a tavern and spot their arch-enemy: ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,660
10 votes
2 answers
8k views

Do multiple sources of counting as one size larger for carrying capacity stack?

I am currently mocking up a Goliath Barbarian, and was wondering if there is a limit to the amount of sources of "You count as if you were one size larger for the purpose of determining your carrying ...
Eradrazil's user avatar
  • 433
10 votes
3 answers
565 views

How do half movement and flat movement penalties interact?

If a target was exhausted (with 2 levels or more) and their speed halved and then was subjected to an effect which reduces speed by a flat amount like minus 10 ft from Ray of Frost, what would be the ...
Kakuna Rattata's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
870 views

Does Aura of Menace from multiple Lantern Archons stack?

Aura of Menace (Su): Any hostile creature within a 20-foot radius of an archon must succeed on a Will save (DC 13) to resist its effects. The save DC is Charisma-based, and includes a +2 racial ...
Mr Tumnus's user avatar
  • 5,767
8 votes
2 answers
4k views

Do the Bugbear's Long-Limbed trait and the Way of the Astral Self's astral arms stack for reach?

The Bugbear has a trait called Long-Limbed that states: When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal. The Way of the Astral Self monk has a feature ...
Zweiclops1206's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
3k views

Do the penalties from Two Weapon Fighting and its improved version stack?

Does the additional off-hand attack penalty from Improved Two Weapon Fighting stack with that of the off-hand penalty from Two Weapon Fighting? I ask because I am unsure if the -5 penalty for the ...
Novian's user avatar
  • 3,829
7 votes
1 answer
4k views

Is it possible to double your proficiency bonus twice? [duplicate]

Let's say I'm a multiclass rogue/ranger and I have taken Expertise in survival checks. Now, if a ranger is in their favored terrain it says they double their proficiency bonus in intelligence and ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can I apply multiple doses of Basic Poison to a weapon and get a cumulative effect?

Suppose I have two vials of Basic Poison: You can use the poison in this vial to coat one slashing or piercing weapon or up to three pieces of ammunition. Applying the poison takes an action. A ...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can green flame blade, slashing flourish, and sweeping maneuver be combined for a massive sweeping attack?

A character with the classes: Rogue(Arcane Trickster) lvl 3, Bard (College of Swords) lvl 4, Fighter (Battle Master) lvl 3, has: Green Flame blade. The Bardic College of Sword's slashing flourish. ...
aka's user avatar
  • 61
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

What happens when multiple Heat Metal spells are cast on the same object?

Suppose that the mages Mary and Merry both cast Heat Metal at 2nd level on the metal armor of an enemy fighter, Fred. Both mages use their bonus action on subsequent turns to continue dealing damage ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I double a single spell attack's range multiple times by taking multiple versions of the Spell Sniper feat?

I was looking at the Player's Handbook and I saw that there are 3 different types for Spell Sniper. Simply put, does choosing all three of them create an 8 times multiplier? For example, say that a ...
a Cit's user avatar
  • 91