Questions tagged [stacking]

For questions about whether multiple effects stack on the same target.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
41
votes
4answers
5k views

When a creature is hit with more than one fireball simultaneously, do they take damage from all of them?

Say a creature walks through a door and triggers two spell glyphs from two glyph of warding spells that are programmed to cast a fireball at the creature that walks through the door. Both glyphs are ...
38
votes
6answers
6k views

If two Moonbeam spells are placed on a Large creature, does it take damage from both beams on its turn?

If two moonbeam spells are placed on different parts of a size Large (or larger creature), does it take damage from both beams on its turn? Or is this subject to the rule on combining magical effects ...
30
votes
4answers
42k views

Does natural armor stack with unarmored defense?

In D&D 5E, does natural armor stack with Unarmored Defense? We have a level 2 player character who wild shaped into an animal. The player said they could stack its natural armor with Unarmored ...
23
votes
3answers
2k views

How are numerical bonuses combined?

Are there explicit rules for combining numerical bonuses in 5th edition, or is it just left implicitly to "common sense"? There are special cases (e.g. damage resistance and vulnerability, ...
21
votes
3answers
23k views

Combining various AC-providing clothing and armor

Are there any rules for combining different clothing/armor for providing AC? For example, can an adventurer wear full plate and bracers and get the AC bonus from both? Can an adventurer wear a Cloak ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

If I drop a bag containing 15 flasks of alchemist's fire on a giant and it hits, will it take 15d4 fire damage and so on?

While flying over a giant, I drop a bag containing 15 flasks of alchemist's fire and hit them. Will the giant take 15d4 fire damage and so on? Will the damage also be 15d4 for the following round?
20
votes
3answers
2k views

How do two castings of Mirror Image interact when one starts losing illusory duplicates?

Inspired by this question: Can you cast Mirror Image twice on successive turns and have 6 duplicates of yourself instead of 3? Mirror Image (PHB, pg. 260) says: Three illusory duplicates of yourself ...
19
votes
3answers
8k views

Does the Spirit Guardians spell stack with multiple casters?

Recently played with a group, where 3 of their clerics would cast spirit guardians, claiming monsters in the area had to make 3 wisdom saves for 3d8 damage each, potentially adding up to 9d8 damage ...
17
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Do Life Drain attacks from wights stack?

The wight has an attack called Life Drain: Life Drain. Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5 ft., one creature. Hit: 5 (1d6 + 2) necrotic damage. The target must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

If two Ensnaring Strikes affect the same target, does it have to make two saves to be unrestrained?

Say two Rangers shot the same target with ensnaring strike and the target failed its saves on both. The PHB says the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine such as two Clerics ...
17
votes
6answers
3k views

Can two mages cast Wall of Fire in the same place?

I've been playing D&D for a long time but I've never encountered this situation until now. If a party has a wizard and a sorceress who both know Wall of Fire, can they cast it in the same place? ...
17
votes
1answer
70k views

Do proficiencies with one thing from multiple different sources stack?

In D&D 5e it is possible for a character to receive proficiency in the same skill, tool, weapon and/or armor more than once via Class, Race, and/or Background. Do any of these proficiencies ...
16
votes
6answers
5k views

Would this house-rule that treats advantage as a +1 to the roll instead (and disadvantage as -1) and allows them to stack be balanced?

I've been playing Open Legend RPG and I love that the Advantage in that game can be stacked. I love it when players try to strategize and stack as much advantage as possible. I want to do this in D&...
16
votes
1answer
6k views

Does the Powerful Build trait stack with the benefit to carrying capacity from the Totem Warrior Barbarian's Aspect of the Beast (Bear) feature?

Does the Goliath's carrying capacity increase from its Powerful Build feature stack with the Barbarian's carrying capacity doubling from its Bear Totem feature? For example, would those two together ...
15
votes
1answer
10k views

Do Guidance and Bardic Inspiration bonus dice stack?

The feature/cantrip descriptions says nothing about their dice can not stack: Bardic Inspiration ... use a bonus action on your turn to choose one creature other than yourself within 60 feet of ...
15
votes
2answers
6k views

Does the extra damage from Booming Blade stack if the spell is cast twice on the same target?

The booming blade spell (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, p. 142) says: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

If you cast a spell with different effect options twice on the same creature, do multiple castings of the spell stack?

After researching into how spell effects stack, I find some ambiguity regarding certain spells that have multiple possible effects. Notably, this answer regarding stacking spell effects contains ...
14
votes
1answer
34k views

Do resistances stack?

If a creature had resistance to spells, and then cast fire resistance on it, would it take only 1/4 damage from all fire spells?
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement?

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement? In particular using 2 transmuter stones with 2 different effects.What if both stones give 10 speed?
14
votes
1answer
839 views

Can you add the same modifier to damage rolls multiple times if they come from different sources?

A friend of mine is wanting to do a specific build and as far as I am aware you cannot apply a modifier multiple times in this way. Can someone confirm if this is a RAW legal tactic? Scenario: level ...
14
votes
1answer
4k views

Do the fighting styles 'Close Quarters Shooter' and 'Archery' Stack?

I am attempting to convert one of my characters from 3.5e to 5e. In 3.5, my character was a level 15 Wood Elf character was 4 Rng / 5 Wiz / 3 Arcane Archer / 3 Order of the Bow Initiate. For 5e I ...
14
votes
1answer
220 views

Does a Nabassu benefit from devouring multiple souls or just from the strongest creature it devours?

If a Nabassu (Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes) were to use its Devour Soul feature: A nabassu can eat the soul of a creature it has killed within the last hour, provided that creature is neither a ...
13
votes
2answers
13k views

Do save bonuses stack from multiple magic items in AL?

I play in Adventurers League and have a character that has a +1 Ring of Protection, which gives +1 to AC and saves. I also have a Stone of Good Luck which gives a +1 to saves and ability checks. If I ...
13
votes
1answer
886 views

Does a monk get cumulative bonuses to proficiency and unarmed movement each level?

As a monk levels up, the monk table says they get the following: \begin{array}{|c|c|} \hline \textbf{Level} & \textbf{Proficiency Bonus} & \textbf{Martial Arts} & \textbf{Unarmored ...
13
votes
2answers
8k views

Does the Jump spell stack with the monk's Step of the Wind ki ability?

Inspired by this question, I wonder about the Monk feature (PHB p. 78): Step of the Wind ... Your jump distance is doubled for the turn And the jump spell (PHB p.254): Jump ... the creature's jump ...
13
votes
1answer
17k views

Does the additional attack from the Gloom Stalker ranger's Dread Ambusher feature stack with Extra Attack?

The Gloom Stalker Ranger from Xanathar's Guide to Everything gets the Dread Ambusher feature at level 3, which says (pg. 42): At the start of your first turn of each combat, you walking speed ...
13
votes
2answers
605 views

If two Lore Bards used the Cutting Words feature on an ability check or attack, would they stack?

Let's say the party had two Lore Bards, and both used Cutting Words on a creature who tried to attack. Does that stack, since they are separate penalties and not enduring effects (like bless)? Or ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the vorpal/defender rune also give a +X attack/damage bonus to a Moonblade?

One of the randomly obtainable runes on a Moonblade (DMG, p. 217) is: The moonblade functions as a vorpal sword. A regular vorpal sword has a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls. If you get the ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I cast Bestow Curse twice at greater than 5th level on the same creature?

Is it possible to cast bestow curse twice on the same target using a spell slot of 5th level or higher (so it doesn't require concentration) to bestow different curses? I can't see anything in the ...
13
votes
2answers
416 views

Can two Cloud of Daggers be cast in the same area by different spell casters?

Quick overview of the situation, the party is 3rd level and the warlock and the bard can now both cast cloud of daggers. We were in a lizardfolk den and they saw us and came running down a 5-foot ...
12
votes
1answer
12k views

Does the Enlarge spell stack if it is cast multiple times?

Does the enlarge/reduce spell stack if it is cast multiple times? In my campaign my character and party want to know if it is possible to cause our barbarian to become huge in size (two enlarge ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Hexblade warlock/Battle Master fighter use Armor of Hexes to make an attack miss, then use Riposte to attack after the enemy misses?

My DM allowed me to create a tabaxi warlock/fighter, taking three levels in Battle Master fighter before my character's nature of curiosity led me into a pact with the Hexblade warlock patron. I now ...
12
votes
1answer
413 views

What are all the ways that stacking resistance becomes immunity by RAW?

In this supplement for Rise of Tiamat, on page 4, the properties of the "dragon mask" magic items are described, including this property (bold emphasis mine): Damage Absorption. You have ...
12
votes
2answers
766 views

Does the Defensive Duelist feat stack with the AC calculation from the Warforged's Integrated Protection trait?

The warforged integrated protection uses your proficiency bonus as part of the calculation for your AC at all 3 levels if you are proficient in that armor type. The Defensive Duelist feat allows you ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Do features that allow you to add twice your proficiency bonus, under some other name, stack with Expertise?

Do features that allow you to add twice your proficiency bonus, under some other name, stack with Expertise? For instance, dwarves' racial Stonecunning trait, with bards' Expertise as applied to ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens if you cast Energy Immunity (Fire), then Energy Immunity (Acid)?

What would happen if you cast an Energy Immunity (Fire), then follow it up with an Energy Immunity (Acid)? Are you now immune to both Fire & Acid for the duration of the spells, or does the second ...
11
votes
1answer
11k views

Does the same fighting style stack with itself?

Suppose I have a ranger with the style Archery, and I take a one level dip into fighter and also pick Archery. Do I get an additional +4 to my attack rolls, or just +2? More generally, does the same ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can more than one creature benefit from multiple Hunter's Mark spells cast on the same target?

The Hunter's Mark spell states: You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit ...
11
votes
3answers
670 views

Can more than one instance of Bend Luck be applied to the same roll by multiple Wild Magic sorcerers?

Wild Magic sorcerers get the Bend Luck feature at 6th level (PHB, p. 103): Starting at 6th level, you have the ability to twist fate using your wild magic. When another creature you can see makes ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Do Paladin Auras of Differing Oaths Stack?

If multiple paladins (say an Oath of the Ancients paladin and an Oath of Devotion paladin) are in close proximity, do the effects of Aura of Devotion and Aura of Warding both apply? Or does their ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Do the benefits of Oil of Sharpness stack with those of +X magic ammunition?

Do the benefits of oil of sharpness stack with those of +1/2/3 magic ammunition? I'm really just curious whether these also stack as +X ammo does with a +3 bow, or if there's a point at which things ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

How does the Sanctuary spell stack with the College of Glamour bard's Unbreakable Majesty feature?

The College of Glamour bard's Unbreakable Majesty feature (XGE, p. 14-15) has a similar effect to the sanctuary spell, although it requires a Charisma save instead of a Wisdom save. If someone ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can the 2019 UA Artificer's Returning Weapon and Radiant Weapon infusions stack on the same weapon?

Can the 2019 UA Artificer's Returning Weapon and Radiant Weapon infusions stack on the same weapon? Each infusion grants you a +1 to hit and damage rolls, so would you get a +2 with both infusions? ...
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Do Armor of Agathys and Fire Shield stack?

I have a party of a paladin, rogue, and warlock. The warlock player thinks having only 2 spells per short rest is making him really weak, so he is trying to find the best possible ways to be more ...
10
votes
1answer
827 views

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature?

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature? This question has two parts related to the same spell and game mechanic. Scenario 1: The Three Warlocks walk into a tavern and spot their arch-enemy: ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you gain the benefit of multiple copies of a tome in Adventurers League?

In Adventurers League, can a character read multiple (different but with the same name) unused Tomes of Understanding? Do their effect stack?
10
votes
3answers
616 views

Do the benefits to foraging from the ranger's Natural Explorer feature and the Outlander background's Wanderer feature stack?

I am planning on building my first ranger ever, and I was wondering about the Natural Explorer feature. One of its benefits when in your favored terrain is: When you forage, you find twice as much ...
10
votes
1answer
279 views

Can the motes of the Ring of Shooting Star's “Shooting Star” effect be layered?

The Ring of Shooting Stars has the Shooting Star effect as described below: Shooting Stars. You can expend 1 to 3 charges as an action. For every charge you expend, you launch a glowing mote of ...
10
votes
2answers
208 views

What happens when identical overlapping effects have their end-condition met?

The Dungeon Master's Guide errata (direct download) added the "Combining Game Effects" section which states (emphasis mine): Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when ...