Questions tagged [stacking]

For questions about whether multiple effects stack on the same target.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
134 views

Do movement bonuses from different sources stack?

Do fast movement bonus from the Monk and Bloodrager stack with the elemental movement bloodline power bonus of the Sorcerer?
2
votes
1answer
103 views

Do skill bonuses stack?

Are skill bonuses always cumulative? If I have an item giving me +10% Charm and another item giving me +20% Charm, do I now have +30% Charm, or do I just take the highest bonus? Likewise, if I have ...
5
votes
1answer
370 views

Can you wear Bracers of Armor or an Amulet of Natural Armor with Dragonscale Husk?

Dragonscale Husk, from Dragon Magic, is a cool alternate class feature (ACF) for characters with dragon blood and proficiency in heavy armor. It's useful for a lot of reasons: decent defenses that ...
2
votes
2answers
114 views

Can you stack a Greater Dragonsong another Greater Dragonsong, or with Bardic Music?

Bardic music is one of my favorite abilities, but the rules on what is and isn't bardic music and what stacks versus what doesn't can be frustratingly vague. Did you know that it's not actually ...
17
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
5
votes
1answer
531 views

How does the Furyborn bonus interact with a weapon's regular enhancement bonus?

I've been looking through the Magic Weapons for Pathfinder, and came across the Furyborn enchantment. Basically, whenever you damage someone, you get a +1 Enhancement bonus to your weapon against that ...
-6
votes
3answers
593 views

How do you deal with sneak attack if you multi-class in classes with sneak attack? [closed]

How do you deal with sneak attack if you multi-class in classes with sneak attack? I understand that for now the rogue is the only class with sneak attack, but i we're using 3rd party and home brew ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you gain the benefit of multiple copies of a tome in Adventurers League?

In Adventurers League, can a character read multiple (different but with the same name) unused Tomes of Understanding? Do their effect stack?
13
votes
1answer
887 views

Does a monk get cumulative bonuses to proficiency and unarmed movement each level?

As a monk levels up, the monk table says they get the following: \begin{array}{|c|c|} \hline \textbf{Level} & \textbf{Proficiency Bonus} & \textbf{Martial Arts} & \textbf{Unarmored ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

If two Ensnaring Strikes affect the same target, does it have to make two saves to be unrestrained?

Say two Rangers shot the same target with ensnaring strike and the target failed its saves on both. The PHB says the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine such as two Clerics ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I apply multiple doses of Basic Poison to a weapon and get a cumulative effect?

Suppose I have two vials of Basic Poison: You can use the poison in this vial to coat one slashing or piercing weapon or up to three pieces of ammunition. Applying the poison takes an action. A ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Do features that allow you to add twice your proficiency bonus, under some other name, stack with Expertise?

Do features that allow you to add twice your proficiency bonus, under some other name, stack with Expertise? For instance, dwarves' racial Stonecunning trait, with bards' Expertise as applied to ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

If you cast a spell with different effect options twice on the same creature, do multiple castings of the spell stack?

After researching into how spell effects stack, I find some ambiguity regarding certain spells that have multiple possible effects. Notably, this answer regarding stacking spell effects contains ...
20
votes
3answers
2k views

How do two castings of Mirror Image interact when one starts losing illusory duplicates?

Inspired by this question: Can you cast Mirror Image twice on successive turns and have 6 duplicates of yourself instead of 3? Mirror Image (PHB, pg. 260) says: Three illusory duplicates of yourself ...
4
votes
2answers
886 views

Can you cast Mirror Image twice on successive turns and have 6 duplicates of yourself instead of 3?

Mirror image (PHB, pg. 260) is a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, and a duration of 1 minute. My question is, can you cast Mirror image twice on successive turns, gaining 6 images by turn 2? ...
4
votes
2answers
492 views

Are there any rules about layering two (or more) sets of armour?

Layering armour was common, historically, for those who could afford it. Which lead me to the realization that I can't recall any rules prohibiting layering armour. Although the d20 System is an ...
7
votes
2answers
378 views

Does Immunity Stack?

So I've got a guy who's playing an "elemental" character with the Insubstantial 3 (Fire-Energy) power. He already has Fire Immunity 5, so when he "flames on" does the Fire-immunity of the ...
1
vote
1answer
290 views

Stacking acid damage from weapon [closed]

My GM gave me a spear, which appears to be a homebrew item. It does 2d4 acid damage for 1d4 rounds in addition to the normal 1d8 base damage. If I attack a foe with this weapon each round how does the ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Does a monk's Unarmed Strikes deal 2d4 damage if they have the Tavern Brawler feat?

If a monk gets the tavern brawler feat, does his martial arts damage stack with the 1d4 damage given with tavern brawler? For example: could a 1st level monk deal 2d4 damage with his unarmed strikes ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Do multipliers stack additively or multiplicatively? [duplicate]

For example: haste doubles your speed, boots of speed double your speed, and the Dash action doubles your speed. Intuitively, it should be 2*2*2 = 8 times movement speed. However, the Dash action ...
8
votes
2answers
253 views

Does everything that eases a task, but is not listed as an asset, stack with other 'untyped' eases?

The rules as interpreted in this question: Is the maximum a task difficulty can be eased 4 without applying Effort? state that you cannot ease a difficulty by more than 2 levels with assets, however ...
5
votes
2answers
551 views

How do these effects stack?

Some days ago we were talking with some friends about builds and a friend of mine told us about a monk build where you got Colossal++++ unarmed damage. The main points of the build were: Improved ...
3
votes
1answer
843 views

In Tyranny of Dragons, do the effects common to all Dragon Masks stack if you attune to more than one?

In the Tyranny of Dragons storyline, do the effects common to all Dragon Masks stack if you attune to more than one? I'm specifically interested in Draconic Majesty, but would like answers for all of ...
3
votes
1answer
166 views

If I have Charm of Wisdom and Lore of Escape, do I add my Wisdom modifier twice to Bluff checks?

In the character generation process for the Inquisitor class, I was faced with a question, the answer to which I'm not entirely sure. I used Conversion Inquisition, which grants me: Charm of ...
1
vote
2answers
126 views

Do multiple lantern archon's Aura of Menace debuffs stack? [duplicate]

I summoned six lantern archons. They each have the ability Aura of Menace with a save DC of 13: Aura of Menace (Su) A righteous aura surrounds archons that fight or get angry. Any hostile creature ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you stack the speed reduction from Ray of Frost?

If I hit you with Ray of Frost, and my friend hits you with Ray of Frost immediately after, do you have your speed reduced by (10x2=)20 until the start of my next turn? Or do you only lose 10 speed ...
4
votes
1answer
404 views

Do the flaws gained in suffering from multiple instances of Indefinite Madness stack?

In Out of the Abyss, you gain levels of Madness due to certain events. Every time you fail, the Madness level increases, just like Exhaustion level: Level 1 Madness gives you Short term Madness - ~1 ...
7
votes
3answers
201 views

Does the Vrock Spores ability stack? If so, does a single saving throw end both?

Vrocks have a "Spores" action (with a recharge of 6) that releases a 15­-foot­-radius cloud of toxic spores: Each creature in that area must succeed on a DC 14 Constitution saving throw or become ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Hexblade warlock/Battle Master fighter use Armor of Hexes to make an attack miss, then use Riposte to attack after the enemy misses?

My DM allowed me to create a tabaxi warlock/fighter, taking three levels in Battle Master fighter before my character's nature of curiosity led me into a pact with the Hexblade warlock patron. I now ...
3
votes
1answer
160 views

Does a Pseudodragon's natural spell resistance stack with the spell resistance granted to familiars?

Pseudodragons have spell resistance 12. As a familiar, at level 11, it gains spell resistance 16 that scales with the wizard's level. Do the spell resistances stack?
1
vote
1answer
782 views

Rogue and Investigator multi-class—Do Studied Combat and Sneak Attack stack?

I am building a level 8 character that has 4 levels of Rogue Unchained and 4 levels of Investigator. The classes have a similar, but not identical, feature: Studied Strike (Ex) - At 4th level, an ...
0
votes
2answers
18k views

How do you calculate a warforged barbarian's AC?

I am looking at the warforged AC calculation from the Integrated Protection feature, looking only at Darkwood Core (unarmored), for a possible warforged barbarian. (I am using the version of the ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the vorpal/defender rune also give a +X attack/damage bonus to a Moonblade?

One of the randomly obtainable runes on a Moonblade (DMG, p. 217) is: The moonblade functions as a vorpal sword. A regular vorpal sword has a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls. If you get the ...
5
votes
2answers
525 views

Can you benefit from a Ring of Spell Storing if you already have a Moonblade that functions as it?

One of the random possible runes on a Moonblade (DMG, p. 217) is: The moonblade functions as a ring of spell storing. I think there's a rule (at least enforced in Adventurers League, not sure if ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Repeated poisonous effects and conditions

I was reading through the "Poisons" section of the DMG chapter 8, and had the following questions: If for instance a character is hit by a creature repeated times with the same poison (for example a ...
3
votes
2answers
256 views

SoP Staff, caster, and feat talent stacking

This is a rather cheesy question about min-maxing. Staffs in SoP work a little differently than plain Pathfinder ones. The enhancement bonus applies to CL of the sphere effect, and extra talents can ...
4
votes
1answer
180 views

Combining Numerical Bonuses (addition and multiplication)

This question has already been asked for 5th edition, but 3.5 remains my first love and I can't find the answer for there either. So you have multiple bonuses to, say, your ship's sailing speed. Some ...
41
votes
4answers
5k views

When a creature is hit with more than one fireball simultaneously, do they take damage from all of them?

Say a creature walks through a door and triggers two spell glyphs from two glyph of warding spells that are programmed to cast a fireball at the creature that walks through the door. Both glyphs are ...
1
vote
2answers
591 views

Stacking Size effects, what is the total buff?

On a separate question, here, it is agreed that casting giant form 2 on yourself, and then having legendary proportions applied stack, but my question is, what is the total of the buffs? I know size ...
6
votes
1answer
942 views

Does the UA Mystic's Tough Hide bestial transformation (+2 AC) stack with the UA Warforged's Composite Plating trait (+1 AC)?

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class contains the most recent version of the Mystic class (v3). One of the psionic disciplines listed is Bestial Form; one of its psionic effects is Bestial ...
13
votes
1answer
17k views

Does the additional attack from the Gloom Stalker ranger's Dread Ambusher feature stack with Extra Attack?

The Gloom Stalker Ranger from Xanathar's Guide to Everything gets the Dread Ambusher feature at level 3, which says (pg. 42): At the start of your first turn of each combat, you walking speed ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement?

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement? In particular using 2 transmuter stones with 2 different effects.What if both stones give 10 speed?
8
votes
4answers
171 views

Weapon Combat Bonus Stacking

I apologize ahead of time for this question. But it came up in tonight's session. Lets say that you have a Helm of Brilliance, and a Longsword +4. The helm states that if you use its ability to ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Do an Assassin's Assassinate and a Hunter's Colossus Slayer stack?

Character level 6 - Rogue / Assassin 3 and Ranger / Hunter 3 Assassinate. Starting at 3rd level, you are at your deadliest when you get the drop on your enemies. You have advantage on attack ...
6
votes
1answer
780 views

Can enlarge person affect an eidolon that 's large due to evolution surge?

The spell evolution surge allows a summoner to grant his eidolon temporary evolution points that can then be spent so that the eidolon gains the evolution large. An unchained summoner's eidolon can ...
7
votes
1answer
865 views

Does a spell made permanent by Permanency stack with another permanent version of itself?

This question was brought up recently by a player in our Pathfinder group who was planning to use the Permanency spell on the Resistance spell at later levels (applying the price for permanency and ...
14
votes
1answer
4k views

Do the fighting styles 'Close Quarters Shooter' and 'Archery' Stack?

I am attempting to convert one of my characters from 3.5e to 5e. In 3.5, my character was a level 15 Wood Elf character was 4 Rng / 5 Wiz / 3 Arcane Archer / 3 Order of the Bow Initiate. For 5e I ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can green flame blade, slashing flourish, and sweeping maneuver be combined for a massive sweeping attack?

A character with the classes: Rogue(Arcane Trickster) lvl 3, Bard (College of Swords) lvl 4, Fighter (Battle Master) lvl 3, has: Green Flame blade. The Bardic College of Sword's slashing flourish. ...
8
votes
5answers
4k views

Do multiple sources of counting as one size larger for carrying capacity stack?

I am currently mocking up a Goliath Barbarian, and was wondering if there is a limit to the amount of sources of "You count as if you were one size larger for the purpose of determining your carrying ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Does Bleed Damage stack with itself from different sources?

Does bleed damage stack with itself from multiple sources?