Questions tagged [summoner]

For questions about the summoner character class in Pathfinder, and similar classes or archetypes in other RPGs. In Pathfinder, summoners are arcane spellcasters focused on conjuration magic, and have the ability to summon a special creature called an eidolon (see the [eidolon] tag).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
1 answer
70 views

Reactions and free actions (Summoner and Eidolon)

I have a Summoner with a Dragon Eidolon, and I'm not understanding some things about the class. In the following topic: "Your eidolon is no mere minion. It doesn't have the minion or summoned ...
user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does a synthesist eidolon actually take damage?

I'm asking myself if the eidolon of a synthesist actually takes damage. While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist uses the eidolon’s physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution),...
user avatar
  • 113
4 votes
1 answer
94 views

Do conditions persist when an Eidolon is unmanifested?

Let's say a summoner's eidolon is currently suffering from persistent bleed damage, is frightened 1, benefitting from Haste for 5 more rounds, and permanently blinded. The summoner is reduced to zero ...
user avatar
  • 7,483
7 votes
1 answer
166 views

How does applying drained to an Eidolon affect the Summoners hitpoints?

While in the course of play, one of the enemies gave the party summoner's eidolon drained 1. We were unsure whether to change the summoner's hit points, since they are shared amongst the two. Normally ...
user avatar
  • 7,483
7 votes
2 answers
153 views

Does the Synthesist Summoner keep Hit Points from his Constitution score?

While fused with his eidolon, the Synthesist uses the eidolon's physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution), but retains his own mental ability scores (Intelligence, Wisdom, and ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
164 views

What is the meaning of Instant Restoration's duration of 1 round/level?

The spell Instant Restoration seems, at face value, like it is a one-time cast spell with no need for a duration. The spell stops a summoned creature from dying, gives it 4d8+(1*CL) hp, and that seems ...
user avatar
  • 839
2 votes
1 answer
686 views

Do I need to command creatures every turn? [closed]

Some classes have ways to summon creatures in battle: animate objects, beastmaster buddy, animate dead, sometimes a magic item like Staff Of The Python. Do I need to command these creatures every turn ...
user avatar
  • 1,678
5 votes
1 answer
173 views

Why does an eidolon choose to be bound by a summoner?

I'm a GM in Pathfinder-1e and one of my players wants to start playing a summoner. He asked me what is the reason that an outsider chooses to bound to a summoner (RP wise) and I couldn't find any ...
user avatar
  • 51
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

I found a homebrew summoner/eidolon class online; is it balanced?

I have found many summoner/eidolon classes. One kinda stuck out to me: is it balanced? We are starting at level 1. Desired balance comparison is to the Wizard schools of Conjuration or ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
366 views

How do Unchained Eidolon's type Resistances interact with the Resistance evolution?

Certain Eidolon types obtain energy resistance against some type of damage - for example the Psychopomp type gains cold resistance 10 and electricity resistance 10 at 4th level - while some obtain the ...
user avatar
  • 1,690
-2 votes
1 answer
93 views

How could a level 5 Summoner detect a Phase Spider who is on the Ethereal Plane?

One of the Same Game Test encounters for a level 5 character is the Phase Spider. The test was originally written for D&D 3.5e, but I wanted to run it for a character that I am creating for an ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
3k views

What are the mechanical differences between a Summoner and an Unchained Summoner?

I have a player in one of my games asking to play a Summoner (vanilla, not a Synthesist). Personally I like the flavor of the class, and I trust the player, but I'm aware that the normal Summoner has ...
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
363 views

What happens if an Eidolon is hit with Imprisonment?

If a Mythic Unchained Summoner's Eidolon is hit with the Imprison spell, does it automatically unsummon, or is it trapped in the prison?
user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the Large evolution retroactively increase the cost of Ability Increase evolutions?

Suppose a medium-sized Eidolon has spent 2 evolution points for the Ability Increase (Strength) evolution. Later, the Summoner gains a level and gives the Eidolon the Large evolution. According to ...
user avatar
  • 31.1k
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

How can I get a Hell Hound as a Summon Monster 2 option in PFS, as early as possible?

Hell Hound is listed in the Summon Monster II alternative summoning list. This creature seems nice to be used by my friend who is a True Neutral Unchained Summoner with a focus on actually summoning ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
177 views

Can I make more Pistol shots per round if I have additional arms in Pathfinder?

I was thinking about building and Unchained Eidolon (Azata) for using Firearms. The thing is, increasing the number of arms (limbs) is trivial for Eidolons, as is taking a Pistol in each hand, or a ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
916 views

Can a Counter-Summoner dispel an already Summoned creature?

Our Hero, James the Summoner, has the Counter-Summoner archetype and is 2nd level. This grants him the following abilities: Counter-Summon (Su) ... a counter-summoner can attempt to counter a ...
user avatar
  • 4,100
3 votes
1 answer
317 views

Does looking at a gaze attack indirectly still trigger the effect?

This question is similar to this one, but with Pathfinder rules in mind. More specifically, my group is up against a creature that does damage when it looks at you. Our bard ran away, but can still ...
user avatar
  • 839
2 votes
1 answer
222 views

Does the Claws evolution give 2 attacks or only one attack?

Well, it's very simple. The Evolution's name is "Claws" (plural), and the name of the Natural Attack in the table is "Claw" (singular). Does the Claws evolution give 2 attacks, each dealing 1d4 + STR /...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
703 views

Is using multiple Greatswords on an Unchained Eidolon with a Multiweapon Fighting feat worth it?

My friend plays an Unchained Summoner in Pathfinder Organized Play, and I build a character for them. It's actually possible that I create my own Unchained Summoner two, as I've tried this class ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

How can I make Unchained characters in PCGen?

I am making a character to be played in PFS by my friend, and they want to play a Summoner. Chained Summoners are not legal, but PCGen doesn't seem to support the Unchained one. Is there any way to ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
348 views

Can Synthesist Summoners apply evolutions to the Summoner's natural attacks?

I'm a bit confused here. Since the Eidolon and Summoner are fused together as a Synthesist, could I apply an evolution like reach to one of my Summoner's own natural attacks? Or would I have to wait ...
user avatar
  • 41
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

What feats work with an unchained summoner's SLA?

The unchained summoner has the spell-like ability to cast a summon spell, with increasing strength as they level up. Starting at 1st level, a summoner can cast summon monster I as a spell-like ...
user avatar
  • 3,679
3 votes
1 answer
200 views

Can a bipedal eidolon ride a mount?

If I level up my eidolon's ride skill, can I have it ride into battle?
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
770 views

When awarding xp, is the summoner's eidolon counted as a separate party member with respect to xp division?

Under Exact XP on p.399 of the Core Rulebook, it states that the XP for the encounter should be tallied and then divided by the number of party members. Each party member is then awarded this amount ...
user avatar
  • 1,715
3 votes
1 answer
483 views

Is it possible for a summoner to summon the true form of his Eidolon using gate?

According to the description of the Eidolon feature of the summoner the summoner summons an aspect of a powerful outsider. A summoner begins play with the ability to summon to his side a powerful ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
509 views

Can a mounted Summoner use Mounted Combat to avoid attacks to their Eidolon?

I've been tangling with a mounted Summoner build for a while, and I'm having trouble parsing feats that the Summoner herself can take and how they affect an Eidolon being used as a mount. My main ...
user avatar
  • 915
5 votes
1 answer
675 views

Do racial natural attacks matter for a Synthesist's attack limit?

Synthesists are a unique summoner archetype that combines with the eidolon, which can range from a Hulk or werewolf relationship to powered-up final forms, to a super-suit. The eidolon is a separate ...
user avatar
  • 4,082
26 votes
8 answers
8k views

As the DM am I allowed to nerf character stats?

One of our guys is a summoner, and I feel he has become overly powerful. He defeats enemies first every time, so he always get first pick* of treasure and loot. As DM, am I allowed to nerf his ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can enlarge person affect an eidolon that 's large due to evolution surge?

The spell evolution surge allows a summoner to grant his eidolon temporary evolution points that can then be spent so that the eidolon gains the evolution large. An unchained summoner's eidolon can ...
user avatar
  • 26.2k
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

How do Primary and Secondary Attacks Work Together in Combat?

I'm a bit confused on how secondary attacks and primary attacks actually work, specifically how they work together. Can an Eidolon open up with a secondary attack? Or are they only used for follow ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
314 views

Does a synthesist risk exploding upon entering the Positive Energy Plane?

A summoner that possesses the synthesist archetype gains his eidolon's hp as temporary hp. On the Positive Energy Plane if a creature's temporary hp exceed its normal hp the creature must succeed on ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
561 views

If an Eidolon has the Flight evolution, would the Boots of Striding and Springing increase its fly speed?

A summoner's eidolon can gain the Flight evolution, which says the following: An eidolon grows large wings, like those of a bat, bird, insect, or dragon, gaining the ability to fly. The eidolon ...
user avatar
  • 31.1k
2 votes
1 answer
142 views

Does a broodmasters Eidolon's number of attacks limit weapon usage as well?

I am thinking of building a broodmaster character who will go around with combat maids with each wielding between one to four weapons but if the attack limit also limits the number of weapons that can ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
325 views

Does an Eidolon benefit from its own Greater Shield Ally effect?

When a Summoner reaches 12th level, they get the Greater Shield Ally class feature: At 12th level, whenever an ally is within an eidolon’s reach, the ally receives a +2 shield bonus to its Armor ...
user avatar
  • 31.1k
1 vote
1 answer
123 views

What does it mean to not have a skill as an eidolon?

Many creatures lack ranks in skills, even vital skills like Perception. However, even a creature with no ranks in a skill typically has that skill, with 0 ranks, and can use it untrained, just ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
575 views

Would a Synthesist summoner have access to their Eidolon's feats?

I am thinking of playing as a Synthesist summoner but I can't find a source telling me whether I get my Eidolon's feats or if those feats are only used should I use split forms.
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
710 views

Can a druid/summoner make his eidolon also his animal companion?

Is there an option that allows a multiclass druid/summoner to combine his animal companion and his eidolon into one creature?
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
466 views

Does an eidolon that's being ridden still get its own actions?

A party member is considering riding my summoner's eidolon. Is my summoner's eidolon still able to attack whilst bearing a rider?
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
455 views

Does getting a prestige class that gives your base class an extra level increase your Eidolon's evolution points?

Does getting a prestige class that gives your base class an extra level like mystic theurge increase your Eidolon's evolution points?
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Do Eidolons gain levels and feats?

Do Eidolon's gain class levels and feats as their summoner becomes stronger or do they just have access to evolution points to get stronger?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
560 views

Summoners and the summon monster ability and summon eidolon spell

I am a summoner which gives me the ability to have an eidolon and also use an ability to summon monsters. The question here is related but different. Under unchained summoner summon monster ...
user avatar
  • 26.2k
3 votes
1 answer
253 views

Maker's Call carrying objects or persons

Maker's Call: At 6th level, as a standard action, a summoner can call his eidolon to his side. This functions as dimension door, using the summoner’s caster level. When used, the eidolon appears ...
user avatar
  • 839
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Synthesist Summoner, what size are you when you fuse if the Eidolon is medium and the summoner is small?

When a small summoner summons a medium Eidolon and fuses with it, what size is the resulting combination? The eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist.
user avatar
  • 26.2k
3 votes
2 answers
763 views

How to determine when Ex or Su abilities are dependant on original form when polymorphying?

I have been working on a character concept and I am trying to figure out how some things work together. What I am working on is a druid unchained summoner who is being allowed to use the Synthesist ...
user avatar
  • 26.2k
1 vote
1 answer
392 views

Question regarding synthesist summoner and No Breath

So the Eidolon can take an evolution called No Breath. What if the summoner already has a similar ability, where they don't breathe and can't be affected by anything that needs to be inhaled? When ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
454 views

What magic item slots does an aquatic eidolon have?

Currently my summoner's aquatic eidolon is wearing an amulet of mighty fists and a belt of strength. What other magic item slots besides neck and waist does an aquatic eidolon have available?
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
709 views

Are the synthesist and his eidolon different creatures when an effect isn't targeted?

The description of the synthesist summoner's fused eidolon says, "Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature." Do effects that buff allies, ...
user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
74 views

Will the Linnorm death curse affect the synthesist's eidolon? [duplicate]

"Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature." Does things that buff allies or give abilties like a raging song give the lonorm death cure to ...
user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is there any advantage to splitting an Eidolon's armour bonus?

The Summoner's Eidolon has a bonus to armour class based on level. The description of the Armor Bonus ability states this can be a mixture of regular armour bonus and natural armour bonus, as so: ...
user avatar
  • 62.1k