Questions tagged [summoner]

For questions about the summoner character class in Pathfinder, and similar classes or archetypes in other RPGs. In Pathfinder, summoners are arcane spellcasters focused on conjuration magic, and have the ability to summon a special creature called an eidolon (see the [eidolon] tag).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
3answers
455 views

Synthesist summoner and Linnorm Death Curse, Taiga rage power

I am playing a Synthesist summoner level 7. I am thinking of taking 6 levels in skald to get the Linnorm Death Curse, Taiga rage power but i am not sure if it would activate while using raging song ...
18
votes
3answers
4k views

In Pathfinder, does the summoner or the GM control the eidolon?

I'm starting up a summoner character in a Pathfinder campaign, but we're a little unsure of the rules for eidolons. While I know the summoner is the one who tells her eidolon what to do, I'm wondering ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Do extra Limbs on an Eidolon give them extra weapon attacks?

In an upcoming Pathfinder campaign, one of my friends that loves to attempt to break games is about to take the Summoner class. Out of caution and curiosity, I looked through the advanced evolutions ...
26
votes
8answers
7k views

As the DM am I allowed to nerf character stats?

One of our guys is a summoner, and I feel he has become overly powerful. He defeats enemies first every time, so he always get first pick* of treasure and loot. As DM, am I allowed to nerf his ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

What lore is available on how summoners discover their eidolon?

I recently agreed to GM a small Pathfinder campaign with three players who are interested in playing as a group of Summoners. They have requested that, at the start of the campaign, we play out a ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a Summoner Cast the Summon Monster Spell With His Eidolon Out?

I have Summon Monster IV on my spell list. Do I have to dismiss my eidolon before casting the spell, or can I cast it even with my eidolon out? I remember you couldn't have the eidolon and summon ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Celestial Commander Summoned Monsters

This is a follow-up on this question Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another? The answer to that questions seems to be "Not if they cannot understand you." I am currently playing a ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Stacking size damages

My question is mainly concerning Eidolons and damage stacking abilities. An eidolon has an evolution called Improved damage that states it increases the die rolls for a specific attack by one step. ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens if a Summoner's Eidolon is sent 100 years into the future?

Halfling Summoner lvl 9 in Pathfinder, with a big problem. GM "killed" my Eidolon the only way he knew how: send it into the future a hundred years. It was planar locked, so when it got knocked out, ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Eidolon apply a reach evolution to a weapon attack?

Can an Eidolon apply a reach evolution to a weapon attack (such as a polearm)? The wording of the reach evolution does not seem to refer to natural attacks as most other Eidolon attack abilities do. ...
4
votes
2answers
9k views

How many hp does a starting eidolon have?

Does a level 1 summoner's eidolon start with maximum hp just like a PC or is there a rule I missed somewhere?
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Disarm or Trip using a secondary natural attack

Suppose, there is a Summoner with an Eidolon. The Eidolon has the following natural attacks: Bite (primary) Claw x2 (primary) Tentacle (secondary) Since the tentacle attack is a secondary attack, it ...
3
votes
1answer
620 views

Are the synthesist and his eidolon different creatures when an effect isn't targeted?

The description of the synthesist summoner's fused eidolon says, "Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature." Do effects that buff allies, ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Pathfinder Summoner act after his summoned monsters act?

When do summoned monsters act (disregarding the first round), and can a Pathfinder Summoner, using their Summon Monster spell-like ability, choose to delay until after this in order to summon a second ...
2
votes
2answers
898 views

Unchained Summoner Eidolon and being far away and coming closer

Im confused about the life link ability an unchained summoner and their Eidolon share. When at a distance from the summoner its hit points are reduced by 50-75%. Since damage should be kept track of ...
1
vote
0answers
72 views

Will the Linnorm death curse affect the synthesist's eidolon? [duplicate]

"Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature." Does things that buff allies or give abilties like a raging song give the lonorm death cure to ...