Skip to main content

Questions tagged [summoning]

For questions about summoning, which refers to the process of bringing an object or creature to the spellcaster via magic to aid them.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8 votes
1 answer
606 views

Can You have More than One Homunculus Simultaneously Through Different Methods?

The spell, Create Homunculus, specifies the following: You can have only one homunculus at a time. If you cast this spell while your homunculus lives, the spell fails. However, the Homunculus ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
9 votes
1 answer
705 views

Can a LG Cleric of Asmodeus summon a Bearded Devil?

A Cleric is alignment-restricted: Alignment: A cleric's alignment must be within one step of her deity's, along either the law/chaos axis or the good/evil axis (see Additional Rules). Asmodeus is a ...
Theaitetos's user avatar
  • 2,335
3 votes
1 answer
179 views

Obzedat Ghost summoning ability

Going to run some undead for a boss fight, and while I was looking through some potential bosses I found the Obzedat Ghost. They seemed pretty interesting, in particular this ability: Convene the ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
251 views

What animal does a Jorogumo summon?

I'm running an AP that calls out an encounter with a Jorogumo. This appears to be a spellcasting monster, and its absolute top level spell is a 7th level Summon. So it seems important to playing this ...
T.E.D.'s user avatar
  • 1,862
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

When a Beast Master Ranger is incapacitated, who controls the primal companion?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything's Primal Companion description says: If you are incapacitated, the beast can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge. Since it's a magically summoned primal ...
Divine Right's user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
344 views

What is the name of the animal that follows its master, and is also a figment of the master's imagination? [closed]

The animal follows its master, and is also a figment of the master's imagination. It can be re-summoned. I think you can see through its eyes. What is its name? And what animals can it be? Also, what ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
209 views

Can a summon monster type spell be made permanent?

Is there a RAW way to summon a monster of some variety and make it permanent? In my scenario I'm thinking of Oozes specifically, in case that makes a difference.
NeomerArcana's user avatar
  • 1,748
9 votes
2 answers
347 views

How can an unwilling Elemental planar ruler be drawn into the Material Plane?

Gate would normally be the answer, but if the planar ruler is unwilling, they would prevent this spell from opening near them: You conjure a portal linking an unoccupied space you can see within ...
C. A. Jones's user avatar
  • 4,324
14 votes
1 answer
1k views

How long can you negotiate the price for service with a Planar Ally?

Planar Ally summons a creature for whose service the caster then negotiates. The spell states: If you are unable to agree on a price for the creature's service, the creature immediately returns to ...
M. Vienneau's user avatar
  • 1,868
7 votes
1 answer
426 views

What happens when a non paladin casts a find steed spell from a ring of spell storing [duplicate]

A paladin casts Find Steed into a ring of Spell Storing. Another character then casts the Find Steed spell from the ring. The ring definition says that the spell uses the casting level, save DC etc of ...
Alan's user avatar
  • 71
5 votes
1 answer
112 views

How should the encounter level calculated for creatures with Summon abilities?

When I write a campaign, I see most people will give an EL for every encounter they write. Basically, it would be equal to the encountered creature if that's an encounter with just one creature. And ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
205 views

Summoning the same creature so frequently that it starts gaining class level

Can summon spells be used to summon the same specific creatures repeatedly? I see that RAW wise it is actually allowed to let a PC repeatly summons the same creature over and over again. If a PC ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
479 views

If a character with darkvision stands inside the magical darkness from a Tricksy Fey Spirit, can they attack faraway enemies with advantage?

The Tricksy Fey spirit can create a cube of magical darkness. Summon Fey (TCoE, p. 112): Tricksy. The fey can fill a 5-foot cube within 5 feet of it with magical darkness, which lasts until the end ...
Picklespeare's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
511 views

Can the spell "Final Sacrifice" be used on the homunculus from the spell "Shadow Spy?"

Context I am playing a 4th-level Tangible Dream (Emotional Acceptance) Psychic, preparing for the 5th level. Weighing my options, Shadow Spy + Final Sacrifice could really put an immediate end to a ...
Queerie Dearie's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the damage from Hexblade's Curse apply to attacks from summons?

The description for Hexblade's Curse states the following: You gain a bonus to damage rolls against the cursed target. The bonus equals your proficiency bonus. Say that a Hexblade Warlock uses this ...
Andrendire's user avatar
  • 11.9k
5 votes
1 answer
161 views

Can summon cast spells with longer casting time?

Some summons have spells, like a Djin with Creation spell, which has 1 minute casting time. Neither summoned rules forbid from multiturn casting, nor cast a spell require having all 3 actions ...
Guy with jewels' names's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does a summoned creature act immediately after being summoned by a readied action?

I have a player that wanted to use a spell to summon a creature if the person in front of him did something hostile using its ready action. After doing so, he wanted to attack immediately... But it's ...
gbb's user avatar
  • 303
23 votes
4 answers
3k views

Is the vial necessary to Summon Greater Demon?

Summon Greater Demon has material component "a vial of blood from a humanoid killed within the past 24 hours". I'm having trouble parsing whether "vial" is an actual vial or just a ...
Jarno Porkka's user avatar
  • 1,209
8 votes
1 answer
737 views

Do you get access to a summoned creature's special attacks/spells with "Summon Nature's Ally"?

The Summon Nature's Ally spell mentions: This spell summons a natural creature. It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability....
UniQuadrion's user avatar
  • 1,054
5 votes
1 answer
149 views

Do you need to roll handle animal check for "Summon Nature's Ally" summons to get them to attack or have them do something else other than attack?

Summon nature's ally spell mentions: This spell summons a natural creature. It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If ...
UniQuadrion's user avatar
  • 1,054
7 votes
1 answer
615 views

Do Ashbound and Augment Summoning stack together for "summon nature's ally" spell?

Ashbound feat from Eberron Campaign Setting, p. 50 states: The duration of your summon nature's ally spells is doubled. Creatures summoned by those spells receive a +3 luck bonus on their attack ...
UniQuadrion's user avatar
  • 1,054
3 votes
2 answers
192 views

Would Find (Greater) Steed summoning a construct be gamebreaking?

My warforged bard has the Find Greater Steed spell. As a reflavouring, the steed is created from animating scrap and nearby objects. Would giving it the construct type instead of celestial/fey/fiend ...
Comic Sans Seraphim's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
42 views

Can a familiar be resummoned on the other side of a door? [duplicate]

There is a thread about Conjure Elemental not being able to be cast on the other side of a wall due to targeting rules. Does this also apply to bringing a familiar from its extradimensional space? Or ...
Cookieman's user avatar
  • 645
4 votes
1 answer
187 views

Can summons be verbally commanded with Voice of the Chain Master?

Summons like Summon Greater Demon and Conjure Elemental require a verbal command from the caster. Let's say the caster is elsewhere, but they have the Voice of the Chain Master invocation. Can that be ...
Cookieman's user avatar
  • 645
8 votes
5 answers
6k views

Are there any obscure methods to get Find Steed?

I'm playing an Artificer that uses its Steel Defender as a mount and was planning on grabbing the Spellwrought tattoo once able to replicate the higher tier items. But it seems all the Artificer ...
LevelSix SYSTEM's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
561 views

Would AL DMs Allow Conjure Minor Elementals cast with 7th Level Slots to have the 6th level slot effect?

Conjure Minor Elementals (Basic Rules) and similar spells have the following text at the end of the spell block. My D&d Beyond account says it comes from Basic Rules, pg. 226, and AFAIK there's ...
stevenjackson121's user avatar
12 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can an invisible stalker circumvent anti-divination magic?

The Invisible Stalker is a monster that can be summoned with an upcast Conjure Elemental spell. According to that spell, "It obeys any verbal commands that you issue to it (no action required by ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes
4 answers
4k views

Conjure Woodland Beings + Polymorph

I have a question for you. The spell Conjure Woodland Beings allows the druid to conjure pixies. Pixies can cast the spell polymorph. From the Player's Handbook: The transformation lasts for the ...
Matteo Magrì's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens if the specific demon summoned by Summon Greater Demon dies?

So I understand that the way to get a true name of a demon is to charm it, such as with Charm Monster unless you find an ancient scroll. My DM rules that you can't command it to tell you it's true ...
Cookieman's user avatar
  • 645
11 votes
3 answers
3k views

Does Bigby's Hand do magical damage?

The Bigby's Hand spell, also called Arcane Hand, can do force damage by striking, and bludgeoning damage by crushing. Is that damage magical? I'm unsure. On one hand, if we assume that the spell ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.1k
6 votes
2 answers
9k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock summon any weapon?

With the Blade boon, can a warlock summon any weapon, or does it have to be from the Weapons table? If it has to be a weapon from the Weapons table, can you do things like change the weight?
This is a username's user avatar
2 votes
6 answers
649 views

When summoned creatures are "defending themselves from hostile creatures" on a turn without commands, does this include taking Actions of any type?

The descriptions of many "Conjure ..." spells (e.g. Conjure Animals pp.225 PHB) contains text like this: If you don't issue any commands to them, they defend themselves from hostile ...
Kronecker's user avatar
  • 153
11 votes
6 answers
3k views

How to effectively deal with advanced "remote control" tactics in dungeons?

D&D 5e comes with a number of spells and abilities that allow characters to scout ahead without any risk for life and limb. For example: As a wizard or warlock, you can have a familiar, and with ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
21 votes
6 answers
4k views

Can invisibility be countered by "ramming" the whole room with lots of conjured animals?

We're running Dragon Heist and having a quite dramatic encounter where a very important & powerful villain is trying to escape the sewers with 1 hp left. The villain became invisible as the most ...
Lisa's user avatar
  • 1,929
3 votes
3 answers
1k views

What Traits are determined by the Summon Aberration Spell?

For reference, in a session last night the Warlock of the group had a summoned Beholderkin from the Summon Aberration Spell. A Lair action occurred which could have caused the Beholderkin to have been ...
Matthew Perryman's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
406 views

What does "or lower" in Conjure Minor Elementals mean?

In Conjure Minor Elementals it states You summon elementals that appear in unoccupied spaces that you can see within range. You choose one the following options for what appears: One elemental of ...
Zonia's user avatar
  • 223
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does a Life Cleric's Disciple of Life feature apply to healing effects of summoned creatures?

The Life Cleric's Disciple of Life feature improves the effect of healing spells: Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.1k
11 votes
4 answers
2k views

How to manage minions?

My PC wizard used to trudge around with a veritable stable of minions: his familiar, a Shield Guardian, and up to four skeletons from Animate Dead. The skeletons were good utility; they could form a ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
2 votes
4 answers
957 views

What happens when true polymorph is cast on a conjured creature?

The scenario is as follows: Shem the Wizard first casts Conjure Elemental into a Glyph of Warding, setting it up to summon a Fire Elemental. Shem triggers the glyph, summoning the elemental with no ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can summoned creatures take reactions?

Animate Dead is used to summon a Hollow Serpent. An ally within the hollow serpent's reach is attacked, triggering Divine Guardian. Does the summon have a reaction with which it can use Divine ...
Linus's user avatar
  • 1,236
6 votes
1 answer
236 views

Does an Unseen Servant on the Prime Material extend into the Border Ethereal?

The basic rules include in the description of the Border Ethereal: Some magical effects also extend from the Material Plane into the Border Ethereal, particularly effects that use force energy such ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 33.9k
8 votes
4 answers
1k views

How can I bind a draconic spirit?

My wizard is fond of summoning or conjuring elementals and binding them using planar binding, keeping them around for a while. Even keeping them a day is awesome, because concentration is not ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 33.9k
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Are there any summoning spells on the warlock spell list that don't require high Charisma to be effective?

Me and my friends are running a campaign in D&D 5e. I am playing a Genie-patron (Marid) Pact of the Blade warlock (with a 1-level fighter dip at the start) currently. My Str and Con scores are 16 (...
Bay Pacman's user avatar
3 votes
4 answers
6k views

Can a gem dragonborn use the Psionic Mind trait to telepathically issue commands to an elemental spirit from the Summon Elemental spell?

Gem Dragonborn, from Fizban's Treasury of Dragons (p. 11), have the Psionic Mind trait: You can send telepathic messages to any creature you can see within 30 feet of you. You don’t need to share a ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 33.9k
6 votes
1 answer
286 views

What summons that are casters themselves are available to a Sorcerer/Wizard or a Cleric? [closed]

Character: support spellcaster with access to level 5 sorc/wiz spell list and level 4 cleric spell list. I'm looking for thematic combat-ready summons for my character: I need summons that are casters ...
Nec Xelos's user avatar
  • 2,670
3 votes
1 answer
564 views

If the caster of the Unseen Servant spell is more than 60 feet away when giving a command, or when the Unseen Servant attempts a task, what happens?

The only mention of the Unseen Servant spell ending due to distance from the caster is found at the end of its description: If you command⁠ the servant to perform a task that would move it more than ...
Porter's user avatar
  • 439
11 votes
1 answer
6k views

How do players get a devil's talisman?

The spell Infernal Calling is all about summoning and controlling powerful devils. However, the description also provides a way to basically prevent a devil from getting a saving throw against the ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
13 votes
2 answers
1k views

What happens when a summoned demon goes out of range?

The spell Summon Greater Demon is quite clear on where your summoned demon appears at. The demon appears in an unoccupied space you can see within range... The wording of this spell is very similar ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
8 votes
2 answers
752 views

Do the relevant stats of a creature summoned via a "Summon [Creature Type]"-style spell change, if your stats change after you summoned it?

If you cast a "Summon [Creature Type]"-style spell, and then your relevant stats change afterwards, do the summoned creature's stats change as well? Specifically, my character refuses to ...
Rawkage's user avatar
  • 412
18 votes
3 answers
3k views

How can I summon a willing target from elsewhere?

I am the leader of my own crew of high-level characters. We have Necromancers, Brawlers, Assassins, Mind-Readers, etc. Because the world is always about to come to an end, they mostly wander in pairs ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.6k

1
2 3 4 5 6