Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [targeting]

The selection of a thing as the origin or recipient of an effect.

4
votes
1answer
48 views

Does the Hunter ranger's Stand Against the Tide feature require the new target to be within reach of the first enemy?

The Hunter ranger's 15th-level feature, Superior Hunter's Defense, lets them choose one of three features to gain at that level. One of these options, Stand Against the Tide, says: When a hostile ...
14
votes
1answer
228 views

Can Chain Lightning and similarly worded spells target worn or carried equipment?

Chain lightning can specifically target objects and does not specify that the object must be unattended; spells like fireball or lightning bolt do. Does this mean its secondary targets can be objects ...
6
votes
1answer
293 views

How does the Prismatic Wall spell handle an AOE?

Would the indigo layer of a prismatic wall spell (in a spherical shape) block the effect of a fireball, if it had radius bigger than the radius of the wall, cast outside the wall but centered/targeted ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Is targeting worn magic items considered the same as targeting the wearer?

The spellblade enhanchement says it protects from a spell targeted on the wielder of such a weapon. But what about its items? Say, for example, I have a spellblade that protects me from dispel magic (...
29
votes
1answer
2k views

In the descriptions of monster action options, what's the difference between “one target” and “one creature”?

Something I have been wondering about since I started DM'ing: in the Monster Manual, most actions specify "one target", while some have "one creature". Example with Ghouls & Ghasts: Bite ...
7
votes
4answers
273 views

Does casting a spell that scares/lies to an enemy count as “affecting them” for the purpose of Sanctuary?

Sanctuary is a spell with the following clause: If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends. The bolded part ...
0
votes
0answers
90 views

Could the Banishment spell be used to separate an NPC from an aberration growing inside it? [duplicate]

Backdrop: A horror-themed campaign that heavily draws upon the Lovecraft mythos, using the Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition ruleset. Situation: The party has encountered a story arc inspired by the ...
33
votes
7answers
9k views

Is a pregnant creature considered a single entity for spells such as Banishment?

Using the D&D 5e RPG system. We'll use a Brown Bear and the spell Banishment as an example. What, if anything, occurs when you attempt to cast such a spell on a creature that is currently pregnant?...
5
votes
2answers
298 views

In a 2-vs-1 fight, can a spellcaster cast Dragon's Breath on their ally while charmed by the enemy?

5e rules designer Jeremy Crawford stated the following in a tweet about the dragon's breath spell: Dragon's breath has two sets of targets: the creature you give the breath weapon to and the ...
6
votes
1answer
771 views

Can a Sorcerer twin a spell to hit a creature with two heads with both attacks?

During our campaign this weekend we encountered an Ettin named Oinkers Boinkers. It had two heads (one head was Oinkers, the other was Boinkers), each with a different personality and it acted like ...
2
votes
1answer
221 views

How is “targeting” a spell defined for the Order Domain cleric's Voice of Authority feature?

The Order Domain cleric's 1st-level Voice of Authority feature gives one ally a bonus attack. If I use an area-of-effect spell that includes them, does it count as targeting them? If so, would I ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Is “all targets must be within an X-unit diameter (circle)” equivalent to “all targets must be within X-units of each other”?

Several spells—or up-leveled versions of spells—have language such as this (charm person At Higher Levels from the Player's Handbook): The creatures must be within 30 feet of each other when you ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if a target of Hex/Hunter's Mark drops to 0 HP, but then regains HP somehow?

Both Hex and Hunter's Mark are spells that let you, as long as you maintain concentration, move them onto a new target if the target drops to 0 HP: If the target drops to 0 hit points before this ...
8
votes
1answer
225 views

Does casting Call Lightning under an existing storm extend its effective range?

Call lightning ordinarily creates a cylindrical storm cloud with a 60-foot radius, and this cloud then defines the effective range within which the caster can call down lightning bolts: ...choose a ...
5
votes
1answer
141 views

What restrictions are there on casting spells on a point within range that don't require sight?

If I cast a spell like cloudkill that says: You create a 20-foot radius sphere of poisonous, yellow-green fog centered on a point you choose within range. Am I able to cast it inside of a building ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you aim for something behind an invisible creature to avoid the disadvantage?

Inspired by the question here. I wanted to ask if someone knows that there is an invisible creature in front of him can the person declare an attack on something behind the invisible creature in order ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when you try to target a creature with fire bolt but there is an invisible creature in between?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target What happens if you cast a firebolt on an enemy but in the line of sight between you and your target there is an invisible ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I target multiple creatures with a readied spell that can target multiple creatures?

Some spells can have multiple targets, like eldritch blast (at higher levels) or scorching ray. Eldritch blast (PHB, pg. 237) says: The spell creates more than one beam when you reach higher ...
3
votes
1answer
164 views

How do targeting and line of sight for spells work in regards to allies?

I've been wondering on how spells interact with allies: Does your line of sight gets blocked by allies? Can allies stand in the way of your spell? I cannot really find evidence on how the rules ...
8
votes
2answers
669 views

Can an assassin vine entangle more than 1 creature?

I know the assassin vine (from Tomb of Annihilation) can only constrict 1 creature but does it entangle only 1 as well?
13
votes
3answers
533 views

Can you target gases and liquids with the Animate Objects spell?

The animate objects spell description states: Choose up to ten nonmagical objects within range that are not being worn or carried. Medium targets count as two objects, Large targets count as four ...
18
votes
6answers
4k views

Can I cast Darkness in my mouth so I can turn it on/off each round without having to use an action?

I am playing a 5e game, and I had the idea of casting darkness in my mouth, or on a small rock that I then place in my mouth. At the start of each of my turns, I close my mouth. This obscures the ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a familiar be targeted by the Awaken spell?

Can a familiar obtained by the Find Familiar spell be Awakened, giving it 10 INT and a language?
7
votes
2answers
188 views

Is there any official way to apply a single dose of an injury poison to multiple creatures?

My group and I were discussing a previous game in which a player used a homebrew class to apply a dose of poison to his draconic breath weapon, poisoning everything he breathed on. It was rather ...
8
votes
2answers
396 views

What are the mechanical implications to allowing the caster to choose which effects are dispelled with Dispel Magic?

We have a few questions about dispel magic that arise as a consequence of dispel magic dispelling every effect on a creature. Although situational (>1 negative effect, at least 1 positive effect)1, ...
2
votes
1answer
87 views

Can you cast Planar Binding on a creature that you cannot hear or see?

Most spells state that you "do x to a creature you can see" or "do x at a point you can see within range", but planar binding does not have any such statement. Does this mean that you can cast it on ...
5
votes
2answers
452 views

For the Catapult spell, is a 1/2-pound container holding 3 pounds of materials considered a valid target?

The catapult spell description (EEPC, p. 15; XGtE, p. 150) states: Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds A 0.5-pound container alone isn't eligible to be catapulted because it's too light. If ...
5
votes
1answer
463 views

What would happen if I tried to launch Bigby's Hand with the Catapult spell?

The catapult spell description says: Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds within range that isn’t being worn or carried. The description of Bigby's hand states that it is a Large object with ...
3
votes
0answers
48 views

Scorching Ray - Choosing targets [duplicate]

When casting scorching ray must the caster choose his targets first and then roll each ray to determine if they hit? Or, can they choose one target at a time and see the results of the attack and ...
8
votes
1answer
161 views

What is the proper parsing for targets of a Teleport spell?

The teleport spell says: This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you can see within range, to ...
1
vote
1answer
142 views

If a spell is cast on a moveable creature/object and lasts longer than a round, and the creature/object moves, does the spell move with it?

Recently it has come up at our table on the topic of centering a spell with an extended length, like sickening radiance, on a creature or something else that move. My table & I are unfamiliar with ...
17
votes
1answer
804 views

Is Banishment effectively immune to Dispel Magic?

Suppose my ally has been hit with a banishment spell and sent to another plane. I would like to bring them back by casting dispel magic to end the banishment spell. However, I immediately run into a ...
8
votes
2answers
188 views

Is a spell suppressed or removed when the target temporarily becomes invalid?

Based on Jeremy Crawford's tweet, if a target is under the effect of an ongoing spell, and then the target changes such that it is no longer a valid target, the spell no longer effects them. But does ...
10
votes
2answers
295 views

Can Simulacrum make a (living) duplicate of a dead creature, by RAW?

This is for a fairly absurd situation in which a party member (the cleric) has died and neither of the others can resurrect him, but one of the surviving party members is a wizard that can cast ...
3
votes
1answer
465 views

Can Aid affect enemies?

The spell Aid states (emphasis mine): Your spell bolsters your allies with toughness and resolve. and then Choose up to three creatures within range. Is the first sentence in the spell ...
5
votes
2answers
456 views

What happens if I use Catapult to launch a projectile out of a Tiny Hut?

As the wizard of a party, I plan to use the tiny hut spell to keep everyone safe during long rests on the road. However, the out party might be traveling with a group larger than can fit in the hut, ...
7
votes
7answers
434 views

Are there any issues with creating creatures that can make multi-target melee attacks?

The Issue Looking through plus-sized creatures in the 5e Monster Manual, I am unable to find any monsters that can target more than one creature with a single melee attack. I would think that a ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a character have line of sight on enemies directly behind them?

When reading the wording for the Word of Radiance cantrip, it says: Each creature of your choice that you can see must pass a Constitution save or take 1d6 radiant damage. Let's say that my ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Dissonant Whispers target an enemy I can't see and who has total cover?

In my last D&D session I thought I was very clever when, while in ranged combat with an enemy, I ducked behind some large boulders (providing full cover) and then targeted him with Dissonant ...
-1
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use Twinned Spell on Fireball and target the same creature with both attacks? [duplicate]

Can a sorcerer use the Twinned Spell metamagic on the fireball spell and target the same creature with both attacks? Also, if you can target one with both, would it be double damage?
12
votes
1answer
251 views

Can charmed foes be considered “allies”?

I'm researching specifically the Arcana Domain cleric feature, Spell Breaker (SCAG, p. 126): Starting at 6th level, when you restore hit points to an ally with a spell of 1st level or higher, you ...
8
votes
1answer
207 views

What do you have to target to dispel Magic Jar with Dispel Magic?

Magic jar has a duration of "Until dispelled", but dispel magic targets... one object, creature, or magic effect within range Magic jar involves multiple things (a container, yourself, a creature, ...
10
votes
2answers
837 views

Can you cast Geas on yourself?

I'm pretty sure there's no RAW reason why this spell can't be cast on oneself. Is this the case? As an example, could a recovering alcoholic cast geas on themselves to refrain from drinking?
12
votes
3answers
1k views

If a spell has material components that are normally consumed, would casting that spell on an invalid target still cause them to be consumed?

This question piqued my curiosity and prompted me to wonder about this issue: "Can True Resurrection be used to raise a creature whose body is still intact, but not within the range of touch?" (...
7
votes
2answers
249 views

How does an upcasted Banishment function on creatures with different distastes?

The banishment spell requires "an item distasteful to the target" as a material component. The spell can be upcasted to affect multiple creatures. What happens when the different creatures you ...
10
votes
2answers
524 views

Do I choose the target or the ally for the Help action?

When I use the Help action, do I choose the monster to distract (and then the next ally to attack gets advantage) or do I choose the ally and the monster (so that only his attack against that target ...
11
votes
0answers
75 views

When I teleport a container (e.g. a chest or bag), do the contents go with it? [duplicate]

The teleport spell allows one to teleport an object: This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you ...
8
votes
1answer
269 views

Do I need to be able to see invisibility to target an invisible Wall of Force with Disintegrate?

The text for Disintegrate says: A thin green ray springs from your pointing finger to a target that you can see within range. The target can be a creature, an object, or a creation of magical force,...
23
votes
4answers
3k views

Can I cast Slow on an invisible target?

The following situation occurred yesterday during our session: The sorcerer was stalking a guy he wanted to kill. They were in the middle of a city, so the sorcerer waited for an opportune moment to ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Must a creature be able to hear the caster's whisper to be targeted by dissonant whispers?

Dissonant whispers says: You whisper a discordant melody that only one creature of your choice within range can hear, wracking it with terrible pain. The target must make a Wisdom saving throw. I ...