Skip to main content

Questions tagged [the-strange]

For questions about The Strange, a role-playing game by Monte Cook and Bruce Cordell where characters travel to "recursions", mini-realities where the laws of physics can be very different.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12 votes
1 answer
220 views

Is it possible to translate in-place after inapposite travel?

When a creature travels via inapposite means (inapposite gate, harness, directly from the strange, etc), will end up out of context when the laws of the destination recursion differ, and will begin ...
AlienAtSystem's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
247 views

What happens if a character uses an inapposite gate to get to Earth, but later, translates to Earth?

I hate 2-part questions, but they are directly related. In our game, we have an Earthborn human, who was sent via inapposite gate to Ruk, had major surgery done (vat-growth limb to replace one lost a ...
RWL's user avatar
  • 584
6 votes
2 answers
367 views

If I already have the Numenera Core rulebook, will the other MCG core books add anything to my experience?

Currently I have a Numenera game going. We are having a good time. I know Monte Cook Games has published other games using the Cypher system such as The Strange, as well as a Cypher System Core book. ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
10 votes
4 answers
233 views

Do I need to fill in all levels for a new focus?

When creating a new focus for The Strange, do I need to fill the 6 levels for it or could I leave some "blank" levels?
HufflepuffBR's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
256 views

What happens if you enter a Recursion via the Strange?

I understand that, if you just cross a gate from a Recursion to another (or from / to a Primary World like Earth) you can do this normally via an inapposite gate, but you risk dying if the laws are ...
HufflepuffBR's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
183 views

What happens when someone leaves a Recursion?

When you do the translation into a Recursion, as far as I understand, you turn yourself into "another person" (same memory, different foci), but for people in the world (even those with Spark and ...
HufflepuffBR's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
427 views

The Strange character generator not using the same rules as the rulebook

I have a question about the rpg The Strange. I'm using the character creator app of the official website, but when creating a Vector, the options proposed are not the same that the ones using the core ...
Heschoon's user avatar
  • 611
11 votes
2 answers
242 views

When does a character Who Leads get her Follower?

If a PC picks up the Leads focus when translating to a new recursion, when does her Follower show up, and would the character recognize him as such? Is the Follower an actual native of the ...
RWL's user avatar
  • 584
6 votes
1 answer
308 views

What happens if a translated/translating character is pregnant?

A. If a character is pregnant in her homeworld, and then translates as a different species...: ... is she still pregnant in the recursion? ...and spends enough time in the recursion for birth, is the ...
RWL's user avatar
  • 584
7 votes
1 answer
232 views

When to create new Laws?

In the Strange the Laws determine the physics of a recursion. In the Core books the Laws given are: Substandard Physics -- no examples given, but described as generally not having better than iron ...
Frames Catherine White's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

What happens if you are trained in a skill twice?

Many of the Foci give free skill training. Eg Trick or Treats (p210: Worlds Numberless and Strange) Tier 1: Treat Seeker. You are trained in tasks related to searching and hiding. Enabler. .... Tier ...
Frames Catherine White's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
5k views

Might Defence and combat avoidance skills

I am playing a tough glaive who masters the great sword heavily modelled on a black man version of Ringil. I was assuming that the skill Might Defence would allow me to use my Might pool to block ...
Sardathrion - against SE abuse's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
150 views

How does Creative interact with the first tier ability of Levity?

One of my players chose Creative Spinner who Entertains for his character. Now we are wondering whether the inability from Creative - "The diffilty of all tasks related to pleasant social interaction ...
Marcus Ilgner's user avatar
9 votes
5 answers
475 views

How to properly render "The Estate" when playing in German?

As I'm preparing to run a The Strange campaign in German, I wonder how to translate "The Estate". There are a number of different possible meanings to the name. My initial guess was that it meant "...
Marcus Ilgner's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
153 views

Focus changes when returning to home world

If I return to homeworld after having found a draggable focus, do I get the chance to keep the draggable focus? Or is it a recursion change-specific feature?
Kluthen57's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
237 views

What is the exact benefit and usage of "Spin Identity"?

In the strange, Spin identity is a twist a spinner can use to convince intelligent creatures that you are someone else. Its a relatively expensive use of your intellect pool. Disguises can be an asset ...
Caleb's user avatar
  • 571
8 votes
3 answers
645 views

If I'm getting The Strange Core Rulebook, do I need the Player's Guide?

I'm talking about these: The Strange Core Book, and The Strange Player's Guide. If I'm getting the Core Book, do I need the Player's Guide?
Erik Gaius Capistrano's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
656 views

On repeat translations to the same recursion, do you always use the same foci?

In The Strange RPG, you can change your focus whenever you translate. One thing that isn't clear to me is if you always should use the same focus on repeat visits to a given recursion. For example, if ...
Caleb's user avatar
  • 571