Skip to main content

Questions tagged [tome-of-battle]

For questions about "Tome of Battle", an expansion book for D&D 3.5e which introduces the concept of martial maneuvers to give martial characters extra options in combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
112 views

New Devoted Spirit maneuvers for cataphract

My homebrew cataphract base class is a martial adept with access to the Diamond Mind, Setting Sun, and Stone Dragon disciplines, as well as a subset of the Devoted Spirit discipline (specifically, one ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
10 votes
1 answer
413 views

Cataphract—homebrew martial adept base class

This is a defensively-minded Tome of Battle martial adept. As with most of my work, I strive to make it stand-alone: ideally, this class should just work, as-is, without any meta commentary, and fit ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
5 votes
1 answer
173 views

Does Swordsage's Insightful Strike Apply to Rolls for Ability Score Damage?

Insightful Strike, from the Tome of Battle's Swordsage class, says: At 4th level, you can add your Wisdom modifier as a bonus on damage rolls whenever you execute a strike from the chosen discipline. ...
PipperChip's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
77 views

Do different disciplines actually require different weapons? [duplicate]

Under each different discipline in Tome of Battle there is a list of associated weapons. Are these weapons flavour-based, or do you actually need a weapon on the list to use stances and maneuvers of ...
Drunken_Guy's user avatar
  • 3,086
4 votes
1 answer
242 views

Iron Maiden prestige class—Tome of Battle homebrew (v2)

Iron maiden v1 Not a lot to say, per se, up front, since the goal is for the class to read like you just came across it in Chapter 5 of Tome of Battle. See the preamble to v1 if you are unfamiliar ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
5 votes
2 answers
340 views

Iron Maiden prestige class—Tome of Battle homebrew

See here for v2 of this class I would like a review of this Tome of Battle-based prestige class I wrote. I decided to go ham on the write-up and do the full entry as Wizards themselves did (I even ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
3 votes
1 answer
133 views

Can a crusader use Stone Power to negate damage delayed by steely resolve?

Crusaders (Tome of Battle p. 10) have a feature, steely resolve, that allows them to delay the damage they take until the following round. The size of the delayed-damage pool is limited based on their ...
DRochon's user avatar
  • 291
4 votes
2 answers
222 views

Martial Spirit stance with Improved Trip and Knockdown

Crusader with the Martial Spirit stance that also has the feats Improved Trip and Knockdown. If the crusader hits for over 10 points of damage, they would be allowed to trip the target. If the trip is ...
DRochon's user avatar
  • 291
8 votes
1 answer
323 views

Can a mounted combatant utilize the pouncing charge maneuver from their mount's charge?

As related to this question, can a creature utilizing a mount take advantage of pouncing charge from page 88 of Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords? The relevant rules for pouncing charge are: As ...
Wannabe Warlock's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
908 views

Does a lance deal double-damage for all attacks made when using the pouncing charge maneuver?

Pouncing Charge, From Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords, page 88: As part of initiating this maneuver, you make a charge attack. Instead of making a single attack at the end of your charge, you ...
Wannabe Warlock's user avatar
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is there a reason for Searing Blade to have a standard action as an initiation action?

Both Inferno Blade (stronger) and Burning Blade (weaker) have a swift action as the initiation action, which make sense, as the boost only lasts until your turn ends, however, Searing Blade stands out ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
5 votes
1 answer
270 views

Is the damage from Snap Kick fixed like, for example Insightful Strike or can you add any more bonuses to it?

Snap Kick states the following (emphasis mine): When you make a melee attack with one or more melee weapons (including a standard attack, full attack, or even a strike maneuver), you can make an ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
0 votes
1 answer
278 views

What's the initiator level of a Paladin (7)/Crusader(2)?

The question is pretty simple. Multiclass characters get half their non-martial adept levels + full martial adept levels for initiator level. However, what happens when the level is odd? Do you round ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
2 votes
2 answers
304 views

Does Discipline Focus (Insightful Strikes) add the Wisdom bonus to each attack of Flashing Sun's full-attack action?

Discipline Focus (Insightful Strikes) states the following: At 4th level, you can add your Wisdom modifier as a bonus on damage rolls whenever you execute a strike from the chosen discipline. At 12th ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
3 votes
1 answer
472 views

Can I swap a maneuver known with another one if I have te requisite before the swap but stop having it after?

The Tome of Battle states the following: Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered swordsage level after that (6th, 8th, 10th, and so on), you can choose to learn a new maneuver in place of ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
2 votes
1 answer
59 views

Is there a minimum requirement for a character to have line of effect with Shadow Jaunt/Stride/Blink?

I'm pretty sure this has been asked already but I can't find the question in question, so I hope I don't break any rules by asking again. The Shadow X maneuvers from Shadow Hand have a line of effect ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
6 votes
2 answers
312 views

What's the DC for Hatchling's Flame?

Saving Throw: Reflex half You focus a burning aura of energy at the end of your blade. It forms a seething sphere that, after a moment, bursts into a torrent of energy. The Desert Wind discipline ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
3 votes
1 answer
114 views

Against which AC do you check on the strikes of the Tiger Claw discipline?

As the title says. If, let's say, I catch my opponent flat-footed and use Claw at the Moon, do I check against flat-footed AC or complete AC? Claw at the Moon: As part of this maneuver, you attempt a ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
5 votes
1 answer
540 views

Per RAW, does knowing Assassin's Stance allow for feats that have "sneak attack" as a prerrequisite?

I've read that both Craven and Staggering Strike are very good feats for a Sneak Attack oriented swordsage, however, per RAW, I don't think knowing Assassin's Stance would accomplish the prerrequisite ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
2 votes
0 answers
60 views

Where can I find the web enhancement for the Tome of Battle? [duplicate]

So I found this link: https://wiki.rpg.net/index.php/Absolute_Steel_Stance That says its text was taken from a web enhancement for the Tome of Battle, however the link returns a 404 error. Anyone ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
4 votes
2 answers
268 views

Do "Giant's Stance" and "Improved Natural Attack" stack as a Medium character?

Giant's Stance states the following: While you are in this stance, you deal damage as if you were one size larger than normal, to a maximum of Large. This benefit improves your weapon and ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
1 vote
1 answer
117 views

Can you apply Decisive Strike to martial maneuvers?

Most strikes in the Tome of Battle state As part of this maneuver, make a single melee attack... Does this mean that you can make that single attack a Decisive Strike by spending a full-round ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
1 vote
1 answer
130 views

Does "Claw at the Moon" require the character to make a normal attack roll in addition to the Jump check?

Claw at the Moon's description states the following: ToB p.86 As part of this maneuver, you attempt a Jump check to leap into the air and make a melee attack that targets your foe's upper body, ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
0 votes
1 answer
162 views

Question about multiplying damage with decisive strike [duplicate]

So, reading another question about Decisive Strike, the answer was that it works the same as a critical, by multiplying its damage and therefore utilising multiple rolls and adding the totals, however,...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
6 votes
2 answers
188 views

Is the swordsage's recovery interruptable?

I'm new with the whole "martial adept" thing, and while the Tome of Battle itself is kinda self-explanatory, some things are more ambiguous. In the manual it says that a swordsage can recover a ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
3 votes
1 answer
73 views

Is there a way to have Shadow Hand save DCs based on Charisma?

I am playing a Spellthief/Rogue and just picked up the Martial Study feat to gain access to Shadow Hand maneuvers. Shadow Hand is a Swordsage-exclusive school and its maneuvers key off Wisdom for ...
Ruben Calderon's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does Initiator Level work for multiclass characters?

Below is the rule for determining Initiator Level for multiclass characters from Tome of Battle. Multiclass Characters If you are a multiclass martial adept, and you learn a new maneuver by attaining ...
Connor Clarke's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
188 views

Does Iron Guard's Glare stack with itself?

The Devoted Spirit Stance Iron Guard Glare reads: While you are in this stance, any opponent that you threaten takes a -4 penalty on attack rolls against your allies. Tome of Blades p. 59 Let's ...
Giorin's user avatar
  • 5,256
1 vote
1 answer
293 views

When you attack with more than one action, which attacks suffer the penalty from the Stone Power feat?

The Stone Power feat (ToB. p. 32) allows you to voluntarily take a penalty to your attack rolls in order to gain temporary hit points: When you use an attack action or a full attack action, or you ...
A_S00's user avatar
  • 12.6k
3 votes
1 answer
183 views

Is there any way for an Initiator to alter their Discipline list?

Assume I'm going for a pure single-classed build, and I don't mind devoting feats or other character options towards this--just not levels. Is there any way for a member of a given Initiator class, ...
Bear's user avatar
  • 31
2 votes
2 answers
290 views

How do Dvati work with Maneuvers?

So Dvati may be my new favorite race. One character with two bodies poses a number of interesting questions, and while the rules are pretty clear on how that works with spellcasting, nothing is said ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
4 votes
1 answer
181 views

Can I use strike maneuvers while polymorphed?

I have a level 7 Swordsage equipped with a Cape of Vipers from the Magic Item Compendium. He is currently in tiny viper form. I assume he is proficient with his natural bite attack. I have the Tiger ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
6 votes
1 answer
277 views

Can a Warblade use Wall of Blades to counter an attack from an invisible foe?

My Warblade is battling a vampire. The vampire is invisible. My Warblade is level 8, and has Uncanny Dodge, letting him keep his DEX bonus to AC. He has Wall of Blades readied. Can he use that ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
1 vote
2 answers
163 views

Can warblades use strike maneuvers with improvised weapons?

Can warblades use strike maneuvers with improvised weapons? Would they be able to take the standard penalty for improvised weapons, or not be able to do so at all?
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
5 votes
2 answers
367 views

Can a warblade use maneuvers on thrown weapons?

Most strike maneuvers require a melee attack. Thrown weapons aren’t really melee attacks. Warblades get proficiency with thrown weapons. Can warblades use strike maneuvers with thrown weapons?
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
1 vote
0 answers
67 views

Can I use Improved Trip with Strikes? [duplicate]

Can I try to trip with the Maneuvers (Strikes) of a Crusader?
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
3 votes
1 answer
431 views

Bloodclaw Master's Superior TWF and Natural Weapons

I'm working on a build for a shifter with four natural attacks while shifting. I'm already taking levels of Warblade, so I looked at Bloodclaw Master, the shifter-themed prestige class for martial ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
4 votes
1 answer
827 views

Is Sudden Leap's jump DC doubled if you don't have a 20 ft. running start?

Sudden Leap You can make a Jump check as a swift action and move the distance determined by your check result. You provoke attacks of opportunity with this movement, and you must move in a ...
Zarus's user avatar
  • 3,197
6 votes
1 answer
289 views

Does thunderous throw permit iterative attacks with two-handed thrown weapons?

The Player's Handbook on Thrown Weapons says, "Throwing a light or one-handed weapon is a standard action, while throwing a two-handed weapon is a full-round action" (113). The prestige class ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
232 views

Feats that use Concentration for a swordsage.

I’m playing a Diamond Mind-based swordsage. I’m going to take all of the concentration-based strikes and counters. If I am loading up my concentration skill, are there any feats I could take that ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
0 votes
2 answers
660 views

Combat with Shadow Jaunt and Shadow Stride

First, can I use Shadow Jaunt with a move action to appear next to an enemy? Next, can I use a standard action to attack or use a strike maneuver? Last, can I use Shadow Stride with a swift action ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can I use Moment of Perfect Mind in response to a surprise attack?

Say I want to use the Tome of Battle maneuver Moment of Perfect Mind, a maneuver that replaces my Will save with the equivalent Concentration Check. Out of combat, my warblade and an enemy wizard ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is the ToB Manuever Shadow Jaunt overpowered/broken?

Shadow becomes available to Swordsages at level 3. It allows the player to teleport 50 ft. as a standard action. If they spend a full round recovering, they can teleport 50 ft. every 12 seconds right? ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
3 votes
3 answers
528 views

Swordsages in mithral breastplate? [duplicate]

Swordsages are not proficient in medium armor. Mithral breastplate is medium armor, but treated as light armor. Are swordsages proficient in medium armor? If a swordsage wears mithral breastplate, ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
3 votes
1 answer
736 views

When a Bloodstorm Blade uses Lightning Ricochet, do they expand one IH maneuver?

A Bloodstorm Blade (Tome of Battle, p. 100) has among other abilities: Returning Attacks (Ex): You can hurl your weapon at a foe and command it to ricochet back to you. Any weapon you throw behaves ...
Matthieu M.'s user avatar
  • 9,522
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Maneuver and stance prerequisites

My eighth level character going ninth level is starting at first level war blade. He would get one stance and 3 maneuvers at up to 3rd level. Could I take absolute steel stance and iron heart surge ...
Nathtfm's user avatar
  • 2,151
3 votes
1 answer
231 views

Jump-themed maneuvers underwater

My swashbuckling human warblade just encountered what I presume to be a young dragon of indeterminate color while exploring an underwater cave. He has his trusty rapier on him, and he’s not afraid ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
2 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is there a feat for Path of War rules to use two Martial Stances at once?

Is there a feat, Rogue Trick, Ninja Trick, etc that can be used with Path of War rules that lets you use two Martial Stances at once? So far I've found Fuse Style which let you use a Fighting Style &...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
173 views

Does the Desert Wind Strike Death Mark cause fire damage on a miss?

The wording of the Swordsage maneuver Death Mark is as follows: When you use the strike, you channel overwhelming fiery energy into the body of your foe. In addition to dealing normal damage with ...
Giorin's user avatar
  • 5,256
2 votes
2 answers
469 views

Aura of Chaos and Alignment

Aura of Chaos, Perfect Order, Triumph, Tyranny: Can you use them as a crusader without being of the said alignment?
Simon's user avatar
  • 4,252