Skip to main content

Questions tagged [tome-of-battle]

For questions about "Tome of Battle", an expansion book for D&D 3.5e which introduces the concept of martial maneuvers to give martial characters extra options in combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
121 views

New Devoted Spirit maneuvers for cataphract

My homebrew cataphract base class is a martial adept with access to the Diamond Mind, Setting Sun, and Stone Dragon disciplines, as well as a subset of the Devoted Spirit discipline (specifically, one ...
10 votes
1 answer
421 views

Cataphract—homebrew martial adept base class

This is a defensively-minded Tome of Battle martial adept. As with most of my work, I strive to make it stand-alone: ideally, this class should just work, as-is, without any meta commentary, and fit ...
10 votes
6 answers
3k views

Do the AC Bonus (Ex) class abilities of monks and swordsages stack?

Monk and Swordsage both get the class feature AC Bonus (Ex). Monk: When unarmored and unencumbered, the monk adds her Wisdom bonus (if any) to her AC. In addition, a monk gains a +1 bonus to AC ...
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you take more than one 5-foot-step using Combat reflexes, Evasive Reflexes and Robilar's Gambit together, or Shifting Defence by itself?

Can you using these three feats, take more then one five foot step per round? From Robilar's Gambit: In return, they provoke attacks of opportunity from you each time they swing From Evasive ...
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is Iron Heart Surge limited to effects measured in rounds?

I have just been able to convince my DM into allowing Tome of Battle and allowing my character entering the Warblade. Nonetheless, he felt uncomfortable about the scope of abilities, especially Iron ...
6 votes
5 answers
2k views

Does the spell Dimensional Anchor stop Shadow Jaunt?

Does the spell Dimensional Anchor stop the ability Shadow Jaunt from the Tome of Battle?
3 votes
3 answers
2k views

Warblade maneuver recovery

Can a warblade recover their maneuvers using a swift action and a full-round attack? Typically the manual says: You can recover all expended maneuvers with a single swift action, which must be ...
8 votes
1 answer
327 views

Can a mounted combatant utilize the pouncing charge maneuver from their mount's charge?

As related to this question, can a creature utilizing a mount take advantage of pouncing charge from page 88 of Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords? The relevant rules for pouncing charge are: As ...
14 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does Firesnake work (RaW, RaI, or house rules) [closed]

Firesnake has a duration of instantaneous, but claims to be able to move 60 ft every round, and "A creature can only take damage from the firesnake once in a single round", both of which imply that ...
7 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can Iron Heart Surge remove sleep, paralysis, or similar effects?

The description of Iron Heart Surge seems unclear to me. Normally, you must be able to move to initiate a maneuver. However, Iron Heart Surge seems very broad in what it affects. Can it also remove ...
3 votes
2 answers
602 views

Adamantine Hurricane and Wolf Pack Tactics interaction clarification

In Tome of Battle we find these 2 maneuvers: Iron Heart (Strike) 8: Adamantine Hurricane (p. 66) Tiger Claw (Stance) 8: Wolf Pack Tactics (p. 90) And their interaction is unclear to me. Specifically,...
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a dive attack be made when you would charge as part of an effect?

The Battle Leader's Charge maneuver says you make a charge as part of the maneuver. If a character has wings and is able to do a dive attack, can a dive attack (which "works as a charge") be done in ...
20 votes
2 answers
7k views

Does Adaptive Style really let you recover expended maneuvers?

You can change your readied maneuvers at any time by taking a full-round action. If you’re a crusader, your current granted maneuvers are lost and you gain new granted maneuvers as if you had ...
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is there a reason for Searing Blade to have a standard action as an initiation action?

Both Inferno Blade (stronger) and Burning Blade (weaker) have a swift action as the initiation action, which make sense, as the boost only lasts until your turn ends, however, Searing Blade stands out ...
5 votes
1 answer
175 views

Does Swordsage's Insightful Strike Apply to Rolls for Ability Score Damage?

Insightful Strike, from the Tome of Battle's Swordsage class, says: At 4th level, you can add your Wisdom modifier as a bonus on damage rolls whenever you execute a strike from the chosen discipline. ...
3 votes
3 answers
2k views

Weapons for Maneuvers

So, each of the Nine Schools has got its own associated weapons, and some weapons are associated with several schools (like, Unarmed Attack for Tiger Claw, Shadow Hand and Stone Dragon). But are the ...
1 vote
0 answers
77 views

Do different disciplines actually require different weapons? [duplicate]

Under each different discipline in Tome of Battle there is a list of associated weapons. Are these weapons flavour-based, or do you actually need a weapon on the list to use stances and maneuvers of ...
4 votes
2 answers
229 views

Martial Spirit stance with Improved Trip and Knockdown

Crusader with the Martial Spirit stance that also has the feats Improved Trip and Knockdown. If the crusader hits for over 10 points of damage, they would be allowed to trip the target. If the trip is ...
4 votes
1 answer
244 views

Iron Maiden prestige class—Tome of Battle homebrew (v2)

Iron maiden v1 Not a lot to say, per se, up front, since the goal is for the class to read like you just came across it in Chapter 5 of Tome of Battle. See the preamble to v1 if you are unfamiliar ...
5 votes
2 answers
343 views

Iron Maiden prestige class—Tome of Battle homebrew

See here for v2 of this class I would like a review of this Tome of Battle-based prestige class I wrote. I decided to go ham on the write-up and do the full entry as Wizards themselves did (I even ...
3 votes
1 answer
136 views

Can a crusader use Stone Power to negate damage delayed by steely resolve?

Crusaders (Tome of Battle p. 10) have a feature, steely resolve, that allows them to delay the damage they take until the following round. The size of the delayed-damage pool is limited based on their ...
4 votes
2 answers
8k views

Tome of battle initiator levels manuvers

When using feats like Martial Stance and Martial study, Can you take a stance that requires swordsage levels over 1? To re-ask: Does initiator level = levels in swordsage needed for manuvers and ...
5 votes
1 answer
273 views

Is the damage from Snap Kick fixed like, for example Insightful Strike or can you add any more bonuses to it?

Snap Kick states the following (emphasis mine): When you make a melee attack with one or more melee weapons (including a standard attack, full attack, or even a strike maneuver), you can make an ...
1 vote
1 answer
930 views

Does a lance deal double-damage for all attacks made when using the pouncing charge maneuver?

Pouncing Charge, From Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords, page 88: As part of initiating this maneuver, you make a charge attack. Instead of making a single attack at the end of your charge, you ...
0 votes
1 answer
287 views

What's the initiator level of a Paladin (7)/Crusader(2)?

The question is pretty simple. Multiclass characters get half their non-martial adept levels + full martial adept levels for initiator level. However, what happens when the level is odd? Do you round ...
2 votes
2 answers
309 views

Does Discipline Focus (Insightful Strikes) add the Wisdom bonus to each attack of Flashing Sun's full-attack action?

Discipline Focus (Insightful Strikes) states the following: At 4th level, you can add your Wisdom modifier as a bonus on damage rolls whenever you execute a strike from the chosen discipline. At 12th ...
1 vote
1 answer
202 views

Damage Output of Lightning Recovery (Tome of Battle Maneuver)

Lightning Recovery is a Tome of Battle maneuver that allows a reroll on an attack d20 if it misses, along with an additional +2 on the second attempt. How can I calculate the value of the damage added ...
2 votes
1 answer
929 views

Can I use a maneuver to meet the prerequisites for a martial stance, then swap out that maneuver later?

I'm a Warblade in the process of reaching level 6. I have one level 1 Diamond Mind maneuver. Is the following possible: For my level six feat, I want to take Martial Stance to attain the Diamond Mind ...
3 votes
1 answer
495 views

Can I swap a maneuver known with another one if I have te requisite before the swap but stop having it after?

The Tome of Battle states the following: Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered swordsage level after that (6th, 8th, 10th, and so on), you can choose to learn a new maneuver in place of ...
2 votes
1 answer
59 views

Is there a minimum requirement for a character to have line of effect with Shadow Jaunt/Stride/Blink?

I'm pretty sure this has been asked already but I can't find the question in question, so I hope I don't break any rules by asking again. The Shadow X maneuvers from Shadow Hand have a line of effect ...
6 votes
2 answers
313 views

What's the DC for Hatchling's Flame?

Saving Throw: Reflex half You focus a burning aura of energy at the end of your blade. It forms a seething sphere that, after a moment, bursts into a torrent of energy. The Desert Wind discipline ...
3 votes
1 answer
114 views

Against which AC do you check on the strikes of the Tiger Claw discipline?

As the title says. If, let's say, I catch my opponent flat-footed and use Claw at the Moon, do I check against flat-footed AC or complete AC? Claw at the Moon: As part of this maneuver, you attempt a ...
5 votes
1 answer
548 views

Per RAW, does knowing Assassin's Stance allow for feats that have "sneak attack" as a prerrequisite?

I've read that both Craven and Staggering Strike are very good feats for a Sneak Attack oriented swordsage, however, per RAW, I don't think knowing Assassin's Stance would accomplish the prerrequisite ...
2 votes
0 answers
60 views

Where can I find the web enhancement for the Tome of Battle? [duplicate]

So I found this link: https://wiki.rpg.net/index.php/Absolute_Steel_Stance That says its text was taken from a web enhancement for the Tome of Battle, however the link returns a 404 error. Anyone ...
4 votes
2 answers
269 views

Do "Giant's Stance" and "Improved Natural Attack" stack as a Medium character?

Giant's Stance states the following: While you are in this stance, you deal damage as if you were one size larger than normal, to a maximum of Large. This benefit improves your weapon and ...
1 vote
1 answer
119 views

Can you apply Decisive Strike to martial maneuvers?

Most strikes in the Tome of Battle state As part of this maneuver, make a single melee attack... Does this mean that you can make that single attack a Decisive Strike by spending a full-round ...
1 vote
1 answer
133 views

Does "Claw at the Moon" require the character to make a normal attack roll in addition to the Jump check?

Claw at the Moon's description states the following: ToB p.86 As part of this maneuver, you attempt a Jump check to leap into the air and make a melee attack that targets your foe's upper body, ...
0 votes
1 answer
165 views

Question about multiplying damage with decisive strike [duplicate]

So, reading another question about Decisive Strike, the answer was that it works the same as a critical, by multiplying its damage and therefore utilising multiple rolls and adding the totals, however,...
6 votes
2 answers
189 views

Is the swordsage's recovery interruptable?

I'm new with the whole "martial adept" thing, and while the Tome of Battle itself is kinda self-explanatory, some things are more ambiguous. In the manual it says that a swordsage can recover a ...
3 votes
1 answer
73 views

Is there a way to have Shadow Hand save DCs based on Charisma?

I am playing a Spellthief/Rogue and just picked up the Martial Study feat to gain access to Shadow Hand maneuvers. Shadow Hand is a Swordsage-exclusive school and its maneuvers key off Wisdom for ...
0 votes
2 answers
667 views

Combat with Shadow Jaunt and Shadow Stride

First, can I use Shadow Jaunt with a move action to appear next to an enemy? Next, can I use a standard action to attack or use a strike maneuver? Last, can I use Shadow Stride with a swift action ...
2 votes
2 answers
290 views

How do Dvati work with Maneuvers?

So Dvati may be my new favorite race. One character with two bodies poses a number of interesting questions, and while the rules are pretty clear on how that works with spellcasting, nothing is said ...
7 votes
2 answers
9k views

Dealing with Tome of Battle's power inflation

Wait, your swordsage can run up and stab a guy with a fireball (which he's immune to), on top of a normal attack. He can do this 4 times, and take a one round break to get a full charge again? ...
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does Initiator Level work for multiclass characters?

Below is the rule for determining Initiator Level for multiclass characters from Tome of Battle. Multiclass Characters If you are a multiclass martial adept, and you learn a new maneuver by attaining ...
6 votes
1 answer
188 views

Does Iron Guard's Glare stack with itself?

The Devoted Spirit Stance Iron Guard Glare reads: While you are in this stance, any opponent that you threaten takes a -4 penalty on attack rolls against your allies. Tome of Blades p. 59 Let's ...
1 vote
1 answer
298 views

When you attack with more than one action, which attacks suffer the penalty from the Stone Power feat?

The Stone Power feat (ToB. p. 32) allows you to voluntarily take a penalty to your attack rolls in order to gain temporary hit points: When you use an attack action or a full attack action, or you ...
3 votes
1 answer
188 views

Is there any way for an Initiator to alter their Discipline list?

Assume I'm going for a pure single-classed build, and I don't mind devoting feats or other character options towards this--just not levels. Is there any way for a member of a given Initiator class, ...
6 votes
1 answer
280 views

Can a Warblade use Wall of Blades to counter an attack from an invisible foe?

My Warblade is battling a vampire. The vampire is invisible. My Warblade is level 8, and has Uncanny Dodge, letting him keep his DEX bonus to AC. He has Wall of Blades readied. Can he use that ...
4 votes
1 answer
181 views

Can I use strike maneuvers while polymorphed?

I have a level 7 Swordsage equipped with a Cape of Vipers from the Magic Item Compendium. He is currently in tiny viper form. I assume he is proficient with his natural bite attack. I have the Tiger ...
1 vote
2 answers
163 views

Can warblades use strike maneuvers with improvised weapons?

Can warblades use strike maneuvers with improvised weapons? Would they be able to take the standard penalty for improvised weapons, or not be able to do so at all?