Questions tagged [triggered-actions]

For questions about actions that are granted to characters by circumstances outside of the character's control as long as they meet the requirements.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
2answers
126 views

Does Cast a Spell trigger an Attack of Opportunity?

Attack of Opportunity (CRB, p142) does not list Cast a Spell as a trigger: Trigger A creature within your reach uses a manipulate action or a move action, makes a ranged attack, or leaves a square ...
10
votes
1answer
209 views

Does a spell cast instead of an opportunity attack still observe the timing of an opportunity attack?

The War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) states that: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, instead of ...
7
votes
2answers
170 views

Can a Spell Glyph of a wall spell appear around the triggering creature, but not on it?

Some wall spells, like wind wall and wall of fire, can be shaped into a circle (ring). Part of the Spell Glyph portion of the glyph of warding spell states: If the spell affects an area, the area ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

How does moving away from an enemy as a readied action work?

I was reading the rules for the "ready" action, and they give an example for a specific action a player might ask to have at the ready: “If the goblin steps next to me, I move away.” Let's say I ...
8
votes
1answer
630 views

Does killing someone cancel their Contingency?

I was looking at the contingency spell, and besides being a very versatile spell, I noticed a couple things about it that really stand out: It does not have a method to cancel it other than removing ...
13
votes
1answer
11k views

Does the Mage Slayer feat interrupt the triggering spell?

If a mage casts a spell within 5 feat of a character with the Mage Slayer feat, does the reaction of attacking the casting character go off first, or does the spell go off first? The Mage Slayer feat ...
8
votes
1answer
180 views

Simultaneous attacks

Let's suppose there's just one PC and one monster. The monster has a no-action that triggers when he is bloodied. It hits, and the PC dies as a result. The PC has a free action that triggers when he ...
3
votes
2answers
181 views

Do vulnerabilities trigger multiple times when a power deals damage multiple times?

If I hit a vulnerable target with an effect that hits it twice, such as Static Charge or Chromatic Bolt, does it count the damage for vulnerability twice?
6
votes
1answer
233 views

Do powers that can be used as basic attacks trigger effects that happen when you make a basic attack?

If I have one of the Skald's at-will powers such as Bolstering Speech that triggers when I hit with a basic attack through Master of Stories and the half-elf 1/encounter at-will, can I trigger its ...
3
votes
1answer
261 views

DnD 4e Warden's Grasp Range

The range of the power is Close Burst 5 and triggers when the marked target attacks any ally other than the warden themself. I know you must be in that range to mark the target, do you need to remain ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Resolving triggers arising during a move action

I recently designed a Centered Breath Monk, lvl16 that, according to the current build, has an event that triggers when I am missed by a melee attack: Ghostwalker, Of Two Worlds (11th level) ...
4
votes
2answers
409 views

Resolving simultaneous triggers

I have a general concepts (see title) that I would like to run by the rules experts. I recently designed a Centered Breath Monk, lvl16 that, according to the current build, has two events that trigger ...
0
votes
1answer
187 views

Can a defender counter on a multiple attack power where only one attack includes her as a target? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do marks interact with dual attacks? Defenders usually have a power with a trigger like: Trigger: An enemy marked by you makes an attack that does not include you as ...
6
votes
3answers
524 views

Does shifting count as movement, for the purpose of triggering non-attack opportunity actions? [duplicate]

Replaced by the following questions: Can shifting trigger immediate actions? Can shifting trigger non-attack opportunity actions? Can Pursuit of the Hunter be used to move away from the ...
6
votes
1answer
667 views

Does Dimensional Scramble's teleport take effect before or after triggered actions?

Scenario - A Psion attacks a creature with Dimensional Scramble, doing enough damage to kill the creature. The creature has an effect which triggers upon the creature's death. Did the teleport ...