Skip to main content

Questions tagged [two-weapon-fighting]

For situations where a character fights with one weapon in each hand, or one of the feats / class abilities which (partly) overcomes the penalties associated with this fighting style.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
2 answers
790 views

How much damage does my Hexblade Warlock deal with their Bonus Action attack?

I built a simple level 3 Hexblade warlock with 18 Charisma. This is a scenario that I went through in our first encounter: I created a Hex warrior weapon: a shortsword. I also created another Pact ...
Code Monkey's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
92 views

Advantage on multiple attacks [closed]

I play a multiclass Rogue / Ranger and often use my allies to gain advantage to trigger sneak attack. I'm aware that sneak attack only works once per turn; however, I fight with two weapons and have ...
Matthew Brame's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
41 views

Precisely when can/must the two weapon fighting bonus action and attack occur? [duplicate]

Complicators: "When", "Take", Composite condition + Extra Attack, Simultaneous events. Contrast: Immediately after (flurry of blows) When you take the Attack action and attack ...
Aron's user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
1 answer
871 views

Can you use two weapon fighting on a bonus action after casting a spell with war caster?

As a cleric I have two weapon fighting and I took the war caster feat. I was wondering if I could cast a spell as an action and then make a melee attack as a bonus action?
DstrbdSuperman's user avatar
10 votes
4 answers
2k views

Can a barbarian dual wield with Giant Instinct?

The ability Giant instinct gives you access to an oversized weapon: You gain access to this larger weapon, which can be of any weapon type otherwise available at character creation. It has the normal ...
András's user avatar
  • 65k
8 votes
5 answers
2k views

How does Form of the Beast work with the Two-Weapon Fighting?

When my Beast Barbarian reaches level 5, with one hand empty and the other holding a dagger, after making two claw attacks plus an extra attack, can I then use a bonus action to attack with the dagger ...
DKPudding's user avatar
  • 109
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Using Dual Wielding, you can do two weapon fighting with a two handed weapon held in one hand.And can the other hand be a weapon that you just drawup?

For example, in one turn, there is a Fighter that has Dual Wielding and uses Attack Action on the greatsword that was previously held. He then chose to release the one hand holding the greatsword and ...
Formydream's user avatar
11 votes
1 answer
3k views

Is the Oversized Two-Weapon Fighting feat not worth it?

The description of the Oversized Two-Weapon Fighting feat says (Complete Adventurer, p. 111): You are adapted at wielding larger than normal weapons in your off hand. Prerequisite: Str 13, Two-Weapon ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
345 views

Can you use two-weapon fighting with unarmed attacks while both of your hands are occupied?

By definition, unarmed attacks are: Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts is much like attacking with a melee weapon... Which do not necessarily need a hand. So, assuming somebody ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
176 views

Can you wield weapons in the extra arms from Girallon's Blessing?

Girallon's Blessing states the following: You give the subject an additional pair of arms. Each of its arms—new and old—ends in a clawed hand with fingers and an opposable thumb. The creature's ...
SonGuhun's user avatar
  • 651
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

What weapons are eligible for two-weapon fighting?

Page 146 of the PHB lists some of the most common weapon properties. Page 195 of the PHB goes over the rules for two-weapon fighting, stating that you must be holding a weapon in both hands – both of ...
Spexguy's user avatar
  • 219
1 vote
1 answer
466 views

How much total damage can a 3rd-level Ranger with 2 shortswords and the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style deal in one round?

How much damage can a 3rd level Ranger with 2 short swords (with Two- Weapon Fighting fighting style) deal in total during a round? The Ranger rolls 2d20 and hits the enemy with both (with no bonus or ...
alemayo's user avatar
  • 882
4 votes
2 answers
654 views

Can you use two weapon fighting while maintaining a grapple?

Grappling just says you must use at least one free hand to initiate a grapple. But once you have successfully grappled a target, can you then engage in two-weapon fighting against that target? Or do ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
1 vote
0 answers
35 views

Can NPC scouts make a bonus action shortsword attack? [duplicate]

In the game I'm playing, the DM gave each member of the party control over an NPC in combat, in addition to our own characters. My NPC is a scout, so she can use her action to make 2 melee attacks ...
Jonathan Greco's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
436 views

Alternating off and main hand attacks without Two weapon fighting feat

If a high level warrior, without the feats of Two weapon fighting, and able to do 4 attacks with main hand in a full round action, decides to attack twice with main hand and twice with off hand, would ...
Digius's user avatar
  • 2,243
2 votes
1 answer
622 views

Dual wielding hand crossbow and full attack

Could a rogue (level 30) do 8 attacks in a full attack using two hand crossbows? We had player in our campaing using this mechanic, but it was not clear how she was doing this. She had all the two ...
Digius's user avatar
  • 2,243
3 votes
1 answer
110 views

Does two-weapon rend [general] stack with two-weapon rend [epic]?

I see there're two versions of two-weapon rend that coexists in DND 3R: Two-Weapon Rend [General] You wield two weapons with an artisan’s precision. Each strike builds on the next, allowing you to ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
403 views

Are there any balance problems or unintended consequences of allowing a PC to use natural weapons for two-weapon fighting?

I’ll preface this by stating that I do realise that by RAW natural weapons are not compatible with two-weapon fighting. However, would it significantly unbalance things or break anything to allow it? ...
AnnaAG's user avatar
  • 11.3k
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a Thri-kreen character make a bonus action attack through two weapon fighting using their secondary arms?

Can a PC of the thri-kreen race make a bonus action attack through two weapon fighting? Example: A thri-kreen fighter holding a shield and scimitar in their main hands, and a dagger in their smaller ...
Mario Aleksandar Marinov's user avatar
6 votes
6 answers
816 views

How to rewrite a Homebrew feat that interacts with Two-Weapon Fighting?

In my current campaign, I have added a new feat that intentionally makes Two-Weapon Fighting much stronger: Dual Flurry Prerequisite: Extra Attack, or an equivalent feature Once per turn, when you ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.8k
7 votes
4 answers
5k views

How to play as a dual-wielding monk?

I have read quite a few questions that have skirted around the idea I was considering, such as tri-wielding, unarmed dual-wielding, and dual wielding with single staff, but none that really spoke to ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,398
2 votes
1 answer
387 views

Does this change to the Two-Weapon Fighting bridge the gap with GWF?

Off-hand attack Rule: Replaces Two-Weapon fighting rule When making an attack with a light melee weapon using your strength modifier for attack and damage rolls, you may make an "off-hand attack&...
Orionox's user avatar
  • 157
5 votes
1 answer
301 views

Can you feint at range with two weapon fighting?

I am trying to create a dual wielding Kobold Bushwhacker Gunslinger, and trying to find some way to feint for all that juicy sneak attack damage. The following is assuming the following feats and ...
Pethrax's user avatar
  • 1,279
2 votes
1 answer
291 views

Can a character make an unarmed strike and a claw attack with the same limb during a single turn?

If a Thri-Kreen takes Multi-Weapon Fighting they are allowed to make up to three additional attacks as part of their full-attack action due to having three "off" hands in addition to their one "main" ...
Benjamin's user avatar
  • 1,285
6 votes
1 answer
370 views

Can you rend with bludgeoning weapons?

Playing DnD 3.5e. On the Two weapon fighting tree is Two weapon rend. Can you rend with bludgeoning weapons? or is it just with slashing attacks. We have a guy bashing with shields and he has the ...
HèłłHőůñđ's user avatar
4 votes
3 answers
3k views

How does natural attacks interact with double slice and other dual weapon fighting feats?

I want to make a character that has multiple natural attacks (jaw, claws and tail). I want to use them in a way that seems good for me. I looked at the dual weapon warrior archetype, and it felt like ...
Rorp's user avatar
  • 5,718
4 votes
1 answer
222 views

If a character with 4 main-hand attacks and the Perfect Multiweapon Fighting epic feat, does using the Haste spell grant them a 5th offhand attack?

A character, without using haste, has 4 attacks on main hand, and the epic feat Perfect Multiweapon Fighting: You can make as many attacks with each extra weapon as with your primary weapon, using ...
Digius's user avatar
  • 2,243
1 vote
1 answer
373 views

Two-Weapon Fighting in D&D 5e [duplicate]

Good afternoon! I decided to create a new character with an emphasis on owning a couple of weapons, and after studying this topic, I had a question: The strike with the second weapon is performed as a ...
Patros's user avatar
  • 13
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Feat that allows you to use your full strength modifier to offhand weapon damage?

I seem to remember having seen a feat that allows you to use your full strength modifier when dealing damage with your offhand weapon when you two-weapon fight but I can't find it now, in Pathfinder ...
Anthony Storniolo's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does Thirsting Blade Stack With Twinned Blades?

Does Twinned Blades from the Compendium of Forgotten Secrets: Awakening stack with Thirsting Blade? Twinned Blades says both weapons are pact weapons, and Thirsting Blade affects my pact weapon. So ...
Bay Pacman's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
537 views

Experiment with Two-Weapon Fighting Alteration: Is it Balanced?

I've been working on an alteration to how one engages in Two-Weapon Fighting, which I've disliked the vanilla version due to various well known, or at least heard, problems. Here are a couple spots ...
Joe D.'s user avatar
  • 445
8 votes
1 answer
825 views

In what way does two weapon fighting reduce the penalty of natural attacks?

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Natural-Attacks States the following (emphasis mine): You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee ...
Max Hay's user avatar
  • 325
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

Strictly RAW, does Desna's Shooting Star add full Charisma bonus with Two-Weapon Fighting?

Desna's Shooting Star is a Divine Fighting Technique. Here is what it does: You can add your Charisma bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls when wielding a starknife. If you do so, you don’t modify ...
R.I.P.30.12.21Baskakov_Dmitriy's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

How can I use TWF on a dex-based character who casts spells?

I have a character who wants to: Use two-weapon fighting Use their dexterity bonus, not their strength bonus, to attack Cast spells with somatic components I'm having trouble finding a way to ...
A_S00's user avatar
  • 12.7k
5 votes
3 answers
988 views

What is monk off-hand str damage bonus when using unarmed two-weapon fighting

With regard to this question, assuming it is decided that a monk can use unarmed attacks "off-hand" in two-weapon fighting, does a monk using the standard rules for two-weapon fighting with &...
Wannabe Warlock's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
752 views

Does the Dual Wield Talent modify the rules about multi-attacks?

In the The Core Rulebook for Wrath & Glory 2nd edition, the dual wield talent is described as such: Dual Wield Talent You can wield two weapons with uncanny accuracy. When you wield one weapon in ...
Thrax's user avatar
  • 227
5 votes
3 answers
6k views

Can I use Booming Blade and Sneak Attack, and then use Disengage (if the first attack hit) or Two-Weapon Fighting (if it missed) on the same turn?

I am building a rogue-warlock multiclass in D&D 5e. I get advantage using my familiar's Help action. And because it is near me, I can use Sneak Attack as well. I am thinking about using booming ...
Bay Pacman's user avatar
-3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I use the Two Weapon Fighting bonus action attack while only holding one weapon? [closed]

Here's the situation. A level one Tabaxi fighter has claws and a mace. He intends to attack with both weapons. Using claws as his off hand attack. He is fighting a monster that has resistance to ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
  • 11.1k
8 votes
1 answer
848 views

If a character can make multiple attacks as part of an Attack action, do all of them need to be done with a light weapon to use Two-Weapon Fighting?

The Two-Weapon Fighting rule states: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light ...
findusl's user avatar
  • 6,587
1 vote
0 answers
847 views

Do you add your modifiers to attack rolls when you fight with two weapons? [duplicate]

I plan on making a dual wielding barbarian/fighter, and in fighter's fighting style it says that this style allows me to add modifiers to damage rolls for second weapon. But do I get a bonus for the ...
Aniki's user avatar
  • 203
7 votes
2 answers
10k views

If a character with the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style has no weapons drawn, can they use Two-Weapon Fighting to draw and throw 2 daggers?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 42) adds the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style option for fighters, whose description states (in part): You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as ...
dndplayernr2132145's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
502 views

If a bonus action attack for Two-Weapon Fighting involves multiple ability modifiers, which ones are added to the damage roll?

This question is entirely inspired by the following: Bonus action attack ability score modifier That question, however, happens to ask about a homebrew method of adding multiple ability modifiers to ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
2 votes
3 answers
808 views

Bonus action attack ability score modifier

This may be confusing but currently in the campaign there is a warlock with a magic revolver that allows them to add eldritch invocations related to eldritch blast to the weapon. So agonizing blast ...
JustGettinOpinions's user avatar
5 votes
0 answers
58 views

Do weapon-based qualities always have to be used with the weapon that triggers them?

There are several qualities in the game that relate to specific weapon categories, most notably the "[weapon category] Fighter I-III" line. Some of these are pretty clear in that their ...
Pahlavan's user avatar
  • 717
1 vote
1 answer
301 views

Two-Weapon Fighting Mechanic Alterations

Back again with some more refinements on my thoughts in altering Two-Weapon Fighting based on the input I got from folks answering these posts: Is this change to the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style ...
Joe D.'s user avatar
  • 445
5 votes
4 answers
2k views

Fighter - Two Weapon Fighting/Hex/Booming Blade

So I’m in a campaign and the DM is helping out one of our players. He helped them build their character and at lvl 5 he has him doing something insane. Now I’m relatively new myself so I can’t ...
Tinycanoe's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
101 views

Does the distinction between left and right hand matter when making an off-hand attack? [duplicate]

Clara the Fighter finds herself facing a huge undead, the Frost Giant Skeleton. She attacks twice with her scimitar, and again with her light hammer! The undead reels back as it takes bludgeoning ...
field158's user avatar
  • 1,949
0 votes
2 answers
1k views

Two Weapon Fighting with two light weapons?

Do the penalties for the Feat Two Weapon Fighting stop at -2/-2 while holding a one-handed weapon in your primary hand and a light one in your off-hand? What about while dual wielding light weapons ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

How does the Magic Stone cantrip interact with Two-Weapon Fighting?

I am playing a Ranger with the Extra Attack feature and the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style. I have a sack (a homebrew item) that lets me draw and throw a magic stone (flavored as a turnip); the ...
Joseph Bantel's user avatar
12 votes
3 answers
10k views

Why is Soulknife's second attack not Two-Weapon Fighting?

I know the question Do you add your ability modifier to damage for the Soulknife's second attack? with a reply being "Yes you do because it is not two weapons fighting". This is not if, but ...
Pretz's user avatar
  • 145

1
2 3 4 5