Skip to main content

Questions tagged [unconscious]

For questions about being unconscious. Unconscious characters are unable to move or act, often at the mercy of another entity.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7 votes
2 answers
459 views

Numbing Tonic and knocked out

What happens to someone who is under 0 hp when they are already under the effects of numbing tonic? So someone is down to 2hp and have 2 temp hp, then are hit by an attack for 5 damage, leaving them ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.2k
6 votes
1 answer
423 views

Does an unconscious dying creature with regeneration regain its actions on its following turn?

A matter of order? While seeming like an easy question, it might actually be a bit more convoluted. The way I see it, the question comes down to the order of following two aspects: Regaining actions ...
Kasper Thystrup Karstensen's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
212 views

Zeal cleric capstone and the Dhampir bite

The Zeal cleric capstone Blaze of Glory reads as follows: When you are reduced to 0 hit points by an attacker you can see, even if you would be killed outright, you can use your reaction to move up ...
Isaac Kotlicky's user avatar
5 votes
4 answers
2k views

Is there any way to get immunity to unconsciousness?

Preferably permanently and without losing class abilities. I tried searching for this immunity, through races, feats and backgrounds, but so far only found the moon druid's transformation into an ...
Matheus Lacerda's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
212 views

If a PC gets knocked unconscious but the attack involves a separate saving throw, when does the saving throw trigger?

It seems that when an attack involves base damage such as slashing and an extra source of damage, such as poison damage, that requires a save, both damage sources are considered to be instantaneous ...
Crash-713's user avatar
  • 205
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is Turn Undead still in effect when the cleric becomes unconscious or is otherwise removed from combat?

The rules seem to imply that the undead have to be within range and sight/earshot only at the beginning of the effect. Which makes sense since part of the feature is that they run away from you and ...
Graybark's user avatar
  • 463
5 votes
1 answer
935 views

Does a Wildfire Druid actually enter the unconscious condition when using Blazing Revival?

The 14th level Circle of Wildfire ability reads: If the spirit is within 120 feet of you when you are reduced to 0 hit points and thereby fall unconscious, you can cause the spirit to drop to 0 hit ...
RisingZan's user avatar
  • 724
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

What happens if the initial damage from the Feeblemind spell reduces the target to 0 HP (or kills them)?

The description of the feeblemind spell says: You blast the mind of a creature that you can see within range, attempting to shatter its intellect and personality. The target takes 4d6 psychic damage ...
Rami's user avatar
  • 101
7 votes
1 answer
653 views

When should Death Saves be rolled under the rules for Speed Factor Initiative?

In my new campaign I am using the Speed Factor variant for Initiative (DMG pp. 270-271). We like this a lot but it is confusing concerning unconscious PCs. This question says that taking Actions while ...
Anagkai's user avatar
  • 16.5k
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

Could a Dragon use an unconscious PC as a thrown weapon?

I like to ground my games with a cinematic scope and my players may come up against a dragon pretty soon. The dragons are very much feral and evil and so I am looking to show their feral nature. If a ...
ItsScottish's user avatar
  • 1,311
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can the Wither and Bloom spell allow an unconscious/dying PC to spend a Hit Die to heal?

The description of the wither and bloom spell states (Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos, p. 38; emphasis mine): You invoke both death and life upon a 10-foot-radius sphere centered on a point within ...
James Risner's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Sildar Hallwinter regain HP in Lost Mine of Phandelver adventure?

I recognize that there are several Sildar-related questions answered in this forum, but my question is more related to procedure than his specific character. The adventure guide says "Quick-...
Rob's user avatar
  • 503
4 votes
1 answer
352 views

Can a Carrionette use its Soul Swap on a creature, when it already has control of another creature's body?

The carrionette listed in Van Richten's Guide To Ravenloft, is given a Challenge Rating 1 (!?!) and features a Soul Swap ability that seems very powerful: Targeting a creature within 15 feet that's ...
ProphetZarquon's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
422 views

When using Air Walk and you're knocked out, do you fall?

Yes, the title is heavily inspired by the similar PF2 question about the Fly spell, with the difference that air walking is more walking than flying. While Air Walk is on... The subject can tread on ...
Zachiel's user avatar
  • 35k
6 votes
4 answers
8k views

What is the difference between "Unconscious" and "Asleep"?

The Sleep spell explicitly causes targets to fall "unconscious" but includes many references to sleep, as well as the line: "Undead and creatures immune to being charmed aren’t ...
nben's user avatar
  • 2,547
8 votes
4 answers
3k views

What trigger would I specify for the Contingency spell to use a contingent False Life spell to avoid being knocked unconscious by damage?

So, in our current game, the PCs are getting pwned by a couple of bad guys. We ended last session in the middle of combat and will pick up next session. My wizard is already pretty seriously hurt and ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

When a character regains consciousness mid-fight after their initiative passed, do they get a turn?

I have a problem understanding regaining consciousness. From what I know, a creature that loses its consciousness during the battle needs to have its HP to be raised above 0 once again. But what if ...
Jack_Russell's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
871 views

If someone is knocked unconscious by a Mind Flayer's tentacles and grappled, then healed, do they still make a saving throw against being stunned?

This seems to be a fairly unusual situation and I have not been able to find a ruling. The description of the Mind Flayer's Tentacles attack states, in part: [...] If the target is Medium or smaller, ...
Roenith's user avatar
  • 81
24 votes
4 answers
2k views

What is the impact of moving a fallen PC in the initiative order?

If you receive more damage than your current hitpoints, you are Knocked Out. Among other things, "You immediately move your initiative position to directly before the turn in which you were ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
2 votes
1 answer
333 views

Healed while knocked out [duplicate]

Tonight at my party's session, I was being attacked by an army of angry island gladiators and I was knocked out - dropped to 0 HP with a non-lethal attack. I have Devotee's Censer with me and I ...
Tal_Amsalem's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Unconsciousness ending naturally over time?

In D&D 5E, if a player character, an NPC, or a group of player characters and/or NPCs become unconscious or go critical and then get stabilized, or if an enemy/enemies was/were knocked out instead ...
SolidSense's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
1k views

Can a conscious, stabilized PC do anything if they are still at 0 hit points after being stabilized with "Spare the Dying"?

Pretty self explanatory: A character has been shot to zero hit points and falls unconscious. A Cleric uses spare the dying on them and stabilizes them before they have a chance to make any death ...
Ceran's user avatar
  • 43
12 votes
1 answer
995 views

If a Death's Head of Bhaal takes damage while it's asleep, can it use its Unstoppable reaction to reduce that damage to 0?

This came up in a recent session. The Death's Head of Bhaal (BG:DiA, p. 233) has a reaction called Unstoppable that allows it to reduce the damage from an attack to 0 (3 times per day). If a Death's ...
ForcedImmortal's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can the Grave Domain Cleric's "Sentinel at deaths door" cancel the autocrit from hitting an unconscious person?

The Grave Domain Cleric's Sentinel at Death's Door class feature has the following wording: At 6th level, you gain the ability to impede death’s progress. As a reaction when you or an ally that you ...
TheMineKeeper's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
5k views

What happens to an Artillerist artificer's Eldritch Cannon if the Artillerist falls unconscious?

What happens to an Artillerist artificer's Eldritch Cannon if the Artillerist falls unconscious? The Eldritch Cannon is a magical object created by an Artillerist artificer (E:RftlW p. 59, TCoE p. 17; ...
Lio Elbammalf's user avatar
29 votes
3 answers
28k views

Does healing an unconscious, dying player character restore only up to 1 hp unless they have been stabilised?

I was told by a previous DM that if you heal a player who is unconscious and rolling for death saves each turn, that regardless off how much hit points the heal would heal them for, they are only ...
Riddleman's user avatar
  • 415
4 votes
0 answers
114 views

Does Leveling Up Heal Unconscious Characters? [duplicate]

A character in my group ran into a funny situation where his character fell unconscious but the other characters eliminated monsters, which caused them to level up. When a character levels up, they ...
One Eye's user avatar
  • 1,104
18 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens when a dying abjurer with an Arcane Ward active is attacked?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115): Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
5 votes
1 answer
743 views

What happens to an abjurer's Arcane Ward when they fail the saving throw against a Banshee's Wail?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115): Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

What happens when an unconscious creature fails their saving throw against a Banshee's Wail?

A Banshee (MM, p. 23) has the Wail action: Wail (1/Day). The banshee releases a mournful wail, provided that she isn’t in sunlight. This wail has no effect on constructs and undead. All other ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
15 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does Disguise Self end if the caster falls unconscious?

In one of my groups, I play a squishy sorcerer focused on deception, including having a number of false identities. Last week, we were infiltrating an enemy’s base and my sorcerer used disguise self ...
Bardic Wizard's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
3k views

Do the effects of a Potion of Speed or Potion of Heroism disappear if the character becomes unconscious?

If a player is under the effect of a potion of speed: When you drink this potion, you gain the effect of the haste spell for 1 minute (no concentration required). The potion’s yellow fluid is ...
gareth the elf's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
380 views

Does HP fall to 0 if a creature is knocked unconscious from failing a save? If not, how does the unconscious condition end?

I was looking at the Prismatic Beetle Swarm from Tome of Beasts. The description of its Glittering Carapace trait says, in part: In bright light, a creature within 30 feet that looks at the prismatic ...
trueneutraldwarf's user avatar
19 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is there a way to knock a creature out from a distance?

Per the below rules, it looks like that a PC can only knock a creature out with a melee attack: Sometimes an attacker wants to incapacitate a foe, rather than deal a killing blow. When an attacker ...
Toto's user avatar
  • 445
3 votes
2 answers
390 views

What effects can render a creature unconscious (but not also dead) to where magical healing won't awaken it?

Being a DM here. Trying to set up a plot that involves a high-rank NPC being unconscious after a big fight so that he missed some important event (and only just awoke before PC arrives). However, it ...
Terry G's user avatar
  • 149
15 votes
5 answers
2k views

How to determine the reason for unconsciousness

Can visual inspection tell the reason a creature is unconscious? Is there a difference between a creature that is sleeping normally, sleeping magically, or unconscious due to dropping to 0 HP? Does a ...
Greenstone Walker's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
750 views

What happens when a party member uses a healing spell on an unconscious PC who has spell resistance?

The Spell Resistance (Ex) ability reads, in part: The possessor does not have to do anything special to use spell resistance. The creature need not even be aware of the threat for its spell ...
Verdict00's user avatar
  • 1,117
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Do you have disadvantage on Con saves against poison while sleeping?

NPCs are going to poison the party while they sleep, do the players have disadvantage on their saves? The situation I just started a campaign with a group where I was once a player. Their lvl 5 ...
Craken_Slayer_Ark's user avatar
11 votes
3 answers
4k views

Is the Oath of the Ancients Paladin's Elder Champion feature intended to still work while unconscious?

The Paladin's Oath of the Ancients Level 20 Elder Champion feature states: Using your action, you undergo a transformation. For 1 minute, you gain the following benefits: At the start of each of ...
qorinthian's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
21k views

If you succeed on all of your death saving throws, what happens?

I have been DMing for my group for maybe a month or two, and we ruled that upon stabilizing your character with death saving rolls, you recover one HP and are unconscious. Is this right? Should you ...
Spikyfish's user avatar
  • 149
8 votes
1 answer
309 views

When you are knocked unconscious while Net Running, do you drop out of your subgrid?

A runner took (physical) damage from a Hellbolt and failed their stun save--now they're unconscious. Do they drop out of their subgrid, or are they still jacked in?
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
2 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can I teleport unconcious allies with Thunder Step? [duplicate]

Say my ally is making death saving throws, can I still teleport him with Thunder Step? Provided that he is the same size or smaller, within 5 feet of me and there is space for him where I teleport to. ...
Ralph's user avatar
  • 479
8 votes
2 answers
5k views

How do the stunned and unconscious conditions from an Illithid's Mind Blast interact?

Below is the Mind Flayer's Mind Blast feature: Each creature in that area must succeed on a DC 15 Intelligence saving throw or take 22 (4d8 + 4) psychic damage and be stunned for 1 minute. A ...
Ettina Kitten's user avatar
3 votes
7 answers
2k views

What do I do while throwing death saving throws? [closed]

A big problem I've seen with the D&D 5E system,is that throwing death throws are not fun, not engaging, and very boring. I am playing the cleric in a party with no other healers. I get knocked ...
tuskiomi's user avatar
  • 5,074
22 votes
3 answers
7k views

Are there consequences to being reduced to 0 HP multiple times in combat?

I was running a game a few weeks ago. In short, during combat the thief and the warlock were both knocked unconscious. Each were brought back by the cleric with healing word and cure wounds. New ...
user6163942's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can an Unconscious PC hear you?

Some spells and abilities specify that the target must be able to hear you. Is an unconscious PC (0 HP) considered a valid target? Unconscious ... An unconscious creature is incapacitated (see the ...
Destruktor's user avatar
  • 6,235
1 vote
1 answer
269 views

Does an savethrow-type attack cause critical damage for an unconscious creature? [duplicate]

The unconscious state description says Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature. Situation Target ...
Ohar's user avatar
  • 5,775
10 votes
2 answers
5k views

Can a Creature at 0 HP Take Damage?

Inspired by this question (and a comment underneath it), I thought we should have a solid answer on the site for this question: Can a character at 0 HP take damage?
Upper_Case's user avatar
  • 21.8k
6 votes
1 answer
8k views

Does paralysis last through unconsciousness?

My cleric was paralyzed by a yeti, then one shot critted to unconsciousness. If my comrade heals me, am I still under paralysis and required to make a Con saving throw? Or does the paralysis shake off ...
Trekkie's user avatar
  • 1,998
9 votes
1 answer
524 views

Can you delay action while unconscious?

Suppose my character in PF1 is unconscious and dying, and the party cleric's turn is not until after mine in the initiative round. I would like to avoid wasting a turn by delaying until after the ...
R. Barrett's user avatar
  • 1,441