Questions tagged [unconscious]

For questions about being unconscious. Unconscious characters are unable to move or act, often at the mercy of another entity.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
48
votes
10answers
97k views

Can a zero-HP, unconscious and stable character be woken up prematurely?

Whenever you drop to 0 hp you become unconscious (and are dying). If you manage to stabilize you will wake up in 1d4 hrs with 1 hp. We had a situation where an unconscious character was stablized, ...
45
votes
7answers
34k views

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

PHB 153 reads: Potion of Healing. A character who drinks the magical red fluid in this vial regains 2d4 + 2 hit points. Drinking or administering a potion takes an action. By my interpretation,...
44
votes
8answers
27k views

Does Evasion allow half damage even when unconscious?

Evasion is a class feature gained by Rogues and Monks at level 7: At 7th level, your instinctive agility lets you dodge out of the way of certain area effects, such as a blue dragon’s lightning ...
35
votes
1answer
11k views

Can a Goodberry not be administered to an unconscious creature?

Potion of Healing (DMG, page 187): You regain hit points when you drink this potion. Potions (DMG, page 139): Drinking or administering a potion to another character requires an action. As ...
30
votes
4answers
16k views

Can unconscious characters be willing? [duplicate]

This situation came up last week during our session. The party was facing a pretty difficult mob of enemies and one of the party members was knocked unconscious. Seeing the situation worsening, one of ...
29
votes
2answers
14k views

Can you cast Hellish Rebuke as a reaction to damage that reduces you to zero hit points?

Can one use a hellish rebuke as a reaction after taking damage that would knock one unconscious? A friend and I fought during one game and I hit him, so he would have lost, but used his reaction to ...
29
votes
5answers
3k views

Does a PC who was KO'd earn experience for that combat?

A friend of mine's character just died, and as we chatted he lamented all the bad luck he had over the course of the campaign. One thing that stuck out (other than his death being at the hands of a ...
29
votes
1answer
13k views

If you're unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

In the PHB, it says that three death saving throw failures means you die; taking any damage causes 1 failure, and a critical hit causes 2 failures. But the unconscious condition says that attacks ...
28
votes
1answer
8k views

Can you polymorph an unconscious creature that is at 0 HP to wake it up?

The polymorph spell mentions that the creature assumes the new form's hp. As long as that hp doesn't hit 0 hp, the creature doesn't revert. But it doesn't state that you can't polymorph a creature at ...
27
votes
3answers
4k views

Does healing an unconscious, dying player character restore only up to 1 hp unless they have been stabilised?

I was told by a previous DM that if you heal a player who is unconscious and rolling for death saves each turn, that regardless off how much hit points the heal would heal them for, they are only ...
27
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a Wild Magic Sorcerer use Tides of Chaos while unconscious at 0 Hit Points?

In the course of an answer to this question about ways to gain advantage on death saving throws, the following was proposed to gain advantage on a death saving throw: Alternatively, you could be ...
27
votes
5answers
50k views

How does drowning work when you're already at 0 hp and fall into water?

I had a player fighting against sahuagin by the shore the other day and he was dropped to 0 and dying. Because of his location, though, he landed in shallow water (2-3' deep) which I ruled was enough ...
26
votes
3answers
5k views

How to handle initiative for a sleeping creature?

Imagine a rogue PC sneaks into a room where a goblin -- who ought to be standing watch -- is instead taking a nap. The PC's stealth roll is enormously high (as befits a rogue), such that the goblin ...
25
votes
2answers
4k views

Do PCs roll saves for pre-existing effects while Unconscious?

Inspired by this question about Frightened. According to Appendix A: Conditions (SRD p. 192), A condition lasts either until it is countered (the prone condition is countered by standing up, for ...
24
votes
1answer
5k views

If I am hit after I am reduced to 0 HP during this duel in the Hoard of the Dragon Queen adventure, do I take 1 or 2 death save failures?

We're playing Hoard of the Dragon Queen. During the brutal first episode, there is a duel that can take place (p. 12; spoilers in the link). When the player loses the duel, the other participant... ...
23
votes
3answers
11k views

Does a petrified creature stay conscious (and mentally sane)?

The next dungeon my party visits will contain some strange statues. Most of them are just Stone Golems, which will attack them. But near the end of the dungeon, the party will discover that one of the ...
23
votes
2answers
3k views

Is there advantage on a non-adjacent attack against an unconscious creature?

The unconscious condition states the following two effects (PHB 292): The creature drops whatever it's holding and falls prone. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage Under the prone ...
22
votes
3answers
4k views

Are there consequences to being reduced to 0 HP multiple times in combat?

I was running a game a few weeks ago. In short, during combat the thief and the warlock were both knocked unconscious. Each were brought back by the cleric with healing word and cure wounds. New ...
22
votes
2answers
22k views

What happens to a familiar if the wizard is unconscious?

Reading over the PHB spell entry for familiars, I don't see anything about what happens to the familiar if its "owner" dies or is unconscious. I'm going to assume if the owner dies, the familiar ...
22
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens to bardic inspiration if either the bard or the recipient of the inspiration dies/goes unconscious?

In D&D 5e, a bard can give Bardic Inspiration - a d6-d12, depending on the level of the bard - which can be used by the recipient to add to a single ability check, attack roll, or saving throw ...
20
votes
7answers
3k views

What balance issues would arise from a house rule imposing a saving throw versus exhaustion after a PC falls unconscious?

In my last campaign, some combat encounters got pretty ridiculous, mainly due to some player characters falling unconscious and getting back up every turn. I remember one combat encounter in ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

Can an unconscious character use a healing surge?

Can an unconscious character use an action (like second wind or a healing power) to spend a healing surge? Can an unconscious character spend a healing surge due to some external effect?
19
votes
4answers
6k views

Can an AoE spell crit an unconscious creature?

To give an example, if a PC was knocked unconscious and someone was to throw a fireball at them, they would automatically fail the Dex Saving throw and take full damage. If the spell caster was ...
19
votes
4answers
45k views

When rolling a 20 for a Death Saving Throw, can you move and take Actions that turn?

My intrepid adventuring character has been attacked, and the damage reduced him to 0 hit points and falls unconscious. On his next turn, he rolls a Death Saving Throw, and gets everybody's favorite ...
19
votes
3answers
15k views

Does carrying/dragging a willing/unconscious creature cause half movement as per the grapple rules?

When you carry/drag an unwilling creature that you have grappled, your movement speed is halved. Is the same true when you carry/drag a willing or unconscious creature (ex: move your friend out of ...
19
votes
3answers
754 views

Is there a way to knock a creature out from a distance?

Per the below rules, it looks like that a PC can only knock a creature out with a melee attack: Sometimes an attacker wants to incapacitate a foe, rather than deal a killing blow. When an attacker ...
19
votes
1answer
4k views

Are temporary hit points able to make you concious?

Last game a character dropped unconscious with exactly -1 HP. The party's paladin used on his turn 'Beacon of Nobility' to give the unconscious character 5 temporary hit points. The Rules Compendium ...
18
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens when a dying abjurer with an Arcane Ward active is attacked?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115): Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or ...
18
votes
2answers
28k views

Can you gain Temporary Hit Points when unconscious?

If you are at 0HP with max HP of 0, is there any Temporary Hit Point generation mechanic that works? If it does, will you become conscious?
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a bard grant bardic inspiration to an unconscious creature?

The recipient of bardic inspiration must be able to hear the bard. ...choose one creature other than yourself within 60 feet of you who can hear you. An unconscious creature is "unaware of its ...
16
votes
3answers
5k views

Can the sleep spell wake me up?

Does one notice being affected by the sleep spell? The reason I ask is because I want to ensure someone who is already asleep via natural means will not wake up for the next 60 seconds. To do so, I ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Can an Unconscious PC hear you?

Some spells and abilities specify that the target must be able to hear you. Is an unconscious PC (0 HP) considered a valid target? Unconscious ... An unconscious creature is incapacitated (see the ...
15
votes
5answers
2k views

How to determine the reason for unconsciousness

Can visual inspection tell the reason a creature is unconscious? Is there a difference between a creature that is sleeping normally, sleeping magically, or unconscious due to dropping to 0 HP? Does a ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Disguise Self end if the caster falls unconscious?

In one of my groups, I play a squishy sorcerer focused on deception, including having a number of false identities. Last week, we were infiltrating an enemy’s base and my sorcerer used disguise self ...
14
votes
4answers
8k views

Does an unconscious creature still use its dexterity to avoid attacks?

Related - How does one dispatch a helpless opponent? Here's the unconscious condition description: Unconscious An unconscious creature is Incapacitated, can't move or speak, and is unaware of ...
14
votes
2answers
4k views

Do spellcasters lose spells if they fall unconscious?

Do spellcasters lose spells if they fall unconscious? By "lose" I mean lose the spells they have in their heads - their memorized spells, or prepared spells. Not looking at concentration, but the ...
13
votes
5answers
4k views

Do sleeping or otherwise helpless targets get Reflex saves?

According to the 3.5 PHB (p. 309), a helpless (e.g., sleeping) target is treated as having Dex 0, and has a "-5 modifier". On p. 153, it further explains that a helpless defender can't use ...
13
votes
3answers
3k views

Can any creature be knocked out?

Reading the question Can you knock a Banshee unconscious?, I see that mu is too short's answer quotes the rules from the Player's Handbook on knocking a creature out, saying that: When an attacker ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can unconscious characters be unwilling?

Some spells like enlarge/reduce and polymorph specify that only an unwilling creature makes a saving throw: If the target is unwilling, it can make a Constitution saving throw. and An ...
13
votes
1answer
11k views

Does Spiritual Weapon stay until the end of its duration if the caster goes uncounscious?

Spiritual Weapon does not require concentration and only has a duration of a minute. When my cleric was knocked unconscious the on-the-fly decision was to keep the weapon waiting around until the end ...
13
votes
2answers
795 views

Should a character drop his or her weapon when going unconscious?

Going unconscious DDI does not mention that a creature drops any held items, yet it seems logical to do so. Is this mentioned elsewhere in the rules that I am not aware of? Has WoTC ruled on this ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Grave Domain Cleric's “Sentinel at deaths door” cancel the autocrit from hitting an unconscious person?

The Grave Domain Cleric's Sentinel at Death's Door class feature has the following wording: At 6th level, you gain the ability to impede death’s progress. As a reaction when you or an ally that you ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Enemies knocking players unconscious instead of killing them

In D&D 4th Ed., can a monster choose to knock the player he is killing unconscious instead of killing him, thereby not giving him a chance to roll death saving throws to get back on his own and ...
12
votes
1answer
6k views

Does frightened condition end when you hit 0 HP?

I was running a game where a Sea Hag frightened a couple of my PCs. In a subsequent round, the Hag used her Death Glare, and a PC dropped to 0 HP. Almost immediately, our cleric cast Spare the Dying ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

How to resolve Burning Hands with a Dying Ally

Playing the D&D 5e starter set, the rogue had been knocked prone by the wolves in the Goblin Cave and had two wolves within melee range over her 0hp body. I ruled that, as she was prone, the ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

If you fail a Pseudodragon's save by 5 or more, are you also Poisoned?

The Pseudodragon's Sting attack says: the target must succeed on a DC 11 Constitution saving throw or become poisoned for 1 hour. It's worth noting that no additional save is permitted. ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Creature at 0 HP Take Damage?

Inspired by this question (and a comment underneath it), I thought we should have a solid answer on the site for this question: Can a character at 0 HP take damage?
10
votes
4answers
33k views

Are there other ways of knocking someone out besides bringing them to 0 hit points?

In the PHB it says that if a melee attack you make reduces an enemy to 0 hitpoints, you can chose to knock them out. My question is, is there any way to knock out an enemy with out hurting them to ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Is acid splash automatically a critical hit against an unconscious creature?

For Critical hits, the PHB states When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack's damage... for acid splash ... A target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw... ...
10
votes
1answer
577 views

What happens when a party member uses a healing spell on an unconscious PC who has spell resistance?

The Spell Resistance (Ex) ability reads, in part: The possessor does not have to do anything special to use spell resistance. The creature need not even be aware of the threat for its spell ...