Skip to main content

Questions tagged [unearthed-arcana]

For questions about Unearthed Arcana, Wizards of the Coast's column featuring draft-form, unfinalized new content published for playtesting for D&D 5e.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
2 answers
446 views

How to reduce the size of the Ancient Companion from the UA Mage of Lorehold subclass?

The description of the Mage of Lorehold's Ancient Companion feature (from UA: Mages of Strixhaven) reads, in part: Whenever you finish a short or long rest, you can call forth and bond with one such ...
whme's user avatar
  • 165
2 votes
1 answer
826 views

Tunnel Fighter + Oath of Vengeance + Echo Knight Potential Combo Ruling

I was thinking of a new character and had a question about how this would work. You are a Echo Knight (Level 3+) Multiclassed with a Oath of Vengeance Paladin (Level 7+) who has the Tunnel Fighter ...
William Henderson's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
154 views

Can the UA Wild Talent feat change the damage type of the Chaos Bolt spell?

Inspired by this current question: Can the UA Wild Talent feat interact with the Chaos Bolt spell? – and Matthieu's comment on Groody's answer. It seems that RAW, you are replacing the number you roll ...
Alan's user avatar
  • 1,305
4 votes
1 answer
169 views

Can the UA Wild Talent feat interact with the Chaos Bolt spell?

If I take the Wild Talent feat (from UA 2020: Psionic Options Revisited, DM approved) and improve my Charisma, this allows me to do the following: You awaken to your psionic potential, which enhances ...
Pita's user avatar
  • 121
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

What is the correct damage calculation when casting spells at higher levels?

I cast Spray of Cards (UA: Wonders of the Multiverse, p. 11) at 5th level, choosing the Cutting Cards effect: Cutting Cards. Each creature in a 15-foot cone must make a Dexterity saving throw. A ...
connor sims's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
737 views

How does the updated Centaur work with an effect of 'gain a climbing speed equal to your current speed'?

I am building a College of Satire Bard from the Unearthed Arcana: Kits of Old mentioned here. I found the PDF on wizards.com. The two rules elements are quoted below. There are three similar questions,...
James Risner's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
401 views

Can I use UA material if I'm writing a D&D 5E OGL supplement to be sold on DriveThruRPG or Amazon?

Can I use Unearthed Arcana material if I'm writing a D&D 5E OGL supplement to be sold on DriveThruRPG or Amazon? I am specifically interested in the UA: Psionic Options Revisited playtest material....
Bill Barnhill's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
186 views

How can a UA Mystic increase their Discipline attack bonus or save DC?

I am creating a wish-list of what kind of magic items I could get for a Mystic in D&D 5e. I am hoping to empower their mystic disciplines, but most if not all magic items made for casters ...
Toddleson's user avatar
  • 228
3 votes
1 answer
3k views

How well is the Unearthed Arcana Raven Queen warlock subclass balanced as compared to the officially published subclasses?

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard introduced a new warlock patron: The Raven Queen. However, it never ended up being published. How balanced is the UA Raven Queen warlock subclass as compared to ...
ArtickokeAndAnchovyPizzaMonica's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
312 views

In "UA: When Armies Clash", how is damage dealt to solos and PCs?

I was looking over "Unearthed Arcana: When Armies Clash", and one thing strikes me as odd. The rules in the PDF state (on p. 1 of the PDF): A stand uses the statistics [...] of the ...
TheDragonOfFlame's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
889 views

The UA Mage of Lorehold's Ancient Companion (Healer) has the Healer's Light action; do those temp HP remain if you bond to a different spirit type?

In the UA of Mages of Strixhaven, the Mage of Lorehold's Ancient Companion feature lets you bond to a spirit when you finish a short or long rest, choosing Healer, Sage, or Warrior. If Healer is ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
8 votes
6 answers
7k views

Overpowered pyromancer (Kaladesh) nuking the battlefield for the lulz: fixing our Icewind Dale campaign [closed]

Story We're starting an Icewind Dale campaign with level 15'ish characters we've built up through 4 previous campaigns. The team is concerned that one player (pyromancer, Roy "Trogdor" ...
RoyMustangIsOP's user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can a Thri-Kreen character use the Dual Wielder feat's first benefit with a shield?

The Thri-Kreen playable race from Unearthed Arcana 2021: Travelers of the Multiverse has the following property: Secondary Arms. You have two slightly smaller secondary arms below your primary pair ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
22 votes
9 answers
11k views

Do the UA thri-kreen's 4 arms enable any higher-damage weapon combinations?

The Travelers of the Multiverse Unearthed Arcana includes a playable insectoid race called the thri-kreen that has 4 arms, each of which is capable of wielding weapons, albeit with some limitations: ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a Fairy PC fly in an Antimagic field?

The Unearthed Arcana for the Fairy Race states: Fairy Flight. You have a flying speed equal to your walking speed and can hover. This flight is magical and does not require the use of your wings (if ...
Jon Aristotle's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

How balanced is the Nathair's Mischief spell from UA: Draconic Options?

Nathair's Mischief is a spell from the relatively new UA 2021: Draconic Options, p. 6. How balanced is it in its current iteration when compared to similar options published in non-playtest material? ...
Akixkisu's user avatar
  • 19.6k
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the Fey Passage trait enable a (UA) Fairy character to escape restraints (the restrained condition)?

In UA 2021: Folk of the Feywild, the description of the Fairy race's Fey Passage trait says: You can squeeze through a space as narrow as 1 inch wide. And the basic rules provide the following rules ...
Robert Pain VanZant's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
458 views

Does UA Step of the wind: wings unfurled stack with Aarakocra?

The aarakocra gains a base 50 flight. Step of the wind: wings unfurled states When you use your Step of the Wind, you can unfurl spectral draconic wings, gaining a flying speed equal to your walking ...
Salami-tsunami's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Are Golems “Humanoid” for UA Ranger?

Our game 5e game includes a ranger using the Unearthed Arcana rules. The ranger has chosen Humanoids for their favored enemy, and we are trying to determine if a Forest Golem (or any other Golem) ...
bluesneeze's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
776 views

Does Flame Stride activate when you are moved against your will?

The latest Unearthed Arcana includes a spell Flame Stride: The billowing flames of a dragon cover your feet, granting you explosive speed. For the duration, your speed increases by 20 feet and moving ...
Jon Aristotle's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
842 views

Does the 3rd benefit of the (UA) Fizban's Platinum Shield spell stack with Evasion, so that the character only takes 1/4 damage on a failed Dex save?

The new UA, Unearthed Arcana: Draconic Options, introduces a 6th-level spell called Fizban's platinum shield that can be cast on a creature within 60 feet of the caster, granting them a few benefits. ...
RallozarX's user avatar
  • 5,607
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Can the Hexblood's token be used for rudimentary two-way communication?

In the recent Gothic Lineage UA, the Hexblood race was introduced. One of their abilities is Magic Token: Magic Token. As an action, you can harmlessly pull out one of your nails, a tooth, or a lock ...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,081
15 votes
2 answers
4k views

Dhampir bite attack, does it add both STR and CON?

The Vampiric Bite, from the Dhampir lineage race in the January 2021 Unearthed Arcana, says as follows (emphasis mine): Vampiric Bite "Your fanged bite is a natural weapon, which counts as a ...
Mr_Bober's user avatar
  • 700
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does a UA Dhampir Cleric Turn Itself? What does that look like?

Dhampir have two types tags in the new Unearth Arcana, they are both humanoid and undead. There is even a nice rules reminder in D&D Beyond that points out: If an effect works on at least one of ...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
4k views

Are the ranger subclasses from Xanathar's Guide to Everything compatible with the UA revised ranger?

My games use the UA revised ranger (from Unearthed Arcana: The Ranger, Revised) instead of the PHB version of the class. The question did not previously come to mind, because until now my players ...
Anagkai's user avatar
  • 16.6k
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the envoy warforged's Ability Score Increase trait give you a +1 to Con and +1 to two other ability scores? Or just +1 to two ability scores?

Does the envoy warforged (from UA: Eberron Races) get a +1 to Con and +1 to two other ability scores (e.g. Dex and Wis)? Or only +1 to two ability scores total (e.g. Dex and Wis, or Dex and Con)?
Kappastorm's user avatar
6 votes
3 answers
3k views

Does the UA Barbarian Path of the Beast Claw Add the Strength Modifier to Damage?

I was looking through the options for the 3rd level Path of Beast feature, Form of the Beast, and I noticed no mention for any damage modifiers on hit. Claws. Your hands transform into claws, which ...
John Carroll's user avatar
  • 1,539
8 votes
2 answers
283 views

Would allowing all Unearthed Arcana create rules problems? [closed]

I’m thinking of running a campaign where the players don’t have books and I wanted to recommend that they use the SRD until then, but also use any Unearthed Arcana material from Wizards’ site if they ...
LtEntropy's user avatar
  • 333
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does the bonus-action shove from the (UA) Telekinetic feat move the target through the air, or only on the ground? [duplicate]

Imagine a party of PCs exploring a dungeon inside a volcano. After a climactic confrontation with the Big Bad, the volcano begins to erupt, and the PCs must flee for their lives. Unfortunately, one of ...
screamline's user avatar
  • 9,050
5 votes
1 answer
308 views

Psionic Sorcerer: Psychic Strike with ongoing spells

https://media.wizards.com/2020/dnd/downloads/UA2020_PsionicOptions.pdf Psychic Strike 6th-level Psionic Soul feature You have learned to channel additional psychic energy into your spells. ...
EagerToLearn's user avatar
  • 1,137
7 votes
3 answers
7k views

Can you wield a Greataxe and Claws with the UA Barbarian Path of the Beast?

The UA Barbarian Path of the Beast has the following option when you rage: Claws. Your hands transform into claws, which deal 1d6 slashing damage on a hit. When you take the Attack action on your ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
284 views

Revised ranger Primeval Awareness and the ethereal plane

If a UA Revised ranger uses Primeval Awareness (pg. 4), are they able to detect enemies in the ethereal plane?
Andrew McLeish's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
809 views

For a UA Revived rogue, when using Cunning Action to Dash, is there a minimum amount of movement needed to trigger Bolts from the Grave?

I am playing a Rogue with The Revived archetype from Unearthed Arcana (UA): Fighter, Ranger, and Rogue. One of the Revived rogue's 3rd-level features is Bolts from the Grave, which procs (triggers) ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,670
2 votes
1 answer
412 views

Can a UA Unity Domain cleric use Channel Divinity: Shared Burden as a reaction when the cleric takes damage?

I’m currently working on a Unity Domain cleric build, and I believe the wording of the ability Shared Burden is intended to be different than the RAW wording. The description of the Unity Domain ...
BloodySprinkles's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
395 views

Do the feature enhancements/replacements from UA: Class Feature Variants only apply once you've reached the corresponding level in that class?

Most of the options in the Unearthed Arcana - Class Feature Variants begin with: A [classname] has access to the following feature(s). And then follow a general trend of referencing class names, ...
kent's user avatar
  • 2,358
2 votes
1 answer
174 views

Under the UA version of Class Feature Variants can a non-wizard use the Ritual Caster feat to copy Divination after picking the wizard's spell list?

At question are the following lines in the Class Feature Variants UA A wizard has access to the following feature. 1st-level wizard feature (enhances Spellcasting) The following spells expand the ...
kent's user avatar
  • 2,358
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

When The Undead warlock (UA) uses their Spirit Projection ability, do their spirit and body share a single pool of hitpoints?

The Undead warlock patron can be found here at DnDBeyond or here direct from Wizards of the Coast. The subclass is freely available playtest content, so I will reproduce the feature here: Spirit ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
54 views

Question about the claws of the Path of the Beast UA [duplicate]

So my question is about the UA subclass for Barbarian, The Path of the Beast. The question is when I choose the claws option, both of my hands become natural weapons (Cause ya know, claws). So in this ...
Saarthak Vinayak's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
636 views

How many Disciplines does a Mystic get?

At level 1, An Awakened Mystic gets 1 Discipline (any order) and 2 Bonus Disciplines (Awakened only) at level 8 with a total of 4 disciplines known (per the advancement chart) I should have a total of ...
IT Alex's user avatar
  • 976
7 votes
2 answers
3k views

Is a soul or spirit a creature?

The new Unearthed Arcana gives a new option for warlock's patron: The Undead. One of its class feature is Spirit Projection: Your body is now simply a vessel for your spirit. As an action, you can ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.7k
3 votes
1 answer
563 views

How do spell components work in regards to the UA Psionic Soul Sorcerer's Psychic Sorcery ability?

The UA Psionic Soul Sorcerer has the following Psionic Talent option: Psychic Sorcery. When you cast a spell, you can use your mind to form it, rather than relying on words, gestures, and materials. ...
Smart_TJ's user avatar
  • 6,502
14 votes
2 answers
1k views

How do Bolts From the Grave and a Rakshasa's Limited Magical Immunity interact?

We recently included an UA Revived Rogue subclass in the group and the players had to face off against a Rakshasa. The question is, Bolt From the Grave says it's a Ranged Spell Attack, but doesn't ...
ConfusedDM's user avatar
20 votes
5 answers
6k views

How can I consistently deal bludgeoning damage with DEX, WIS, INT, CHA?

Inspired by the newly introduced UA I am considering an build where my character randomly gets into a "precision-flow". So I aim for critical chance, high number of attacks and advantage. ...
maxmilgram's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does Tandem Tactician allow helping two specific allies?

The recently released UA includes the feat Tandem Tactition which reads: Your presence in a scrap tends to elevate your comrades. You gain the following benefits: You can use the Help action as a ...
user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can you combine Polearm Master, Tunnel Fighter, and Warcaster (with Repelling Blast)?

We have a player who is playing a Fighter with a level of Warlock, wielding a polearm, and they say they should be able to get the initial opportunity attack from Polearm Master when a foe enters ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,423
1 vote
2 answers
5k views

Armorer Artificer Off-Hand with Power Armor?

OK, so the armorer artificer (UA) specialization states: Lightning Launcher. A gemlike node appears on one of your armored fists or on the chest (your choice). It counts as a simple ranged weapon, ...
Mike Murphy's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does the Rune Knight choose the new target for Cloud Rune or does the original target choose the new target?

Quoting from the Rune Knight's Skye (Cloud Rune) In addition, when you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is hit by an attack roll, you can use your reaction to invoke the rune and cause ...
MrOutside's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Cunning Action: Aim affect a Scout Rogue's skirmisher ability?

I wanted to make sure my assumptions were correct that the Cunning Action: Aim would not affect a Scout Rogue's Skirmisher ability. As I understand, according to the Class Feature Variants UA You can ...
gareth the elf's user avatar
6 votes
4 answers
10k views

Is the "Way of the Astral Self" Monk's extra punch useless?

Martial arts for monks states that when you take the attack action you can make 1 unarmed strike as a bonus action. However UA 2019 Astral monks at third level says the same thing: “you can make 1 ...
Dynobomb's user avatar
  • 1,228
11 votes
3 answers
7k views

Can a Circle of the Stars druid fire an arrow from its star form and cast a spell of 1st level or higher during the same turn?

The druid subclass Circle of the Stars from Unearthed Arcana: Subclasses, Part 3 has the 2nd-level feature Starry Form, part of the description of which states: You gain a bonus action that you can ...
Soulstreak's user avatar

1
2 3 4 5
8