Questions tagged [unearthed-arcana]

For questions about Unearthed Arcana, Wizards of the Coast's column featuring draft-form, unfinalized new content published for playtesting for D&D 5e.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
626 views

Do the temporary hit points I get each turn from the UA Order of the Immortal Mystic's Psionic Resilience feature stack?

Right now I am playing a Mystic (UA), and I have chosen the Order of the Immortal as my discipline. The Psionic Resilience subclass feature gives me temporary hit points equal to my Int mod at the ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the new Sidekicks system from UA be applied to creatures you create?

In Unearthed Arcana: Sidekicks, the prerequisites for a sidekick template to be applied to a creature are: Its challenge rating must be 1 or lower. The two of you must be friends. If you ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

What are the differences between the Sidekicks from UA and the Sidekicks published in the Essentials Kit?

The Sidekicks material was published in the Unearthed Arcana column in December 2018, as playtest content. The Essentials Kit, released as a Target exclusive in June 2019 and everywhere in September ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Would there be any major balance implications for swapping the Soulknife rogue's daggers to deal fire damage as opposed to psychic?

I have a specific character concept in mind but for it to work I would need to change the UA Psionic Rogue's Psychic Daggers into Fire Daggers. I plan to ask my DM about it but before I do I want to ...
1
vote
1answer
70 views

Can UA Lore Mastery's Spell Secrets feature change the damage type of a spell that does not deal damage immediately?

For UA Lore Mastery, Spell Secrets states the following: At 2nd level, when you cast a spell with a spell slot and the spell deals acid, cold, fire, force, lightning, necrotic, radiant, or thunder ...
14
votes
1answer
370 views

What is the history of the Artificer class for 5e?

The artificer class has been published in several different articles that aren't well connected and have several confusing differences between them. It's really confusing when others talk about ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

When does a UA Sea Sorcerer choose to use the Curse of the Sea feature's additional effect?

The Sea Sorcerer's Curse of the Sea feature states, in part: Once per turn when you cast a spell, you can trigger the curse if that spell deals cold or lightning damage to the cursed target or ...
1
vote
1answer
102 views

How does Collector's Vessel from Unearthed Arcana interact with Ranged: Self spells?

Collector's Vessel, the Noble Genie Warlock Patron's first level ability from Unearthed Arcana, can let a warlock link themselves with another creature, enabling them to cast spells from the bound ...
11
votes
2answers
504 views

Can the Circle of the Stars druid use their Starry Form feature in conjunction with their Wild Shape form?

The druid got a new subclass option, the Circle of the Stars, as part of Unearthed Arcana: Subclasses, Part 3. One of its 2nd-level features is Starry Form, part of which says: You gain the ability ...
9
votes
2answers
424 views

Can the Fey Wanderer Ranger be targeted by a creature affected by its Misty Presence?

Wizards of the Coast recently (in February 2020) released a new set of subclasses for playtesting in Unearthed Arcana: Subclasses, Part 3. Described in this document is the Fey Wanderer ranger's 15th-...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Unearthed Arcana ever get Reburied?

Each Unearthed Arcana is associated with a feedback questionnaire to the WoTC team. There have been times where new iterations have been released, presumably based on that feedback (like the Mystic.) ...
33
votes
3answers
4k views

Why is the PHB Ranger considered underpowered?

It seems that both the community and Wizards of the Coast are largely in agreement that the PHB Ranger class is underpowered compared to the other classes. What exactly makes it underpowered compared ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Gunsmith artificer put more barrels on his Thunder Cannon and use them in the same turn?

I am playing an Artificer with the Gunsmith specialization. I am curious if I can add more barrels to my Thunder Cannon, and use them at once with the Thunder Monger class feature, which states the ...
8
votes
1answer
184 views

Would allowing Artificers to swap a cantrip on a long rest be unbalanced?

Context: I am implementing the Class Feature Variants Unearthed Arcana, which does not include Artificer, for a party with several spellcasters and one Artificer. This UA allows every "known" caster ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can the Revised Ranger's Beast Companion be an independent mount?

The mounted combat rules say that you can either control a mount, making it move on your turn — but its action can only be Dash, Disengage, or Dodge — or have it be independent, meaning it ...
7
votes
1answer
270 views

How to increase monk's chance to land a Stunning Strike?

My monk is a multi-class character (Monk 9/Paladin 8) in a homebrew 5e campaign and clearly does not have too many ki points as level 17 character. I also find it inconsiderate and boring when burning ...
11
votes
1answer
541 views

Is the UA Revived rogue's Bolts from the Grave ranged spell attack made at disadvantage if used after Cunning Action is used to Disengage?

In D&D 5e, if a Rogue playing the Unearthed Arcana The Revived subclass does a melee attack (without using sneak attack), and then uses Cunning Action to Disengage and get away to trigger Bolts ...
5
votes
1answer
294 views

What happens if a creature eats food created by a College of Creation bard?

If a College of Creation bard uses their Performance of Creation to summon rations, and then eats the rations, will they still be hungry at the end of their next turn? What if they maintain the ...
9
votes
4answers
4k views

How many hit points does the UA Battle Smith Artificer's Iron Defender have?

The Iron Defender's stat block for the Battle Smith Artificer (from Unearthed Arcana: The Artificer Returns), under "hit points" says the following: equal to five times your level in this class + ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does changing your reach provoke opportunity attacks?

If a Mystic focusing on Giant Growth changes their reach, does it provoke opportunity attacks? Relevant rules PHB p195 You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can ...
4
votes
1answer
145 views

Is there a general consensus about not combining Unearthed Arcana (UA) materials with multi-classing?

I have come across posts where contributors (in the comments) state that you cannot use a particular feature from Unearthed Arcana (UA) because the player had already chosen to multi-class. Where ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally requires attunement?

I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice. Using the ...
4
votes
1answer
96 views

How does level advancement in the Beast Master Ranger effect the stats of a UA Class Feature Variant, Ranger Companion Option; Beast of the Air/Earth?

It is unclear to me how to reconcile the UA enhanced Class Feature Variant; Ranger Companion Option with the Beast Master Ranger’s Companion feature rules (PHB p.93). Specifically, in the case of a ...
5
votes
1answer
139 views

Do all creatures moved by Fiery Teleportation have to move in the same direction?

The UA Wildfire druid's wildfire spirit has an ability called Fiery Teleportation with the following description: Fiery Teleportation (Recharges after a Short or Long Rest). The spirit and each ...
6
votes
3answers
451 views

Can a centaur move stealthily while someone rides on him?

Can a centaur (from Unearthed Arcana: Centaurs and Minotaurs) with a rider use Stealth/move stealthily?
1
vote
1answer
143 views

UA Psionic Wizard Subclass: Thought Form interactions

UA Psionic Wizards get a special ability called Thought Form where they become beings of pure psionic energy. While you are carrying your psionic focus, you can use a bonus action to magically ...
2
votes
2answers
76 views

Does UA Psionic Wizard's Though Form let you ignore non-consumed material components with a cost?

UA Psionic Wizards get a special ability called Thought Form where they become beings of pure energy. Part of that ability is Psionic Spellcasting. Thought Form Psionic Spellcasting. When ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Shadow Blade and UA Psionic Wizard

From new Psionic Wizard subclass: Psionic Focus 2nd-level Psionics feature When you roll psychic or force damage for any of your wizard spells, you can reroll any of those damage ...
4
votes
1answer
368 views

How does the UA Variant Class Feature “Cunning Action: Aim” affect flying?

Cunning Action: Aim contains the following: You can use this bonus action only if you haven't moved during this turn, and after you use the bonus action, your speed is 0 until the end of the ...
10
votes
1answer
354 views

When substituting one ability for another on a skill check which kind of check does it qualify as?

The Unearthed Arcana Monk tradition Way of the Astral Self has the following ability (page 2 of the PDF): Arms of the Astral Self You can use your Wisdom modifier in place of your Strength ...
2
votes
2answers
196 views

Calculating HP for UA beast master animal companion

I am a very new DM in DnD 5e, and one of my players is a ranger. As I was browsing through posts here and there we decided to use the UA, as everyone is saying the RAW ranger is lackluster. She ...
8
votes
3answers
3k views

Can the cantrips gained from the Dragonmark feat be cast multiple times?

The Dragonmark Feat from Unearthed Arcana: Eberron says: You gain the ability to innately cast spells and cantrips, as summarized in the Dragonmark Benefits table, using the spellcasting ...
11
votes
1answer
7k views

In the Unearthed Arcana ranger, can “humanoid” (in general) be your Favored Enemy?

Just some clarification: when choosing a favoured enemy (using the Unearthed Arcana rules), can a ranger choose "Humanoid" in general, so use the bonus for all humanoids? I have read it this way (...
6
votes
2answers
6k views

Does the Warforged Envoy's Integrated Tool feature give you a free tool?

The Envoy subrace of Warforged (from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, p. 69 - the version quoted here is as it appears in UA: Eberron Races) gives you the Integrated Tool feature, which states: Choose ...
3
votes
1answer
274 views

What happened to levels 11-20 in the mystic class?

I am referring to the mystic class presented in Unearthed Arcana. As far as I know it's not a prestige class like the rune scribe.
17
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Dispel Magic destroy Artificer Turrets?

I'm playing a 10th-level artillerist artificer for a one-shot my friend is running, and while playtesting some with another friend (so I could actually learn my character sheet), she cast Dispel Magic ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Is the eladrin missing racial features?

According to "Unearthed Arcana: Eladrin & Gith", the playable race eladrin doesn't have the racial features Trance and Fey Ancestry like elves do. I can understand this choice from a game balance ...
2
votes
1answer
111 views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when both the user and ally are still within the grappler's range?

This question is based on this one: What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach? The Unearthed ...
7
votes
3answers
409 views

How does the UA Brute's Brutish Durability feature work with natural 1's?

So, the UA Fighter subclass Brute has an ability that lets him add a d6 to any saving throw, and if the total adds to 20, it counts as a natural 20. If this happens on a Death saving throw, it means ...
-1
votes
2answers
649 views

Is this homebrew Armorer Artificer subclass balanced compared to the 2019 UA Artificer subclasses?

Here is my homebrew subclass for the 2019 UA Artificer class: Armorer Tools of the Trade By the time you adopt this specialty at 3rd level, you’re deeply familiar with employing its ...
8
votes
2answers
619 views

When does a Chain Familiar’s attack occur using the new UA Eldritch Invocation: Chain Master's Fury?

When using the new UA Eldritch Invocation, Chain Master's Fury (from the UA Class Feature Variants, p. 10): Chain Master's Fury Prerequisite: 9th level, Pact of the Chain feature As a ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Green Lord's Gift effectively make all heal spells roll max on the Warlock?

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard includes the eldritch invocation Green Lord's Gift for warlocks, which reads: Green Lord’s Gift Prerequisite: The Archfey patron The Green Lord ...
11
votes
1answer
807 views

Are UA Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?

The Polymorph spell says: This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. The spell has no ...
4
votes
2answers
121 views

Does the UA Lore Mastery wizard's Master of Magic feature create a prepared spell?

According to the wording of the UA Lore Mastery wizard's capstone, it says: At 14th level, your knowledge of magic allows you to duplicate almost any spell. As a bonus action, you can call to mind ...
5
votes
3answers
160 views

Can a mystic sense nearby creatures using telepathy?

This question was raised by one of my players who is playing a third version mystic from unearthed arcana (released on 13/03/2017). To provide a couple of example scenarios: He has tried to use ...
5
votes
1answer
912 views

Is this homebrew archetype for Artificer balanced? [closed]

Here's the homebrew Artificer archetype I have created. It is a subclass for the artificer class from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer. (Note: The link contains the most recent iteration. The archetype ...
4
votes
1answer
213 views

Can a UA Rune Knight inscribe a rune on an improvised weapon?

The Rune Knight fighter subclass from this UA has a class feature allowing them to inscribe runes on objects. However, To be eligible, an object must be a weapon, a suit of armor, or a shield. ...
17
votes
3answers
40k views

What is the current status of the UA Revised Ranger?

14 months ago, an Unearthed Arcana supplement was published that discussed how the ranger described in the Player's Handbook was under powered. These rules reimagined the ranger's abilities, and ...
8
votes
1answer
250 views

Do WoTC release any of their results/feedback regarding gameplay design?

So, the Artificer class has finally been released, and I found it curious that the Archivist from the UA Artificer (revised) had been cut. Obviously play test content is always subject to change, but ...
5
votes
2answers
283 views

How does the UA Lore Mastery Wizard's Alchemical Casting feature interact with the Spell Sniper feat and the Sorcerer's Distant Spell Metamagic?

This question comes from recent discussion in the question "What is the maximum distance you can cause damage from?" The Unearthed Arcana Lore Mastery Wizard gets the Alchemical Casting feature which ...

1
2 3 4 5
7