Questions tagged [unearthed-arcana]

For questions about Unearthed Arcana, Wizards of the Coast's column featuring draft-form, unfinalized new content published for playtesting for D&D 5e.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
47
votes
2answers
11k views

Does the UA Centaur stack actually work?

In the the recent Unearthed Arcana they released Centaurs as a playable race. These creatures have an ability that says Finally, a Medium or smaller creature can ride on your equine back if you ...
44
votes
3answers
10k views

Sentinel Raven uses too much awesome magic

The Raven Queen Warlock in my group got a Sentinel Raven, as per the Lvl1 Class Feature. This raven is now attuned to a magic ring and wields a magic wand. The wand is not that big of a problem, but ...
33
votes
3answers
4k views

Why is the PHB Ranger considered underpowered?

It seems that both the community and Wizards of the Coast are largely in agreement that the PHB Ranger class is underpowered compared to the other classes. What exactly makes it underpowered compared ...
32
votes
5answers
4k views

Does Phoenix Spark overcome Disintegrate?

The Phoenix sorcerer (from Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer) gains the Phoenix Spark feature at 6th level, part of which states: If you are reduced to 0 hit points, you can use your reaction to draw on ...
30
votes
3answers
62k views

What are the biggest changes between UA Ranger and PHB Ranger?

As a new player to D&D, I don't really know what significant changes have been made to the Ranger through Unearthed Arcana. What makes the class different from the PHB version and how does this ...
29
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a UA Warforged Envoy pick a land vehicle as his integrated tool?

I am aware that a Warforged Envoy picking anything but the tools in the PHB on page 154 is probably against RAI and would be an awkward implementation. But is it RAW? The Warforged Envoy's Integrated ...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Unearthed Arcana ever get Reburied?

Each Unearthed Arcana is associated with a feedback questionnaire to the WoTC team. There have been times where new iterations have been released, presumably based on that feedback (like the Mystic.) ...
26
votes
1answer
7k views

What are the consequences for a Warforged that does not spend 6 hours in its inactive state?

In the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron (p. 68-69 - the version quoted here is as it appears in UA: Eberron Races), a Warforged has the two following traits: Sentry's Rest. When you take a long rest, ...
26
votes
3answers
4k views

Is “Unearthed Arcana: Players Make All Rolls” Correct?

In this Unearthed Arcana, they give rules so that players can make all the rolls, rather than the DM sometimes rolling for enemies. In one section, there are specifically rules for converting saving ...
25
votes
6answers
4k views

What happens to a net with the Returning Weapon artificer infusion after it hits?

The 2019 UA artificer can infuse any simple or martial weapon that has the thrown weapon property with the Returning Weapon infusion. The net is a martial ranged weapon with the thrown property. A ...
25
votes
1answer
3k views

Which centaur is more 'official'?

I've got a player in my campaign and she's an equestrian, so naturally she likes centaur characters! She wished to use the centaur character race from Unearthed Arcana (UA), but I realize that there ...
22
votes
6answers
8k views

How creative should the DM let an artificer be in terms of what they can build?

Just how creative should the DM let the Artificer be? One of my players is a guy who thinks way too hard on how to solve problems he's not meant to 'Solve' as a player. For example, I have a little ...
20
votes
4answers
5k views

What do a minotaur's rations consist of, and can a dragonborn eat them?

I'm playing a game of 5e, and our dragonborn lost all of his rations from a magical key. He was given rations by our minotaur. What do those rations consist of? Would the dragonborn face any issues ...
19
votes
2answers
4k views

Does a Hand Crossbow with the Repeating Shot Infusion still require a Free Hand to use?

Normally speaking, a Hand Crossbow has the Ammunition and Loading properties. Respectively, these properties mean that A free hand is required to use the crossbow and load it with its ammunition, ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the UA Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation be used by a warlock to heal and wake up an ally at 0 HP?

Can the Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) heal a dying or stabilized ally at 0 HP, thereby waking them up early? As unreliable as ...
17
votes
3answers
4k views

Is there a way for a Rock Gnome Artificer to have double proficiency with Tinker's Tools?

Background I want to make a Rock Gnome Artificer (from Unearthed Arcana) but there is something I'm not happy about with the character I'm planning. Rock Gnomes (PHB, p. 37) get proficiency with ...
17
votes
3answers
40k views

What is the current status of the UA Revised Ranger?

14 months ago, an Unearthed Arcana supplement was published that discussed how the ranger described in the Player's Handbook was under powered. These rules reimagined the ranger's abilities, and ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Dispel Magic destroy Artificer Turrets?

I'm playing a 10th-level artillerist artificer for a one-shot my friend is running, and while playtesting some with another friend (so I could actually learn my character sheet), she cast Dispel Magic ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Is it possible to counterspell the revised Artificer?

February 2019's Unearthed Arcana gave us a revisited version of the Artificer class, a magic user whose magic is stored and accessed through items instead of invocations or eldritch power. In the ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

How powerful is the February 2019 UA Artificer?

Specifically, the 1st version of the UA playtest version of the full class, released start of this year: https://media.wizards.com/2019/dnd/downloads/UA-Artificer-2019.pdf One of my new players has ...
16
votes
2answers
17k views

What is a phoenix in D&D 5e?

In the Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer, the sorcerous origin "Phoenix Sorcery" is introduced. I didn't find an entry for the phoenix in the Monster Manual or Volo's Guide; I heard there is a mention of ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

How many spell slots can you spend at once on the Moonbow Invocation?

So I've been playing D&D 5th edition with a few guys and I'm going to roll a new character, which they are all in favor of. I've taken a liking to an archer, but more specifically an archer with ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Is Ego Whip a charm-based attack?

In the recent Unearthed Arcana about Psionic powers, one of the abilities is Ego Whip (3 psi) - As an action, choose one creature you can see within 60 feet. The target must make an INT saving ...
15
votes
5answers
31k views

Are Warforged PCs affected by healing differently than other PCs?

I have a player who just created a warforged barbarian. The 2015 Unearthed Arcana on Eberron brought warforged and artificers but didn't mention how they are healed. Is he stuck with half healing from ...
15
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you voluntarily end concentration on part of a spell?

Unearthed Arcana: That Old Black Magic provides Conjure Lesser Demon which allows up to eight demons to be summoned. They disappear when reduced to zero hit points or the spell ends. It is implied ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a 14th level Theurgy Wizard with the Arcana Domain cast their 8th/9th level spells after picking up three levels in another Full Caster class?

The Theurgy Wizard from UA: Wizard Revisited gets to choose a Cleric Domain at 2nd level. At 14th level they get the Arcane High Priest feature, which grants them the 17th-level benefits associated ...
15
votes
2answers
10k views

How well do the 2017 UA Mass Combat rules work?

My players (level 12-13), through a series of... decisions, have ended up in a situation where they and perhaps a few hundred to a thousand allies will be facing off against a garrison of several ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Medic feature negate the +CON modifier healing when resting?

Somewhat related question here. Medic feature: During a short rest, you can clean and bind the wounds of up to six willing beasts and humanoids. Make a DC 15 Wisdom (Medicine) check for each ...
14
votes
2answers
14k views

Does Warlock Invocation Kiss of Mephistopheles require you to know the Fireball spell?

The latest Unearthed Arcana shows the following addition: Kiss of Mephistopheles Prerequisite: 5th level, the Fiend Patron, Eldritch Blast cantrip You can channel the fires of ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Sentinel Raven and the incapacitated condition (Is the warlock's raven clingy ?)

As a warlock you can take the Raven Queen as your patron. The Sentinel Raven you get can do a lot of things but what caught my attention is the following : While perched on your shoulder, the raven ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

In the UA Ranger, does the pet gain Ability Score Improvements if I take a feat?

One of my players is using the new UA Beast Conclave ranger, and we are approaching level 16, where he gains an Ability Score Improvement. He is considering taking a feat instead of improving a score. ...
14
votes
1answer
373 views

What is the history of the Artificer class for 5e?

The artificer class has been published in several different articles that aren't well connected and have several confusing differences between them. It's really confusing when others talk about ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Do all 2019 UA Artificer spells have a de facto material component?

The 2019 UA Artificer's Spellcasting feature contains this sentence: You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

In a possible Guided Strike vs. a possible Shield spell, who has to declare first?

The Unearthed Arcana Paladin class ability "Channel Divinity: Guided Strike" says: Guided Strike. You can use your Channel Divinity to strike with supernatural accuracy. When you make an attack ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when the UA Ranger fails a Wisdom (Survival) check to follow tracks?

Natural Explorer states that: Your group can’t become lost except by magical means. If the ranger can't get lost, what happens if she fails her Wisdom (Survival) check to follow tracks?
13
votes
1answer
5k views

Which version of the Squat Nimbleness feat is correct?

I recently discovered Squat Nimbleness and thought that it would be a great feat, as I am playing a goblin. I ran into some problems, however. I noticed in the Unearthed Arcana official PDF for ...
13
votes
1answer
5k views

When merged with the Raven (using Soul of the Raven), is the Warlock immune to damage?

A Warlock with the Raven Queen patron can use the 6th level Soul of the Raven pact ability to merge with the Sentinel Raven, as written: As a Bonus action when your raven is perched on your ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you Awaken a Raven Queen-patron warlock's sentinel raven?

So I'm going through the Raven Queen-patron warlock features (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard), and it mentions that you get a spirit that uses all the raven's game statistics. Ravens have ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

Why does the artificer's Healing Draught require two actions to take effect?

As written, the Artificer's Healing Draught requires a total of two actions to take effect: Healing Draught. As an action, you can reach into your Alchemist’s Satchel and pull out a vial of healing ...
13
votes
4answers
507 views

How to limit the power of the Mystic's Phasing Eye ability

A player in my campaign is playing a Unearthed Arcana V3 mystic and has been making use of the Phasing Eye ability. I've been trying to figure out how to curb its use a bit. The majority of the time ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Has there been a Kraken patron for the Warlock class in Unearthed Arcana?

Recently, this Unearthed Arcana article was released, which includes a new archetype for the Warlock class: the Lurker in the Deep patron. It's pretty obviously geared towards having a Kraken as a ...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

How far does a Lore Wizard/Tempest Cleric's lightning-damage Magic Missiles push the target back?

Per the Tempest cleric's Thunderbolt Strike ability (PHB, page 62), lightning damage can push some targets back: At 6th level, when you deal lightning damage to a Large or smaller creature, you ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

If I'm proficient in Investigation, and take the Investigator feat and the Prodigy feat, do I have triple proficiency?

I have a Half Orc who is proficient in Investigation so I was wondering, can I take the Investigator feat and also the Prodigy feat to gain triple proficiency on Investigation checks? If I become ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Would there be any major balance implications for swapping the Soulknife rogue's daggers to deal fire damage as opposed to psychic?

I have a specific character concept in mind but for it to work I would need to change the UA Psionic Rogue's Psychic Daggers into Fire Daggers. I plan to ask my DM about it but before I do I want to ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Green Lord's Gift effectively make all heal spells roll max on the Warlock?

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard includes the eldritch invocation Green Lord's Gift for warlocks, which reads: Green Lord’s Gift Prerequisite: The Archfey patron The Green Lord ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Does the Infestation cantrip cause the target to provoke opportunity attacks?

Infestation is one of the new cantrips from Unearthed Arcana: Starter Spells. Here is the relevant text The target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 1d6 piercing damage. If ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the movement of There and Back Again consume your movement for the turn?

The mystic from Unearthed Arcana can get an ability called there and back again that states There and Back Again (2 psi): As a bonus action, you teleport up to 20 feet to an unoccupied space you ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally requires attunement?

I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice. Using the ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Would the Unearthed Arcana Revived Rogue subclass have its hit point maximum reduced in Tomb of Annihilation?

I've been playing Tomb of Annihilation lately and asked my DM for his thoughts on using Unearthed Arcana material. He said he was cool with it which got me thinking. I've been interested in trying out ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

Is the UA Warforged considered to naturally be wearing armor?

I know Warforged are Unearthed Arcana races, and considered in play testing and/or incomplete, but based off of the information available to Warforged, would you consider a Warforged to be wearing ...

1
2 3 4 5
7