Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [warlock]

This tag is for questions pertaining to the D&D warlock class, in editions where it exists.

-1
votes
0answers
22 views

If a Hexblade is using a sentient weapon, can they stack the weapons charisma stat with their own for attack and damage rolls? [on hold]

So I've been working on a Half-Elf Hexblade for a bit now and decided he should have a moonblade, which is a sentient elven longsword. Sentient weapons can't be pact weapons, but you can still choose ...
0
votes
0answers
72 views

Is this Magister homebrew warlock patron balanced?

In D&D 5e's Warlock flavor, it would make sense that incredibly powerful (i.e. > level 20) spellcasters could become the patrons. So, in preparation for a new campaign (with my DM's permission), I ...
-6
votes
1answer
104 views

Where was the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation officially published?

As title says, where was the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation published? Is it from an official 5e book? I'm trying to make a Pact of the Blade Hexblade warlock with Thirsting Blade. My DM isn't ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there any way to adjust the damage type of the Eldritch Blast cantrip so that it does fire damage?

I'm looking to build a Roy Mustang (from FMA) style character, whose primary method attack is a fiery explosion. While there are many Fire-based spells and cantrips I can use, I'm focused on the ...
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Can you use TWF with Eldritch Glaive?

Just like the title says. The warlock invocation eldritch glaive lets the warlock attack with the glaive effect "as if wielding a reach weapon." Is this sufficient to let a warlock use two-weapon ...
3
votes
2answers
179 views

After playtesting: Is this homebrew Planescape-inspired Lady of Pain warlock patron (v3) balanced?

A couple of weeks ago I made an attempt at a Planescape inspired subclass for the Warlock. Since then I have been able to incorporate feedback offered by the community as well as play test with the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

As a Bard multi-classing into Warlock, what spells do I get?

My character is a bard and I'm planning on taking a level in Warlock. Do I get the 2 cantrips and 2 spells from the Warlock spell list that a new Warlock character would get in addition to the Bard ...
2
votes
1answer
185 views

Does the damage from the Eldritch Smite invocation get a bonus from the Hexblade's Curse feature, the Hex spell, or Fighting Style: Dueling?

I'm making a Hexblade warlock with Polearm Master, and I'm thinking about getting a level of fighter for the Dueling Fighting Style. I have some questions about how these interact with the Eldritch ...
9
votes
1answer
264 views

Can my Warlock attack with their familiar and remain invisible?

I am playing a warlock. I will take the Pact of the Chain option at 3rd level to have the Find Familiar spell. If I cast invisibility on myself and then on my turn always take the Attack action to ...
3
votes
0answers
100 views

Alternatives to lichdom for a GOO warlock? [closed]

I play a Great Old One Warlock - his patron is a living demiplane of knowledge that manifests as an endless dark library with something always lurking just out of sight. He serves his patron by ...
8
votes
2answers
317 views

Does this extra sentence in the description of the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation appear in any official reference?

I signed up specifically to ask this question, because this website is one of the only places I have found this extra line of text in the warlock's "Eyes of the Rune Keeper" eldritch invocation from D&...
6
votes
1answer
329 views

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast invocation casts Eldritch Blast and hits, must the targets always be pushed back?

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast eldritch invocation casts eldritch blast and hits, must the targets always be pushed back? Or can you choose not to push back the target?
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a level 2 Warlock take one level in rogue, then continue advancing as a warlock?

I recently "upgraded" to D&D 5th edition. I decided to play a warlock. However, now I would like to be proficient in Stealth, and a warlock can not have this proficiency. I am Warlock level 2. Is ...
12
votes
1answer
540 views

What ability score does a Hexblade's Pact Weapon use for attack and damage when wielded by another character?

I read this question about other PCs using pact weapons and realized that I'm not sure if the weapon would use the warlock's Charisma, or the other character's Strength/Dexterity for attack and damage ...
5
votes
1answer
165 views

Is the Archfey warlock's Fey Presence feature a non-spell version of Charm Person that doesn't give you away?

The effects of the Archfey warlock's Fey Presence feature and those of the charm person spell seem very similar; they both can induce the charmed condition on targets who fail their saving throw. ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Pact of the Blade warlock feature allow me to customize the properties of the pact weapon I create?

I am making a Pact of the Blade warlock/Assassin rogue. I have the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, so I can make a longbow pact weapon while at range and a melee pact weapon when not. When ...
1
vote
1answer
215 views

Warlock homebrew Supernatural patron version 3! Is it balanced?

This is what I hope to be the last revision of my homebrew otherworldly patron, the Supernatural. (My previous two revisions can be found here: version 1, and version 2.) The Supernatural You ...
1
vote
1answer
168 views

Is this homebrew Supernatural warlock patron (v2) balanced?

A bit ago I asked if this Warlock patron was balanced. I was told to explain this patron a bit more, so here we go: The idea of this patron is that you have made a pact with some Lord of the Undead. ...
19
votes
3answers
2k views

Take 2! Is this homebrew Lady of Pain warlock patron balanced?

A little while ago I posted this homebrew Patron option here. I got some great feedback and have returned not only with an update but also with some homebrew Invocations that support the overall ...
-4
votes
1answer
298 views

Is this Supernatural warlock patron balanced?

The Supernatural You have struck a pact with a great supernatural being, a great lord over the chaotic Undead. Unnatural Aura At first level, creatures with an Intelligence score of 10 ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Is this homebrew Lady of Pain warlock patron balanced?

I designed a warlock patron called the Lady of Pain. Is this subclass balanced against the other official warlock subclasses? The Lady of Pain You have quietly made a Pact with the Lady of ...
11
votes
2answers
488 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Pact of the Blade - do you need to be attuned to bind a magic weapon? [duplicate]

Pact of the Blade says that You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. It doesn't specify the need for attunement. Though ...
13
votes
4answers
780 views

Can a Warlock become Neutral Good?

In my game group there is a player who plays a warlock-druid (1-1). He started as a warlock. He realized he was playing as an NG, but he took CN for the restrictions regarding the alignment of his ...
6
votes
1answer
751 views

If a warlock makes a Dancing Sword their pact weapon, is there a way to prevent it from disappearing if it's farther away for more than a minute?

I currently have a Pact of the Blade warlock, and recently came across a dancing sword (a rapier). I am considering making it my pact weapon, but there is still a minor inconvenience. While the ...
6
votes
1answer
295 views

How does Create Thrall, the Great Old One Warlock feature, work in Adventurers League play?

When a Great Old One Warlock uses the Create Thrall feature (PHB, p. 110) in Adventurers League play, does the Thrall work with you? Does it persist through sessions? Is there any guidance on how ...
10
votes
1answer
233 views

Can a Pact of the Chain Warlock in Gaseous Form have their familiar attack?

Pact of the Chain Warlocks can enable their familiars to make an attack instead of them when they take the Attack action (emphasis mine): You learn the Find Familiar spell and can cast it as a ...
1
vote
1answer
133 views

Should awakened mind be considered an action? [duplicate]

Should awakened mind be considered an action? I need to know because in combat I want to use it to talk to my team without alerting enemies to our presence.
1
vote
2answers
925 views

How does a character multiclassing into warlock get a focus?

I have a martial character I want to multi-class into warlock but from what I can see in the book, it looks like they would not receive an arcane focus since they don't get their new class' starting ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

Are Warlocks Arcane or Divine?

This question recently came up in one of my sessions. Are Warlocks considered Arcane or Divine? There is a magic item, Dark Shard Amulet that is for Warlocks and it requires an Arcana check to use. ...
10
votes
1answer
339 views

How does the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation interact with typos?

Would the Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation, along with other magic effects that enable you to read languages, allow misspelt/miswritten words to be understood?
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
14
votes
1answer
268 views

Would using a lower-leveled spell for the a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature impair balance?

I confess I find myself underwhelmed by the 8th level spells available for a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature, especially if you e.g. have one or more bards in the party (as I do). (Maddening ...
7
votes
2answers
881 views

Can a multiclassed 2019 UA artificer/Pact of the Blade warlock use Thirsting Blade and Arcane Armament to make 3 attacks per Attack action?

I was reading up on the classes in D&D 5e. I saw that the 2019 UA artificer had a feature that allowed them to attack twice that wasn't the Extra Attack feature, called Arcane Armament. The ...
1
vote
1answer
369 views

Can the Shadow Blade spell qualify as the Warlock's summoned Pact of the Blade weapon (& the Hex Warrior feature)?

The reason I bring up the question is there has been some interesting tweets by Jeremy Crawford that seems to possibly open the door for this interaction. Jeremy Crawford (Lead D&D Rules ...
6
votes
1answer
238 views

How do Hex Warrior, Pact of the Blade and Improved Pact Weapon Interact?

Ok so per this Are the hex warrior weapon and the pact of the blade weapon the same or different I know they are different. I just picked up improved pact blade and I need to know how they all fit ...
8
votes
1answer
203 views

Can an elf warlock trance?

Reading Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, I realized that the thing that makes elves trance and remember all the stuff they have experienced in the past is the fact that they all are still connected to ...
8
votes
1answer
334 views

Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar's Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?

I see that, for example: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it ...
13
votes
3answers
623 views

Does the Sleep spell put a warlock with Aspect of the Moon to sleep?

The phrasing of the invocation from XGtE pg. 56 is: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. (emphasis mine) To me this phrasing sounds like it is specifically ...
4
votes
2answers
219 views

Is there a way for a sprite familiar to gain the senses of a Warlock such as darkvision?

A third level High Elf Pact of the Chain Warlock with an Archfey patron casts the find familiar spell and then chooses a sprite form for the spirit to take. The Warlock commands the familiar to enter ...
4
votes
1answer
241 views

What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?

One of my Warlocks has taken an interesting turn... After casting a spell that required concentration, he used his Eldritch Master feature. Next turn, he cast Eldritch Blast. This series of turns ...
31
votes
3answers
1k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
4
votes
1answer
400 views

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain the additional benefits from Warlock subclasses?

A Blood Hunter can join a Blood Hunter Order at level 3. When a Blood Hunter joins the Order of the Profane Soul, they can make a Pact with the Undying and gain access to Pact Magic. Looking at the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Hexblade warlocks choose their spells from the Hexblade spell list or the warlock spell list?

Since a warlock hexblade is a subclass (i.e. a special kind of warlock) in D&D 5e, does he choose his spells from the Hexblade spell list? Or can he choose from either the warlock or hexblade ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you combine War Caster, whip, and Warlock Features to Eldritch Blast enemies with reach?

So, Whip is a one-handed martial weapon with reach. Reach is a feature that, among other things, lets you make opportunity attacks with that weapon out to 10 feet instead of just five. Equipment ...
5
votes
1answer
382 views

Can I use a mote from Crown of Stars to attack and also cast Eldritch Blast on the same turn?

The PHB delineates the circumstances under which 2 spells could be cast in a turn. My 15th-level Warlock knows Crown of Stars. The spell says it costs a bonus action to attack with a mote, which to ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if a warlock has both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar?

The Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The Grasp of Hadar ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock use an existing thrown pact magic weapon so it functions as a “Returning” weapon?

In Pathfinder, a thrown weapon could gain the Special Ability of Returning. The weapon could be thrown, then fly through the air back to the creature that threw it. Can a warlock with the "Pact of ...
3
votes
3answers
868 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
5
votes
2answers
925 views

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? [closed]

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? I'm just curious about how this works visually. If someone uses Strength, then you use all your force to hit your enemies. If ...