Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
401 views

What is the max damage I can do with a 20th-level greatsword-wielding melee Hexblade Warlock?

I'm looking for a highly-optimized endgame (20th level) melee build, abusing Elven Accuracy and Hexblade's Curse to deal as much damage in a single turn as possible. Criteria are as follows: Assume ...
2
votes
1answer
42 views

What happens when recasting Fiendish Vigor after losing temporary hit points?

A D&D 5e warlock takes the Fiendish Vigor invocation. Lets say the warlock gains 8 temp hp from Fiendish Vigor. Within the next hour takes 8 damage. Then the warlock uses Fiendish Vigor for 5 ...
4
votes
1answer
170 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

If a warlock makes a Dancing Sword their pact weapon, is there a way to prevent it from disappearing if it's farther away for more than a minute?

I currently have a Pact of the Blade warlock, and recently came across a dancing sword (a rapier). I am considering making it my pact weapon, but there is still a minor inconvenience. While the ...
22
votes
2answers
30k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...
3
votes
2answers
8k views

Is my paladin/warlock multiclass a viable tank?

I'll be playing a D&D 5e Warlock/Paladin character in the Curse of Strahd adventure. I'll start off by taking 2 levels of Paladin (variant human with War Caster) and then start taking levels in ...
18
votes
2answers
17k views

Just what are the differences between Spellcasting and Pact Magic?

Many classes incorporate the Spellcasting feature. One, Warlock, instead has the feature Pact Magic. What are the mechanical differences between the two, or is this just a distinction without a ...
8
votes
3answers
212 views

How do the Drunken Master monk's Drunkard's Luck feature and the Great Old One warlock's Entropic Ward feature interact?

The Way of the Drunken Master Monk gets the Drunkard's Luck feature, which states: When you make an ability check, an attack roll, or a saving throw and have disadvantage, you can spend 2 ki points ...
0
votes
0answers
65 views

Is Curse Bringer + Divine Smite + Wrathful Smite + Greenflame Blade RAW, RAI or Neither? [duplicate]

Warlock Hexblade (3), Paladin (x) Boon: Pact of the Blade Eldritch Invocations: Curse Bringer. Need minimum 5 lvls Turn 1.1 Hexblade curse (bonus action) Turn 2.1 (bonus action) Wrathful Smite ...
17
votes
4answers
12k views

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn't even take a bonus action, is there anything in ...
5
votes
2answers
271 views

If I am holding a shield and sword, do I need the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation to cast spells with a material component?

I am playing a Hexblade, who is holding a shield in one hand, and a sword in the other. Because I don't really want to use a bow, and like a lot of other invocations, I have decided not to take ...
10
votes
1answer
702 views

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature?

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature? This question has two parts related to the same spell and game mechanic. Scenario 1: The Three Warlocks walk into a tavern and spot their arch-...
9
votes
2answers
714 views

How do Eberron dragonmarks' Spells of the Mark interact with the Pact of the Tome warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets invocation?

I might be over-analyzing and confusing myself, but I'm not certain regarding the interaction between dragonmark-learned Ritual spells and the Book of Ancient Secrets warlock invocation. Let's take ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

How does War Caster interact with Hexblade?

I'm playing a Hexblade warlock with the War Caster feat. While holding my staff (an arcane focus) and a shield, can I cast spells without penalty? What if the spell has a consumable component?
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Can the Shadow Blade spell qualify as the Warlock's summoned Pact of the Blade weapon (& the Hex Warrior feature)?

The reason I bring up the question is there has been some interesting tweets by Jeremy Crawford that seems to possibly open the door for this interaction. Jeremy Crawford (Lead D&D Rules ...
0
votes
0answers
26 views

Can a Warlock use Mystic Arcanum to cast a spell using the At Higher Levels option a spell? [duplicate]

Can a Warlock use Mystic Arcanum to cast a spell using the At Higher Levels option a spell? I just wanted to check if this is possible or not. I realise that Mystic Arcanum allows me as a Warlock ...
21
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a weapon form of the Rod of Lordly Might be considered a pact weapon?

I've got a character in my campaign who was lucky enough to snag a Rod of Lordly Might. The snag is that she's a Hexblade Warlock, and she wants to use the Hex Warrior ability on the rod (basically ...
4
votes
1answer
125 views

Where can I find examples of tasks given by the warlock patron? [closed]

As a DM, I always have trouble about warlocks' patrons. I can never find any good tasks or services to ask of my players (and they can't find any either.) So I just go with "When I'll ask you ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Hurl through Hell affect a Tarrasque?

Hurl through Hell (HtH) is the level 14 Otherworldly Patron feature for a Fiend Warlock. The tarrasque is not resistant or immune to psychic damage, is not a fiend, and is capable of being teleported ...
16
votes
1answer
459 views

Does Improved Pact Weapon include ammo?

The Warlock Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" from Xanathar's Guide allows the warlock to summon a ranged weapon: Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a multiclassed 2019 UA artificer/Pact of the Blade warlock use Thirsting Blade and Arcane Armament to make 3 attacks per Attack action?

I was reading up on the classes in D&D 5e. I saw that the 2019 UA artificer had a feature that allowed them to attack twice that wasn't the Extra Attack feature, called Arcane Armament. The ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Eyes of the Rune Keeper allow a Warlock to cast other classes' spells from Scrolls?

The rules for Spell Scrolls state that: If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

What would a Warlock understand from written spells outside of their class, via Eyes of the Rune Keeper?

This related question asks if you could transcribe a ritual spell to the warlock book via the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation regardless of spell lists, and the answers were generally "yes, but you ...
1
vote
0answers
63 views

Can my cleric/warlock's deity and patron have opposing alignments? [duplicate]

In the campaign, I'm participating in, my character is a wizard/warlock with Vecna as his Patron, his ultimate goal being to achieve lichdom. In order to obtain more knowledge about magic in general ...
5
votes
1answer
268 views

When a Hexblade warlock uses the Accursed Specter feature on a slain creature but another character casts Soul Cage, which takes priority?

The Hexblade warlock's Accursed Specter feature does not have an action timing specified, and merely says (XGtE, p. 56; emphasis mine): When you slay a humanoid, you can cause its spirit to rise ...
2
votes
2answers
151 views

Is One with Shadows eldritch invocation possible after certain bonus/free actions?

I'm currently playing a Warlock/ Rogue multiclass character and I'm curious about the limitations of the One With Shadows invocation. One with Shadows Prerequisite: 5th level When you are ...
0
votes
1answer
152 views

Does a Hexblade Warlock's Hex Warrior feature allow them to use Thirsting Blade on a non-pact weapon?

My question is, Can I use Thirsting Blade with my non-Pact weapon? Example, I have a +3 Magic Longbow that I used the Pact of the Blade ritual to transform it into my Pact Weapon. (I can Only pull ...
53
votes
6answers
21k views

How can I persuade my DM to play my warlock's patron in a way that respects my character's concept?

I'm interested in playing a witch character in a D&D 5e game. The things I want to emphasize in playing a witch are the importance of family, in particular the bond of sisterhood, and that a ...
2
votes
1answer
68 views

What are the stats for an imp in ad&d 2nd edition ravenloft? [closed]

While searching for a familiar in Ravenloft in AD&D 2e I rolled a 19 and found an imp, but I can't find the stat block for it. Where can I find it and what is it?
18
votes
5answers
37k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
11
votes
4answers
7k views

What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PHB p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Should I have to roll to copy a spell into my Book of Ancient Secrets?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PH p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if ...
4
votes
1answer
306 views

How can I bring a lowly terrestrial invertebrate back to life 5 times per long rest with the least investment of levels?

I want to use the Chronicle of the Raven Queen eldritch invocation (from UA: Warlock & Wizard), but I don't want to leave all the cockroaches, silverfish, and hydrozoa I interrogate dead ...
4
votes
1answer
241 views

Is there a way to have access to Simulacrum as a Warlock?

Is it possible to get the simulacrum spell as a warlock character without multiclassing? I love playing as a warlock and I love simulacrum, so is there any way to do this?
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Do Hexblade warlocks with Pact of the Blade ignore the limits on the type of weapons summoned?

I play Hexblade warlocks a lot. I, of course, usually take Pact of the Blade to go with it. It says you can only summon melee weapons. Do Hexblades ignore this rule? Would I be able to summon a ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
12
votes
2answers
8k views

How many spell slots does a Warlock 19/Wizard 1 have?

I'm really confused by Multiclassing as a Warlock. Say I put 19 levels into Warlock and I have six spell slots. Simple enough. The tricky bit is when you think of ways to get more spell slots. The ...
12
votes
4answers
239 views

How does the shared damage from the Great Old One Warlock's Thought Shield feature interact with indirect sources of psychic damage?

While it can be easy to see how the Great Old One Warlock's Thought Shield feature interacts with spells that deal psychic damage or special attacks from psionic creatures, I'm not sure how to rule "...
10
votes
1answer
929 views

Is a Pact of the Blade Warlock proficient with all weapons of the same kind as their wielded pact weapon?

According to the Warlock class, the Pact of the Blade Pact Boon feature allows a Warlock to use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee ...
1
vote
1answer
159 views

Can I use Eldritch Smite and Divine Smite using only one spell slot?

Can I use 1 Spell slot from Warlock to use both Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite in the same attack? Or I must use 2 spells slots?
16
votes
1answer
339 views

Is this homebrew Druid-themed Warlock patron balanced?

I would like to play a "green witch"- or "hedge witch"-type character in an upcoming D&D 5e campaign, so my DM is letting me homebrew a Druid-themed Warlock patron (similar to how the official ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to the Warlock Spell Slots when he obtains new Spell Levels?

This isn't explained on the spellcasting section of the warlock. On the table, it's shown the warlock acquires new spell slots as it levels up, for example, starts at level 1 with 1 1st level slot, ...
12
votes
4answers
6k views

Do cantrips gained through Pact of the Tome use Charisma or their default stat?

Pact of the Tome gives Warlocks access to any 3 cantrips. The feature doesn't specify whether the cantrips use the default stat (my guess), or whether they use Cha (to make the feature more useful/...
5
votes
2answers
21k views

What is the expanded spell list for warlocks?

I'm playing a warlock in 5e. I've been peeking through Google, but have found contradicting answers. What IS the Expanded Spell List? Is it a second spell list? Is it just spells I can get just like ...
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Does the Warlock's Expanded Spell List from their patron only add it to their list of options, not their spells known?

Expanded Spell List The Fiend lets you choose from an expanded list of spells when you learn a warlock spell. The following spells are added to the warlock spell list for you. Should this mean, ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Are cantrips gained from Pact of the Tome considered warlock spells? [duplicate]

The warlock's Pact of the Tome option for the Pact Boon feature says: When you gain this feature, choose three cantrips from any class's spell list. While the book is on your person, you can cast ...
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Do the Warlock's Pact of the Tome cantrips need their material components?

I want to create a celestial warlock and I want to have Shillelagh as one of my Pact of the Tome cantrips. I also wanted wooden staff as an arcane focus so I can use melee and free up my other hand. ...
16
votes
2answers
25k views

Do warlocks have to prepare spells?

I don't know a lot about how preparing spells works. I know that some classes have to prepare their spells and others don't. I couldn't find any information about Warlocks.
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Could a Halfling Warlock Ride a Pseudodragon?

What I would like to know is, can I ride a pseudodragon or get carried ( by its feetclaws) by an Imp. Without taking any attack penalties. Not really looking for cover bonuses. I have a Halfling ...
7
votes
0answers
59 views

What happens if a warlock kills their patron? [duplicate]

I was reading Xanathar’s Guide, and the Celestial Warlock subclass is able to choose a unicorn for their patron. However, in the Monster Manual, unicorns only have a CR of 5. So that raised the ...

1 2 3 4 5 13