Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
98 votes
6 answers
19k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
SorcererQzot's user avatar
  • 2,055
13 votes
1 answer
6k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
Jason's user avatar
  • 1,271
17 votes
1 answer
5k views

If I roll 2d8 and 1d6 for damage, how many "damage rolls" is that? 1, 2, or 3?

I'm playing a Shadow sorcerer/Hexblade warlock and I am rather confused about the Hexblade's Curse feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55). It says, on the first bullet point of the curse ...
ArcaneTechno's user avatar
49 votes
8 answers
114k views

Is the Warlock's Awakened Mind telepathy two-way, or only one-way?

When warlock chooses a pact with The Great Old One, he gains a feature called Awakened Mind (Player's Handbook, p. 110): Starting at 1st level, your alien knowledge gives you the ability to touch ...
Lech Osiński's user avatar
30 votes
2 answers
22k views

Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat transcribe or cast spells from each other's books?

How compatible are the spellbook used by a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient ...
Sebkha's user avatar
  • 12.1k
7 votes
2 answers
3k views

Is a soul or spirit a creature?

The new Unearthed Arcana gives a new option for warlock's patron: The Undead. One of its class feature is Spirit Projection: Your body is now simply a vessel for your spirit. As an action, you can ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.6k
24 votes
2 answers
10k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
Joshu's Mu's user avatar
  • 1,998
20 votes
3 answers
4k views

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast invocation casts Eldritch Blast, is the 2nd attack resolved before or after the target is pushed by the 1st hit?

My question is inspired by this other question: Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam? A 5th-level Warlock with the Repelling Blast eldritch invocation casts eldritch blast, ...
user3294068's user avatar
60 votes
6 answers
28k views

How can I persuade my DM to play my warlock's patron in a way that respects my character's concept?

I'm interested in playing a witch character in a D&D 5e game. The things I want to emphasize in playing a witch are the importance of family, in particular the bond of sisterhood, and that a ...
A. Foster's user avatar
  • 4,713
22 votes
2 answers
70k views

Optimal Dragonborn Warlock for DPR/AC with Blade pact and Fiend patron

How can I get the highest Damage-Per-Round (both melee and ranged using pact weapon and Eldritch Blast) and AC possible (with DPR being more important than AC) with a Dragonborn Warlock taking the ...
Dyndrilliac's user avatar
29 votes
3 answers
29k views

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer. Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
22 votes
2 answers
11k views

Can a multiclassed warlock expend a Spellcasting spell slot of a non-warlock class to use the Eldritch Smite invocation?

Can a multiclassed Warlock use a spell slot from the Spellcasting feature of a non-Warlock class to perform Eldritch Smites? Eldritch Smite says: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your ...
Voromir Kadien's user avatar
16 votes
4 answers
26k views

Can a Pact of the Chain warlock's sprite familiar use the Help action and stay invisible?

According to the D&D 5th edition Player's Handbook, the description of the Help action in combat states (page 192; bolding made by me): You can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature ...
Lech Osiński's user avatar
13 votes
4 answers
104k views

How does the warlock's Devil's Sight eldritch invocation work?

The Warlock Invocation Devil's Sight (PHB p108) is described like this: You can see normally in darkness, both magical and nonmagical, to a distance of 120 feet. How should this be interpreted, ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.8k
12 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does damage from Armor of Agathys take place before or after a character takes damage from an attack that hits?

Suppose I cast Armor of Agathys at level 2 as a Warlock, which will provide +10 temporary hit points. If an attacker hits with a melee attack and deals 11 damage, does the attacker take the 10 damage ...
Rob Rose's user avatar
  • 3,066
6 votes
1 answer
29k views

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set?

Do multiple sources of temporary hit points combine, or do you only get one set? For example, say you cast armor of Agathys and false life on yourself. Do you have two separate pools of temporary hit ...
Harris's user avatar
  • 71
77 votes
11 answers
203k views

Does Warlock combat just equal Eldritch Blast spam?

Been looking over the warlock because I thought it would be cool to make a spellcaster that can also mix it up in melee combat. After all how awesome is it to conjure up a magical weapon and start ...
Chryckan's user avatar
  • 4,298
46 votes
5 answers
10k views

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Situation: I am playing a Hexblade Warlock. With the willing participation of another party member, my character slays the party member. Having killed a character, the hexblade can cause their spirit ...
Ithica Hawk's user avatar
40 votes
3 answers
6k views

When did Warlocks make their first appearance in D&D and how do they differ between editions?

I'm gathering lore about Warlock class origins in D&D. A quality answer would have more than just a release date, and would ideally cover what makes each edition's version different from other ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
35 votes
2 answers
93k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
Dyndrilliac's user avatar
28 votes
4 answers
38k views

Can a patron revoke a warlock's powers?

I would like to know whether a warlock can directly confront his patron without risking to lose his powers. And generally in which case the patron is allowed can take his "gift" back. I've tries ...
kvoki's user avatar
  • 2,910
24 votes
5 answers
84k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
Wyznmurl's user avatar
  • 817
18 votes
1 answer
13k views

Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

I'm planning on multi-classing in Warlock as a Sorcerer in 5e. I'd like to be able to use my Warlock spell slots from Pact Magic (that I regain on a short rest) to gain sorcery points. I'm inclined ...
Rob Rose's user avatar
  • 3,066
16 votes
2 answers
74k views

Do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature and the warlock's Pact of the Blade feature refer to 2 different weapons, or the same weapon?

The Hexblade Warlock has me in a bind. The Hex Warrior feature says: [...] Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed ...
Alex's user avatar
  • 385
49 votes
7 answers
34k views

Is Hunger of Hadar seriously overpowered or am I reading it wrong?

I'm not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar, the thing that I think makes it overpowered is the this line. creatures fully within the area are ...
Duck's user avatar
  • 1,715
48 votes
7 answers
91k views

Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam?

Warlocks can take the following invocation: Repelling Blast Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away from you in ...
SirTechSpec's user avatar
  • 16.3k
25 votes
2 answers
44k views

Does a Warlock receive the benefit of their familiar's Magic Resistance trait?

The Warlock has access to special forms for their find familiar spell through the Pact of the Chain feature. I'm wondering if these special forms, the Quasit, Imp, and Pseudodragon in particular, ...
FREE99's user avatar
  • 1,232
23 votes
3 answers
47k views

How do the damage from the Hexblade’s Curse feature and the Hex and Bestow Curse spells interact/stack with one another?

Hex requires concentration, while bestow curse at a high level and Hexblade’s Curse do not. This allows all three things to stack. Hex deals damage whenever an attack hits Bestow curse deals damage ...
Shenyu Lin's user avatar
  • 1,262
22 votes
3 answers
8k views

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points?

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points? For example: can a multiclassed sorcerer 3 / warlock 1 use Flexible Casting to create a warlock spell slot?
Fuilson's user avatar
  • 231
16 votes
6 answers
101k views

How can I get the most synergy out of this Paladin/Warlock multi-class combination? [closed]

I'm planning on playing a Paladin/Warlock in an upcoming game and I've picked the Oath of Vengeance, and Great Old One Patron/Pact of Tome. I've made my backstory (island home sunk when invaded by ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
13 votes
4 answers
12k views

What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PHB p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the ...
SirTechSpec's user avatar
  • 16.3k
12 votes
4 answers
8k views

Do cantrips gained through Pact of the Tome use Charisma or their default stat?

Pact of the Tome gives Warlocks access to any 3 cantrips. The feature doesn't specify whether the cantrips use the default stat (my guess), or whether they use Cha (to make the feature more useful/...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.4k
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
CTWind's user avatar
  • 19.3k
69 votes
1 answer
126k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
Bradd Szonye's user avatar
  • 9,246
20 votes
2 answers
7k views

Is it possible to "charge up" a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

So according to the wonders of multiclassing, it is possible to take levels in both Sorcerer (granting us sorcery points) and Warlock (giving us Pact Magic) which creates the handy combo of turning ...
MrShoggs's user avatar
  • 514
20 votes
3 answers
153k views

I don't get the spell slot system for D&D 5e's Warlocks

Now just recently I have had a group of friends get into D&D 5e and I ran into an issue with the Warlock class Spell Slots. Cantrips: a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot ...
Robert Hunt's user avatar
17 votes
5 answers
13k views

Can a Warlock become a lich?

I'm going to play a Warlock character starting at 3rd level. I want to know if he can become a lich. If this is possible, is there something that I must do before he can become a lich, such as take ...
LEKEK's user avatar
  • 173
14 votes
3 answers
16k views

Can a warlock choose a lower-level spell upcast at a higher level for their Mystic Arcanum class feature?

A player asked me if they could use their 17th-level Mystic Arcanum (Warlock class feature) to select the 6th-level spell "Mass Suggestion" cast at 9th level (to always make the suggestion last a year ...
CONTRACT SAYS I'M RIGHT's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can awakened mind be used with suggestion?

Can the warlock class feature "awakened mind" be used in conjunction with the suggestion spell, allowing the warlock to make the suggestion telepathically? Awakened Mind, Player's Handbook p. 110: ...
Seamus's user avatar
  • 3,444
13 votes
3 answers
37k views

Changing elements for spells

I think I remember in an older version of D&D allowing you to change a fire spell into a cold-based spell, or vice versa. In 5E, is there any way to allow you to alter say a Scorching Ray into a ...
Killer_Kelly's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers
27k views

How do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior and Pact of the Blade features interact for two-handed weapons?

In the description of the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior class feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55), it states that you can bond with a weapon that lacks the two-handed property. In the ...
darnok's user avatar
  • 4,760
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

What would a Warlock understand from written spells outside of their class, via Eyes of the Rune Keeper?

This related question asks if you could transcribe a ritual spell to the warlock book via the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation regardless of spell lists, and the answers were generally "yes, but you ...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does moving the curse from the Hex spell to a new target have any spell components?

Casting the Hex spell initially requires a verbal, somatic, and material component. For the duration (concentration up to 1, 8, or 24 hours depending on spell level), if something dies while hexed, I ...
Premier Bromanov's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
11k views

Pact of the Blade and Antimagic Fields

So, after reading this answer on a question on Antimagic Field, something that has come-up is a question about Pact of the Blade Warlocks. One of the features of Pact of the Blade is that one can ...
SeraphsWrath's user avatar
  • 7,430
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

How can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question about ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
5 votes
1 answer
582 views

If I am a Celestial Warlock and I take the Magic Initiate - Cleric (Cure Wounds), does that now count as a Warlock spell for me? [duplicate]

If I am a Celestial Warlock and I take the Magic Initiate - Cleric (Cure Wounds), does that now count as a Warlock spell for me? Since under The Celestial it says: "The following spells are added to ...
DragoonKite's user avatar
  • 1,373
3 votes
3 answers
545 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
36 votes
4 answers
13k views

What happens if the entity a warlock has a pact with is killed?

Fiends and Archfey could be killed by a rival trying to usurp their power. If this is not covered in the 5e RAW, is there a good resource from another edition that could be helpful in determining how ...
adclark09's user avatar
  • 1,104
36 votes
4 answers
8k views

What happens if a creature is killed between its attack and damage rolls

Came across a scenario that’s a little odd: A creature hits a character with an attack. The character has an ability that deals damage when he is hit. Based on other rulings the damage from the ...
Zephirum's user avatar
  • 387
27 votes
2 answers
62k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.6k

1
2 3 4 5 6