Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Is there an undead related warlock or sorcerer?

I searched for free stuff yesterday. Mostly unearthed arcana on the wizards page but 3rd party pages as well. I wanted to download all the interesting stuff but it seems I missed at least one. ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How can I hide my familiar as a pact of the chain warlock? [closed]

I'm a Warlock, Pact of Chain. I can summon an imp with my find familiar spell. I tried to rob a bank with my imp in mouse form. The imp got caught by an Archmage in the bank. The imp will be ...
2
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock proficiently use weapons given by race? [closed]

I am starting a campaign and I am looking to play a pact of the blade warlock. So at first I was thinking of creating a human character in order to get 1st level feat ...
39
votes
6answers
44k views

Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam?

Warlocks can take the following invocation: Repelling Blast Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away ...
22
votes
2answers
13k views

Multiclass Warlock/Wizard: Can I use Int as spellcasting ability for Pact Magic slots? [duplicate]

I would really love to play wizard/warlock multiclass with low charisma (just 13 for mutliclass). The handbook says that I can use Pact Magic slots to cast wizard spells, but doesn't specify which ...
1
vote
1answer
678 views

Hideous blow (Warlock) with monk

Can hideous blow be used with fury of blows (or other monk special attacks) if one is multi-classing a monk and warlock in 5th edition?
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Chain warlocks have any familiar regardless of alignment?

Can a warlock with the Pact of the Chain Boon have any familiar regardless of the warlock's and familiar's alignments? Is it permissible, as an example, for a Lawful Good Warlock to have a Chaotic ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a mute warlock make normal use of the Voice of the Chain Master class feature?

Consider a Warlock with The Great Old One patron and Pact of the Chain, who is mute because his tongue has been removed. He communicates with most characters through Awakened Mind, granted by the ...
11
votes
5answers
9k views

How can our warlock use the Staff of Defense?

Our party recently acquired a staff of defense. Apart from the AC bonus, it also lets you: With the staff in hand, you can use your action to cast one of the following spells from the staff if the ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Are there rules regarding a found Warlock grimoire? [closed]

I'm currently playing a 'pact of the tome' Warlock in a 5e campaign. In our last session, we were exploring an ancient library and my character managed to find an item that the DM described as a ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Warlock and Hellfire Warlock stacking for Eldritch blast in D&D 3.5

The Hellfire Warlock text says: At each level, you gain new invocations known, increased damage with eldritch blast, and an increase in invoker level as if you had also gained a level in the ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Could a Halfling Warlock Ride a Pseudodragon?

What I would like to know is, can I ride a pseudodragon or get carried ( by its feetclaws) by an Imp. Without taking any attack penalties. Not really looking for cover bonuses. I have a Halfling ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a level 11 Warlock do 78 damage in one turn with Eldritch Blast and Magic Stone?

Can I do at maximum 78 dmg in one turn with the following stats? Warlock level 11 stats: Spellcasting modifier: Charisma 20 equals +5 Eldritch Invocations: Agonizing Blast 1 magic stone max: 1d6 + 5 ...
5
votes
1answer
17k views

How do you use mask of many faces? [duplicate]

My warlock thinks he can use Mask of Many Faces to cast Disguise Self an unlimited number of times each day, and that the effect will last for a whole day. Is his understanding of this invocation ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a Warlock have a bonded pact weapon and still create other pact weapons

The Warlock can bond with a magical weapon to have it counted as a Pact weapon, which when not in use is shunted into an extra-dimensional pocket for retrieval at a later time. The regular pact weapon ...
11
votes
4answers
8k views

What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PHB p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the ...
3
votes
3answers
4k views

What are the effects of a Warlock's Repelling Blast when pushing the target?

If a Warlock's repelling blast evocation hits a target, what are the effects if: There is a wall 5' behind the target? There is another creature directly behind the target? There is another creature ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Disciple of Life's extra healing apply to Vampiric Touch?

The sorclock I'm building (see cheese elsewhere) will be picking up a level of cleric, probably Life Domain. It looks like Vampiric Touch would interact with Disciple of Life to provide extra healing....
9
votes
1answer
2k views

What are the requirements for a warlock patron in Forgotten Realms?

In D&D 5th edition's Forgotten Realms setting what ability is required for a creature to be able to grant a creature warlock powers?
7
votes
1answer
5k views

How can tome warlocks “back up” ritual spells they have inscribed?

PHB hints that wizards may want to have a backup copy of their spellbook in case they lose it. Tome warlocks have a way to restore their Book of Shadows should they lose it, but it's not clear if ...
8
votes
2answers
781 views

Who can create copies of spells that can subsequently be copied into spellbooks, etc?

Character A finds a spell written on a wall and copies it. He takes the copy to character B who copies it into her spellbook or Book of Shadows for her future use. Assume the spell is one B can ...
81
votes
7answers
14k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
11
votes
2answers
25k views

Can a Tome warlock inscribe known spells into their Book of Shadows?

In 5e, can a Pact of the Tome warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation inscribe known ritual spells into their Book of Shadows? This is useful if permitted, as it allows Tome warlocks to ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Can warlocks' familiars use armor/shields?

Can imps or quasits wear armor or shields? If so, how much would it cost to get armor and shields of the appropriate size (tiny)? Would they have a penalty for using such equipment, or do they have ...
1
vote
1answer
15k views

Does Dark One's Blessing Stack with itself?

In dnd 5e I know that the temporary hp from two different sources doesn't stack. What if I killed two enemies in a combat? Do I get 2x(warlock level+cha bonus)?
10
votes
1answer
4k views

How does true polymorph interact with class feature companions? [closed]

How does true polymorph work with the companion from the rangers beast master and warlocks pact of the chain class options? Beast Master Can it be true polymorphed into a large CR 1/4 creature? Can ...
54
votes
6answers
22k views

How can I persuade my DM to play my warlock's patron in a way that respects my character's concept?

I'm interested in playing a witch character in a D&D 5e game. The things I want to emphasize in playing a witch are the importance of family, in particular the bond of sisterhood, and that a ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

At what level is the Pact of the Chain spell, Find Familiar, cast by a Warlock?

In a detail that came up as I asked this question I'd like to know how find familiar works for a Warlock who casts spells at levels above first level. Pact of the Chain You learn the find ...
9
votes
3answers
8k views

Warlocks and the Ring of Spell Storing: how do you fill it up?

The Warlock casts spells at one given level. Spell Slots(PHB p.107) The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. {snip} ... when you are 5th ...
11
votes
2answers
51k views

Additional resources for Great Old Ones

I'm new to D&D and am playing a warlock character with the Great Old One as a patron. I'm a bit disappointed at the lack of flavour that is available in the PHB regarding this and was wondering if ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

What skills besides Perception and Stealth can a warlock's familiar use?

Having a highly intelligent familiar in D&D 5e, I noticed that sprites have higher intelligence and wisdom than my character, and obviously can do a better job on analysis or insight rolls. ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a Pact of the Blade warlock's pact weapon metal?

This came up in our last session. My pact of the blade warlock summoned a longsword to fight a grey ooze. Any nonmagical metal or wood that touches an ooze is corroded. According to the PHB, The pact ...
14
votes
2answers
13k views

If a warlock's invocation states that they can use a spell without a slot does that mean they can cast the spell as often as they want?

On page 111 of the 5E hand book the invocations Misty Visions, Mask of Many Faces, Master of Myriad Forms, and Otherworldly Leap all they that you can cast them without expending a spell slot. Does ...
5
votes
1answer
11k views

Does a cantrip count as a spell when referred to as a warlock upgrade effect? [duplicate]

On page 107 of the DND 5E players handbook there is a labeled area called "Spells known of first level and higher", in this section it says "when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of ...
24
votes
3answers
25k views

Does a Warlock receive the benefit of their familiar's Magic Resistance trait?

The Warlock has access to special forms for their find familiar spell through the Pact of the Chain feature. I'm wondering if these special forms, the Quasit, Imp, and Pseudodragon in particular, ...
0
votes
1answer
146 views

DnD 3.5 Pacts with Demons question [closed]

Was wondering. Is it possible to "buy" your pact from a demon to not go to abyss. If yes...what would be the price? and what are the consequences of that? Losing power or you can keep it? did any ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you choose a different ability for Hex when changing its target?

As a corollary to "Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?," is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does moving the curse from the Hex spell to a new target have any spell components?

Casting the Hex spell initially requires a verbal, somatic, and material component. For the duration (concentration up to 1, 8, or 24 hours depending on spell level), if something dies while hexed, I ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Ways to improve a Warlock's counterspelling capabilities

How do I make counterspelling more efficient for a 3.5 Warlock? I've looked over a few caster builds for counterspelling; however not much seems useful/useable for a Warlock. We are jumping into ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Do I add the Warlock's “Cantrips Known” number to what I already know each level?

When I as a Warlock get to level 3, do I still only have 2 cantrips, or do I have 6? Looking at the table on page 106 of the PHB, will I only have 4 cantrips known from Warlock levels at 20th level? ...
1
vote
0answers
82 views

What happens when you swap out a required feature to get into a PrC? [duplicate]

Say a Human Warlock-6/Mindbender-1 was to gain another level in Warlock and decided to swap out his Charm invocation (required for Mindbender entry) for the Flee the Scene invocation. Is this a legal ...
8
votes
3answers
13k views

What are the consequences of denying Quickened Eldritch Blasts?

A follow up to Can you use Quickened Spell to cast cantrips? (and asked in the spirit of this question and this question), a L18 Sorcerer/L2 Warlock has 18 Sorcery points, and "recovers" 2 (so to ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
2
votes
0answers
1k views

How's my Warlock and Endgame Plan? [closed]

My race is Variant Human with the Actor perk and 20 Charisma, and I’m proficient in Arcana, Persuasion, Intimidation, Deception and Sleight of Hand. My Patron is a Great Old One and at level 3 I’m ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Does “Spare the Dying” eat up a Warlock cantrip slot?

The Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, for the Undying Otherworldly (Warlock) Patron, on page 139 explicitly says Starting at 1st level, you learn the Spare the Dying cantrip, which counts as a ...
5
votes
3answers
953 views

How to compare hit % and damage between 1 attack vs 4 attacks with disadvantage?

Quite a few scenarios here, wish my AnyDice fu were up to par—if it's too much, no need to cover all of them, just the most representative, so I can figure out the rest. For the given character ...
14
votes
5answers
75k views

Is a Pact of the Chain Warlock's quasit familiar really this effective as a spy?

One of my players has a Warlock with the Pact of the Chain. This PC has a quasit familiar. If we are applying the rules correctly… Pact of the Chain You learn the find familiar spell and can cast it ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

How to roleplay a MC warlock? [closed]

The story I've devised for my char is that he started searching for certain answers in "forbidden lore" (to quote the PHB), struck a pact with a Fiend, but after a while, realised the Fiend couldn't ...
10
votes
2answers
7k views

Can a Warlock take an Eldritch Invocation twice?

When I reach 2nd-level on my Warlock, I gain two Invocations of my choice. I can't choose both to be Agonizing Blast, can I? Or say this is possible, would this then cause two separate instance of ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Pact of Chain Sprite familiar create poisons?

The Monster Manual says this of Sprites: Poison Brewers. In their forest domains, sprites brew toxins, unguents, antidotes, and poisons , including the sleep poison with which they coat their ...