Questions tagged [warlock]

This tag is for questions pertaining to the D&D warlock class, in editions where it exists.

6
votes
1answer
427 views

How does Create Thrall, the Great Old One Warlock feature, work in Adventurers League play?

When a Great Old One Warlock uses the Create Thrall feature (PHB, p. 110) in Adventurers League play, does the Thrall work with you? Does it persist through sessions? Is there any guidance on how ...
10
votes
1answer
322 views

Can a Pact of the Chain Warlock in Gaseous Form have their familiar attack?

Pact of the Chain Warlocks can enable their familiars to make an attack instead of them when they take the Attack action (emphasis mine): You learn the Find Familiar spell and can cast it as a ...
1
vote
1answer
187 views

Should awakened mind be considered an action? [duplicate]

Should awakened mind be considered an action? I need to know because in combat I want to use it to talk to my team without alerting enemies to our presence.
1
vote
2answers
1k views

How does a character multiclassing into warlock get a focus?

I have a martial character I want to multi-class into warlock but from what I can see in the book, it looks like they would not receive an arcane focus since they don't get their new class' starting ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Are Warlocks Arcane or Divine?

This question recently came up in one of my sessions. Are Warlocks considered Arcane or Divine? There is a magic item, Dark Shard Amulet that is for Warlocks and it requires an Arcana check to use. ...
10
votes
1answer
394 views

How does the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation interact with typos?

Would the Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation, along with other magic effects that enable you to read languages, allow misspelt/miswritten words to be understood?
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
14
votes
1answer
310 views

Would using a lower-leveled spell for the a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature impair balance?

I confess I find myself underwhelmed by the 8th level spells available for a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature, especially if you e.g. have one or more bards in the party (as I do). (Maddening ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a multiclassed 2019 UA artificer/Pact of the Blade warlock use Thirsting Blade and Arcane Armament to make 3 attacks per Attack action?

I was reading up on the classes in D&D 5e. I saw that the 2019 UA artificer had a feature that allowed them to attack twice that wasn't the Extra Attack feature, called Arcane Armament. The ...
1
vote
1answer
574 views

Can the Shadow Blade spell qualify as the Warlock's summoned Pact of the Blade weapon (& the Hex Warrior feature)?

The reason I bring up the question is there has been some interesting tweets by Jeremy Crawford that seems to possibly open the door for this interaction. Jeremy Crawford (Lead D&D Rules ...
6
votes
1answer
387 views

How do Hex Warrior, Pact of the Blade and Improved Pact Weapon Interact?

Ok so per this Are the hex warrior weapon and the pact of the blade weapon the same or different I know they are different. I just picked up improved pact blade and I need to know how they all fit ...
8
votes
1answer
239 views

Can an elf warlock trance?

Reading Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, I realized that the thing that makes elves trance and remember all the stuff they have experienced in the past is the fact that they all are still connected to ...
8
votes
1answer
377 views

Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar's Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?

I see that, for example: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it ...
13
votes
3answers
772 views

Does the Sleep spell put a warlock with Aspect of the Moon to sleep?

The phrasing of the invocation from XGtE pg. 56 is: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. (emphasis mine) To me this phrasing sounds like it is specifically ...
4
votes
2answers
325 views

Is there a way for a sprite familiar to gain the senses of a Warlock such as darkvision?

A third level High Elf Pact of the Chain Warlock with an Archfey patron casts the find familiar spell and then chooses a sprite form for the spirit to take. The Warlock commands the familiar to enter ...
4
votes
1answer
262 views

What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?

One of my Warlocks has taken an interesting turn... After casting a spell that required concentration, he used his Eldritch Master feature. Next turn, he cast Eldritch Blast. This series of turns ...
31
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
4
votes
1answer
590 views

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain the additional benefits from Warlock subclasses?

A Blood Hunter can join a Blood Hunter Order at level 3. When a Blood Hunter joins the Order of the Profane Soul, they can make a Pact with the Undying and gain access to Pact Magic. Looking at the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Hexblade warlocks choose their spells from the Hexblade spell list or the warlock spell list?

Since a warlock hexblade is a subclass (i.e. a special kind of warlock) in D&D 5e, does he choose his spells from the Hexblade spell list? Or can he choose from either the warlock or hexblade ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you combine War Caster, whip, and Warlock Features to Eldritch Blast enemies with reach?

So, Whip is a one-handed martial weapon with reach. Reach is a feature that, among other things, lets you make opportunity attacks with that weapon out to 10 feet instead of just five. Equipment ...
5
votes
1answer
514 views

Can I use a mote from Crown of Stars to attack and also cast Eldritch Blast on the same turn?

The PHB delineates the circumstances under which 2 spells could be cast in a turn. My 15th-level Warlock knows Crown of Stars. The spell says it costs a bonus action to attack with a mote, which to ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens if a warlock has both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar?

The Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The Grasp of Hadar ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock use an existing thrown pact magic weapon so it functions as a “Returning” weapon?

In Pathfinder, a thrown weapon could gain the Special Ability of Returning. The weapon could be thrown, then fly through the air back to the creature that threw it. Can a warlock with the "Pact of ...
3
votes
3answers
893 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? [closed]

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? I'm just curious about how this works visually. If someone uses Strength, then you use all your force to hit your enemies. If ...
3
votes
1answer
414 views

One with Shadows and Skulker

This is something I have been wondering for a bit. I am currently playing with a Rogue/Warlock Mousefolk build. Here is the link to the Mousekin homebrew race I am playing. I am planning on a build of ...
15
votes
2answers
3k views

How can a Sorcerer/Warlock use 4 Eldritch blasts in one round?

How is it possible for the infamous Sorlock multiclass to use 4 x Eldritch blasts in 1 round? I get the extra damages as in the d6s and +mod damage from all the curses but I see formulas around like ...
11
votes
2answers
260 views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
25
votes
4answers
2k views

How aware are characters of their class in-universe? [closed]

I'm building a character who is a Warlock. His patron is a great old one, which does not (initially) communicate directly. Instead, it gives the character urges and dreams, prompting him towards a ...
10
votes
2answers
995 views

Can you use an unattuned magic weapon (that requires attunement) as a Warlock pact weapon?

I was reading a recent question about Warlock Pact Weapons and Attunement, and it got me thinking. The answers there indicate "A Magic Weapon that is also a Pact Weapon still requires attunement." ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

If a magic weapon requires attunement, and a warlock makes it their pact weapon, does it still take up an attunement slot?

Player characters normally have an attunement limit of 3 items. As a warlock, if I have a weapon that normally requires attunement, will it still take up one of my attunement slots after I make it ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper allow them to read Druidic?

Just a bit confused as the PHB states that Druidic is used to write in code. Does that mean that Eyes of the Rune Keeper will allow me to read Druidic but not understand what it means or could I read ...
10
votes
1answer
362 views

What Warlock subclass suits this concept the best? [closed]

I have a basic concept of a Warlock and need a hand in choosing the subclass. It can be a homebrew subclass as long as it's not too OP. The character I'm going to play has made a pact with a strange ...
-3
votes
1answer
221 views

Are there benefits of having advantage on attacks against yourself? [closed]

In the UA Raven Queen warlock patron, it is stated that you get advantage against creatures that kill your raven. If it is slain by a creature, you gain advantage on all attack rolls against the ...
8
votes
2answers
781 views

Does the UA Sea Sorcerer's Curse of the Sea feature work with the Eldritch Blast cantrip using the warlock's Repelling Blast invocation?

I am trying to understand whether the Curse of the Sea feature of the Sea Sorcerer subclass (from Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer) works with the warlock's Repelling Blast eldritch invocation. The Curse ...
34
votes
3answers
6k views

Is it possible to rest underwater if you can breathe underwater?

I'm looking at the new Warlock eldritch invocations of XGTE, and the invocation Gift of the Depths gained my curiosity. The eldritch invocation Gift of the Depths states that you can breathe ...
2
votes
1answer
76 views

Can you mix Spellblast and Hideous blow?

My group's interpretation of hideous blow is that it always requires a standard action (since it says on the text you need to use a standard action to attack, and it's not the casting time) so even if ...
11
votes
3answers
970 views

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock, if I use my pact weapon bow as an improvised melee weapon, which benefits carry over?

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, what effects carry over using a bow from Pact of the Blade for melee attacks (e.g. if an enemy is too close ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Are there any mechanics for becoming a warlock patron?

So our home campaign is, as all really good campaigns are, a hideous conglomeration. Chunks of other campaigns, including several published ones, have been combined, and a whole lot of homebrewing ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I cast Darkness on my imp familiar?

This is actually a three-part question: As a level 5 Tiefling Pact of the Chain Warlock, can I cast my Darkness spell on my Imp familiar? If yes, once cast, would my Darkness spell be ended if my imp ...
16
votes
1answer
727 views

How do spell scrolls interact with warlock invocations?

When creating a Spell Scroll using the rules from XGtE (p.133), if the spell is a cantrip the scroll is cast as if the caster were first level. If a Warlock with, say, Agonizing Blast were to scribe a ...
5
votes
0answers
261 views

Can Divine Soul Sorcerer transfer spells to a Warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets? [closed]

My party has two spellcasters - Tabaxi Divine Soul Sorcerer (me) with proficiency in Arcana (so he can create scrolls) and Tiefling Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation;...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Warlock and Sorcerer Multiclass Casting With An Enhanced Effect [duplicate]

I have a multiclass PC with 3 levels in warlock/hexblade and 1 level in sorcerer/divine soul. This means I have 2 level 1 sorcerer slots and 2 level 2 warlock slots. I can cast cure wounds because I ...
14
votes
1answer
3k views

Can an aasimar warlock's celestial patron and angelic guide be the same being?

Would an aasimar's celestial guide whose connection to the aasimar only functions through dreams be a fair choice as a celestial patron for a warlock or would the connection being only dream-based be ...
7
votes
1answer
220 views

How much unconscious awareness do I have of my familiar?

This came up last night, and the DM and I wanted to ask around to see if anyone could clarify this for us. I'm playing a Pact of the Chain warlock (with the voice of the chain master invocation, if ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Do the Pact of the Blade warlock's Eldritch Smite and Lifedrinker eldritch invocations work with ranged pact weapons?

It is possible for a Pact of the Blade warlock to have a ranged weapon as a pact weapon. The description of the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57) includes the following: ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
9
votes
4answers
397 views

Can a magic pact weapon have its attunement broken by being dismissed?

For a Pact of the Blade Warlock that can "transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon" (PHB. 108), the weapon can be dismissed into an extradimensional space. If the weapon is magic and requires ...
6
votes
1answer
510 views

How does multiclassing affect Eldritch Invocations with level prerequisites?

Ok... I'm making a Paladin of Conquest from Xanathar's Guide to Everything. At around 9th level I want to Multiclass three levels into a Hexblade Warlock (also from XGtE). I was wondering does ...