Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
1answer
595 views

How do Hex Warrior, Pact of the Blade and Improved Pact Weapon Interact?

Ok so per this Are the hex warrior weapon and the pact of the blade weapon the same or different I know they are different. I just picked up improved pact blade and I need to know how they all fit ...
8
votes
1answer
300 views

Can an elf warlock trance?

Reading Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, I realized that the thing that makes elves trance and remember all the stuff they have experienced in the past is the fact that they all are still connected to ...
9
votes
1answer
513 views

Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar's Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?

I see that, for example: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it ...
13
votes
3answers
986 views

Does the Sleep spell put a warlock with Aspect of the Moon to sleep?

The phrasing of the invocation from XGtE pg. 56 is: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. (emphasis mine) To me this phrasing sounds like it is specifically ...
4
votes
2answers
483 views

Is there a way for a sprite familiar to gain the senses of a Warlock such as darkvision?

A third level High Elf Pact of the Chain Warlock with an Archfey patron casts the find familiar spell and then chooses a sprite form for the spirit to take. The Warlock commands the familiar to enter ...
4
votes
1answer
300 views

What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?

One of my Warlocks has taken an interesting turn... After casting a spell that required concentration, he used his Eldritch Master feature. Next turn, he cast Eldritch Blast. This series of turns ...
31
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
4
votes
1answer
707 views

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain the additional benefits from Warlock subclasses?

A Blood Hunter can join a Blood Hunter Order at level 3. When a Blood Hunter joins the Order of the Profane Soul, they can make a Pact with the Undying and gain access to Pact Magic. Looking at the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Hexblade warlocks choose their spells from the Hexblade spell list or the warlock spell list?

Since a warlock hexblade is a subclass (i.e. a special kind of warlock) in D&D 5e, does he choose his spells from the Hexblade spell list? Or can he choose from either the warlock or hexblade ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you combine War Caster, whip, and Warlock Features to Eldritch Blast enemies with reach?

So, Whip is a one-handed martial weapon with reach. Reach is a feature that, among other things, lets you make opportunity attacks with that weapon out to 10 feet instead of just five. Equipment ...
5
votes
1answer
815 views

Can I use a mote from Crown of Stars to attack and also cast Eldritch Blast on the same turn?

The PHB delineates the circumstances under which 2 spells could be cast in a turn. My 15th-level Warlock knows Crown of Stars. The spell says it costs a bonus action to attack with a mote, which to ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens if a warlock has both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar?

The Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The Grasp of Hadar ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock use an existing thrown pact magic weapon so it functions as a “Returning” weapon?

In Pathfinder, a thrown weapon could gain the Special Ability of Returning. The weapon could be thrown, then fly through the air back to the creature that threw it. Can a warlock with the "Pact of ...
3
votes
3answers
955 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? [closed]

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? I'm just curious about how this works visually. If someone uses Strength, then you use all your force to hit your enemies. If ...
3
votes
1answer
529 views

One with Shadows and Skulker

This is something I have been wondering for a bit. I am currently playing with a Rogue/Warlock Mousefolk build. Here is the link to the Mousekin homebrew race I am playing. I am planning on a build of ...
15
votes
2answers
6k views

How can a Sorcerer/Warlock use 4 Eldritch blasts in one round?

How is it possible for the infamous Sorlock multiclass to use 4 x Eldritch blasts in 1 round? I get the extra damages as in the d6s and +mod damage from all the curses but I see formulas around like ...
11
votes
2answers
295 views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
25
votes
4answers
2k views

How aware are characters of their class in-universe? [closed]

I'm building a character who is a Warlock. His patron is a great old one, which does not (initially) communicate directly. Instead, it gives the character urges and dreams, prompting him towards a ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use an unattuned magic weapon (that requires attunement) as a Warlock pact weapon?

I was reading a recent question about Warlock Pact Weapons and Attunement, and it got me thinking. The answers there indicate "A Magic Weapon that is also a Pact Weapon still requires attunement." ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

If a magic weapon requires attunement, and a warlock makes it their pact weapon, does it still take up an attunement slot?

Player characters normally have an attunement limit of 3 items. As a warlock, if I have a weapon that normally requires attunement, will it still take up one of my attunement slots after I make it ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper allow them to read Druidic?

Just a bit confused as the PHB states that Druidic is used to write in code. Does that mean that Eyes of the Rune Keeper will allow me to read Druidic but not understand what it means or could I read ...
10
votes
1answer
434 views

What Warlock subclass suits this concept the best? [closed]

I have a basic concept of a Warlock and need a hand in choosing the subclass. It can be a homebrew subclass as long as it's not too OP. The character I'm going to play has made a pact with a strange ...
-3
votes
1answer
238 views

Are there benefits of having advantage on attacks against yourself? [closed]

In the UA Raven Queen warlock patron, it is stated that you get advantage against creatures that kill your raven. If it is slain by a creature, you gain advantage on all attack rolls against the ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the UA Sea Sorcerer's Curse of the Sea feature work with the Eldritch Blast cantrip using the warlock's Repelling Blast invocation?

I am trying to understand whether the Curse of the Sea feature of the Sea Sorcerer subclass (from Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer) works with the warlock's Repelling Blast eldritch invocation. The Curse ...
35
votes
3answers
6k views

Is it possible to rest underwater if you can breathe underwater?

I'm looking at the new Warlock eldritch invocations of XGTE, and the invocation Gift of the Depths gained my curiosity. The eldritch invocation Gift of the Depths states that you can breathe ...
2
votes
1answer
80 views

Can you mix Spellblast and Hideous blow?

My group's interpretation of hideous blow is that it always requires a standard action (since it says on the text you need to use a standard action to attack, and it's not the casting time) so even if ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock, if I use my pact weapon bow as an improvised melee weapon, which benefits carry over?

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, what effects carry over using a bow from Pact of the Blade for melee attacks (e.g. if an enemy is too close ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Are there any mechanics for becoming a warlock patron?

So our home campaign is, as all really good campaigns are, a hideous conglomeration. Chunks of other campaigns, including several published ones, have been combined, and a whole lot of homebrewing ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I cast Darkness on my imp familiar?

This is actually a three-part question: As a level 5 Tiefling Pact of the Chain Warlock, can I cast my Darkness spell on my Imp familiar? If yes, once cast, would my Darkness spell be ended if my imp ...
16
votes
1answer
795 views

How do spell scrolls interact with warlock invocations?

When creating a Spell Scroll using the rules from XGtE (p.133), if the spell is a cantrip the scroll is cast as if the caster were first level. If a Warlock with, say, Agonizing Blast were to scribe a ...
5
votes
0answers
289 views

Can Divine Soul Sorcerer transfer spells to a Warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets? [closed]

My party has two spellcasters - Tabaxi Divine Soul Sorcerer (me) with proficiency in Arcana (so he can create scrolls) and Tiefling Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation;...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Warlock and Sorcerer Multiclass Casting With An Enhanced Effect [duplicate]

I have a multiclass PC with 3 levels in warlock/hexblade and 1 level in sorcerer/divine soul. This means I have 2 level 1 sorcerer slots and 2 level 2 warlock slots. I can cast cure wounds because I ...
14
votes
1answer
4k views

Can an aasimar warlock's celestial patron and angelic guide be the same being?

Would an aasimar's celestial guide whose connection to the aasimar only functions through dreams be a fair choice as a celestial patron for a warlock or would the connection being only dream-based be ...
7
votes
1answer
237 views

How much unconscious awareness do I have of my familiar?

This came up last night, and the DM and I wanted to ask around to see if anyone could clarify this for us. I'm playing a Pact of the Chain warlock (with the voice of the chain master invocation, if ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Do the Pact of the Blade warlock's Eldritch Smite and Lifedrinker eldritch invocations work with ranged pact weapons?

It is possible for a Pact of the Blade warlock to have a ranged weapon as a pact weapon. The description of the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57) includes the following: ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
9
votes
4answers
424 views

Can a magic pact weapon have its attunement broken by being dismissed?

For a Pact of the Blade Warlock that can "transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon" (PHB. 108), the weapon can be dismissed into an extradimensional space. If the weapon is magic and requires ...
6
votes
1answer
593 views

How does multiclassing affect Eldritch Invocations with level prerequisites?

Ok... I'm making a Paladin of Conquest from Xanathar's Guide to Everything. At around 9th level I want to Multiclass three levels into a Hexblade Warlock (also from XGtE). I was wondering does ...
7
votes
2answers
774 views

Can a warlock with Pact of the Blade bind a non-magical weapon to be their pact weapon?

In the warlock's Pact of the Blade feature description, it states the following: ... You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the ...
10
votes
1answer
564 views

Can the weapon summoned via a Warlock's Pact of the Blade be pre-silvered when summoned?

Would it be possible to manifest a weapon that has either the Silvered or the Adamantine property? Per the description of Pact of the Blade: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature is used while in Hell?

The description of the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature says: Starting at 14th level, when you hit a creature with an attack, you can use this feature to instantly transport the ...
23
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?

I am playing a Fiend-patron warlock. A vampire has charmed my fighter buddy and I wish to use my Hurl Through Hell feature to make the vampire briefly go to the lower planes, resulting in the charm ...
10
votes
1answer
716 views

Can the Sentinel Raven given by the Raven Queen warlock patron assist party members with skill checks?

I'm playing a warlock and have chosen the Raven Queen patron (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard). I had the idea of having my sentinel raven assist me on all skill checks, but this seems ...
1
vote
2answers
78 views

I need to clean up my campaigns plot holes for the second half of it [closed]

This is my first time DMing a game and I did not take it seriously at all for the first half. I gave a warlock wild magic because I thought it would be funny, but now that I want to actually do a good ...
4
votes
1answer
450 views

Which class is better for being able to contribute to battle when out of spell slots, Wizard or Warlock?

I have joined a campaign and am now choosing a class. So far my character is a Half-Elf with the ability scores: STR 12 (+1) DEX 18 (+4) CON 16 (+3) INT 17 (+3) WIS 10 (+0) CHA 18 (+4) The ability ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Is a Hexblade Warlock's weapon their arcane focus by default?

I'm playing a Hexblade with Pact of the Blade, and I was wondering whether the weapon you use as part of the Hex Warrior ability counts as an arcane focus, or only if it's a pact weapon and you have ...
21
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a weapon form of the Rod of Lordly Might be considered a pact weapon?

I've got a character in my campaign who was lucky enough to snag a Rod of Lordly Might. The snag is that she's a Hexblade Warlock, and she wants to use the Hex Warrior ability on the rod (basically ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Are all Eldritch Invocations nullified by an antimagic field?

In one of the tables I'm part of, we engaged in a discussion about an antimagic field being able to nullify the effects of an warlock's Devil's Sight because Eldritch Invocations are magical in nature ...