Episode #125 of the Stack Overflow podcast is here. We talk Tilde Club and mechanical keyboards. Listen now

Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
10
votes
6answers
43k views

How can I build a Celestial Warlock as a primary healer?

This will be my first time playing a Warlock class and I built a concept that resulted in an Aasimar Celestial Warlock. The party has plenty of potential healers but none with a class that focuses on ...
-2
votes
2answers
8k views

Does Hexblade Warlock need Dual Wield Feat? [duplicate]

My DM says I need a skill or feat to use my pact weapon and conjure weapon at the same time. Is this true? Because I want to dual wield warlock hexweapon but warlocks don't have anything that grants ...
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a Hexblade Warlock use a bonus action to attack with an offhand weapon, using both as Pact weapons?

Xanathar's Guide To Everything added a clarification on the type of weapons you can use with Pact of the Blade: If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact ...
11
votes
2answers
41k views

Are the Hex Warrior weapon & Pact of Blade weapon the same or different?

The Hexblade Warlock has me in a bind. Hex Warrior explains: ...whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with that lacks the two handed property. When you ...
8
votes
2answers
27k views

How can I cast spells as a Hexblade Warlock while using a sword and shield?

I'm building a Hexblade Warlock from level one. This pretty much requires you to have a sword and shield. How is it possible for me to cast my spells without my hands open?
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Dissonant Whispers and Misty Escape: Which reaction effect happens?

The effect of the warlock's Misty Escape feature is that when the warlock takes damage she can use her reaction to teleport away to a location of her choosing within range. The effect of failing a ...
8
votes
2answers
6k views

Warlock's Dark One’s Blessing duration

What is the duration of the temporary hit points obtained by Warlock's Dark One's Blessing feature?
4
votes
3answers
8k views

Targeting Hex over long durations

Previous questions confirmed that Hex can last through multiple encounters (assuming my warlock's concentration doesn't get broken by a club to the head or the like) and at higher levels even through ...
27
votes
3answers
12k views

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer. Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a ...
21
votes
3answers
24k views

Hexblade’s Curse, Hex and Bestow Curse stacking

Hex requires concentration while bestow curse at a high level and hexblade’s curse do not. This allows all three things to stack. Hex deals damage whenever an attack hits Bestow Curse deals damage ...
19
votes
2answers
26k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Where can I find Sign of Ill Omen?

Maddening Hex (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p57) refers to Sign of Ill Omen: As a bonus action, you cause a psychic disturbance around the target cursed by your hex spell or by a warlock feature ...
10
votes
2answers
8k views

How many Pact Weapons can a Blade Pact Warlock create?

The question is relatively simple and I have searched far and wide for an official ruling or good answer: How many Pact Weapons can a Warlock create (have out) at the same time? The RAW says: You ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Book of Shadows be used as regular book?

A bit of a noob question about the Warlock's Pact of the Tome: Can the Book of Shadows be used as a regular book? Does it have blank pages one can write on for miscellaneous notes or drawings, maybe? ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action?

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action? It doesn't seem too clear to our group and we have basically ruled it as equivalent to talking.
11
votes
3answers
15k views

Improved Pact Weapon spell attack + damage

From Xanathar's Guide to Everything the warlock invocation Improved Pact Weapon allows you to use a pact weapon as a focus for Warlock spells. It also makes your Pact Weapon +1. The DMG under +1 ...
4
votes
1answer
851 views

Can a Dragonfire Adept learn warlock invocations and vice versa?

Pretty much what it says in the tin. Can the DFA learn Warlock invocations and vice versa? Or are they separated by class? I know there are some overlaps in invocations.
57
votes
4answers
13k views

Are Imps incapable of speech or is my DM messing with me?

So, I am new to DnD and have been having a conversation with my DM about restrictions she is putting on my Warlock (pact of the chain), such as limiting my short rests to only one per day to restrict ...
32
votes
4answers
6k views

What happens if a creature is killed between its attack and damage rolls

Came across a scenario that’s a little odd: A creature hits a character with an attack. The character has an ability that deals damage when he is hit. Based on other rulings the damage from the ...
19
votes
4answers
6k views

Can a warlock teach a spell to a wizard?

My wizard is in a pinch and needs to learn a spell the party warlock knows. Can he teach me? Assume the spell belongs to both classes lists. If it makes any difference, you can assume he has pact of ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Thought Shield affect Feeblemind?

If a mage casts Feeblemind on a warlock with Thought Shield, does the mage take any effects on the spell besides the damage? Does any of the Int/Chr drain reflect back on the caster?
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Warlock Pact weapon on Sentient or Artifact Magic weapon

I have read this part about Warlocks You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of I ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Does Hex apply to Spiritual Weapon?

If I use Hex (PHB p251) on a creature and next turn I use, say Eldritch Blast as my action and Spiritual Weapon (PHB p278) as my bonus, would Spiritual Weapon also get hex's extra damage? I'm a bit ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Sentinel Raven and the incapacitated condition (Is the warlock's raven clingy ?)

As a warlock you can take the Raven Queen as your patron. The Sentinel Raven you get can do a lot of things but what caught my attention is the following : While perched on your shoulder, the raven ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the target of Gaze of Two Minds have to remain willing?

So, I've figured out a possible way to use Gaze of Two Minds as a kind of scrying. So, my plan is to find a goon of some enemy, use Suggestion or just convince them to let me activate Gaze of Two ...
5
votes
2answers
14k views

Can my warlock benefit both from the Mage Armor spell and leather armor?

Currently making a 5E Warlock for an upcoming session, and I'm wondering how this particular interaction works: I, as a Warlock, start with leather armor. I'm considering having Armor of Shadows as ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible for a warlock to displease their patron? [duplicate]

I haven't seen anything in the PHB or the DMG (although I admit I haven't looked in every nook and crank) to the effect that a warlock can displease their patron. Warlocks seem to be just free to do ...
9
votes
1answer
798 views

Can Hex be retargeted if the initial target runs away?

In many of our combats, some portion of our enemies run or teleport away to where we cannot engage them further. Our warlock has become concerned about effectively losing a valuable spell slot, ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Does damage from Armor of Agathys take place before or after a character takes damage from an attack that hits?

Suppose I cast Armor of Agathys at level 2 as a Warlock, which will provide +10 temporary hit points. If an attacker hits with a melee attack and deals 11 damage, does the attacker take the 10 damage ...
22
votes
2answers
21k views

Should I just assume that a Warlock with the Fiendish Vigor invocation starts every combat with 8 temporary hp?

Warlocks have access to this invocation: Fiendish Vigor You can cast false life on yourself at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. False Life ...
20
votes
1answer
4k views

Is it possible to “charge up” a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

So according to the wonders of multiclassing, it is possible to take levels in both Sorcerer (granting us sorcery points) and Warlock (giving us Pact Magic) which creates the handy combo of turning ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Devil's Sight allow you to see in darkness as though it was normal light? [closed]

There are technically answers to this question both here, Sage Advice, a tweet by Jeremy Crawford, and this question here. As I said, they are "technically" answers, but I can answer the question 1+1 ...
13
votes
1answer
958 views

Can I save up spell learning “for later”?

As a level 3 Warlock, I didn't learn any spell at level 2 (mainly because I just couldn't decide which one to pick, so the DM told me to tell him when I make up my mind about which spell I wanted to ...
8
votes
1answer
922 views

Do Warlocks have the inital cantrips + 2 cantrips from the pacts at lvl 1?

It says that I know 2 cantrips, because of the pact, but it isn't clear whether it's the 2 cantrips that you choose at level 1, or if I have +2 cantrips of my choice because of the pact. Sorry for ...
4
votes
1answer
719 views

Do Awakaned Mind and other pact spells of warlock outside the expanded list need to be learned? [closed]

Sorry for the this newbie question, but I want to build a warlock (Great Old One patron) in D&D 5e, and I and the GM are new to the game. For my understanding, once I have the requirements I ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I keep the sabre I made into my Pact Weapon without needing to summon it?

I have a question regarding my Roguelock that I am currently playing, he is about to hit character level 6 and will get his Pact Boon. He is going to pick Pact of the Blade. According to the ...
-17
votes
2answers
18k views

Do warlocks regain all their spell slots on a short rest?

I keep seeing all over the internet that warlocks get all their warlock spell slots back on a short rest. However, none of the page references seem to point to the correct spot. Do you know if this ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon only count as a focus for warlock spells?

In Unearthed Arcana: Revised Class Options, one of the Blade pact warlock's invocations is Improved pact weapon part of the description is: You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the ...
15
votes
3answers
12k views

Are warlocks able to abuse short rests to cast long-duration spells without consuming spell slots?

From the description of the Warlock class: Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many Spell Slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your Spell Slots are ...
4
votes
1answer
503 views

Can a warlock activate Eldritch Blast while grappled? If so, are there any penalties?

We have a warlock who is successfully grappled by a vine monster. Can the warlock attack with eldritch blast?
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Use Magic Weapon Spell to Make a Warlock Pact Weapon?

Let's say I'm a Pact of the Blade Warlock that's looking for a specific type of weapon to be my pact weapon (e.g. a hand crossbow), but a magic one never shows up in treasure. Can I get a Wizard to ...
15
votes
3answers
81k views

I don't get the spell slot system for D&D 5e's Warlocks

Now just recently I have had a group of friends get into D&D 5e and I ran into an issue with the Warlock class Spell Slots. Cantrips: a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot ...
22
votes
1answer
13k views

Hand Crossbow as Warlock Pact Weapon?

I have an idea for a DnD 5e (PHB-only) Warlock that takes a hand crossbow as his pact weapon. Here are my clarifications and assumptions: Race: Drow Elf (proficient in hand crossbows) Class: Warlock,...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Warlock/cleric vs. warlock/sorcerer? [closed]

I'm looking at building a character in 5e D&D but I can't decide which multiclass I would prefer. My character so far is a 5th level Warlock (Archfey patron, pact of the Tome), and I want to ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Would making these Warlock spell invocations require no spell slot be unbalancing?

I'm currently trying to rebalance certain aspects of the D&D 5e rule set. The overall goal is to open up options for my players so they have a more diverse pool of features to choose from. I don't ...
-5
votes
3answers
512 views

How does Pact of the Blade handle magic paired weapons?

Pact of the Blade gives you a melee weapon of your choice or allows you to bond one you already have, except Artifact weapons. But if the weapon is a paired set, does the bond affect both? For ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

What level do I cast invisibility from the eldritch invocation Shroud of Shadow? [duplicate]

The eldritch invocation Shroud of Shadow from the UA: Revised Class Options reads as follows: You can cast invisibility at will, without expending a spell slot. Similar abilities such as a wizard'...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Green Lord's Gift effectively make all heal spells roll max on the Warlock?

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard includes the eldritch invocation Green Lord's Gift for warlocks, which reads: Green Lord’s Gift Prerequisite: The Archfey patron The Green Lord ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a multiclass Cleric/Warlock hold a Holy Shield and an Arcane Staff and still cast spells?

The PHB (pg. 151) states that a Cleric may use a shield with a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10....
5
votes
5answers
8k views

Can Warlock with the Polearm Master and War Caster Feats cast Eldritch Blast as an Opportunity Attack while wearing a shield, RAW?

I realize there is the RAI note out there that indicates Polearm Master's opportunity attack is only intended to work with the polearm that you're wielding, but some DMs accept the RAW interpretation ...