The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

I'm planning on multi-classing in Warlock as a Sorcerer in 5e. I'd like to be able to use my Warlock spell slots from Pact Magic (that I regain on a short rest) to gain sorcery points. I'm inclined ...
9
votes
1answer
15k views

How do invocations like Armor of Shadows and Eldritch sight work?

In invocations like Agonizing Blast, PHB states Prerequisite: Eldritch Blast cantrip When you cast Eldritch blast, add your Charisma modifier to the damage it deals on hit. However on ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

How can I raise a Warlock Vigilante mystic bolt's damage?

As a Vigilante with the Warlock archetype, is there any possible way to raise the damage of the Mystic Bolt other than a raise in level? I'm open to any Paizo feats, items, traits or basically ...
18
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a warlock use one of their Thirsting Blade attacks to grapple or shove?

As a Warlock with the Thirsting Blade Invocation, can I replace one of the Attacks with my pact weapon with a Grapple/Shove? The only wording difference between Thirsting Blade and Extra attack is: "...
7
votes
2answers
350 views

Can a Helpless Warlock Activate Fell Flight to Move Underwater?

There is a warlock in our party whose strength was just reduced to 0 by a sea hag. He is underwater. Can a helpless Warlock activate Fell Flight to move underwater?
5
votes
3answers
1k views

How do you receive damage when you're merged with your raven?

This is a follow-up question inspired by this question. While you're merged with your raven, if you take damage, how do you resolve it? It's not the same as a simple polymorph. Do both you and the ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

When merged with the Raven (using Soul of the Raven), is the Warlock immune to damage?

A Warlock with the Raven Queen patron can use the 6th level Soul of the Raven pact ability to merge with the Sentinel Raven, as written: As a Bonus action when your raven is perched on your ...
35
votes
7answers
24k views

My warlock is blowing all their spell slots on the easy fights, making the hard fights harder for the party. What do I do?

I have a player that uses their Warlock spell slots a lot. While this is not necessarily a bad thing (they are there to be used), they are effectively expending all of their spell slots on the first ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

How many spell slots can you spend at once on the Moonbow Invocation?

So I've been playing D&D 5th edition with a few guys and I'm going to roll a new character, which they are all in favor of. I've taken a liking to an archer, but more specifically an archer with ...
9
votes
2answers
4k views

Is the target aware of the source of telepathy via Awakened Mind?

If a warlock uses their Awakened Mind feature and communicates with someone, does the target inherently understand the source of the communication? Is there some sort of give-away (ex: all your mind-...
2
votes
0answers
4k views

Optimizing a D&D 5e Sorcerer/Warlock for support [closed]

One of the other players is making a Polearm Master Fighter, so I'm thinking of building a Repelling Blast-spamming Sorcerer/Warlock to help the fighter to block off choke points. Polearm Master ...
5
votes
2answers
679 views

Can a Warlock pact weapon have a sheath as part of its form?

Can a Warlock pact weapon have a sheath as part of its form? If so could it be used as a weapon? Asking because I wanted a sword cane with the sheath as part of the pact weapon.
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the UA invocation Improved Pact Weapon work with Elemental Weapon?

To preface, I'm making a Hexblade. I saw that Improved Pact Weapon makes your weapon a "+1 weapon." Does this make it magical and therefore not work with Elemental Weapon?
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I use an Arcane Focus used as a Quarterstaff as my Pact Weapon?

As per Can the arcane/druidic focus staff double as quarterstaff?, I understand that I can use an arcane focus staff as a quarterstaff. I was wondering then if there was any limitation on that same ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Warlock maintain Hex outside of combat?

Hex states: "If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature." The spell has a minimum duration of "...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Do Armor of Agathys and Fire Shield stack?

I have a party of a paladin, rogue, and warlock. The warlock player thinks having only 2 spells per short rest is making him really weak, so he is trying to find the best possible ways to be more ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

What magic items or spells plausibly available to a level 4 warlock at short notice confer protection against magic missiles?

I am currently DMing the early stages of a 5E campaign in which a bad guy (level 4 tiefling warlock) nearly died in combat with the PCs as a result of repeated magic missiles. He knows he is likely to ...
23
votes
2answers
50k views

What are the benefits of Pact Weapons?

I just started D&D 5E through Adventurers League. I'm only at level 2 but see at level 3 I'll be picking a Pact Boon, one of which is Pact of the Blade. Pact of the Blade states: You can use ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack when applied by two different Warlocks?

Following on from Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack? but looking at a different scenario. The 5E Warlock Invocation 'Frost Lance' (from Unearthed Arcana) says: You draw on ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack?

The 5E Warlock Invocation 'Frost Lance' (from Unearthed Arcana) says: You draw on the gifts of the Prince of Frost to trap your enemies in ice. When you hit a creature with your eldritch blast ...
0
votes
1answer
78 views

Does Crawling Eye grant line-of-effect across Impenetrable Barrier?

I was trying to think of really fun, evil things to do with a warlock. I was curious if this works: Use Crawling Eye Use Impenetrable Barrier between you and the eye Do horrible things to opponents ...
4
votes
1answer
231 views

Does Brimstone Blast deal bonus damage when it first hits?

I've read the skill 20 times and done as many internet searches, and I just can't figure out the answer: Does Brimstone Blast deal damage on the initial hit if the opponent fails their reflex save? ...
3
votes
1answer
391 views

How exactly does Mortalbane work when used with conjuration (especially for warlocks)?

At first I thought Mortalbane was very straight-forward. An example I read is a warlock casting Chilling Tentacles. Enemies take 2d6+2d6 cold damage from the effect, plus they take 1d6+4+2d6 ...
14
votes
4answers
3k views

Does a warlock ever need more than 27 Use Magic Device?

Is there any benefit to a Use Magic Device modifier over 27 for a Warlock? It seems like the maximum check you would ever need is to cast a level 9 spell from a scroll, which is 20+17. Am I missing ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Can awakened mind be used with suggestion?

Can the warlock class feature "awakened mind" be used in conjunction with the suggestion spell, allowing the warlock to make the suggestion telepathically? Awakened Mind, Player's Handbook p. 110: ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Warlock's Universal Spell Slot Problems

My DM does not believe that you can use a warlock's spell slots to cast other casting classes' spells at your warlock spell slot level except via the feat Magic Initiate. How can I convince them that ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Expanded spell lists and when you can choose them

In D&D 5e, for the expanded spell list of the warlock granted by their patron, I can choose from those spells or the spell list for the warlock. So my question is for the expanded spells, do you ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a warlock with the UA Moon Bow invocation use the created bow to fire magic ammunition?

The Moon Bow eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) allows you to go around without ever carrying a weapon or ammunition. You can summon your bow as an action, ...
2
votes
3answers
5k views

Why choose Mass Suggestion over Suggestion?

The Warlock has limited high level spell casting capability due to the Mystic Arcanum feature. The Warlock can choose 1, and cannot change, spell of level 6 to cast once per long rest. Mystic ...
-2
votes
1answer
3k views

Expanded Spell Slots

What exactly are Expanded Spell Slots. Do they effect spells known? I'm very new to D&D, and I am unsure what it means. I did look in the PHB, and found this: The Warlock table shows how many ...
5
votes
2answers
18k views

What is the expanded spell list for warlocks?

I'm playing a warlock in 5e. I've been peeking through Google, but have found contradicting answers. What IS the Expanded Spell List? Is it a second spell list? Is it just spells I can get just like ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Dark Arts Archlich warlock patrons's Arcane Invisibility activate every time you cast a level 1+ spell?

The Dark Arts Archlich Patron for Warlock says that: Arcane Invisibility At 1st level, when you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher, you and all that you are wearing or carrying ...
5
votes
1answer
6k views

Optimize this Scourge Aasimar Great Old One Blade Pact Warlock

I am about to start an Adventurers League game, so point buy and only published material are available. Since Volo's Guide to Monsters has been printed and made legal, I am using a Scourge Aasimar (...
24
votes
4answers
17k views

How to handle a warlock with the detect magic invocation?

My group has a warlock that took the eldritch invocation eldritch sight which allows them to cast it without consuming a spell slot. This is causing some concern for me as the DM as I currently have ...
10
votes
4answers
1k views

Can you use the speed reduction of the Curse Bringer invocation without using a spellslot?

The latest unearthed arcana has two invocations of similar features. The Curse Bringer and the Mace of Dispater, the latter dealing force damage instead of slashing and knocking the target prone ...
14
votes
2answers
13k views

Does Warlock Invocation Kiss of Mephistopheles require you to know the Fireball spell?

The latest Unearthed Arcana shows the following addition: Kiss of Mephistopheles Prerequisite: 5th level, the Fiend Patron, Eldritch Blast cantrip You can channel the fires of ...
12
votes
5answers
25k views

Is a Sprite the only Pact of the Chain familiar that loses their invisibility when used to deliver a touch spell?

So the Warlock Pact of the Chain says When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. (...
3
votes
2answers
328 views

What is the interaction between Chilling Tentacles and Repelling Blast?

Using my invisibility, I want to do the following: Set up Chilling Tentacles behind my enemies. Fire a Repelling Cone at my enemies to knock them through the Chilling Tentacles zone. I want to do it ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a warlock make a pact with a god?

Are there rules for a warlock making a pact with a chaotic, evil, or chaotic evil god?
1
vote
2answers
772 views

How does a Shadowcraft Mage's “Shadow Illusion” work with “Flee the Scene” major images?

I was looking at possible prestige classes for my Warlock, and I thought I may have come across a really fun combo: Shadowcraft Mage + Flee the Scene If I am reading this right, I would eventually ...
3
votes
4answers
429 views

Still gain the benefits of rest if drugged?

If PCs are drugged and fall unconscious, does the period they are out count as a short rest? Would a warlock regain their spell slots?
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation see both the true form and the illusionary or transmuted form?

The Witch Sight warlock invocation reads: You can see the true form of any shapechanger or creature concealed by illusion or transmutation magic while the creature is within 30 feet of you and ...
3
votes
2answers
706 views

How does Quicken Spell-Like Ability work with shape/essence modifiers?

Warlocks can take quicken spell-like ability: eldritch blast (MM p.304) at 10th level (really 12th level due to feats from level progression). And from everything I've read, modifiers on eldritch ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Do multiple hits of Repelling Blast happen simultaneously or in succession?

A 5th level Warlock casts Repelling Blast, firing 2 beams at the same target. The first one hits, pushing the target back 10 feet. Does the second attack roll come before or after the target is ...
8
votes
3answers
355 views

Are eldritch blasts with essences applied considered different abilities with regard to metamagic feats?

I've been searching and searching, and I cannot find a clear answer to this question: If I take Maximize Spell-Like Ability and apply it to "Eldritch Blast," giving me 3 casts per day of maximized "...
4
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a warlock attune both a Rod of the Pact Keeper +1 and a Rod of the Pact Keeper +2?

A warlock character has a Rod of the Pact Keeper +1 and a Rod of the Pact Keeper +2: can they attune to the two rods, since one is a +1 and the other a +2? If they can attune to both rods, can they ...
7
votes
1answer
5k views

Does the Warlock spell Hex require you to make an attack roll for the curse to land on its target?

I understand that a target that is affected by Hex takes an additional 1d6 necrotic damage from attacks. Warlocks that use Eldritch Blast would deal 1d10 + 1d6 at level 1. To cast Hex as your bonus ...
2
votes
2answers
149 views

Can a warlock cast Dark Foresight on multiple targets?

I was looking at Dark Foresight, and I don't see any restrictions on targeting like I do with the Charm invocation. Therefore, it occurred to me -- can a warlock therefore keep Dark Foresight going ...
6
votes
1answer
909 views

Can Warlocks choose the level effectiveness of Eldritch Blasts?

Can a Warlock as defined in D&D 3.5 Complete Arcane choose to use a reduced-power eldritch blast? Meaning if there is a level 5 warlock, will its eldritch blast always do 3d6 max caster level, or ...
0
votes
1answer
18k views

Build for Paladin and warlock multiclass [closed]

I am trying to find out how to best do what I want with this character, playing in Adventure League games. Multi Classing Decision I am about to hit level 5 in our campaign. After doing some ...