Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
2answers
3k views

At what level is the Pact of the Chain spell, Find Familiar, cast by a Warlock?

In a detail that came up as I asked this question I'd like to know how Find Familiar works for a Warlock who casts spells at levels above first level. Pact of the Chain You learn the find ...
8
votes
3answers
6k views

Warlocks and the Ring of Spell Storing: how do you fill it up?

The Warlock casts spells at one given level. Spell Slots(PHB p.107) The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. {snip} ... when you are 5th ...
11
votes
2answers
41k views

Additional resources for Great Old Ones

I'm new to D&D and am playing a warlock character with the Great Old One as a patron. I'm a bit disappointed at the lack of flavour that is available in the PHB regarding this and was wondering if ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

What skills besides Perception and Stealth can a warlock's familiar use?

Having a highly intelligent familiar in D&D 5e, I noticed that sprites have higher intelligence and wisdom than my character, and obviously can do a better job on analysis or insight rolls. ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a pact of the blade warlock's pact weapon metal?

This came up in our last session. My pact of the blade warlock summoned a longsword to fight a grey ooze. Any nonmagical metal or wood that touches an ooze is corroded. According to the PHB, The pact ...
14
votes
2answers
11k views

If a warlock's invocation states that they can use a spell without a slot does that mean they can cast the spell as often as they want?

On page 111 of the 5E hand book the invocations Misty Visions, Mask of Many Faces, Master of Myriad Forms, and Otherworldly Leap all they that you can cast them without expending a spell slot. Does ...
5
votes
1answer
7k views

Does a cantrip count as a spell when referred to as a warlock upgrade effect? [duplicate]

On page 107 of the DND 5E players handbook there is a labeled area called "Spells known of first level and higher", in this section it says "when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of ...
21
votes
3answers
17k views

Does a Warlock receive the benefit of their familiar's Magic Resistance trait?

The Warlock has access to special forms for their find familiar spell through the Pact of the Chain feature. I'm wondering if these special forms, the Quasit, Imp, and Pseudodragon in particular, ...
0
votes
1answer
137 views

DnD 3.5 Pacts with Demons question [closed]

Was wondering. Is it possible to "buy" your pact from a demon to not go to abyss. If yes...what would be the price? and what are the consequences of that? Losing power or you can keep it? did any ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you choose a different ability for Hex when changing its target?

As a corollary to "Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?," is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a ...
8
votes
2answers
856 views

Does reapplying Hex have any spell components?

Casting Hex requires a verbal, somatic, and material component. For the duration (1/8/24 hours), if something dies while hexed, I can use a bonus action to apply it to a different creature. Does ...
5
votes
2answers
907 views

Ways to improve a Warlock's counterspelling capabilities

How do I make counterspelling more efficient for a 3.5 Warlock? I've looked over a few caster builds for counterspelling; however not much seems useful/useable for a Warlock. We are jumping into ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Do I add the Warlock's “Cantrips Known” number to what I already know each level?

When I as a Warlock get to level 3, do I still only have 2 cantrips, or do I have 6? Looking at the table on page 106 of the PHB, will I only have 4 cantrips known from Warlock levels at 20th level? ...
1
vote
0answers
77 views

What happens when you swap out a required feature to get into a PrC? [duplicate]

Say a Human Warlock-6/Mindbender-1 was to gain another level in Warlock and decided to swap out his Charm invocation (required for Mindbender entry) for the Flee the Scene invocation. Is this a legal ...
8
votes
3answers
11k views

What are the consequences of denying Quickened Eldritch Blasts?

A follow up to Can you use Quickened Spell to cast cantrips? (and asked in the spirit of this question and this question), a L18 Sorcerer/L2 Warlock has 18 Sorcery points, and "recovers" 2 (so to ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
2
votes
0answers
1k views

How's my Warlock and Endgame Plan? [closed]

My race is Variant Human with the Actor perk and 20 Charisma, and I’m proficient in Arcana, Persuasion, Intimidation, Deception and Sleight of Hand. My Patron is a Great Old One and at level 3 I’m ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Does “Spare the Dying” eat up a Warlock cantrip slot?

The Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, for the Undying Otherworldly (Warlock) Patron, on page 139 explicitly says Starting at 1st level, you learn the Spare the Dying cantrip, which counts as a ...
5
votes
3answers
801 views

How to compare hit % and damage between 1 attack vs 4 attacks with disadvantage?

Quite a few scenarios here, wish my AnyDice fu were up to par—if it's too much, no need to cover all of them, just the most representative, so I can figure out the rest. For the given character ...
14
votes
5answers
64k views

Is a Pact of the Chain Warlock's quasit familiar really this effective as a spy?

One of my players has a Warlock with the Pact of the Chain. This PC has a quasit familiar. If we are applying the rules correctly… Pact of the Chain You learn the find familiar spell and can ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

How to roleplay a MC warlock? [closed]

The story I've devised for my char is that he started searching for certain answers in "forbidden lore" (to quote the PHB), struck a pact with a Fiend, but after a while, realised the Fiend couldn't ...
10
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a Warlock take an Eldritch Invocation twice?

When I reach 2nd-level on my Warlock, I gain two Invocations of my choice. I can't choose both to be Agonizing Blast, can I? Or say this is possible, would this then cause two separate instance of ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Pact of Chain Sprite familiar create poisons?

The Monster Manual says this of Sprites: Poison Brewers. In their forest domains, sprites brew toxins, unguents, antidotes, and poisons , including the sleep poison with which they coat their ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Should I have to roll to copy a spell into my Book of Ancient Secrets?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PH p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if ...
2
votes
1answer
796 views

What would the character-optimization consequences be of using the “one-step” rule for Warlock alignment?

Although the source material for the Warlock class in D&D 3.5e makes no specification on what alignment a Warlock must be (and explicitly mentions Good-aligned warlocks more than once), it is not ...
2
votes
3answers
13k views

Decent Dual Wield Blade Pact Warlock

I'm trying to build a dual wielding warlock. I'm thinking: Fighter 1 Armor skills Two weapon fighting Warlock 1-19 Fiend Pact of the Blade (duh.) Max DEX and CHA Talking my DM into letting me ...
19
votes
2answers
10k views

Does a Pearl of Power cease to help a Warlock once they level above level 6?

We have a warlock in our party that has a Pearl of Power. Since a Pearl of Power restores one spell slot of level 1 to level 3 only, it would seem to become useless to a pure Warlock caster that ...
8
votes
4answers
9k views

Does the invisibility from the warlock's “One with Shadows” Eldritch Invocation end if the area of darkness you're in becomes lit?

Warlocks get access to the following Eldritch Invocation at 5th level: When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an ...
5
votes
1answer
6k views

If a Warlock's “Repelling Blast” hits an enemy engaged with an ally, does that ally get an attack of opportunity from it moving away? [duplicate]

Example: Fighter is engaged in melee combat with enemy. Warlock uses eldrich blast with "Repelling Blast" invocation. The enemy is pushed 10 ft. away. Is that creature no longer engaged in combat with ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

How does Hurl Through Hell work in Mechanus?

The variant rule for Mechanus states that all rolls made there are automatically the average. However, what happens when a Fiend Pact Warlock uses their Hurl Through Hell feature there? Can they not ...
9
votes
1answer
8k views

Is a Warlock Eldritch Blast/Invocation use unlimited?

A Bit of background. I've decided to roll up a Warlock NPC as one of the final bosses for my campaign using the class from Complete Arcane since it fits in with some of the underlying themes and ...
4
votes
1answer
914 views

Would Suggestion trigger beguiling defenses, and if so what happens?

Considering Suggestion isn't technically a charm, but that those who are immune to charms are immune to its effects, does it logically follow that a Warlock could turn suggestion back on the caster? ...
10
votes
2answers
6k views

Does Mystic Arcanum take up a spells known slot?

For levels where you get a new mystic arcanum, the warlock leveling table also shows that you get one more spell known. Are they the same spell, or is the spell you get from mystic arcanum a different ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Fey Presence affect ALL creatures in the area?

Can warlocks choose who is affected by fey presence, or does it automatically affect everyone in the 10-ft cube? I assume it to be like Presence in Vampire the Masquerade. The wording is: "...As an ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

What's the best way to re-build this 3.5 Warlock in Pathfinder?

Due to a friendly change in GM, I have a mostly-vanilla 3.5 Warlock that needs conversion to Pathfinder, preferably using Paizo-published materials. Key Abilities Constant flight (perfect ...
3
votes
1answer
14k views

Do multiple sources of Temporary Hit Points combine or do you only get one set? [duplicate]

So I have a question about a warlocks temporary hit points. Say you cast Armor of Agathys and false life. Do you have two separate pools of hit points or do you have to pick one of the two? by ...
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Are Blastlocks not Special?

I am making a character for D&D 5e and I am thinking about playing an Abjurer Eldritch Knight with a dip of Warlock for some refluffed flavor, out of combat utility, in combat utility, and I just ...
4
votes
1answer
5k views

Eldritch Knight/Warlock multiclass spellcasting

If a Fighter 3 (Eldritch Knight) levels up as a Warlock for the rest of the way to 20, making him an 18th level caster according to the multiclass spell slot table provided, would he in turn be able ...
14
votes
4answers
10k views

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn't even take a bonus action, is there anything in ...
13
votes
6answers
26k views

Does a Warlock's pact with a Fiend always involve the transfer of his immortal soul?

Is it possible to have a pact with a fiend that does not involve the fiend owning your soul? This came up in thinking about whether it would be complicated to raise a dead fiend-pact Warlock. If the ...
11
votes
4answers
1k views

How can I balance practical spells with RP spells?

I'm playing a warlock in our DnD 5e campaign. Near as I can tell, this is sort of specific to warlocks because they have so few spells known (correct me if I am wrong). Either way, I still have a ...
16
votes
4answers
5k views

Warlock/Cleric: Would the Fiend and a God Get Along?

So I have a character in the Forgotten Realms, Orryn, who is a Gnome whose village was burnt down, who forged a pact with a pit fiend to gain Warlock powers. This was all to avenge his people and he ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Hex stack with (each) Scorching Ray?

If I use Hex (PHB p251) on a target and then hit it with all three rays making up Scorching Ray (PHB p273), do I add the extra 1d6 necrotic damage to EACH ray that hits, or do I only add a single 1d6 ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

How many spells does a level 3 Tiefling Warlock have?

Tried reading through the PHB, and every post here, but no luck! I'm a level 3 Tiefling Warlock and so: Infernal Legacy says I know the Thaumaturgy cantrip. My Otherworldly Patron is Fiend and "the ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Adding followers to my Warlock's patron

Context I'm playing a level 6 Warlock, my patron is Cthulhu (old god). I am a fan of Lovecraftian style horror, and I'd like to incorporate some of these themes in my quest. My personal quest is to ...
5
votes
3answers
882 views

How would I go about making a magic item from a Least Warlock Invocation?

I have a vested interest in getting Wild Empathy without anything from class or race, the added bonus of being able to speak to animals is pretty handy as well. What would be the cost for a custom ...
5
votes
1answer
20k views

Dark One's Blessing/Temp HP confusion?

As a warlock with the Fiend pact you gain Dark One's Blessing: Starting at 1st level, when you reduce a hostile creature to 0 hit points, you gain temporary hit points equal to your Charisma ...
8
votes
2answers
11k views

Dark One's Blessing and Armor of Agathys Synergy? [duplicate]

Recently, I played a warlock in a 5e one-shot. We were playing at level 7 and I was a blade/fiend warlock. I have as a Fiend Warlock a skill called "Dark One's Blessing" which is described thus: ...
8
votes
3answers
28k views

Interpretation of at-will spells in 5e

Throughout the D&D 5e player's handbook, particularly in the Warlock Invocations, there are abilities that allow the player to cast specific spells "at will, without consuming a spell slot." ...
21
votes
2answers
9k views

What happens if the entity a warlock has a pact with is killed?

Fiends and Archfey could be killed by a rival trying to usurp their power. If this is not covered in the 5e RAW, is there a good resource from another edition that could be helpful in determining how ...