Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
98 votes
6 answers
19k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
SorcererQzot's user avatar
  • 2,055
77 votes
11 answers
203k views

Does Warlock combat just equal Eldritch Blast spam?

Been looking over the warlock because I thought it would be cool to make a spellcaster that can also mix it up in melee combat. After all how awesome is it to conjure up a magical weapon and start ...
Chryckan's user avatar
  • 4,298
69 votes
1 answer
126k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
Bradd Szonye's user avatar
  • 9,246
62 votes
4 answers
19k views

Are Imps incapable of speech or is my DM messing with me?

So, I am new to DnD and have been having a conversation with my DM about restrictions she is putting on my Warlock (pact of the chain), such as limiting my short rests to only one per day to restrict ...
Wightstone's user avatar
60 votes
6 answers
28k views

How can I persuade my DM to play my warlock's patron in a way that respects my character's concept?

I'm interested in playing a witch character in a D&D 5e game. The things I want to emphasize in playing a witch are the importance of family, in particular the bond of sisterhood, and that a ...
A. Foster's user avatar
  • 4,713
49 votes
7 answers
34k views

Is Hunger of Hadar seriously overpowered or am I reading it wrong?

I'm not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar, the thing that I think makes it overpowered is the this line. creatures fully within the area are ...
Duck's user avatar
  • 1,715
49 votes
8 answers
114k views

Is the Warlock's Awakened Mind telepathy two-way, or only one-way?

When warlock chooses a pact with The Great Old One, he gains a feature called Awakened Mind (Player's Handbook, p. 110): Starting at 1st level, your alien knowledge gives you the ability to touch ...
Lech Osiński's user avatar
48 votes
7 answers
91k views

Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam?

Warlocks can take the following invocation: Repelling Blast Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away from you in ...
SirTechSpec's user avatar
  • 16.3k
46 votes
5 answers
10k views

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Situation: I am playing a Hexblade Warlock. With the willing participation of another party member, my character slays the party member. Having killed a character, the hexblade can cause their spirit ...
Ithica Hawk's user avatar
44 votes
1 answer
13k views

What do Unicorns want?

I am making a Celestial Warlock who has made a pact with a particularly powerful Unicorn, as suggested in XgtE. One thing I want to do is flesh out the pact and my patron, but I am struggling to find ...
SeriousBri's user avatar
40 votes
3 answers
6k views

When did Warlocks make their first appearance in D&D and how do they differ between editions?

I'm gathering lore about Warlock class origins in D&D. A quality answer would have more than just a release date, and would ideally cover what makes each edition's version different from other ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
37 votes
7 answers
7k views

How can I get better at identifying the "right time" to use my spell slots?

I've played a bunch of DnD 5e, but my current campaign is my first time playing a Warlock outside of a one-shot; right now I'm almost to level 5. I'm playing more of a face/roleplay-focused role, so ...
Lux's user avatar
  • 489
37 votes
2 answers
7k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
TheCentaur's user avatar
  • 1,562
36 votes
7 answers
29k views

My warlock is blowing all their spell slots on the easy fights, making the hard fights harder for the party. What do I do?

I have a player that uses their Warlock spell slots a lot. While this is not necessarily a bad thing (they are there to be used), they are effectively expending all of their spell slots on the first ...
Ben's user avatar
  • 23.1k
36 votes
4 answers
8k views

What happens if a creature is killed between its attack and damage rolls

Came across a scenario that’s a little odd: A creature hits a character with an attack. The character has an ability that deals damage when he is hit. Based on other rulings the damage from the ...
Zephirum's user avatar
  • 387
36 votes
4 answers
13k views

What happens if the entity a warlock has a pact with is killed?

Fiends and Archfey could be killed by a rival trying to usurp their power. If this is not covered in the 5e RAW, is there a good resource from another edition that could be helpful in determining how ...
adclark09's user avatar
  • 1,104
35 votes
3 answers
8k views

Is it possible to rest underwater if you can breathe underwater?

I'm looking at the new Warlock eldritch invocations of XGTE, and the invocation Gift of the Depths gained my curiosity. The eldritch invocation Gift of the Depths states that you can breathe ...
Inferno IV's user avatar
  • 1,485
35 votes
2 answers
93k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
Dyndrilliac's user avatar
30 votes
3 answers
4k views

Would Great Old Ones care about the Blood War?

I've been wanting to play a Great Old One Warlock, but my table is about to start Descent Into Avernus. My thoughts to tie it in is that the GOO has taken notice of what's going on in the Nine Hells ...
RyanFromGDSE's user avatar
  • 5,307
30 votes
2 answers
22k views

Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat transcribe or cast spells from each other's books?

How compatible are the spellbook used by a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient ...
Sebkha's user avatar
  • 12.1k
29 votes
6 answers
43k views

Can a warlock use Pact of the Blade to restructure a magical pact weapon into a different form?

I don't have the exact text, but I'm going to be running a Fey Warlock for an upcoming campaign. I remember this for Pact of the Blade at level 3: You may create your pact weapon in any form you wish, ...
K.Niemczyk's user avatar
  • 1,381
29 votes
3 answers
29k views

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer. Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
29 votes
2 answers
10k views

How powerful is a fiend entering into a pact with a warlock?

I have a warlock PC, who has left the nature of their pact fuzzy, and I'm going to fill in the gaps to help drive the story along as necessary. How powerful does it make sense for the fiend to be? ...
Matt McF's user avatar
  • 583
28 votes
4 answers
31k views

How to handle a warlock with the detect magic invocation?

My group has a warlock that took the eldritch invocation eldritch sight which allows them to cast it without consuming a spell slot. This is causing some concern for me as the DM as I currently have ...
DM Patman's user avatar
  • 1,971
28 votes
4 answers
38k views

Can a patron revoke a warlock's powers?

I would like to know whether a warlock can directly confront his patron without risking to lose his powers. And generally in which case the patron is allowed can take his "gift" back. I've tries ...
kvoki's user avatar
  • 2,910
27 votes
3 answers
6k views

Can a Wild Magic Barbarian restore a 7th(+) Level Warlock's spell slots?

In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature 'Bolstering Magic'. This feature has two ...
Willibrord's user avatar
27 votes
4 answers
8k views

What is a good way to challenge a Warlock with the Agonizing Blast invocation?

In my session I have a Warlock with a Charisma score of 20 that's been using the Eldritch Blast spell with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation to rather spectacular results, decimating everything ...
Andrendire's user avatar
  • 11.8k
27 votes
2 answers
62k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.6k
27 votes
2 answers
32k views

Does a Pearl of Power cease to help a Warlock once they level above level 6?

We have a warlock in our party that has a Pearl of Power. Since a Pearl of Power restores one spell slot of level 1 to level 3 only, it would seem to become useless to a pure Warlock caster that ...
Bryant Hanson's user avatar
27 votes
4 answers
6k views

Can a weapon form of the Rod of Lordly Might be considered a pact weapon?

I've got a character in my campaign who was lucky enough to snag a Rod of Lordly Might. The snag is that she's a Hexblade Warlock, and she wants to use the Hex Warrior ability on the rod (basically ...
Σ of eDπ's user avatar
  • 3,024
27 votes
2 answers
8k views

Can a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation add unintelligible spell scrolls to their book?

Can a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation copy spells from a spell scroll from another class' spell list? For example: could a level three warlock copy a spell scroll of ...
plerpsandplerps's user avatar
27 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can I have a magic bow as my pact weapon without getting the Improved Pact Weapon Eldritch Invocation?

The Warlock's Pact of the Blade feature specifies that you can only create melee weapons, but you can also turn a magic weapon into your pact weapon (without specifying that it's only melee weapons). ...
João Grando's user avatar
  • 1,885
27 votes
1 answer
8k views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Abjuration Wizard with Armor of Shadows repeatedly cast Mage Armor to recharge Arcane Ward?

The warlock's Armor of Shadows eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 110) says: You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components. The School of Abjuration ...
Dumpcats's user avatar
  • 6,624
26 votes
3 answers
19k views

Does the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature let me add my Cha bonus to attack/damage rolls with a two-handed pact weapon?

The Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature says (emphasis mine): Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When ...
Voromir Kadien's user avatar
26 votes
6 answers
114k views

Optimizing Pact of the Blade’s ability to conjure any weapon

At level 3, warlocks gain the Pact Boon feature, and one of the options is Pact of the Blade. One of the benefits of the warlock’s Pact of the Blade is the ability to conjure any melee weapon the ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
26 votes
1 answer
27k views

Hand Crossbow as Warlock Pact Weapon?

I have an idea for a DnD 5e (PHB-only) Warlock that takes a hand crossbow as his pact weapon. Here are my clarifications and assumptions: Race: Drow Elf (proficient in hand crossbows) Class: Warlock,...
Eldritch Arbalest's user avatar
25 votes
7 answers
7k views

How do I go about convincing my DM that their ruling about my familiar is a bit harsh?

Last session, my DM ruled that my imp cannot help me perform checks (in this instance I was trying to have my little guy help me pick through some dead guards' pockets) because he deemed that giving ...
Blackthorne's user avatar
25 votes
2 answers
80k views

What are the benefits of Pact Weapons?

I just started D&D 5E through Adventurers League. I'm only at level 2 but see at level 3 I'll be picking a Pact Boon, one of which is Pact of the Blade. Pact of the Blade states: You can use ...
RyanFromGDSE's user avatar
  • 5,307
25 votes
2 answers
6k views

When a Book of Shadows is replaced due to loss, are rituals that were inscribed in it lost?

While reading through Player's Handbook 5-th edition Warlock class, I found this paragraph: If you lose your Book of Shadows, you can perform a 1-hour ceremony to receive a replacement from your ...
DM Nailz's user avatar
  • 1,131
25 votes
4 answers
3k views

How aware are characters of their class in-universe? [closed]

I'm building a character who is a Warlock. His patron is a great old one, which does not (initially) communicate directly. Instead, it gives the character urges and dreams, prompting him towards a ...
Erik S's user avatar
  • 343
25 votes
2 answers
44k views

Does a Warlock receive the benefit of their familiar's Magic Resistance trait?

The Warlock has access to special forms for their find familiar spell through the Pact of the Chain feature. I'm wondering if these special forms, the Quasit, Imp, and Pseudodragon in particular, ...
FREE99's user avatar
  • 1,232
24 votes
5 answers
94k views

Is Alter Self strictly better than Disguise Self as at-will invocations?

PHB Page 211, Alter Self You assume a different form. When you cast the spell, choose one of the following options, the effects of which last for the duration of the spell. While the spell lasts, you ...
Dyndrilliac's user avatar
24 votes
5 answers
84k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
Wyznmurl's user avatar
  • 817
24 votes
2 answers
10k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
Joshu's Mu's user avatar
  • 1,998
24 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?

I am playing a Fiend-patron warlock. A vampire has charmed my fighter buddy and I wish to use my Hurl Through Hell feature to make the vampire briefly go to the lower planes, resulting in the charm ...
Maiko Chikyu's user avatar
  • 20.9k
24 votes
3 answers
41k views

Should I just assume that a Warlock with the Fiendish Vigor invocation starts every combat with 8 temporary hp?

Warlocks have access to this invocation: Fiendish Vigor You can cast false life on yourself at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. False Life is a 1 ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 211k
24 votes
1 answer
5k views

At which levels, if any, can a Warlock use a Spell Scroll of 6th Level or Higher?

Suppose for the sake of argument a Warlock of indeterminate level finds a scroll of plane shift. Plane shift is indicated as being on the Warlock's spell list [PHB, pg 210: Warlock Spells], so would ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.6k
23 votes
3 answers
47k views

How do the damage from the Hexblade’s Curse feature and the Hex and Bestow Curse spells interact/stack with one another?

Hex requires concentration, while bestow curse at a high level and Hexblade’s Curse do not. This allows all three things to stack. Hex deals damage whenever an attack hits Bestow curse deals damage ...
Shenyu Lin's user avatar
  • 1,262
23 votes
4 answers
25k views

Are the "fine inks" a wizard needs to copy a spell the same as the "rare inks" a warlock needs to copy a ritual?

The Book of Ancient Secrets Eldritch Invocation says that a Warlock can add ritual spells to his book of Shadows, and that this requires 50 gp worth of rare inks per spell level. A wizard can copy ...
PurpleVermont's user avatar
23 votes
3 answers
3k views

Take 2! Is this homebrew Lady of Pain warlock patron balanced?

A little while ago I posted this homebrew Patron option here. I got some great feedback and have returned not only with an update but also with some homebrew Invocations that support the overall ...
user53882's user avatar
  • 673

1
2 3 4 5
18