Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
80
votes
7answers
13k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
62
votes
11answers
151k views

Does Warlock combat just equal Eldritch Blast spam?

Been looking over the warlock because I thought it would be cool to make a spellcaster that can also mix it up in melee combat. After all how awesome is it to conjure up a magical weapon and start ...
58
votes
4answers
14k views

Are Imps incapable of speech or is my DM messing with me?

So, I am new to DnD and have been having a conversation with my DM about restrictions she is putting on my Warlock (pact of the chain), such as limiting my short rests to only one per day to restrict ...
56
votes
1answer
90k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
49
votes
6answers
20k views

How can I persuade my DM to play my warlock's patron in a way that respects my character's concept?

I'm interested in playing a witch character in a D&D 5e game. The things I want to emphasize in playing a witch are the importance of family, in particular the bond of sisterhood, and that a ...
41
votes
1answer
7k views

What do Unicorns want?

I am making a Celestial Warlock who has made a pact with a particularly powerful Unicorn, as suggested in XgtE. One thing I want to do is flesh out the pact and my patron, but I am struggling to find ...
38
votes
8answers
66k views

Is the Warlock's Awakened Mind telepathy two-way, or only one-way?

When warlock chooses a pact with The Great Old One, he gains a feature called Awakened Mind: Starting at 1st level, your alien knowledge gives you the ability to touch the minds of other creatures....
38
votes
6answers
34k views

Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam?

Warlocks can take the following invocation: Repelling Blast Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away ...
37
votes
4answers
20k views

Is Hunger of Hadar seriously overpowered or am I reading it wrong?

I'm not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar, the thing that I think makes it overpowered is the this line. creatures fully within the area are ...
37
votes
4answers
7k views

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Situation: I am playing a Hexblade Warlock. With the willing participation of another party member, my character slays the party member. Having killed a character, the hexblade can cause their spirit ...
35
votes
7answers
25k views

My warlock is blowing all their spell slots on the easy fights, making the hard fights harder for the party. What do I do?

I have a player that uses their Warlock spell slots a lot. While this is not necessarily a bad thing (they are there to be used), they are effectively expending all of their spell slots on the first ...
35
votes
3answers
6k views

Is it possible to rest underwater if you can breathe underwater?

I'm looking at the new Warlock eldritch invocations of XGTE, and the invocation Gift of the Depths gained my curiosity. The eldritch invocation Gift of the Depths states that you can breathe ...
32
votes
4answers
6k views

What happens if a creature is killed between its attack and damage rolls

Came across a scenario that’s a little odd: A creature hits a character with an attack. The character has an ability that deals damage when he is hit. Based on other rulings the damage from the ...
31
votes
2answers
48k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
31
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
30
votes
3answers
3k views

Would Great Old Ones care about the Blood War?

I've been wanting to play a Great Old One Warlock, but my table is about to start Descent Into Avernus. My thoughts to tie it in is that the GOO has taken notice of what's going on in the Nine Hells ...
28
votes
2answers
8k views

How powerful is a fiend entering into a pact with a warlock?

I have a warlock PC, who has left the nature of their pact fuzzy, and I'm going to fill in the gaps to help drive the story along as necessary. How powerful does it make sense for the fiend to be? ...
27
votes
3answers
12k views

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer. Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a ...
25
votes
4answers
22k views

Can a patron revoke a warlock's powers?

I would like to know whether a warlock can directly confront his patron without risking to lose his powers. And generally in which case the patron is allowed can take his "gift" back. I've tries ...
25
votes
4answers
2k views

How aware are characters of their class in-universe? [closed]

I'm building a character who is a Warlock. His patron is a great old one, which does not (initially) communicate directly. Instead, it gives the character urges and dreams, prompting him towards a ...
24
votes
4answers
18k views

How to handle a warlock with the detect magic invocation?

My group has a warlock that took the eldritch invocation eldritch sight which allows them to cast it without consuming a spell slot. This is causing some concern for me as the DM as I currently have ...
24
votes
3answers
20k views

Does a Warlock receive the benefit of their familiar's Magic Resistance trait?

The Warlock has access to special forms for their find familiar spell through the Pact of the Chain feature. I'm wondering if these special forms, the Quasit, Imp, and Pseudodragon in particular, ...
23
votes
7answers
24k views

Can a warlock use Pact of the Blade to restructure a magical pact weapon into a different form?

I don't have the exact text, but I'm going to be running a Fey Warlock for an upcoming campaign. I remember this for Pact of the Blade at level 3: You may create your pact weapon in any form you wish, ...
23
votes
2answers
52k views

What are the benefits of Pact Weapons?

I just started D&D 5E through Adventurers League. I'm only at level 2 but see at level 3 I'll be picking a Pact Boon, one of which is Pact of the Blade. Pact of the Blade states: You can use ...
23
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?

I am playing a Fiend-patron warlock. A vampire has charmed my fighter buddy and I wish to use my Hurl Through Hell feature to make the vampire briefly go to the lower planes, resulting in the charm ...
23
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Abjuration Wizard with Armor of Shadows repeatedly cast Mage Armor to recharge Arcane Ward?

The warlock's Armor of Shadows eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 110) says: You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components. The School of Abjuration ...
22
votes
6answers
5k views

Am I allowed to determine tenets of my contract as a warlock?

A friend of mine invited me to a short campaign. I chose to play as a Hexblade warlock since I thought that it would be interesting to have a sentient weapon as a patron. As part of my character I ...
22
votes
3answers
26k views

Hexblade’s Curse, Hex and Bestow Curse stacking

Hex requires concentration while bestow curse at a high level and hexblade’s curse do not. This allows all three things to stack. Hex deals damage whenever an attack hits Bestow Curse deals damage ...
22
votes
2answers
22k views

Should I just assume that a Warlock with the Fiendish Vigor invocation starts every combat with 8 temporary hp?

Warlocks have access to this invocation: Fiendish Vigor You can cast false life on yourself at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. False Life ...
22
votes
2answers
15k views

Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat use spells from each other's books?

How compatible are the spellbook used a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets ...
22
votes
1answer
13k views

Hand Crossbow as Warlock Pact Weapon?

I have an idea for a DnD 5e (PHB-only) Warlock that takes a hand crossbow as his pact weapon. Here are my clarifications and assumptions: Race: Drow Elf (proficient in hand crossbows) Class: Warlock,...
22
votes
3answers
51k views

Optimizing Pact of the Blade’s ability to conjure any weapon

At level 3, warlocks gain the Pact Boon feature, and one of the options is Pact of the Blade. One of the benefits of the warlock’s Pact of the Blade is the ability to conjure any melee weapon the ...
21
votes
3answers
6k views

How can a level 20 warlock cast Magic Jar?

An evil warlock has killed all but two of the party. He then proceeded to trap the party wizard, and cast Magic Jar on her to trap her in a sacred jewel that the other party member, a paladin, is ...
21
votes
4answers
3k views

What is a good way to challenge a Warlock with the Agonizing Blast invocation?

In my session I have a Warlock with a Charisma score of 20 that's been using the Eldritch Blast spell with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation to rather spectacular results, decimating everything ...
21
votes
4answers
4k views

Heavy Crossbow vs (unmodded) 5th level Eldritch Blast, which would be more reliable?

Which of these two would be more reliable at least in terms of consistently dealing damage? I'm not going to take the Agonizing Blast Invocation because I'm planning to take other Invocations, so I ...
21
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
21
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a weapon form of the Rod of Lordly Might be considered a pact weapon?

I've got a character in my campaign who was lucky enough to snag a Rod of Lordly Might. The snag is that she's a Hexblade Warlock, and she wants to use the Hex Warrior ability on the rod (basically ...
21
votes
3answers
3k views

When a Book of Shadows is replaced due to loss, are rituals that were inscribed in it lost?

While reading through Player's Handbook 5-th edition Warlock class, I found this paragraph: If you lose your Book of Shadows, you can perform a 1-hour ceremony to receive a replacement from your ...
21
votes
2answers
5k views

Can a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation add unintelligible spell scrolls to their book?

Can a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation copy spells from a spell scroll from another class' spell list? For example: could a level three warlock copy a spell scroll of ...
21
votes
2answers
10k views

Multiclass Warlock/Wizard: Can I use Int as spellcasting ability for Pact Magic slots? [duplicate]

I would really love to play wizard/warlock multiclass with low charisma (just 13 for mutliclass). The handbook says that I can use Pact Magic slots to cast wizard spells, but doesn't specify which ...
21
votes
2answers
9k views

What happens if the entity a warlock has a pact with is killed?

Fiends and Archfey could be killed by a rival trying to usurp their power. If this is not covered in the 5e RAW, is there a good resource from another edition that could be helpful in determining how ...
21
votes
2answers
63k views

Optimal Dragonborn Warlock for DPR/AC with Blade pact and Fiend patron

How can I get the highest Damage-Per-Round (both melee and ranged using pact weapon and Eldritch Blast) and AC possible (with DPR being more important than AC) with a Dragonborn Warlock taking the ...
20
votes
4answers
9k views

Are the “fine inks” a wizard needs to copy a spell the same as the “rare inks” a warlock needs to copy a ritual?

The Book of Ancient Secrets Eldritch Invocation says that a Warlock can add ritual spells to his book of Shadows, and that this requires 50 gp worth of rare inks per spell level. A wizard can copy ...
20
votes
1answer
4k views

Is it possible to “charge up” a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

So according to the wonders of multiclassing, it is possible to take levels in both Sorcerer (granting us sorcery points) and Warlock (giving us Pact Magic) which creates the handy combo of turning ...
20
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a multiclassed warlock expend a Spellcasting spell slot of a non-warlock class to use the Eldritch Smite invocation?

Can a multiclassed Warlock use a spell slot from the Spellcasting feature of a non-Warlock class to perform Eldritch Smites? Eldritch Smite says: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

Can high level Eldritch blast be used with War Caster?

The final test of the Warcaster Feat is the following The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only one creature. (PHB 170) The question I have is whether a spell like ...
20
votes
4answers
8k views

What can a creature affected by a Warlock's 'Hurl Through Hell' do?

A 14th level Warlock whose patron is a Fiend gains access to the Hurl Through Hell ability: Hurl Through Hell Starting at 14th level, when you hit a creature with an attack, you can use this ...
19
votes
8answers
6k views

How can I alter the appearance of my face at will without using a spell slot?

I am trying to create a Lucifer-type player character from the TV show Lucifer where he changes his face temporarily to his true (devil) face to scare and intimidate others. I would like to be able to ...
19
votes
4answers
6k views

Can a warlock teach a spell to a wizard?

My wizard is in a pinch and needs to learn a spell the party warlock knows. Can he teach me? Assume the spell belongs to both classes lists. If it makes any difference, you can assume he has pact of ...
19
votes
2answers
28k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...