Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
69 views

Is Eldritch Blast affected by antimagic field

I am working on a campaign in 3.5e and the big baddy is a hellfire warlock. When the players are going through the campaign I am guessing they will be around level 4 at this point. My question is, ...
6
votes
2answers
41k views

How much control do you have over a charmed creature from the Great Old One warlock's Create Thrall feature?

In the Great Old One branch of Warlock, there is a Create Thrall effect, which states that if I touch an incapacitated creature it becomes charmed toward me - but it describes nothing else about the ...
5
votes
1answer
176 views

Is there any way without multiclassing for a Warlock of the Fiend to learn the Blink spell?

As the title implies, I'm wondering if there is any way for a Warlock of the Fiend to learn the spell Blink preferably without multiclassing. I have some plans with the spell but as far as I have been ...
0
votes
0answers
116 views

Hunger of Hadar cast by two warlocks double the effects? [closed]

Hunger of Hadar reads: "The Void creates a warp in the fabric of space, and the area is difficult terrain. Any creature that starts its turn in the area takes 2d6 cold damage. Any creature that ends ...
6
votes
1answer
115 views

How does line of effect work with spells targeted through the Sentinel Raven's sight, from the UA Raven Queen warlock patron?

I'm playing a warlock in a D&D 5e campaign. I am playing a multiclassed Rogue 11/Warlock 1. For my one level in warlock, I chose the Raven Queen patron from Unearthed Arcana. According to the ...
22
votes
2answers
19k views

Should I just assume that a Warlock with the Fiendish Vigor invocation starts every combat with 8 temporary hp?

Warlocks have access to this invocation: Fiendish Vigor You can cast false life on yourself at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. False Life ...
15
votes
4answers
3k views

What do I lose by going Paladin 17 / Warlock 3, instead of taking 1 additional level or 1 fewer level in Warlock?

Background I have a 9th Level Oath of Redemption Scourge Aasimar Paladin. Due to the way the story has evolved, I will need to multiclass into warlock. My intention was to take levels 10, 11 and 12 ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Optimize this Scourge Aasimar Great Old One Blade Pact Warlock

I am about to start an Adventurers League game, so point buy and only published material are available. Since Volo's Guide to Monsters has been printed and made legal, I am using a Scourge Aasimar (...
15
votes
1answer
5k views

When a Warlock Invocation lets me cast a spell, do I also have to make it one of my Spells Known?

My friends and I are going to be starting another campaign in the near future. I've going to be playing as a Warlock and I was hoping to get some clarification on the use of the Eldritch Invocation ...
8
votes
1answer
491 views

If I have the Armor of Shadows Eldritch Invocation, do I know the Mage Armor spell? [duplicate]

The warlock's Eldritch Invocation "Armor of Shadows" says: You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components. Does this mean I know the spell? That ...
41
votes
1answer
6k views

What do Unicorns want?

I am making a Celestial Warlock who has made a pact with a particularly powerful Unicorn, as suggested in XgtE. One thing I want to do is flesh out the pact and my patron, but I am struggling to find ...
9
votes
2answers
711 views

Can a warlock shoot multiple beams from the Eldritch Blast cantrip with only a single free hand?

How do multiple beams of eldritch blast work with a Pact of the Blade weapon? When I, as warlock, have my Pact of the Blade rapier in one hand and cast multiple beams to hit either single or multiple ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a warlock with the UA Moon Bow invocation use the created bow to fire magic ammunition?

The Moon Bow eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) allows you to go around without ever carrying a weapon or ammunition. You can summon your bow as an action, ...
9
votes
2answers
280 views

Is the Warlock's Hexblade Curse unaffected by an Antimagic Field?

The Hexblade Warlock has the ability to convey a curse on a target with the Hexblade's Curse feature (XGtE, p. 55): Starting at 1st level, as a bonus action, choose one creature you can see within ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

When casting Eldritch Blast with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation, what do I add to my damage roll?

This is my first time playing a warlock and I'm still fairly new to tabletop games, so I could use guidance. I know that eldritch blast does 1d10 force damage, and by 17th level, it has four beams ...
0
votes
1answer
293 views

What is my average burst/nova melee damage and how do I calculate it?

I'm trying to figure out what my average burst/nova damage with this character would be (using a melee attack) but I'm at a loss for how to calculate all of it. Assume the target has an AC of 15 but ...
5
votes
1answer
203 views

Is there a saving throw against the Hex spell or the Hexblade's Curse feature?

The hex spell and the Hexblade's Curse feature don't list any saving throw in their descriptions. I would think that they would use a warlock's spell save DC and Charisma to save against it. Do hex ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Sharpshooter feat work on spells cast through a ranged weapon being used as a spellcasting focus?

I'm asking as a player: Does the Sharpshooter feat's 3rd clause (-5/+10) work on spells cast through a ranged weapon being used as a spellcasting focus? Specifically, does the Sharpshooter feat work ...
10
votes
5answers
14k views

Can a Pact of the Chain warlock's sprite familiar use the Help action and stay invisible?

According to the D&D 5th edition Player's Handbook, the description of the Help action in combat states (page 192; bolding made by me): You can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature ...
1
vote
1answer
169 views

Can a Tomelock swap the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation with itself upon level-up, and gain more than two ritual spells that way?

Eldritch Invocations (PHB, p. 107): ...Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the invocations you know and replace it with another invocation that you could learn ...
5
votes
2answers
189 views

Are Primal Spirits considered “fey” in terms of Warlock patrons?

I am trying to choose a patron for a grung warlock. I want to choose this creature as his patron, but I am not sure about its nature: is it fey or what? It is called a "Primal Spirit of the jungle" in ...
8
votes
2answers
412 views

Can the Grasp of Hadar invocation be used to interrupt a lethal fall?

Picture the following: Your party is engaged in battle on the edge of a wall of a cliff of sufficient height that a fall would be lethal. Suddenly one of your party members gets pushed over the edge. ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock turn a cursed magic weapon into your pact weapon to bypass the curse?

I would like to rid myself of a cursed weapon (whose curse includes the traditional "you may not unequip this weapon" aspect), but don't have access to Remove Curse. Can I turn the cursed weapon into ...
13
votes
2answers
513 views

What spells could a Bard identify from a Pact of the Tome Warlock's Book of Shadows?

A Bard in my group has expressed an interest in attempting to read a Warlock party member's Book of Shadows, and I'm trying to figure out what, if anything, they can get from it. I figure they can't ...
0
votes
0answers
14 views

Does The Great Old One's telepathy allows the receiver to respond? [duplicate]

At level 1, a warlock with Great Old One's pact receive Awakened Mind, which allow the warlock to telepathically speak with a creature that speaks at least one language. My question is if the ...
15
votes
4answers
3k views

How can a warlock learn from a spellbook?

I'm playing a 6th-level Tiefling Warlock in D&D 5e. On a recent journey, I acquired a spell book that has something to do with a slithering trapper. How do I add this to my list of spells?
22
votes
3answers
40k views

Optimizing Pact of the Blade’s ability to conjure any weapon

At level 3, warlocks gain the Pact Boon feature, and one of the options is Pact of the Blade. One of the benefits of the warlock’s Pact of the Blade is the ability to conjure any melee weapon the ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it?

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it? The character is a 3rd level Warlock - spellcaster - and he decided to visit a library in the town they're currently ...
3
votes
2answers
199 views

Can the spell Freedom of Movement allow a character to escape a Forcecage spell?

If a Warlock with the Trickster's Escape (Eldritch Invocation XGtE) uses his power to cast Freedom of Movement, would that allow him to escape a Forcecage?
10
votes
2answers
375 views

Is this homebrew Eldritch Invocation, Eyes of the Ooze, balanced?

I've been trying to homebrew an Eldritch Invocation that grants the Warlock blindsight, but I'm not sure how far this blindsight should extend. I initially thought to compare it to the pre-existing ...
6
votes
1answer
574 views

Is this Homebrew Eldritch Invocation, Accursed Memory, balanced?

Accursed Memory, Prerequisite: 5th level You can cast Hex at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. This invocation is pretty straightforward, but, ...
23
votes
6answers
5k views

Am I allowed to determine tenets of my contract as a warlock?

A friend of mine invited me to a short campaign. I chose to play as a Hexblade warlock since I thought that it would be interesting to have a sentient weapon as a patron. As part of my character I ...
3
votes
2answers
205 views

How long does the Archfey warlock's Fey Presence feature last when used outside of combat?

A Warlock who chooses the Archfey patron gets the Fey Presence feature at level 1 (PHB, p. 109). The PHB says this ability, when used, lasts “until the end of your next turn”: Starting at 1st level,...
6
votes
2answers
312 views

Is this homebrew Genie patron for warlocks balanced?

This is another Warlock Homebrew I've been working on at my table for a player in an upcoming game. We'll be starting at 5th level in a puzzle heavy dungeon. I'm fairly sure that at 5th level this is ...
6
votes
2answers
279 views

Is a Hexblade's weapon damage still magical if I choose not to use Charisma?

If I choose to use the Dex mod instead of Charisma (as per the Hexblade's Hex Warrior feature) for my ranged pact weapon, will the weapon's damage still be magical damage?
1
vote
0answers
169 views

How do I avoid opportunity attacks as a spell caster? (Without wasting an action on Disengage or multiclassing?) [closed]

I'm used to playing the classes that run up and hit things and am trying to branch out. I'm building a level nine Sorcerer/Warlock multiclass In D&D 5e from scratch in a strictly no homebrew ...
5
votes
1answer
178 views

While merged with their Sentinel Raven using the Soul of the Raven feature, can a Raven Queen-patron Chainlock speak through their familiar?

The Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation allows a Pact of the Chain warlock to do the following (PHB, p. 111): You can communicate telepathically with your familiar and perceive through ...
30
votes
2answers
45k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
5
votes
1answer
656 views

Can a warlock with the Raven Queen patron have their raven Help against an enemy, then perch on their shoulder to avoid being harmed?

The Raven Queen warlock patron (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) grants the Sentinel Raven feature at 1st level, part of which says: While perched on your shoulder, the raven can’t be ...
11
votes
1answer
739 views

Are there rules to make my own warlock pact?

I know there are 3 pacts: blade, tome, and chain, but are there any rules/ guidelines to make one that's none of the above?
5
votes
1answer
279 views

Can you cast Hunger of Hadar on an enemy's item and have it move with them?

Hunger of Hadar (PHB, p. 251) reads: A 20-foot-radius sphere of blackness and bitter cold appears, centered on a point with range and lasting for the duration. When casting it, would the wording ...
3
votes
1answer
272 views

Can the DM be a Custom created Patron for a Warlock? [closed]

I've been theory-crafting this idea with my players for a while now and we wondered if it is possible for the DM to be a Patron for a Warlock. As far as I know, in XGtE it is written that you can ...
10
votes
3answers
374 views

What happens when one Great Old One warlock with the Thought Shield feature does psychic damage to another one?

10th-level Warlocks with a Great Old One patron gain the Thought Shield feature (PHB, p. 110): You also have resistance to psychic damage, and whenever a creature deals psychic damage to you, that ...
5
votes
2answers
370 views

Does a multiclassed Oathbreaker paladin/warlock have to know the Darkness spell as a warlock to cast it using an arcane focus?

As an Oathbreaker Paladin/Warlock, my character gets darkness as an oath spell at level 5, meaning he can cast it using his holy symbol. In the event that he loses his holy symbol, does he have to ...
11
votes
2answers
407 views

If I create magical darkness with the Silent Image spell, can I see through it if I have the Devil's Sight warlock invocation?

Since Devil's Sight allows one to see through magical and nonmagical darkness, and Silent Image can create any visual phenomenon, can I create darkness as a visual phenomenon which Devil's Sight can ...
5
votes
1answer
179 views

If a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation swaps it out and takes the Ritual Caster feat, can they cast already-copied rituals?

I have a player that is playing a warlock. He wants to go Pact of the Tome and take the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation at level 3, but then replace it at a later with a different ...
1
vote
2answers
339 views

What are the limits of multiple warlock familiars?

The Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation allows a Pact of the Chain warlock to do the following (PHB, p. 111): You can communicate telepathically with your familiar and perceive through ...
0
votes
2answers
372 views

Do warlocks have to cast their cantrips at the max level of their spell slots?

If I am a level 4 Warlock I have a minimum of 3 cantrips, 5 spells known at 2nd level and two 2nd level spell slots. When casting Cantrips, is it required to use a 2nd-level spell slot? For ...
23
votes
7answers
22k views

Can a warlock use Pact of the Blade to restructure a magical pact weapon into a different form?

I don't have the exact text, but I'm going to be running a Fey Warlock for an upcoming campaign. I remember this for Pact of the Blade at level 3: You may create your pact weapon in any form you wish, ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Does this strict reading of the rules allow both Extra Attack and the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation to be used together?

The warlock's Thirsting Blade eldritch invocation cannot be normally used with the (non-warlock) class feature Extra Attack, since both feature explicitly say you attack twice instead of once. But it ...