Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
165 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
8
votes
3answers
211 views

How do the Drunken Master monk's Drunkard's Luck feature and the Great Old One warlock's Entropic Ward feature interact?

The Way of the Drunken Master Monk gets the Drunkard's Luck feature, which states: When you make an ability check, an attack roll, or a saving throw and have disadvantage, you can spend 2 ki points ...
0
votes
0answers
64 views

Is Curse Bringer + Divine Smite + Wrathful Smite + Greenflame Blade RAW, RAI or Neither? [duplicate]

Warlock Hexblade (3), Paladin (x) Boon: Pact of the Blade Eldritch Invocations: Curse Bringer. Need minimum 5 lvls Turn 1.1 Hexblade curse (bonus action) Turn 2.1 (bonus action) Wrathful Smite ...
10
votes
1answer
702 views

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature?

How do multiple castings of Hex affect a creature? This question has two parts related to the same spell and game mechanic. Scenario 1: The Three Warlocks walk into a tavern and spot their arch-...
5
votes
2answers
271 views

If I am holding a shield and sword, do I need the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation to cast spells with a material component?

I am playing a Hexblade, who is holding a shield in one hand, and a sword in the other. Because I don't really want to use a bow, and like a lot of other invocations, I have decided not to take ...
9
votes
2answers
711 views

How do Eberron dragonmarks' Spells of the Mark interact with the Pact of the Tome warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets invocation?

I might be over-analyzing and confusing myself, but I'm not certain regarding the interaction between dragonmark-learned Ritual spells and the Book of Ancient Secrets warlock invocation. Let's take ...
0
votes
0answers
26 views

Can a Warlock use Mystic Arcanum to cast a spell using the At Higher Levels option a spell? [duplicate]

Can a Warlock use Mystic Arcanum to cast a spell using the At Higher Levels option a spell? I just wanted to check if this is possible or not. I realise that Mystic Arcanum allows me as a Warlock ...
4
votes
1answer
124 views

Where can I find examples of tasks given by the warlock patron? [closed]

As a DM, I always have trouble about warlocks' patrons. I can never find any good tasks or services to ask of my players (and they can't find any either.) So I just go with "When I'll ask you ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Hurl through Hell affect a Tarrasque?

Hurl through Hell (HtH) is the level 14 Otherworldly Patron feature for a Fiend Warlock. The tarrasque is not resistant or immune to psychic damage, is not a fiend, and is capable of being teleported ...
16
votes
1answer
457 views

Does Improved Pact Weapon include ammo?

The Warlock Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" from Xanathar's Guide allows the warlock to summon a ranged weapon: Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or ...
1
vote
0answers
63 views

Can my cleric/warlock's deity and patron have opposing alignments? [duplicate]

In the campaign, I'm participating in, my character is a wizard/warlock with Vecna as his Patron, his ultimate goal being to achieve lichdom. In order to obtain more knowledge about magic in general ...
2
votes
2answers
150 views

Is One with Shadows eldritch invocation possible after certain bonus/free actions?

I'm currently playing a Warlock/ Rogue multiclass character and I'm curious about the limitations of the One With Shadows invocation. One with Shadows Prerequisite: 5th level When you are ...
0
votes
1answer
151 views

Does a Hexblade Warlock's Hex Warrior feature allow them to use Thirsting Blade on a non-pact weapon?

My question is, Can I use Thirsting Blade with my non-Pact weapon? Example, I have a +3 Magic Longbow that I used the Pact of the Blade ritual to transform it into my Pact Weapon. (I can Only pull ...
5
votes
1answer
256 views

When a Hexblade warlock uses the Accursed Specter feature on a slain creature but another character casts Soul Cage, which takes priority?

The Hexblade warlock's Accursed Specter feature does not have an action timing specified, and merely says (XGtE, p. 56; emphasis mine): When you slay a humanoid, you can cause its spirit to rise ...
2
votes
1answer
68 views

What are the stats for an imp in ad&d 2nd edition ravenloft? [closed]

While searching for a familiar in Ravenloft in AD&D 2e I rolled a 19 and found an imp, but I can't find the stat block for it. Where can I find it and what is it?
4
votes
1answer
240 views

Is there a way to have access to Simulacrum as a Warlock?

Is it possible to get the simulacrum spell as a warlock character without multiclassing? I love playing as a warlock and I love simulacrum, so is there any way to do this?
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Do Hexblade warlocks with Pact of the Blade ignore the limits on the type of weapons summoned?

I play Hexblade warlocks a lot. I, of course, usually take Pact of the Blade to go with it. It says you can only summon melee weapons. Do Hexblades ignore this rule? Would I be able to summon a ...
10
votes
1answer
929 views

Is a Pact of the Blade Warlock proficient with all weapons of the same kind as their wielded pact weapon?

According to the Warlock class, the Pact of the Blade Pact Boon feature allows a Warlock to use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee ...
12
votes
4answers
238 views

How does the shared damage from the Great Old One Warlock's Thought Shield feature interact with indirect sources of psychic damage?

While it can be easy to see how the Great Old One Warlock's Thought Shield feature interacts with spells that deal psychic damage or special attacks from psionic creatures, I'm not sure how to rule "...
1
vote
1answer
159 views

Can I use Eldritch Smite and Divine Smite using only one spell slot?

Can I use 1 Spell slot from Warlock to use both Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite in the same attack? Or I must use 2 spells slots?
16
votes
1answer
339 views

Is this homebrew Druid-themed Warlock patron balanced?

I would like to play a "green witch"- or "hedge witch"-type character in an upcoming D&D 5e campaign, so my DM is letting me homebrew a Druid-themed Warlock patron (similar to how the official ...
7
votes
0answers
59 views

What happens if a warlock kills their patron? [duplicate]

I was reading Xanathar’s Guide, and the Celestial Warlock subclass is able to choose a unicorn for their patron. However, in the Monster Manual, unicorns only have a CR of 5. So that raised the ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this homebrew Warlock Invocation, Splinter Casting, balanced?

Introduction It seems the internet is littered with posts about players complaining that their Warlock just doesn't have enough spell slots, or that if they don't get that many short rests in a day ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What would happen if a Cleric blessed a Warlock with a fiend patron?

So I am a cleric in our party, and our Warlock has a fiend as a patron. During last night's session, I was casting guidance on everybody that I could, because I knew we were about to get in a possible ...
6
votes
2answers
320 views

Can Pact of the Blade be used to create a double-bladed scimitar in DDAL?

This question pertains specifically to D&D Adventurers League rules. I've got a character concept that I want to implement in a Forgotten Realms campaign, and I'm trying to formulate a plausible ...
4
votes
1answer
152 views

Can an Rogue Assassin 13/GOO Warlock use their Impostor feature and Awakened Mind in conjunction?

Rolling up a Warlock Rogue for a new campaign, I found a possible synergy between the Assassin's Impostor ability and the GOO Warlock's Awakened mind feature: Could they impersonate someone else in ...
3
votes
2answers
386 views

What is the max damage I can do with a 20th-level greatsword-wielding melee Hexblade Warlock?

I'm looking for a highly-optimized endgame (20th level) melee build, abusing Elven Accuracy and Hexblade's Curse to deal as much damage in a single turn as possible. Criteria are as follows: Assume ...
8
votes
2answers
563 views

When does a Chain Familiar’s attack occur using the new UA Eldritch Invocation: Chain Master's Fury?

When using the new UA Eldritch Invocation, Chain Master's Fury (from the UA Class Feature Variants, p. 10): Chain Master's Fury Prerequisite: 9th level, Pact of the Chain feature As a ...
4
votes
1answer
240 views

What is the highest consistent damage output for a 20th level Warlock of the Fiend? (Pact of the Chain)

I've currently got a 3rd level Fiend warlock (pact of chain) and am trying to optimize my build strategy for a 20th level highest consistent damage output. Including the level progression in achieving ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Does a patron have to know their warlock?

Somewhat related to this question but in reverse. I want to know if a warlock's patron actually has to be aware of their warlock. Could the warlock be, for example, siphoning power from their patron ...
9
votes
4answers
598 views

Arcane Adept: is this proposed Warlock feat balanced as compared to PHB feats?

While discussing Warlocks and the new Uneartherd Arcana at GiTP forums, we were kicking around the idea of a class only feat (versus the Xanather's race based feats) and I arrived at the following ...
4
votes
2answers
203 views

Does the warlock's Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation automatically reveal hidden creatures?

Can a Warlock in D&D 5e with the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation automatically detect hidden creatures, considering that their cover is now transparent? Is it even possible to hide from a ...
8
votes
1answer
258 views

Does Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum prevent Devil's Sight from working?

I could compare it to this question about whether the Devil's Sight invocation allows one to see into Hunger of Hadar, but that question has an easy answer, due to the 'blinded' condition it affects ...
6
votes
1answer
458 views

What are the advantages of taking “Sculptor of Flesh” eldritch invocation over taking Polymorph as a spell?

I think I misunderstand how the eldritch invocations that grant spells "using a warlock spell slot". Sculptor of Flesh Prerequisite: 7th level You can cast Polymorph once using a Warlock spell ...
6
votes
3answers
257 views

Does Repelling Blast remove the restrained condition if used on the restrainer?

If I repelling blast someone who is restraining a party member and knock them back 10 feet does it end the restrained condition? Or does it knock the player that is restrained 10 feet back too? The ...
7
votes
3answers
694 views

Does 5e have a Manual of the Planes?

I'm building a Warlock with an Archfey patron, and I want to read more about the Feywild. I remember the AD&D Manual of the Planes and it had information from all the planes. Does 5e have one of ...
2
votes
2answers
136 views

How does the Hellfire Warlock's hellfire blast function?

I'm trying to properly understand the Hellfire Warlock's hellfire blast. Hellfire Blast (Sp): Whenever you use your eldritch blast ability, you can change your eldritch blast into a hellfire blast. ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Where is a warlock's soul?

In a campaign that I am running, we came upon an interesting question. Where is a warlock's soul? This came about when my players were trying to sneak into a restricted area. In my world, there is a ...
7
votes
2answers
320 views

How can I bring a creature back to life 5 times per long rest with the least investment of levels?

Very related: How can I bring a lowly terrestrial invertebrate back to life 5 times per long rest with the least investment of levels? A character wants to proactively use the Chronicle of the Raven ...
4
votes
1answer
306 views

How can I bring a lowly terrestrial invertebrate back to life 5 times per long rest with the least investment of levels?

I want to use the Chronicle of the Raven Queen eldritch invocation (from UA: Warlock & Wizard), but I don't want to leave all the cockroaches, silverfish, and hydrozoa I interrogate dead ...
5
votes
1answer
237 views

Do specters raised by the Hexblade warlock's Accursed Specter feature require an action to command?

The Hexblade warlock's Accursed Specter feature (XGtE, p. 56) says: When you slay a humanoid, you can cause its spirit to rise from its corpse as a specter [...] It obeys your verbal commands Does ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Do the new UA Pact of the Tome invocations, Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors, overlap with one another?

With the release of the new UA Class Feature Variants, do the Eldritch Invocations Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors use the same 5 names as a base, or are the names separate for each Invocation? ...
21
votes
4answers
3k views

What is a good way to challenge a Warlock with the Agonizing Blast invocation?

In my session I have a Warlock with a Charisma score of 20 that's been using the Eldritch Blast spell with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation to rather spectacular results, decimating everything ...
3
votes
2answers
200 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
3
votes
0answers
203 views

Does Celestial Warlocks' Radiant Soul feature increase damage on concentration spells? [closed]

Starting at 6th level, your link to the Celestial allows you to serve as a conduit for radiant energy. You have resistance to radiant damage, and when you cast a spell that deals radiant or fire ...
3
votes
1answer
265 views

Can a level 1 Warlock Cast a 4th level spell from 8th level Sorcerer with their warlock pact magic spell slots?

Can my player’s multiclass Warlock 1/Sorcerer 8 cast the higher level sorcerer spells from with their warlock pact magic spell slots? My player argued that he could now cast his 4th level sorcerer ...
5
votes
1answer
212 views

If I am a Celestial Warlock and I take the Magic Initiate - Cleric (Cure Wounds), does that now count as a Warlock spell for me? [duplicate]

If I am a Celestial Warlock and I take the Magic Initiate - Cleric (Cure Wounds), does that now count as a Warlock spell for me? Since under The Celestial it says: "The following spells are added to ...
6
votes
3answers
449 views

How does the Land Druid's Natural Recovery feature interact with the Warlock's Pact Magic spell slots?

Do the Natural Recovery ability of the Land Druid and Pact Magic of the Warlock work together? I am planning to create a D&D 5E character that can recover spell slots easily, at least during ...
0
votes
2answers
220 views

Are the level prerequisites for warlock invocations your total multiclass character level? [duplicate]

If I was playing a character (class) 8/warlock 1, and then I put another level into warlock, would I be able to take the Sculptor of Flesh invocation?
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Has there been a Kraken patron for the Warlock class in Unearthed Arcana?

Recently, this Unearthed Arcana article was released, which includes a new archetype for the Warlock class: the Lurker in the Deep patron. It's pretty obviously geared towards having a Kraken as a ...

1 2 3 4 5 13