Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
2answers
456 views

Does this extra sentence in the description of the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation appear in any official reference?

I signed up specifically to ask this question, because this website is one of the only places I have found this extra line of text in the warlock's "Eyes of the Rune Keeper" eldritch invocation from D&...
6
votes
1answer
565 views

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast invocation casts Eldritch Blast and hits, must the targets always be pushed back?

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast eldritch invocation casts eldritch blast and hits, must the targets always be pushed back? Or can you choose not to push back the target?
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a level 2 Warlock take one level in rogue, then continue advancing as a warlock?

I recently "upgraded" to D&D 5th edition. I decided to play a warlock. However, now I would like to be proficient in Stealth, and a warlock can not have this proficiency. I am Warlock level 2. Is ...
12
votes
1answer
887 views

What ability score does a Hexblade's Pact Weapon use for attack and damage when wielded by another character?

I read this question about other PCs using pact weapons and realized that I'm not sure if the weapon would use the warlock's Charisma, or the other character's Strength/Dexterity for attack and damage ...
5
votes
1answer
662 views

Is the Archfey warlock's Fey Presence feature a non-spell version of Charm Person that doesn't give you away?

The effects of the Archfey warlock's Fey Presence feature and those of the charm person spell seem very similar; they both can induce the charmed condition on targets who fail their saving throw. ...
16
votes
1answer
835 views

How do spell scrolls interact with warlock invocations?

When creating a Spell Scroll using the rules from XGtE (p.133), if the spell is a cantrip the scroll is cast as if the caster were first level. If a Warlock with, say, Agonizing Blast were to scribe a ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Pact of the Blade warlock feature allow me to customize the properties of the pact weapon I create?

I am making a Pact of the Blade warlock/Assassin rogue. I have the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, so I can make a longbow pact weapon while at range and a melee pact weapon when not. When ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Warlock Pact weapon on Sentient or Artifact Magic weapon

I have read this part about Warlocks You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of I ...
10
votes
2answers
8k views

How many Pact Weapons can a Blade Pact Warlock create?

The question is relatively simple and I have searched far and wide for an official ruling or good answer: How many Pact Weapons can a Warlock create (have out) at the same time? The RAW says: You ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature is used while in Hell?

The description of the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature says: Starting at 14th level, when you hit a creature with an attack, you can use this feature to instantly transport the ...
56
votes
1answer
90k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
11
votes
2answers
613 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
0
votes
0answers
40 views

Pact of the Blade - do you need to be attuned to bind a magic weapon? [duplicate]

Pact of the Blade says that You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. It doesn't specify the need for attunement. Though ...
5
votes
3answers
4k views

How can I raise a Warlock Vigilante mystic bolt's damage?

As a Vigilante with the Warlock archetype, is there any possible way to raise the damage of the Mystic Bolt other than a raise in level? I'm open to any Paizo feats, items, traits or basically ...
6
votes
1answer
660 views

How does Create Thrall, the Great Old One Warlock feature, work in Adventurers League play?

When a Great Old One Warlock uses the Create Thrall feature (PHB, p. 110) in Adventurers League play, does the Thrall work with you? Does it persist through sessions? Is there any guidance on how ...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

Can a Warlock become Neutral Good?

In my game group there is a player who plays a warlock-druid (1-1). He started as a warlock. He realized he was playing as an NG, but he took CN for the restrictions regarding the alignment of his ...
10
votes
1answer
467 views

Can a Pact of the Chain Warlock in Gaseous Form have their familiar attack?

Pact of the Chain Warlocks can enable their familiars to make an attack instead of them when they take the Attack action (emphasis mine): You learn the Find Familiar spell and can cast it as a ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

How does a character multiclassing into warlock get a focus?

I have a martial character I want to multi-class into warlock but from what I can see in the book, it looks like they would not receive an arcane focus since they don't get their new class' starting ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action?

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action? It doesn't seem too clear to our group and we have basically ruled it as equivalent to talking.
1
vote
1answer
383 views

Should awakened mind be considered an action? [duplicate]

Should awakened mind be considered an action? I need to know because in combat I want to use it to talk to my team without alerting enemies to our presence.
18
votes
2answers
5k views

Are Warlocks Arcane or Divine?

This question recently came up in one of my sessions. Are Warlocks considered Arcane or Divine? There is a magic item, Dark Shard Amulet that is for Warlocks and it requires an Arcana check to use. ...
10
votes
1answer
508 views

How does the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation interact with typos?

Would the Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation, along with other magic effects that enable you to read languages, allow misspelt/miswritten words to be understood?
13
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Sleep spell put a warlock with Aspect of the Moon to sleep?

The phrasing of the invocation from XGtE pg. 56 is: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. (emphasis mine) To me this phrasing sounds like it is specifically ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
14
votes
1answer
452 views

Would using a lower-leveled spell for the a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature impair balance?

I confess I find myself underwhelmed by the 8th level spells available for a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature, especially if you e.g. have one or more bards in the party (as I do). (Maddening ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

How does the Tomb of Levistus warlock invocation interact with the Freedom of Movement spell?

Tomb of Levistus is an eldritch invocation for warlocks from XGtE, p. 57 (emphasis mine): As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a multiclassed 2019 UA artificer/Pact of the Blade warlock use Thirsting Blade and Arcane Armament to make 3 attacks per Attack action?

I was reading up on the classes in D&D 5e. I saw that the 2019 UA artificer had a feature that allowed them to attack twice that wasn't the Extra Attack feature, called Arcane Armament. The ...
11
votes
2answers
316 views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Can the Shadow Blade spell qualify as the Warlock's summoned Pact of the Blade weapon (& the Hex Warrior feature)?

The reason I bring up the question is there has been some interesting tweets by Jeremy Crawford that seems to possibly open the door for this interaction. Jeremy Crawford (Lead D&D Rules ...
9
votes
1answer
671 views

Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar's Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?

I see that, for example: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it ...
21
votes
3answers
6k views

How can a level 20 warlock cast Magic Jar?

An evil warlock has killed all but two of the party. He then proceeded to trap the party wizard, and cast Magic Jar on her to trap her in a sacred jewel that the other party member, a paladin, is ...
6
votes
1answer
735 views

How do Hex Warrior, Pact of the Blade and Improved Pact Weapon Interact?

Ok so per this Are the hex warrior weapon and the pact of the blade weapon the same or different I know they are different. I just picked up improved pact blade and I need to know how they all fit ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there anything preventing warlocks from learning and casting invocations listed in warlock prestige classes?

This question has opened a Pandora's Box in my head. The first answer (and resultant discussion) states that warlocks are unable to learn invocations described in prestige class descriptive text ...
7
votes
1answer
404 views

Can an elf warlock trance?

Reading Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, I realized that the thing that makes elves trance and remember all the stuff they have experienced in the past is the fact that they all are still connected to ...
4
votes
2answers
609 views

Is there a way for a sprite familiar to gain the senses of a Warlock such as darkvision?

A third level High Elf Pact of the Chain Warlock with an Archfey patron casts the find familiar spell and then chooses a sprite form for the spirit to take. The Warlock commands the familiar to enter ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens if a warlock has both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar?

The Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The Grasp of Hadar ...
4
votes
1answer
341 views

What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?

One of my Warlocks has taken an interesting turn... After casting a spell that required concentration, he used his Eldritch Master feature. Next turn, he cast Eldritch Blast. This series of turns ...
13
votes
1answer
6k views

Does a Hexblade warlock get Hex Warrior's Cha bonus with a versatile weapon without Pact of the Blade?

I'm a first level Warlock, Hexblade archetype from Xanathar's Guide To Everything. My question is: Would a weapon with the Versatile property work with the Hex Warrior ability without Pact of the ...
31
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Dissonant Whispers and Misty Escape: Which reaction effect happens?

The effect of the warlock's Misty Escape feature is that when the warlock takes damage she can use her reaction to teleport away to a location of her choosing within range. The effect of failing a ...
4
votes
1answer
786 views

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain the additional benefits from Warlock subclasses?

A Blood Hunter can join a Blood Hunter Order at level 3. When a Blood Hunter joins the Order of the Profane Soul, they can make a Pact with the Undying and gain access to Pact Magic. Looking at the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Hexblade warlocks choose their spells from the Hexblade spell list or the warlock spell list?

Since a warlock hexblade is a subclass (i.e. a special kind of warlock) in D&D 5e, does he choose his spells from the Hexblade spell list? Or can he choose from either the warlock or hexblade ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock use an existing thrown pact magic weapon so it functions as a “Returning” weapon?

In Pathfinder, a thrown weapon could gain the Special Ability of Returning. The weapon could be thrown, then fly through the air back to the creature that threw it. Can a warlock with the "Pact of ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you combine War Caster, whip, and Warlock Features to Eldritch Blast enemies with reach?

So, Whip is a one-handed martial weapon with reach. Reach is a feature that, among other things, lets you make opportunity attacks with that weapon out to 10 feet instead of just five. Equipment ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I use a mote from Crown of Stars to attack and also cast Eldritch Blast on the same turn?

The PHB delineates the circumstances under which 2 spells could be cast in a turn. My 15th-level Warlock knows Crown of Stars. The spell says it costs a bonus action to attack with a mote, which to ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Are all Eldritch Invocations nullified by an antimagic field?

In one of the tables I'm part of, we engaged in a discussion about an antimagic field being able to nullify the effects of an warlock's Devil's Sight because Eldritch Invocations are magical in nature ...
15
votes
2answers
9k views

How can a Sorcerer/Warlock use 4 Eldritch blasts in one round?

How is it possible for the infamous Sorlock multiclass to use 4 x Eldritch blasts in 1 round? I get the extra damages as in the d6s and +mod damage from all the curses but I see formulas around like ...
3
votes
3answers
980 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? [closed]

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight? I'm just curious about how this works visually. If someone uses Strength, then you use all your force to hit your enemies. If ...
3
votes
1answer
638 views

One with Shadows and Skulker

This is something I have been wondering for a bit. I am currently playing with a Rogue/Warlock Mousefolk build. Here is the link to the Mousekin homebrew race I am playing. I am planning on a build of ...