We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
35
votes
3answers
6k views

Is it possible to rest underwater if you can breathe underwater?

I'm looking at the new Warlock eldritch invocations of XGTE, and the invocation Gift of the Depths gained my curiosity. The eldritch invocation Gift of the Depths states that you can breathe ...
9
votes
2answers
27k views

How can I cast spells as a Hexblade Warlock while using a sword and shield?

I'm building a Hexblade Warlock from level one. This pretty much requires you to have a sword and shield. How is it possible for me to cast my spells without my hands open?
11
votes
3answers
2k views

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock, if I use my pact weapon bow as an improvised melee weapon, which benefits carry over?

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, what effects carry over using a bow from Pact of the Blade for melee attacks (e.g. if an enemy is too close ...
2
votes
1answer
84 views

Can you mix Spellblast and Hideous blow?

My group's interpretation of hideous blow is that it always requires a standard action (since it says on the text you need to use a standard action to attack, and it's not the casting time) so even if ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I cast Darkness on my imp familiar?

This is actually a three-part question: As a level 5 Tiefling Pact of the Chain Warlock, can I cast my Darkness spell on my Imp familiar? If yes, once cast, would my Darkness spell be ended if my imp ...
5
votes
0answers
307 views

Can Divine Soul Sorcerer transfer spells to a Warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets? [closed]

My party has two spellcasters - Tabaxi Divine Soul Sorcerer (me) with proficiency in Arcana (so he can create scrolls) and Tiefling Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation;...
24
votes
3answers
20k views

Does a Warlock receive the benefit of their familiar's Magic Resistance trait?

The Warlock has access to special forms for their find familiar spell through the Pact of the Chain feature. I'm wondering if these special forms, the Quasit, Imp, and Pseudodragon in particular, ...
6
votes
2answers
18k views

What prestige classes can Warlocks take?

I know there are prestige classes for casters, but due to the Warlock's Invocation mechanics, I'm not sure which ones it can qualify for, or at least which ones would be beneficial for it. What are ...
3
votes
2answers
696 views

Would Hex disadvantage non-proficient skill checks made with the associated attribute?

If Hex causes "disadvantage on ability checks made with the chosen ability", and non-proficient skill checks are effectively just an ability check with no prof bonus added, would those checks be at ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

Can a multiclassed Hexblade warlock/monk use their Hex Warrior class feature on their Martial Arts unarmed strike?

Can a multiclassed Hexblade warlock/monk use their Hex Warrior class feature on their Martial Arts unarmed strike? How about the Pact of the Blade feature to make their unarmed strikes magical?
21
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
7
votes
1answer
245 views

How much unconscious awareness do I have of my familiar?

This came up last night, and the DM and I wanted to ask around to see if anyone could clarify this for us. I'm playing a Pact of the Chain warlock (with the voice of the chain master invocation, if ...
4
votes
1answer
456 views

Which class is better for being able to contribute to battle when out of spell slots, Wizard or Warlock?

I have joined a campaign and am now choosing a class. So far my character is a Half-Elf with the ability scores: STR 12 (+1) DEX 18 (+4) CON 16 (+3) INT 17 (+3) WIS 10 (+0) CHA 18 (+4) The ability ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Do the Pact of the Blade warlock's Eldritch Smite and Lifedrinker eldritch invocations work with ranged pact weapons?

It is possible for a Pact of the Blade warlock to have a ranged weapon as a pact weapon. The description of the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57) includes the following: ...
6
votes
1answer
656 views

How does multiclassing affect Eldritch Invocations with level prerequisites?

Ok... I'm making a Paladin of Conquest from Xanathar's Guide to Everything. At around 9th level I want to Multiclass three levels into a Hexblade Warlock (also from XGtE). I was wondering does ...
9
votes
4answers
447 views

Can a magic pact weapon have its attunement broken by being dismissed?

For a Pact of the Blade Warlock that can "transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon" (PHB. 108), the weapon can be dismissed into an extradimensional space. If the weapon is magic and requires ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Would making these Warlock spell invocations require no spell slot be unbalancing?

I'm currently trying to rebalance certain aspects of the D&D 5e rule set. The overall goal is to open up options for my players so they have a more diverse pool of features to choose from. I don't ...
7
votes
2answers
807 views

Can a warlock with Pact of the Blade bind a non-magical weapon to be their pact weapon?

In the warlock's Pact of the Blade feature description, it states the following: ... You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the ...
10
votes
1answer
638 views

Can the weapon summoned via a Warlock's Pact of the Blade be pre-silvered when summoned?

Would it be possible to manifest a weapon that has either the Silvered or the Adamantine property? Per the description of Pact of the Blade: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your ...
12
votes
10answers
4k views

Does not having flight nerf a warlock's familiar?

Core Question: Is restricting a warlock's familiar to not be able to fly (or turn into any animal capable of flight) too much of a nerf to its functionality? Background: I'm about to DM a new ...
16
votes
2answers
18k views

Does the Hex spell's damage apply to spell attacks?

The Hex spell increases the damage when you hit with an attack and Eldritch Blast is a spell which causes you to make a spell attack roll. Does any attack roll trigger the extra damage of Hex, or ...
23
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?

I am playing a Fiend-patron warlock. A vampire has charmed my fighter buddy and I wish to use my Hurl Through Hell feature to make the vampire briefly go to the lower planes, resulting in the charm ...
2
votes
1answer
644 views

What are the mechanisms that allow you to do a cantrip as a bonus action? [closed]

I'm digging around the players handbook, and so far all I see is the eldritch knight ability, and thats not quite what I need. I'm trying to bring hideous blow over from 3.x to 5e for warlocks, but ...
10
votes
1answer
787 views

Can the Sentinel Raven given by the Raven Queen warlock patron assist party members with skill checks?

I'm playing a warlock and have chosen the Raven Queen patron (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard). I had the idea of having my sentinel raven assist me on all skill checks, but this seems ...
1
vote
2answers
78 views

I need to clean up my campaigns plot holes for the second half of it [closed]

This is my first time DMing a game and I did not take it seriously at all for the first half. I gave a warlock wild magic because I thought it would be funny, but now that I want to actually do a good ...
21
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a weapon form of the Rod of Lordly Might be considered a pact weapon?

I've got a character in my campaign who was lucky enough to snag a Rod of Lordly Might. The snag is that she's a Hexblade Warlock, and she wants to use the Hex Warrior ability on the rod (basically ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

Is a Hexblade Warlock's weapon their arcane focus by default?

I'm playing a Hexblade with Pact of the Blade, and I was wondering whether the weapon you use as part of the Hex Warrior ability counts as an arcane focus, or only if it's a pact weapon and you have ...
11
votes
2answers
18k views

How do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior and Pact of the Blade features interact for two-handed weapons?

In the description of the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior class feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55), it states that you can bond with a weapon that lacks the two-handed property. In the ...
11
votes
2answers
7k views

How do I interpret the Warlock spell table? [duplicate]

Can somebody explain the Warlock spell table for me? Maybe I'm just slow, but I don't understand it. I've played Wizards before and the Wizard spell slot table was simple to get: at 1st level you get ...
7
votes
2answers
717 views

Can a 5e Warlock's Imp Familiar fire a crossbow?

I have a player that armed his special Imp familiar with a light crossbow, sent him through a tunnel the party couldn't fit through, and had him shoot the artifact that was creating the magical wall ...
21
votes
4answers
4k views

Heavy Crossbow vs (unmodded) 5th level Eldritch Blast, which would be more reliable?

Which of these two would be more reliable at least in terms of consistently dealing damage? I'm not going to take the Agonizing Blast Invocation because I'm planning to take other Invocations, so I ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the UA Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation be used by a warlock to heal and wake up an ally at 0 HP?

Can the Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) heal a dying or stabilized ally at 0 HP, thereby waking them up early? As unreliable as ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Can two repelling blasts from opposite directions deal extra damage by crushing the target?

There are two Warlock twins, Boris and Doris, who have made a deal with a celestial entity to cleanse the evil from the world. In one of the catacombs they are exploring they encounter a skeleton. ...
3
votes
2answers
7k views

Is my paladin/warlock multiclass a viable tank?

I'll be playing a D&D 5e Warlock/Paladin character in the Curse of Strahd adventure. I'll start off by taking 2 levels of Paladin (variant human with War Caster) and then start taking levels in ...
27
votes
3answers
12k views

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer. Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see invisible objects or those within a Darkness spell?

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see objects affected by the invisibility spell or those within the area of effect of the darkness spell? More specifically, do the objects ...
3
votes
3answers
7k views

Is there a way to make the Shadow Blade spell into a warlock pact weapon?

The shadow blade spell (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 164) states: You weave together threads of shadow to create a sword of solidified gloom in your hand. This magic sword lasts until the ...
2
votes
0answers
206 views

Can I cast hex on a bug, kill it, rest, and have hex and my spell slots? [duplicate]

Based on the idea that hex can persist across short rests (see this question) if I cast hex on a bug and killed it, then took a short rest for an hour, would I have hex up for the day (until I broke ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

For multiclassed warlock/clerics, do your spell slots from the two classes stack?

So I'm a new DM and one of my PC's who's a 1st-level warlock wants to multi-class into cleric. So he would essentially be a warlock 1/cleric 1. Since the Warlock only has one 1st-level spell slot at ...
19
votes
8answers
6k views

How can I alter the appearance of my face at will without using a spell slot?

I am trying to create a Lucifer-type player character from the TV show Lucifer where he changes his face temporarily to his true (devil) face to scare and intimidate others. I would like to be able to ...
2
votes
0answers
484 views

Warlock spellslots conversion to sorcery points? [duplicate]

Warlock-sorcerer, can you convert your warlock slots (that you regain with short rests) into sorcery points? Is there a cap to your current sorcery points?
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a warlock summon an Improvised Weapon as its pact weapon?

I'm brainstorming a character concept, a tavern brawler specialist that summons a variety of random items usually found in a bar (just because he is more familiar with those than regular weapons). He ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Does activating Maddening Hex damage all targets under a curse?

One of the Eldritch Invocations warlocks can take is Maddening Hex (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 57): (Prerequisite: 5th level, hex spell or a warlock feature that curses) As a bonus ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Using Empowered Spell Metamagic with Eldritch Blast

The group I'm DM'ing for has a warlock-sorcerer, and she claims that the wording of the metamagic option Empowered Spell works on the whole spell, and not a single attack, so therefore all of her ...
6
votes
4answers
8k views

Is my Warlock useless to the group now that we have a wizard with Eldritch Blast and two Bards who focus on utility?

Recently the other players in my group got tired of their characters; now they've turned up with new ones and I'm worried that my Warlock has nothing to add to the group anymore. My Character ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock with Improved Pact Weapon use a reach weapon as a spellcasting focus to deliver touch spells?

The warlock's (Pact of the Blade-only) Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 57) states that you can use your pact weapon as a spellcasting focus. Using a whip, ...
0
votes
2answers
626 views

Does a spell attack trigger extra damage from Hexblade's Curse?

If a target is inflicted with Hexblade's Curse, would hitting that target using spell attack (for example Scorching Ray) trigger the additional damage? and if so, would it affect each "ray" with ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I use Hex (Spell) and Hexblade's Curse in 1 round [duplicate]

Is it possible to use both Hex (Spell) and Hexblade's Curse (Hex Blade ability) in 1 round of combat? These are both bonus actions. I expect if its possible you would use up your bonus and attack ...
3
votes
2answers
893 views

Can I cast spells with material components while wielding a two-handed weapon without the Improved Pact Weapon invocation?

I plan on creating a Hexblade warlock. I want to use a two-handed weapon by level 3 and until then a longsword. I won't use a shield. So if I cast a spell without any material components, I won't have ...