Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
3answers
284 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

What are the descriptions of the available creatures for Summon Warlock's Ally?

The D&D Compendium lists a level 9 Warlock daily power called Summon Warlock's Ally which includes the following line of description: ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

For multiclassed warlock/clerics, do your spell slots from the two classes stack?

So I'm a new DM and one of my PC's who's a 1st-level warlock wants to multi-class into cleric. So he would essentially be a warlock 1/cleric 1. Since the Warlock only has one 1st-level spell slot at ...
20
votes
4answers
65k views

Is Alter Self strictly better than Disguise Self as at-will invocations?

PHB Page 211, Alter Self You assume a different form. When you cast the spell, choose one of the following options, the effects of which last for the duration of the spell. While the spell lasts, you ...
17
votes
2answers
22k views

Does the Hex spell's damage apply to spell attacks?

The Hex spell increases the damage when you hit with an attack and Eldritch Blast is a spell which causes you to make a spell attack roll. Does any attack roll trigger the extra damage of Hex, or ...
14
votes
3answers
9k views

Can A Warlock Change Patrons?

This is primarily a "Flavor" question (or maybe not given the long range ramifications) that came up during a game session from reading the late 4th edition "Dungeons and Dragons" comic where the ...
8
votes
6answers
29k views

The Warcaster Feat and Arcane Focus

I'm playing a Warlock in 5e and I'm trying to make him a front line fighter/tank because we...don't have any and our healing sucks. Thus, I'm trying everything I can to avoid being hit altogether. ...
33
votes
4answers
6k views

What happens if a creature is killed between its attack and damage rolls

Came across a scenario that’s a little odd: A creature hits a character with an attack. The character has an ability that deals damage when he is hit. Based on other rulings the damage from the ...
21
votes
3answers
5k views

Warlock/Cleric: Would the Fiend and a God Get Along?

I have a character in the Forgotten Realms, Orryn, who is a gnome whose village was burnt down, who forged a pact with a pit fiend to gain Warlock powers. This was all to avenge his people and he is ...
19
votes
2answers
20k views

Just what are the differences between Spellcasting and Pact Magic?

Many classes incorporate the Spellcasting feature. One, Warlock, instead has the feature Pact Magic. What are the mechanical differences between the two, or is this just a distinction without a ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Voice of the Chain Master invocation allow me to see through my familiar's senses without using an action?

After reading this Sorlock guide and a further discussion in the comments about this topic, it's still unclear to me if the Voice of the Chain Master invocation lifts the requirement of spending an ...
9
votes
2answers
32k views

How can I cast spells as a Hexblade Warlock while using a sword and shield?

I'm building a Hexblade Warlock from level one. This pretty much requires you to have a sword and shield. How is it possible for me to cast my spells without my hands open?
8
votes
2answers
19k views

Paladin/Warlock sharing spell slots [duplicate]

I have a conundrum. I have a multiclassed 6th Paladin/ 5th Warlock character. With 6 levels of paladin, I have 4/2 spell slots, and as a 5th warlock, I have 2 spells that are cast as a 3rd level slot. ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action?

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action? It doesn't seem too clear to our group and we have basically ruled it as equivalent to talking.
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Do clerics, paladins, and warlocks gain level ups from their own power, or from their patrons or gods?

A friend and I (we both DM for each other occasionally) are having a discussion about where the increases in power of divine (cleric and paladin) and psuedo-divine (warlock) classes comes from at ...
5
votes
2answers
58k views

Optimal Blade Pact Warlock with Fiend Patron for DPR/AC without Multiclassing

This great question contains a guide on how to best build an amazing melee Warlock. However, it depends on Multiclassing, which is not allow in the campaign I plan to play in. The requirements are: ...
4
votes
1answer
7k views

Eldritch Knight/Warlock multiclass spellcasting

If a Fighter 3 (Eldritch Knight) levels up as a Warlock for the rest of the way to 20, making him an 18th level caster according to the multiclass spell slot table provided, would he in turn be able ...
23
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation add unintelligible spell scrolls to their book?

Can a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation copy spells from a spell scroll from another class' spell list? For example: could a level three warlock copy a spell scroll of ...
19
votes
3answers
28k views

Eldritch Blast with multiple beams and Agonizing Blast on a single target: Cha Mod just once?

Agonizing Blast allows a Warlock to add Cha mod to EB damage. Two questions: At higher levels, when directing multiple beams at a single target, does it work like Magic Missile, where the modifier ...
17
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
16
votes
1answer
6k views

Are Blastlocks not Special?

I am making a character for D&D 5e and I am thinking about playing an Abjurer Eldritch Knight with a dip of Warlock for some refluffed flavor, out of combat utility, in combat utility, and I just ...
14
votes
2answers
13k views

If a warlock's invocation states that they can use a spell without a slot does that mean they can cast the spell as often as they want?

On page 111 of the 5E hand book the invocations Misty Visions, Mask of Many Faces, Master of Myriad Forms, and Otherworldly Leap all they that you can cast them without expending a spell slot. Does ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

How can Pact of the Chain warlocks' familiars heal?

I've been looking around everywhere, but I cannot seem to find out how a Pact of the Chain warlock's familiar might recover hitpoints. Regular find familiar familiars only have 1 hp, so it's entirely ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a multiclass Cleric/Warlock hold a Holy Shield and an Arcane Staff and still cast spells?

The PHB (pg. 151) states that a Cleric may use a shield with a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10....
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Warlock cast a spell at a lower level than their spell slot?

Can a Warlock cast a spell using a lower level slot than the slots they have available? For example, if a 9th level Warlock (who has 5th slots) comes into a possession of a Shield Guardian (who can ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a Warlock have both a Sentinel Raven and a familiar?

I have a warlock player who chose Patron of the Raven Queen giving him Sentinel Raven and Pact of the Chain giving him Find Familiar. Is this fair? It seems almost like he has two familiars. The spell ...
11
votes
2answers
7k views

Would it be game breaking to allow a Warlock to use his Mystic Arcanum to cast his spells at a higher level?

I'm looking for ways to make the Warlock feel more flexible with his castings, and I like this solution, especially since it's limited by how few spellslots Warlocks have of higher level spells (...
10
votes
1answer
6k views

Does the Warlock's Expanded Spell List from their patron only add it to their list of options, not their spells known?

Expanded Spell List The Fiend lets you choose from an expanded list of spells when you learn a warlock spell. The following spells are added to the warlock spell list for you. Should this mean, ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does damage from Armor of Agathys take place before or after a character takes damage from an attack that hits?

Suppose I cast Armor of Agathys at level 2 as a Warlock, which will provide +10 temporary hit points. If an attacker hits with a melee attack and deals 11 damage, does the attacker take the 10 damage ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Do either Speak with Animals or Awakened Mind let me use Command on animals?

The spell Command states the following: You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or follow the command on its next turn. ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Does using a bonus action end One with Shadows?

The Warlock invocation One with Shadows grants invisibility until you "move or take an action or reaction." Does taking a bonus action end this invisibility?
8
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a Hexblade Warlock use a bonus action to attack with an offhand weapon, using both as Pact weapons?

Xanathar's Guide To Everything added a clarification on the type of weapons you can use with Pact of the Blade: If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact ...
8
votes
2answers
544 views

Does this extra sentence in the description of the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation appear in any official reference?

I signed up specifically to ask this question, because this website is one of the only places I have found this extra line of text in the warlock's "Eyes of the Rune Keeper" eldritch invocation from D&...
7
votes
2answers
393 views

Can a Helpless Warlock Activate Fell Flight to Move Underwater?

There is a warlock in our party whose strength was just reduced to 0 by a sea hag. He is underwater. Can a helpless Warlock activate Fell Flight to move underwater?
6
votes
2answers
33k views

How many spell slots does a Level 3 Warlock have in 5E?

The Warlock Table in the PHB (p106) states that a Warlock has the following: 1 First-level spell slot at level 1. 2 First-level spell slots at level 2. 2 Second-level spell slots at level 3. Does ...
6
votes
2answers
44k views

How much control do you have over a charmed creature from the Great Old One warlock's Create Thrall feature?

In the Great Old One branch of Warlock, there is a Create Thrall effect, which states that if I touch an incapacitated creature it becomes charmed toward me - but it describes nothing else about the ...
5
votes
5answers
9k views

Can Warlock with the Polearm Master and War Caster Feats cast Eldritch Blast as an Opportunity Attack while wearing a shield, RAW?

I realize there is the RAI note out there that indicates Polearm Master's opportunity attack is only intended to work with the polearm that you're wielding, but some DMs accept the RAW interpretation ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Hex disadvantage apply to the next concentration spell?

I am trying to build a Warlock and see how I can optimize the hex spell and this question came up: will the disadvantage from the hex spell apply to the next concentration spell when I cast it? Or ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Eyes of the Rune Keeper allow a Warlock to cast other classes' spells from Scrolls?

The rules for Spell Scrolls state that: If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack?

The 5E Warlock Invocation 'Frost Lance' (from Unearthed Arcana) says: You draw on the gifts of the Prince of Frost to trap your enemies in ice. When you hit a creature with your eldritch blast ...
4
votes
1answer
222 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to the Warlock Spell Slots when he obtains new Spell Levels?

This isn't explained on the spellcasting section of the warlock. On the table, it's shown the warlock acquires new spell slots as it levels up, for example, starts at level 1 with 1 1st level slot, ...
2
votes
1answer
172 views

Can a spell-mimicking invocation be used in lieu of an arcane spell for Spellblast and Greatreach eldritch essence invocations?

Complete Mage contains a lesser eldritch essence, Spellblast (p.57), and a greater essence, Greatreach Blast (p.58), that allow a warlock to place an AOE or touch arcane spell, respectively, at the ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Are there rules regarding a found Warlock grimoire? [closed]

I'm currently playing a 'pact of the tome' Warlock in a 5e campaign. In our last session, we were exploring an ancient library and my character managed to find an item that the DM described as a ...
-4
votes
2answers
423 views

Is this Supernatural warlock patron balanced?

The Supernatural You have struck a pact with a great supernatural being, a great lord over the chaotic Undead. Unnatural Aura At first level, creatures with an Intelligence score of 10 or more sense ...
14
votes
6answers
30k views

Does a Warlock's pact with a Fiend always involve the transfer of his immortal soul?

Is it possible to have a pact with a fiend that does not involve the fiend owning your soul? This came up in thinking about whether it would be complicated to raise a dead fiend-pact Warlock. If the ...
38
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Situation: I am playing a Hexblade Warlock. With the willing participation of another party member, my character slays the party member. Having killed a character, the hexblade can cause their spirit ...
24
votes
5answers
69k views

Optimizing Pact of the Blade’s ability to conjure any weapon

At level 3, warlocks gain the Pact Boon feature, and one of the options is Pact of the Blade. One of the benefits of the warlock’s Pact of the Blade is the ability to conjure any melee weapon the ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Should I have to roll to copy a spell into my Book of Ancient Secrets?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PH p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if ...
9
votes
3answers
8k views

Warlocks and the Ring of Spell Storing: how do you fill it up?

The Warlock casts spells at one given level. Spell Slots(PHB p.107) The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. {snip} ... when you are 5th ...