Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
4k views

How many spells does a level 3 Tiefling Warlock have?

Tried reading through the PHB, and every post here, but no luck! I'm a level 3 Tiefling Warlock and so: Infernal Legacy says I know the Thaumaturgy cantrip. My Otherworldly Patron is Fiend and "the ...
21
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation add unintelligible spell scrolls to their book?

Can a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation copy spells from a spell scroll from another class' spell list? For example: could a level three warlock copy a spell scroll of ...
19
votes
4answers
6k views

Can a warlock teach a spell to a wizard?

My wizard is in a pinch and needs to learn a spell the party warlock knows. Can he teach me? Assume the spell belongs to both classes lists. If it makes any difference, you can assume he has pact of ...
16
votes
5answers
32k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
16
votes
7answers
10k views

Does Voice of the Chain Master let me cast a purely verbal spell through my familiar?

In D&D 5e, as a Warlock, I can choose a feature that lets me speak in my own voice through my familiar. PHB 111: Voice of the Chain Master Prerequisite: Pact of the Chain feature You ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

If I roll 2d8 and 1d6 for damage, how many “damage rolls” is that? 1, 2, or 3?

I'm playing a Shadow sorcerer/Hexblade warlock and I am rather confused about the Hexblade's Curse feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55). It says, on the first bullet point of the curse ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

If a magic weapon requires attunement, and a warlock makes it their pact weapon, does it still take up an attunement slot?

Player characters normally have an attunement limit of 3 items. As a warlock, if I have a weapon that normally requires attunement, will it still take up one of my attunement slots after I make it ...
15
votes
4answers
3k views

How can a warlock learn from a spellbook?

I'm playing a 6th-level Tiefling Warlock in D&D 5e. On a recent journey, I acquired a spell book that has something to do with a slithering trapper. How do I add this to my list of spells?
14
votes
4answers
11k views

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn't even take a bonus action, is there anything in ...
14
votes
1answer
392 views

Would using a lower-leveled spell for the a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature impair balance?

I confess I find myself underwhelmed by the 8th level spells available for a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature, especially if you e.g. have one or more bards in the party (as I do). (Maddening ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How much and what type of damage does Warlock Thought Shield deal?

The rules about Warlock Thought Shield say this: You also have resistance to psychic damage, and whenever a creature deals psychic damage to you, that creature takes the same amount of damage ...
12
votes
2answers
8k views

How many spell slots does a Warlock 19/Wizard 1 have?

I'm really confused by Multiclassing as a Warlock. Say I put 19 levels into Warlock and I have six spell slots. Simple enough. The tricky bit is when you think of ways to get more spell slots. The ...
12
votes
3answers
5k views

Do cantrips gained through Pact of the Tome use Charisma or their default stat?

Pact of the Tome gives Warlocks access to any 3 cantrips. The feature doesn't specify whether the cantrips use the default stat (my guess), or whether they use Cha (to make the feature more useful/...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Warlock cast a spell at a lower level than their spell slot?

Can a Warlock cast a spell using a lower level slot than the slots they have available? For example, if a 9th level Warlock (who has 5th slots) comes into a possession of a Shield Guardian (who can ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack when applied by two different Warlocks?

Following on from Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack? but looking at a different scenario. The 5E Warlock Invocation 'Frost Lance' (from Unearthed Arcana) says: You draw on ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

How can Pact of the Chain warlocks' familiars heal?

I've been looking around everywhere, but I cannot seem to find out how a Pact of the Chain warlock's familiar might recover hitpoints. Regular find familiar familiars only have 1 hp, so it's entirely ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a mute warlock make normal use of the Voice of the Chain Master class feature?

Consider a Warlock with The Great Old One patron and Pact of the Chain, who is mute because his tongue has been removed. He communicates with most characters through Awakened Mind, granted by the ...
11
votes
1answer
780 views

Are there rules to make my own warlock pact?

I know there are 3 pacts: blade, tome, and chain, but are there any rules/ guidelines to make one that's none of the above?
10
votes
2answers
7k views

Does Mystic Arcanum take up a spells known slot?

For levels where you get a new mystic arcanum, the warlock leveling table also shows that you get one more spell known. Are they the same spell, or is the spell you get from mystic arcanum a different ...
10
votes
1answer
557 views

Can the weapon summoned via a Warlock's Pact of the Blade be pre-silvered when summoned?

Would it be possible to manifest a weapon that has either the Silvered or the Adamantine property? Per the description of Pact of the Blade: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your ...
10
votes
3answers
7k views

How do warlocks enter into a pact with a patron?

How do warlocks get into a pact with their patron? I want to multiclass my rogue but I don't know how that works into any story. Are there any published official material (or Unearthed Arcana) that ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation see both the true form and the illusionary or transmuted form?

The Witch Sight warlock invocation reads: You can see the true form of any shapechanger or creature concealed by illusion or transmutation magic while the creature is within 30 feet of you and ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

How does true polymorph interact with class feature companions? [closed]

How does true polymorph work with the companion from the rangers beast master and warlocks pact of the chain class options? Beast Master Can it be true polymorphed into a large CR 1/4 creature? Can ...
9
votes
2answers
10k views

Warlock Eldritch master good for nothing?

I find the Warlock level 20 feature Eldritch Master totally useless as it states: Eldritch Master: At 20th level, you can draw on your inner reserve of mystical power while entreating your patron ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Do either Speak with Animals or Awakened Mind let me use Command on animals?

The spell Command states the following: You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or follow the command on its next turn. ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Warlock maintain Hex outside of combat?

Hex states: "If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature." The spell has a minimum duration of "...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can warlocks' familiars use armor/shields?

Can imps or quasits wear armor or shields? If so, how much would it cost to get armor and shields of the appropriate size (tiny)? Would they have a penalty for using such equipment, or do they have ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

How does Hurl Through Hell work in Mechanus?

The variant rule for Mechanus states that all rolls made there are automatically the average. However, what happens when a Fiend Pact Warlock uses their Hurl Through Hell feature there? Can they not ...
8
votes
4answers
9k views

Does the invisibility from the warlock's “One with Shadows” Eldritch Invocation end if the area of darkness you're in becomes lit?

Warlocks get access to the following Eldritch Invocation at 5th level: When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you choose to cast a lower level version of a cantrip?

As a 1st Level character the Warlock cantrip Eldritch blast can be used with the Twinned Spell meta magic feature of the sorcerer. However, when a character reaches 5th level it becomes a spell with ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Adding followers to my Warlock's patron

Context I'm playing a level 6 Warlock, my patron is Cthulhu (old god). I am a fan of Lovecraftian style horror, and I'd like to incorporate some of these themes in my quest. My personal quest is to ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Disciple of Life's extra healing apply to Vampiric Touch?

The sorclock I'm building (see cheese elsewhere) will be picking up a level of cleric, probably Life Domain. It looks like Vampiric Touch would interact with Disciple of Life to provide extra healing....
8
votes
1answer
5k views

Warlock Expanded Spell List

Expanded Spell List The Fiend lets you choose from an expanded list of spells when you learn a warlock spell. The following spells are added to the warlock spell list for you. Should this mean, ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does using a bonus action end One with Shadows?

The Warlock invocation One with Shadows grants invisibility until you "move or take an action or reaction." Does taking a bonus action end this invisibility?
8
votes
2answers
6k views

Is a Pact Weapon a spell attack or a normal weapon?

Basically, do I use Charisma to attack? If not, is it a normal weapon? So if I create a Greatsword, I use Strength, but with a Scimitar I use Dexterity? Do I apply feats, if I have Extra Attack from ...
8
votes
2answers
11k views

Dark One's Blessing and Armor of Agathys Synergy? [duplicate]

Recently, I played a warlock in a 5e one-shot. We were playing at level 7 and I was a blade/fiend warlock. I have as a Fiend Warlock a skill called "Dark One's Blessing" which is described thus: ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can spell points be used with a Warlock?

In the DMG (288-289) there is an optional rule for spell points, but warlocks are not mentioned. Can warlocks use spell points for their magic?
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Rod of Pact Keeper +1 be selected as a pact weapon by a Pact of the Blade warlock?

Can the Rod of the Pact Keeper +1 (DMG p. 197) be chosen as a pact weapon by a Pact of the Blade warlock?
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it?

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it? The character is a 3rd level Warlock - spellcaster - and he decided to visit a library in the town they're currently ...
6
votes
4answers
5k views

Do D&D 3.5e's Warlocks always source their power from a pact?

(This is in the context of Neverwinter Nights 2 Persistent World) Short version I would like to know if there's a quote from source books that explicitly prove following: Not all warlocks' powers ...
6
votes
5answers
29k views

If I multiclass as a warlock and another class, and I get spell slots from that other class, do they count as my highest-level slot or not? [duplicate]

Since warlocks have so few spell slots, they always cast with the highest level spell slot possible. So, if I got spell slots by multiclassing as a sorcerer (or wizard) and I cast a warlock spell ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Making a Party of Warlocks [closed]

I have recently gained access to DDI for a short while and wanted to try an experiment with some friends of mine. That is, I actually want to play with these characters for a few sessions to see if a ...
6
votes
1answer
138 views

How does line of effect work with spells targeted through the Sentinel Raven's sight, from the UA Raven Queen warlock patron?

I'm playing a warlock in a D&D 5e campaign. I am playing a multiclassed Rogue 11/Warlock 1. For my one level in warlock, I chose the Raven Queen patron from Unearthed Arcana. According to the ...
6
votes
1answer
899 views

Can Warlocks choose the level effectiveness of Eldritch Blasts?

Can a Warlock as defined in D&D 3.5 Complete Arcane choose to use a reduced-power eldritch blast? Meaning if there is a level 5 warlock, will its eldritch blast always do 3d6 max caster level, or ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

When a Hex Warrior uses Charisma to attack, are they using their will?

This question is in reference to this Warlock archetype: Hex Warrior (XGtE 55,56) You gain proficiency with medium armor, shields, and martial weapons. When you attack with [a weapon you touch ...
5
votes
1answer
346 views

Is this Murderous Celestial homebrew warlock patron balanced?

I'm hoping to get some feedback in order to keep this warlock subclass in balance - The Murderous Celestial. Context I'm the DM of a 5e D&D game. One of my players' characters is a Neutral-Good ...
5
votes
1answer
6k views

If a Warlock's “Repelling Blast” hits an enemy engaged with an ally, does that ally get an attack of opportunity from it moving away? [duplicate]

Example: Fighter is engaged in melee combat with enemy. Warlock uses eldrich blast with "Repelling Blast" invocation. The enemy is pushed 10 ft. away. Is that creature no longer engaged in combat with ...
5
votes
1answer
8k views

Does a cantrip count as a spell when referred to as a warlock upgrade effect? [duplicate]

On page 107 of the DND 5E players handbook there is a labeled area called "Spells known of first level and higher", in this section it says "when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you choose a different ability for Hex when changing its target?

As a corollary to "Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?," is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

When is entropic ward considered “used”?

Entropic Ward is a patron of the old god feature that allows the warlock to impose disadvantage on an attack against him as a reaction. If the target misses, the warlock can give himself advantage ...