Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I use the Boon of Spell Mastery as a warlock for a spell that I didn't learn as a warlock, but learned as a different class?

If I have a bard with cure wounds, and take one level of Celestial warlock (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 54) before getting the Boon of Spell Mastery (DMG, 232): Choose one 1st-level sorcerer,...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you choose to cast a lower level version of a cantrip?

As a 1st Level character the Warlock cantrip Eldritch blast can be used with the Twinned Spell meta magic feature of the sorcerer. However, when a character reaches 5th level it becomes a spell with ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Adding followers to my Warlock's patron

Context I'm playing a level 6 Warlock, my patron is Cthulhu (old god). I am a fan of Lovecraftian style horror, and I'd like to incorporate some of these themes in my quest. My personal quest is to ...
8
votes
2answers
6k views

What is the duration of the temporary hit points granted by the Fiend-patron warlock's Dark One's Blessing feature?

What is the duration of the temporary hit points granted by the Fiend-patron warlock's Dark One's Blessing feature?
7
votes
3answers
555 views

Does the Kenku racial curse prevent the Awakened Mind class feature and similar telepathy effects from helping them communicate?

A Great Old One warlock is granted awakened mind at first level -- a limited form of conversational telepathy that allows communication (with range limitations) with any being that can understand at ...
7
votes
1answer
550 views

Is this Murderous Celestial homebrew warlock patron balanced?

I'm hoping to get some feedback in order to keep this warlock subclass in balance - The Murderous Celestial. Context I'm the DM of a 5e D&D game. One of my players' characters is a Neutral-Good ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Rod of Pact Keeper +1 be selected as a pact weapon by a Pact of the Blade warlock?

Can the Rod of the Pact Keeper +1 (DMG p. 197) be chosen as a pact weapon by a Pact of the Blade warlock?
7
votes
5answers
39k views

If I multiclass as a warlock and another class, and I get spell slots from that other class, do they count as my highest-level slot or not? [duplicate]

Since warlocks have so few spell slots, they always cast with the highest level spell slot possible. So, if I got spell slots by multiclassing as a sorcerer (or wizard) and I cast a warlock spell ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it?

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it? The character is a 3rd level Warlock - spellcaster - and he decided to visit a library in the town they're currently ...
7
votes
1answer
198 views

How does line of effect work with spells targeted through the Sentinel Raven's sight, from the UA Raven Queen warlock patron?

I'm playing a warlock in a D&D 5e campaign. I am playing a multiclassed Rogue 11/Warlock 1. For my one level in warlock, I chose the Raven Queen patron from Unearthed Arcana. According to the ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can spell points be used with a Warlock?

In the DMG (288-289) there is an optional rule for spell points, but warlocks are not mentioned. Can warlocks use spell points for their magic?
6
votes
4answers
5k views

Do D&D 3.5e's Warlocks always source their power from a pact?

(This is in the context of Neverwinter Nights 2 Persistent World) Short version I would like to know if there's a quote from source books that explicitly prove following: Not all warlocks' powers ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Warlocks choose the level effectiveness of Eldritch Blasts?

Can a Warlock as defined in D&D 3.5 Complete Arcane choose to use a reduced-power eldritch blast? Meaning if there is a level 5 warlock, will its eldritch blast always do 3d6 max caster level, or ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Making a Party of Warlocks [closed]

I have recently gained access to DDI for a short while and wanted to try an experiment with some friends of mine. That is, I actually want to play with these characters for a few sessions to see if a ...
6
votes
3answers
259 views

Does Repelling Blast remove the restrained condition if used on the restrainer?

If I repelling blast someone who is restraining a party member and knock them back 10 feet does it end the restrained condition? Or does it knock the player that is restrained 10 feet back too? The ...
5
votes
1answer
7k views

If a Warlock's “Repelling Blast” hits an enemy engaged with an ally, does that ally get an attack of opportunity from it moving away? [duplicate]

Example: Fighter is engaged in melee combat with enemy. Warlock uses eldrich blast with "Repelling Blast" invocation. The enemy is pushed 10 ft. away. Is that creature no longer engaged in combat with ...
5
votes
2answers
5k views

When a Hex Warrior uses Charisma to attack, are they using their will?

This question is in reference to this Warlock archetype: Hex Warrior (XGtE 55,56) You gain proficiency with medium armor, shields, and martial weapons. When you attack with [a weapon you touch ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you choose a different ability for Hex when changing its target?

As a corollary to "Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?," is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a ...
5
votes
1answer
9k views

Does a cantrip count as a spell when referred to as a warlock upgrade effect? [duplicate]

On page 107 of the DND 5E players handbook there is a labeled area called "Spells known of first level and higher", in this section it says "when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of ...
4
votes
3answers
8k views

Is there a way to make the Shadow Blade spell into a warlock pact weapon?

The shadow blade spell (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 164) states: You weave together threads of shadow to create a sword of solidified gloom in your hand. This magic sword lasts until the ...
4
votes
2answers
7k views

When is entropic ward considered “used”?

Entropic Ward is a patron of the old god feature that allows the warlock to impose disadvantage on an attack against him as a reaction. If the target misses, the warlock can give himself advantage ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Could a Halfling Warlock Ride a Pseudodragon?

What I would like to know is, can I ride a pseudodragon or get carried ( by its feetclaws) by an Imp. Without taking any attack penalties. Not really looking for cover bonuses. I have a Halfling ...
4
votes
1answer
173 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
4
votes
1answer
18k views

Do multiple sources of Temporary Hit Points combine or do you only get one set? [duplicate]

So I have a question about a warlocks temporary hit points. Say you cast Armor of Agathys and false life. Do you have two separate pools of hit points or do you have to pick one of the two? by ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

What books cover Star Pact Warlocks and their awful masters?

I'm a huge sucker for blending cthulu-inspired material into high fantasy. I can't stop myself. What books (and magazine articles) provide background (3rd party material okay). Please specify as much ...
4
votes
1answer
975 views

Can a Dragonfire Adept learn warlock invocations and vice versa?

Pretty much what it says in the tin. Can the DFA learn Warlock invocations and vice versa? Or are they separated by class? I know there are some overlaps in invocations.
3
votes
2answers
1k views

How does War Caster interact with Hexblade?

I'm playing a Hexblade warlock with the War Caster feat. While holding my staff (an arcane focus) and a shield, can I cast spells without penalty? What if the spell has a consumable component?
3
votes
1answer
935 views

How do Hybrid Warlocks get Eldritch Blast?

I may be reading this wrong but with the hybrid rules in PHB3 it doesn't seem to say that a Hybrid Warlock does or does not get Eldritch Blast which in PHB1 it says all Warlocks have. Does this ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible for a warlock to displease their patron? [duplicate]

I haven't seen anything in the PHB or the DMG (although I admit I haven't looked in every nook and crank) to the effect that a warlock can displease their patron. Warlocks seem to be just free to do ...
3
votes
1answer
409 views

How exactly does Mortalbane work when used with conjuration (especially for warlocks)?

At first I thought Mortalbane was very straight-forward. An example I read is a warlock casting Chilling Tentacles. Enemies take 2d6+2d6 cold damage from the effect, plus they take 1d6+4+2d6 ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Removing disadvantage from being Small and wielding a Heavy weapon [duplicate]

I rolled a Hexblade Warlock for a campaign I am playing, with the Pact of the Blade and Cursebringer invocation. What I did not account for is that because I am playing a Halfling, I have ...
3
votes
4answers
448 views

Still gain the benefits of rest if drugged?

If PCs are drugged and fall unconscious, does the period they are out count as a short rest? Would a warlock regain their spell slots?
2
votes
3answers
11k views

Is a Barbarian 1/Warlock n effective as a tank?

Playing my first 5e game soon. We're using PHB material only for characters. Is it possible to have a character that is sort of the main tank/off tank with a character who will start as a barbarian ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Would this homebrew Eldritch Invocation allow you to add Eldritch Blast damage to a sneak attack?

NOTE: Homebrew must be allowed for this to work! Take 1 level in Rogue to get Sneak Attack. Take 5 levels in Warlock (this is preferably your starting class). Take Agonizing Blast at the second ...
1
vote
2answers
23k views

What does the Warlock's Fey Presence ability actually do?

The PHB says about the Warlock's Fey Presence: As an action, you can cause each creature in a 10-foot cube originating from you to make a Wisdom saving throw against your warlock spell save DC. The ...
1
vote
1answer
440 views

Is this homebrew Supernatural warlock patron (v2) balanced?

A bit ago I asked if this Warlock patron was balanced. I was told to explain this patron a bit more, so here we go: The idea of this patron is that you have made a pact with some Lord of the Undead. ...
-16
votes
2answers
21k views

Do warlocks regain all their spell slots on a short rest?

I keep seeing all over the internet that warlocks get all their warlock spell slots back on a short rest. However, none of the page references seem to point to the correct spot. Do you know if this ...

1 2 3 4