A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
19
votes
4answers
6k views

Can a warlock teach a spell to a wizard?

My wizard is in a pinch and needs to learn a spell the party warlock knows. Can he teach me? Assume the spell belongs to both classes lists. If it makes any difference, you can assume he has pact of ...
19
votes
2answers
29k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...
19
votes
7answers
11k views

Does the Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation let me cast a purely verbal spell through my familiar?

In D&D 5e, as a Pact of the Chain Warlock, I can choose an eldritch invocation that lets me speak in my own voice through my familiar called Voice of the Chain Master (PHB 111): You can ...
19
votes
3answers
5k views

Warlock/Cleric: Would the Fiend and a God Get Along?

I have a character in the Forgotten Realms, Orryn, who is a gnome whose village was burnt down, who forged a pact with a pit fiend to gain Warlock powers. This was all to avenge his people and he is ...
19
votes
2answers
12k views

Does a Pearl of Power cease to help a Warlock once they level above level 6?

We have a warlock in our party that has a Pearl of Power. Since a Pearl of Power restores one spell slot of level 1 to level 3 only, it would seem to become useless to a pure Warlock caster that ...
19
votes
1answer
9k views

Do you get Hex Warrior's Cha bonus with a two-handed Pact Weapon?

Hex Warrior says: you can touch one weapon with which you are proficient and that lacks the two-handed quality. When you attack with that weapon you can use your Charisma for attack and damage ...
18
votes
2answers
5k views

Are Warlocks Arcane or Divine?

This question recently came up in one of my sessions. Are Warlocks considered Arcane or Divine? There is a magic item, Dark Shard Amulet that is for Warlocks and it requires an Arcana check to use. ...
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Must a warlock replace spells with new spells of exactly their Pact Magic spell slot level?

The Warlock Pact Magic feature says: The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the UA Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation be used by a warlock to heal and wake up an ally at 0 HP?

Can the Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) heal a dying or stabilized ally at 0 HP, thereby waking them up early? As unreliable as ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you pick Book of Shadows cantrips from different spell lists?

My question: When selecting cantrips for the Book of Shadows, can you only pick from a single class's spell list, or can you pick from different ones? My situation is the following: The Book of ...
18
votes
3answers
23k views

Eldritch Blast with multiple beams and Agonizing Blast on a single target: Cha Mod just once?

Agonizing Blast allows a Warlock to add Cha mod to EB damage. Two questions: At higher levels, when directing multiple beams at a single target, does it work like Magic Missile, where the modifier ...
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a warlock use one of their Thirsting Blade attacks to grapple or shove?

As a Warlock with the Thirsting Blade Invocation, can I replace one of the Attacks with my pact weapon with a Grapple/Shove? The only wording difference between Thirsting Blade and Extra attack is: "...
17
votes
5answers
36k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
17
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens when my aasimar Celestial warlock has overlapping class and racial features?

If you are an Aasimar warlock whose otherworldly patron is The Celestial, you will know the light cantrip from both race and class. Additionally, once you reach 6th level in warlock you will have ...
17
votes
2answers
19k views

Does the Hex spell's damage apply to spell attacks?

The Hex spell increases the damage when you hit with an attack and Eldritch Blast is a spell which causes you to make a spell attack roll. Does any attack roll trigger the extra damage of Hex, or ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Is this homebrew Lady of Pain warlock patron balanced?

I designed a warlock patron called the Lady of Pain. Is this subclass balanced against the other official warlock subclasses? The Lady of Pain You have quietly made a Pact with the Lady of ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock use an existing thrown pact magic weapon so it functions as a “Returning” weapon?

In Pathfinder, a thrown weapon could gain the Special Ability of Returning. The weapon could be thrown, then fly through the air back to the creature that threw it. Can a warlock with the "Pact of ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock turn a cursed magic weapon into your pact weapon to bypass the curse?

I would like to rid myself of a cursed weapon (whose curse includes the traditional "you may not unequip this weapon" aspect), but don't have access to Remove Curse. Can I turn the cursed weapon into ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Are all Eldritch Invocations nullified by an antimagic field?

In one of the tables I'm part of, we engaged in a discussion about an antimagic field being able to nullify the effects of an warlock's Devil's Sight because Eldritch Invocations are magical in nature ...
17
votes
3answers
1k views

Does expeditious retreat affect warlock fly speed

Expeditious Retreat says This spell increases your base land speed by 30 feet. (This adjustment is treated as an enhancement bonus.) There is no effect on other modes of movement, such as burrow, ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Does a patron have to know their warlock?

Somewhat related to this question but in reverse. I want to know if a warlock's patron actually has to be aware of their warlock. Could the warlock be, for example, siphoning power from their patron ...
16
votes
5answers
5k views

How do you make a character's alignment change in-game?

I want to change the alignment of my warlock drow in game from neutral evil to neutral good. Can you just change it? Do you have to have a monster change it? Can I make the reason because of the ...
16
votes
2answers
7k views

Does a warlock have to know his patron?

I'm in a game that has a lot of first-time players (myself included) however the person I am questioning I do not believe is a first time player. We've been playing for about 6 months now (October - ...
16
votes
2answers
24k views

Do warlocks have to prepare spells?

I don't know a lot about how preparing spells works. I know that some classes have to prepare their spells and others don't. I couldn't find any information about Warlocks.
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper allow them to read Druidic?

Just a bit confused as the PHB states that Druidic is used to write in code. Does that mean that Eyes of the Rune Keeper will allow me to read Druidic but not understand what it means or could I read ...
16
votes
1answer
6k views

Are Blastlocks not Special?

I am making a character for D&D 5e and I am thinking about playing an Abjurer Eldritch Knight with a dip of Warlock for some refluffed flavor, out of combat utility, in combat utility, and I just ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

If I roll 2d8 and 1d6 for damage, how many “damage rolls” is that? 1, 2, or 3?

I'm playing a Shadow sorcerer/Hexblade warlock and I am rather confused about the Hexblade's Curse feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55). It says, on the first bullet point of the curse ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

How many spell slots can you spend at once on the Moonbow Invocation?

So I've been playing D&D 5th edition with a few guys and I'm going to roll a new character, which they are all in favor of. I've taken a liking to an archer, but more specifically an archer with ...
16
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

I'm planning on multi-classing in Warlock as a Sorcerer in 5e. I'd like to be able to use my Warlock spell slots from Pact Magic (that I regain on a short rest) to gain sorcery points. I'm inclined ...
16
votes
1answer
472 views

Do warlocks with an infernal pact or tieflings have a place in the infernal hierarchy?

I'm doing some lore research before I start as a player (playing a warlock in a pact with levistus) in Descent into Avernus, and I'm curious whether there's any information about where mortal warlocks ...
16
votes
1answer
861 views

How do spell scrolls interact with warlock invocations?

When creating a Spell Scroll using the rules from XGtE (p.133), if the spell is a cantrip the scroll is cast as if the caster were first level. If a Warlock with, say, Agonizing Blast were to scribe a ...
15
votes
3answers
13k views

Are warlocks able to abuse short rests to cast long-duration spells without consuming spell slots?

From the description of the Warlock class: Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many Spell Slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your Spell Slots are ...
15
votes
4answers
4k views

How can a warlock learn from a spellbook?

I'm playing a 6th-level Tiefling Warlock in D&D 5e. On a recent journey, I acquired a spell book that has something to do with a slithering trapper. How do I add this to my list of spells?
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Where is a warlock's soul?

In a campaign that I am running, we came upon an interesting question. Where is a warlock's soul? This came about when my players were trying to sneak into a restricted area. In my world, there is a ...
15
votes
4answers
4k views

What do I lose by going Paladin 17 / Warlock 3, instead of taking 1 additional level or 1 fewer level in Warlock?

Background I have a 9th Level Oath of Redemption Scourge Aasimar Paladin. Due to the way the story has evolved, I will need to multiclass into warlock. My intention was to take levels 10, 11 and 12 ...
15
votes
3answers
91k views

I don't get the spell slot system for D&D 5e's Warlocks

Now just recently I have had a group of friends get into D&D 5e and I ran into an issue with the Warlock class Spell Slots. Cantrips: a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this homebrew Warlock Invocation, Splinter Casting, balanced?

Introduction It seems the internet is littered with posts about players complaining that their Warlock just doesn't have enough spell slots, or that if they don't get that many short rests in a day ...
15
votes
5answers
63k views

How can I get the most synergy out of this Paladin/Warlock multi-class combination?

I'm planning on playing a Paladin/Warlock in an upcoming game and I've picked the Oath of Vengeance, and Great Old One Patron/Pact of Tome. I've made my backstory (island home sunk when invaded by ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

If a magic weapon requires attunement, and a warlock makes it their pact weapon, does it still take up an attunement slot?

Player characters normally have an attunement limit of 3 items. As a warlock, if I have a weapon that normally requires attunement, will it still take up one of my attunement slots after I make it ...
15
votes
4answers
9k views

Can a Warlock become a lich?

I'm going to play a Warlock character starting at 3rd level. I want to know if he can become a lich. If this is possible, is there something that I must do before he can become a lich, such as take ...
15
votes
2answers
11k views

How can a Sorcerer/Warlock use 4 Eldritch blasts in one round?

How is it possible for the infamous Sorlock multiclass to use 4 x Eldritch blasts in 1 round? I get the extra damages as in the d6s and +mod damage from all the curses but I see formulas around like ...
15
votes
1answer
5k views

Can an aasimar warlock's celestial patron and angelic guide be the same being?

Would an aasimar's celestial guide whose connection to the aasimar only functions through dreams be a fair choice as a celestial patron for a warlock or would the connection being only dream-based be ...
15
votes
2answers
17k views

Just what are the differences between Spellcasting and Pact Magic?

Many classes incorporate the Spellcasting feature. One, Warlock, instead has the feature Pact Magic. What are the mechanical differences between the two, or is this just a distinction without a ...
15
votes
1answer
5k views

When a Warlock Invocation lets me cast a spell, do I also have to make it one of my Spells Known?

My friends and I are going to be starting another campaign in the near future. I've going to be playing as a Warlock and I was hoping to get some clarification on the use of the Eldritch Invocation ...
15
votes
1answer
283 views

Is this homebrew Druid-themed Warlock patron balanced?

I would like to play a "green witch"- or "hedge witch"-type character in an upcoming D&D 5e campaign, so my DM is letting me homebrew a Druid-themed Warlock patron (similar to how the official ...
14
votes
4answers
12k views

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn't even take a bonus action, is there anything in ...
14
votes
6answers
22k views

How to get advantage on all four ranged attacks in one round?

Specifically, I want to attack 4 times with Eldritch Blast as a 17th level Warlock. What is the easiest and cheapest way to gain advantage on all 4 attacks?
14
votes
6answers
29k views

Does a Warlock's pact with a Fiend always involve the transfer of his immortal soul?

Is it possible to have a pact with a fiend that does not involve the fiend owning your soul? This came up in thinking about whether it would be complicated to raise a dead fiend-pact Warlock. If the ...
14
votes
4answers
3k views

Does a warlock ever need more than 27 Use Magic Device?

Is there any benefit to a Use Magic Device modifier over 27 for a Warlock? It seems like the maximum check you would ever need is to cast a level 9 spell from a scroll, which is 20+17. Am I missing ...
14
votes
5answers
70k views

Is a Pact of the Chain Warlock's quasit familiar really this effective as a spy?

One of my players has a Warlock with the Pact of the Chain. This PC has a quasit familiar. If we are applying the rules correctly… Pact of the Chain You learn the find familiar spell and can ...