Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
14
votes
4answers
7k views

Can a Pact of the Tome warlock get a Pact of the Chain-type familiar?

I am having trouble with a friend's warlock character. At level 3, a warlock gets the Pact Boon feature. The Pact of the Chain feature lets you learn find familiar and let that familiar take some ...
14
votes
3answers
8k views

Can A Warlock Change Patrons?

This is primarily a "Flavor" question (or maybe not given the long range ramifications) that came up during a game session from reading the late 4th edition "Dungeons and Dragons" comic where the ...
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points?

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points? For example: can a multiclassed sorcerer 3 / warlock 1 use Flexible Casting to create a warlock spell slot?
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a warlock have to use Hex Warrior every day?

My warlock player and I are unsure about the rules of the Hexblade Warrior. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed ...
14
votes
2answers
13k views

Does Warlock Invocation Kiss of Mephistopheles require you to know the Fireball spell?

The latest Unearthed Arcana shows the following addition: Kiss of Mephistopheles Prerequisite: 5th level, the Fiend Patron, Eldritch Blast cantrip You can channel the fires of ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Sharpshooter feat work on spells cast through a ranged weapon being used as a spellcasting focus?

I'm asking as a player: Does the Sharpshooter feat's 3rd clause (-5/+10) work on spells cast through a ranged weapon being used as a spellcasting focus? Specifically, does the Sharpshooter feat work ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Sentinel Raven and the incapacitated condition (Is the warlock's raven clingy ?)

As a warlock you can take the Raven Queen as your patron. The Sentinel Raven you get can do a lot of things but what caught my attention is the following : While perched on your shoulder, the raven ...
14
votes
2answers
12k views

If a warlock's invocation states that they can use a spell without a slot does that mean they can cast the spell as often as they want?

On page 111 of the 5E hand book the invocations Misty Visions, Mask of Many Faces, Master of Myriad Forms, and Otherworldly Leap all they that you can cast them without expending a spell slot. Does ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a level 1 Fiend-patron warlock use a Spell Scroll of Fireball?

A level 1 Fiend-patron warlock finds a spell scroll of fireball. The spell fireball is not on the base warlock spell list. If a spell is not on your list, you cannot even try to cast it from a scroll. ...
14
votes
1answer
478 views

Would using a lower-leveled spell for the a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature impair balance?

I confess I find myself underwhelmed by the 8th level spells available for a Warlock's Mystic Arcanum feature, especially if you e.g. have one or more bards in the party (as I do). (Maddening ...
14
votes
5answers
2k views

Is it possible to communicate with more than one creature at once using Awakened Mind's telepathy?

The Great Old One warlock patron grants the Awakened Mind feature at 1st level (PHB, p. 110): Starting at 1st level, your alien knowledge gives you the ability to touch the minds of other ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the Pact of the Blade warlock feature allow me to customize the properties of the pact weapon I create?

I am making a Pact of the Blade warlock/Assassin rogue. I have the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, so I can make a longbow pact weapon while at range and a melee pact weapon when not. When ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

When merged with the Raven (using Soul of the Raven), is the Warlock immune to damage?

A Warlock with the Raven Queen patron can use the 6th level Soul of the Raven pact ability to merge with the Sentinel Raven, as written: As a Bonus action when your raven is perched on your ...
13
votes
1answer
7k views

Does a Hexblade warlock get Hex Warrior's Cha bonus with a versatile weapon without Pact of the Blade?

I'm a first level Warlock, Hexblade archetype from Xanathar's Guide To Everything. My question is: Would a weapon with the Versatile property work with the Hex Warrior ability without Pact of the ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can my imp familiar still talk when shapeshifted (to a raven, if that matters)?

My Great Old One warlock just made third level, and I chose Pact of the Chain. I chose an imp as a familiar initially (recasting find familiar would allow me to change to an ordinary familiar or any ...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

Can a Warlock become Neutral Good?

In my game group there is a player who plays a warlock-druid (1-1). He started as a warlock. He realized he was playing as an NG, but he took CN for the restrictions regarding the alignment of his ...
13
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Sleep spell put a warlock with Aspect of the Moon to sleep?

The phrasing of the invocation from XGtE pg. 56 is: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. (emphasis mine) To me this phrasing sounds like it is specifically ...
13
votes
1answer
986 views

Can I save up spell learning “for later”?

As a level 3 Warlock, I didn't learn any spell at level 2 (mainly because I just couldn't decide which one to pick, so the DM told me to tell him when I make up my mind about which spell I wanted to ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature is used while in Hell?

The description of the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature says: Starting at 14th level, when you hit a creature with an attack, you can use this feature to instantly transport the ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How much and what type of damage does Warlock Thought Shield deal?

The rules about Warlock Thought Shield say this: You also have resistance to psychic damage, and whenever a creature deals psychic damage to you, that creature takes the same amount of damage ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Has there been a Kraken patron for the Warlock class in Unearthed Arcana?

Recently, this Unearthed Arcana article was released, which includes a new archetype for the Warlock class: the Lurker in the Deep patron. It's pretty obviously geared towards having a Kraken as a ...
13
votes
2answers
673 views

What spells could a Bard identify from a Pact of the Tome Warlock's Book of Shadows?

A Bard in my group has expressed an interest in attempting to read a Warlock party member's Book of Shadows, and I'm trying to figure out what, if anything, they can get from it. I figure they can't ...
13
votes
1answer
9k views

Can Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper decipher written code?

I have a Warlock in the party, and the party came across a message on a fallen enemy. It was written in draconic, and in code. The Eyes of the Rune Keeper allows the Warlock to read the draconic, But ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a pact of the blade warlock's pact weapon metal?

This came up in our last session. My pact of the blade warlock summoned a longsword to fight a grey ooze. Any nonmagical metal or wood that touches an ooze is corroded. According to the PHB, The pact ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I use an Arcane Focus used as a Quarterstaff as my Pact Weapon?

As per Can the arcane/druidic focus staff double as quarterstaff?, I understand that I can use an arcane focus staff as a quarterstaff. I was wondering then if there was any limitation on that same ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a familiar be a character?

I had an odd idea for a Warlock character who was pretty much under the control of his familiar. Backstory-wise, he had made a contract with an extraplanar entity that would allow it to live on the ...
12
votes
10answers
4k views

Does not having flight nerf a warlock's familiar?

Core Question: Is restricting a warlock's familiar to not be able to fly (or turn into any animal capable of flight) too much of a nerf to its functionality? Background: I'm about to DM a new ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a Sorcerer-3/Warlock-2 cast a subtle healing word and a quickened eldritch blast in the same turn?

I want to know if I'm understanding things right - that this set of actions is valid and doable. I'm also using this question as reference to prove I can quicken Eldritch Blast. Assuming a Sorcerer ...
12
votes
4answers
4k views

When casting Eldritch Blast with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation, what do I add to my damage roll?

This is my first time playing a warlock and I'm still fairly new to tabletop games, so I could use guidance. I know that eldritch blast does 1d10 force damage, and by 17th level, it has four beams ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

Is there any way to adjust the damage type of the Eldritch Blast cantrip so that it does fire damage?

I'm looking to build a Roy Mustang (from FMA) style character, whose primary method attack is a fiery explosion. While there are many Fire-based spells and cantrips I can use, I'm focused on the ...
12
votes
5answers
4k views

Can a multiclassed Warlock's Book of Shadows double as their Wizard spellbook?

Can the Book of Shadows from a Warlock pact double as a Wizard's spell book if the character has multiclassed? If the Book of Shadows was lost and the character summoned a new one, would the ...
12
votes
4answers
6k views

Do cantrips gained through Pact of the Tome use Charisma or their default stat?

Pact of the Tome gives Warlocks access to any 3 cantrips. The feature doesn't specify whether the cantrips use the default stat (my guess), or whether they use Cha (to make the feature more useful/...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Hexblade warlock/Battle Master fighter use Armor of Hexes to make an attack miss, then use Riposte to attack after the enemy misses?

My DM allowed me to create a tabaxi warlock/fighter, taking three levels in Battle Master fighter before my character's nature of curiosity led me into a pact with the Hexblade warlock patron. I now ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Hex disappear if combat resolves peacefully?

Just finished a combat where I cast Hex but then managed to de-escalate the combat and have it resolve peacefully. Everyone went their own separate ways and my Hex target walked away without ever ...
12
votes
2answers
8k views

How many spell slots does a Warlock 19/Wizard 1 have?

I'm really confused by Multiclassing as a Warlock. Say I put 19 levels into Warlock and I have six spell slots. Simple enough. The tricky bit is when you think of ways to get more spell slots. The ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Are there any lore reasons why an Archfey or a Celestial patron would give a character a fiendish familiar, or vice versa?

My game group is pretty RP heavy and I'm playing a Warlock for this campaign. I'm in the first stages of character creation, and I know I want to do Pact of the Chain. I like the Imp as a familiar for ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Is it possible to find and have another patron as a warlock?

I was reading through my player's handbook, and got to the warlock's patrons. Then I started to wonder, is it possible to have multiple patrons? If I made a warlock character, and later in the ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Green Lord's Gift effectively make all heal spells roll max on the Warlock?

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard includes the eldritch invocation Green Lord's Gift for warlocks, which reads: Green Lord’s Gift Prerequisite: The Archfey patron The Green Lord ...
12
votes
2answers
37k views

Does the Hex spell give disadvantage to saving throws and attacks?

The Warlock Spell 'Hex' (PHB 251) gives Disadvantage on ability checks. Does this include saving throws and attacks? That is, in this context, are saving throws and attacks 'ability checks'?
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Are cantrips gained from Pact of the Tome considered warlock spells? [duplicate]

The warlock's Pact of the Tome option for the Pact Boon feature says: When you gain this feature, choose three cantrips from any class's spell list. While the book is on your person, you can cast ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

How can Pact of the Chain warlocks' familiars heal?

I've been looking around everywhere, but I cannot seem to find out how a Pact of the Chain warlock's familiar might recover hitpoints. Regular find familiar familiars only have 1 hp, so it's entirely ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Does Hex apply to Spiritual Weapon?

If I use Hex (PHB p251) on a creature and next turn I use, say Eldritch Blast as my action and Spiritual Weapon (PHB p278) as my bonus, would Spiritual Weapon also get hex's extra damage? I'm a bit ...
12
votes
1answer
946 views

What ability score does a Hexblade's Pact Weapon use for attack and damage when wielded by another character?

I read this question about other PCs using pact weapons and realized that I'm not sure if the weapon would use the warlock's Charisma, or the other character's Strength/Dexterity for attack and damage ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you Awaken a Raven Queen-patron warlock's sentinel raven?

So I'm going through the Raven Queen-patron warlock features (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard), and it mentions that you get a spirit that uses all the raven's game statistics. Ravens have ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Warlock have both a Sentinel Raven and a familiar?

I have a warlock player who chose Patron of the Raven Queen giving him Sentinel Raven and Pact of the Chain giving him Find Familiar. Is this fair? It seems almost like he has two familiars. The spell ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack when applied by two different Warlocks?

Following on from Can Frost Lance Invocation's movement penalty stack? but looking at a different scenario. The 5E Warlock Invocation 'Frost Lance' (from Unearthed Arcana) says: You draw on ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a multiclass Cleric/Warlock hold a Holy Shield and an Arcane Staff and still cast spells?

The PHB (pg. 151) states that a Cleric may use a shield with a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10....
12
votes
5answers
27k views

Is a Sprite the only Pact of the Chain familiar that loses their invisibility when used to deliver a touch spell?

So the Warlock Pact of the Chain says When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. (...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Warlock Pact weapon on Sentient or Artifact Magic weapon

I have read this part about Warlocks You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of I ...