Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can awakened mind be used with suggestion?

Can the warlock class feature "awakened mind" be used in conjunction with the suggestion spell, allowing the warlock to make the suggestion telepathically? Awakened Mind, Player's Handbook p. 110: ...
12
votes
5answers
15k views

Can a Pact of the Chain warlock's sprite familiar use the Help action and stay invisible?

According to the D&D 5th edition Player's Handbook, the description of the Help action in combat states (page 192; bolding made by me): You can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Warlock cast a spell at a lower level than their spell slot?

Can a Warlock cast a spell using a lower level slot than the slots they have available? For example, if a 9th level Warlock (who has 5th slots) comes into a possession of a Shield Guardian (who can ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Should I have to roll to copy a spell into my Book of Ancient Secrets?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PH p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
12
votes
1answer
554 views

Can a Pact of the Chain warlock forgo their Attack action to have all familiars from the Flock of Familars spell make an attack?

The Pact of the Chain warlock gets the following benefit: Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack with its ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Warlock have a bonded pact weapon and still create other pact weapons

The Warlock can bond with a magical weapon to have it counted as a Pact weapon, which when not in use is shunted into an extra-dimensional pocket for retrieval at a later time. The regular pact weapon ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the UA invocation Improved Pact Weapon work with Elemental Weapon?

To preface, I'm making a Hexblade. I saw that Improved Pact Weapon makes your weapon a "+1 weapon." Does this make it magical and therefore not work with Elemental Weapon?
12
votes
1answer
451 views

Can a Druid/Warlock multiclass use Voice of the Chain Master to speak through their familiar while in Wild Shape?

Pact of the Chain Warlocks have access to an invocation called Voice of the Chain Master: Voice of the Chain Master Prerequisite: Pact of the Chain feature You can communicate ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

How does the Tomb of Levistus warlock invocation interact with the Freedom of Movement spell?

Tomb of Levistus is an eldritch invocation for warlocks from XGtE, p. 57 (emphasis mine): As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your ...
12
votes
4answers
234 views

How does the shared damage from the Great Old One Warlock's Thought Shield feature interact with indirect sources of psychic damage?

While it can be easy to see how the Great Old One Warlock's Thought Shield feature interacts with spells that deal psychic damage or special attacks from psionic creatures, I'm not sure how to rule "...
11
votes
7answers
3k views

Is there any way for a warlock to learn a non-warlock spell?

In the campaign I am DM-ing, I have created an Atlantis-like underwater city, and to get there I need my players characters to travel under water, and naturally they will need to breathe. Currently ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What would happen if a Cleric blessed a Warlock with a fiend patron?

So I am a cleric in our party, and our Warlock has a fiend as a patron. During last night's session, I was casting guidance on everybody that I could, because I knew we were about to get in a possible ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it possible for a tiefling warlock to cast Augury when they are first level?

I have started running D&D 5e just now, so I do not have an encyclopedic knowledge of character creation options. We played a first session, with half character generation and half low-key play. ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
11
votes
5answers
8k views

How can our warlock use the Staff of Defense?

Our party recently acquired a staff of defense. Apart from the AC bonus, it also lets you: With the staff in hand, you can use your action to cast one of the following spells from the staff if the ...
11
votes
3answers
4k views

Does this strict reading of the rules allow both Extra Attack and the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation to be used together?

The warlock's Thirsting Blade eldritch invocation cannot be normally used with the (non-warlock) class feature Extra Attack, since both feature explicitly say you attack twice instead of once. But it ...
11
votes
2answers
19k views

How do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior and Pact of the Blade features interact for two-handed weapons?

In the description of the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior class feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55), it states that you can bond with a weapon that lacks the two-handed property. In the ...
11
votes
2answers
45k views

Are the Hex Warrior weapon & Pact of Blade weapon the same or different?

The Hexblade Warlock has me in a bind. Hex Warrior explains: ...whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with that lacks the two handed property. When you ...
11
votes
4answers
56k views

How does the warlock's Devil's Sight eldritch invocation work?

The Warlock Invocation Devil's Sight (PHB p108) is described like this: You can see normally in darkness, both magical and nonmagical, to a distance of 120 feet. How should this be interpreted, ...
11
votes
2answers
21k views

Can a Tome warlock inscribe known spells into their Book of Shadows?

In 5e, can a Pact of the Tome warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation inscribe known ritual spells into their Book of Shadows? This is useful if permitted, as it allows Tome warlocks to ...
11
votes
2answers
6k views

Would it be game breaking to allow a Warlock to use his Mystic Arcanum to cast his spells at a higher level?

I'm looking for ways to make the Warlock feel more flexible with his castings, and I like this solution, especially since it's limited by how few spellslots Warlocks have of higher level spells (...
11
votes
4answers
6k views

What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PHB p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the ...
11
votes
1answer
987 views

Are there rules to make my own warlock pact?

I know there are 3 pacts: blade, tome, and chain, but are there any rules/ guidelines to make one that's none of the above?
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Switching to Improved Pact Weapon at level 3

My player (Warlock lvl 3. Hexblade, Pact of the Blade) and I are in a discussion about switching Invocations. He wishes to, now that he's went from level 2 to level 3, switch to 'Improved Pact ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Do the new UA Pact of the Tome invocations, Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors, overlap with one another?

With the release of the new UA Class Feature Variants, do the Eldritch Invocations Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors use the same 5 names as a base, or are the names separate for each Invocation? ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Do you roll an extra damage die for Hex if you crit with one beam of Eldritch Blast?

Eldritch blast (PHB, pg. 237) says: [...] Make a ranged spell attack against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 force damage. The spell creates more than one beam when you reach ...
11
votes
2answers
8k views

How do I interpret the Warlock spell table? [duplicate]

Can somebody explain the Warlock spell table for me? Maybe I'm just slow, but I don't understand it. I've played Wizards before and the Wizard spell slot table was simple to get: at 1st level you get ...
11
votes
2answers
636 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Dissonant Whispers and Misty Escape: Which reaction effect happens?

The effect of the warlock's Misty Escape feature is that when the warlock takes damage she can use her reaction to teleport away to a location of her choosing within range. The effect of failing a ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Dark Arts Archlich warlock patrons's Arcane Invisibility activate every time you cast a level 1+ spell?

The Dark Arts Archlich Patron for Warlock says that: Arcane Invisibility At 1st level, when you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher, you and all that you are wearing or carrying ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a mute warlock make normal use of the Voice of the Chain Master class feature?

Consider a Warlock with The Great Old One patron and Pact of the Chain, who is mute because his tongue has been removed. He communicates with most characters through Awakened Mind, granted by the ...
11
votes
2answers
830 views

If I create magical darkness with the Silent Image spell, can I see through it if I have the Devil's Sight warlock invocation?

Since Devil's Sight allows one to see through magical and nonmagical darkness, and Silent Image can create any visual phenomenon, can I create darkness as a visual phenomenon which Devil's Sight can ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Book of Shadows be used as regular book?

A bit of a noob question about the Warlock's Pact of the Tome: Can the Book of Shadows be used as a regular book? Does it have blank pages one can write on for miscellaneous notes or drawings, maybe? ...
11
votes
3answers
15k views

Improved Pact Weapon spell attack + damage

From Xanathar's Guide to Everything the warlock invocation Improved Pact Weapon allows you to use a pact weapon as a focus for Warlock spells. It also makes your Pact Weapon +1. The DMG under +1 ...
11
votes
3answers
8k views

Can a warlock choose a lower-level spell upcast at a higher level for their Mystic Arcanum class feature?

A player asked me if they could use their 17th-level Mystic Arcanum (Warlock class feature) to select the 6th-level spell "Mass Suggestion" cast at 9th level (to always make the suggestion last a year ...
11
votes
2answers
47k views

Additional resources for Great Old Ones

I'm new to D&D and am playing a warlock character with the Great Old One as a patron. I'm a bit disappointed at the lack of flavour that is available in the PHB regarding this and was wondering if ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock, if I use my pact weapon bow as an improvised melee weapon, which benefits carry over?

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation, what effects carry over using a bow from Pact of the Blade for melee attacks (e.g. if an enemy is too close ...
11
votes
5answers
4k views

What restrictions exist for the Warlock Shadow Walk power?

D&D 4's Warlock power Shadow Walk states the following (text copied from the D&D Compendium): On your turn, if you move at least 3 squares away from where you started your turn, you gain ...
11
votes
2answers
335 views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

How can I balance practical spells with RP spells?

I'm playing a warlock in our DnD 5e campaign. Near as I can tell, this is sort of specific to warlocks because they have so few spells known (correct me if I am wrong). Either way, I still have a ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Can two repelling blasts from opposite directions deal extra damage by crushing the target?

There are two Warlock twins, Boris and Doris, who have made a deal with a celestial entity to cleanse the evil from the world. In one of the catacombs they are exploring they encounter a skeleton. ...
10
votes
2answers
8k views

How many Pact Weapons can a Blade Pact Warlock create?

The question is relatively simple and I have searched far and wide for an official ruling or good answer: How many Pact Weapons can a Warlock create (have out) at the same time? The RAW says: You ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
10
votes
6answers
48k views

How can I build a Celestial Warlock as a primary healer?

This will be my first time playing a Warlock class and I built a concept that resulted in an Aasimar Celestial Warlock. The party has plenty of potential healers but none with a class that focuses on ...
10
votes
2answers
8k views

Does Mystic Arcanum take up a spells known slot?

For levels where you get a new mystic arcanum, the warlock leveling table also shows that you get one more spell known. Are they the same spell, or is the spell you get from mystic arcanum a different ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens if a warlock has both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar?

The Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The Grasp of Hadar ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a warlock use Eldritch Smite in an antimagic field?

The warlock's Eldritch Smite eldritch invocation (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 56) states: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation grant a +1 to magical pact weapons that don't already have a +X bonus?

In the text for the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57), it says: In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that ...
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Do the Warlock's Pact of the Tome cantrips need their material components?

I want to create a celestial warlock and I want to have Shillelagh as one of my Pact of the Tome cantrips. I also wanted wooden staff as an arcane focus so I can use melee and free up my other hand. ...