Questions tagged [warlock]

For questions about the warlock, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through deals with supernatural forces. (See also the [eldritch-invocations] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
5answers
10k views

How can our warlock use the Staff of Defense?

Our party recently acquired a staff of defense. Apart from the AC bonus, it also lets you: With the staff in hand, you can use your action to cast one of the following spells from the staff if the ...
11
votes
2answers
22k views

How do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior and Pact of the Blade features interact for two-handed weapons?

In the description of the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior class feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55), it states that you can bond with a weapon that lacks the two-handed property. In the ...
11
votes
1answer
6k views

Why would I choose anything other than a Greataxe as my Warlock Pact weapon?

In the PHB p.107 on Pact of the Blade boon it is stated: You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it (see chapter 5 for weapon options). You are proficient with ...
11
votes
2answers
5k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
11
votes
3answers
888 views

Can a half-fiend be a patron for a warlock?

I'm about to start running a campaign and one of my players wants to start as a wizard and multiclass warlock as well. I had already started creating a fairly powerful half-fiend (originally to be a ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a Pact of the Blade Warlock proficient with all weapons of the same kind as their wielded pact weapon?

According to the Warlock class, the Pact of the Blade Pact Boon feature allows a Warlock to use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee ...
11
votes
6answers
64k views

How can I build a Celestial Warlock as a primary healer?

This will be my first time playing a Warlock class and I built a concept that resulted in an Aasimar Celestial Warlock. The party has plenty of potential healers but none with a class that focuses on ...
11
votes
4answers
77k views

How does the warlock's Devil's Sight eldritch invocation work?

The Warlock Invocation Devil's Sight (PHB p108) is described like this: You can see normally in darkness, both magical and nonmagical, to a distance of 120 feet. How should this be interpreted, ...
11
votes
2answers
8k views

Would it be game breaking to allow a Warlock to use his Mystic Arcanum to cast his spells at a higher level?

I'm looking for ways to make the Warlock feel more flexible with his castings, and I like this solution, especially since it's limited by how few spellslots Warlocks have of higher level spells (...
11
votes
2answers
5k views

Do the Warlock's Pact of the Tome cantrips need their material components?

I want to create a celestial warlock and I want to have Shillelagh as one of my Pact of the Tome cantrips. I also wanted wooden staff as an arcane focus so I can use melee and free up my other hand. ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I cast Darkness on my imp familiar?

This is actually a three-part question: As a level 5 Tiefling Pact of the Chain Warlock, can I cast my Darkness spell on my Imp familiar? If yes, once cast, would my Darkness spell be ended if my imp ...
11
votes
3answers
4k views

Does “Spare the Dying” eat up a Warlock cantrip slot?

The Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, for the Undying Otherworldly (Warlock) Patron, on page 139 explicitly says Starting at 1st level, you learn the Spare the Dying cantrip, which counts as a ...
11
votes
2answers
7k views

Can a Warlock take an Eldritch Invocation twice?

When I reach 2nd-level on my Warlock, I gain two Invocations of my choice. I can't choose both to be Agonizing Blast, can I? Or say this is possible, would this then cause two separate instance of ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Are there rules to make my own warlock pact?

I know there are 3 pacts: blade, tome, and chain, but are there any rules/ guidelines to make one that's none of the above?
11
votes
1answer
6k views

Do you roll an extra damage die for Hex if you crit with one beam of Eldritch Blast?

Eldritch blast (PHB, pg. 237) says: [...] Make a ranged spell attack against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 force damage. The spell creates more than one beam when you reach higher ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a ritual caster learn weapon bond

I couldn't find an answer to my during a search so I thought I would pose it here. While peering through the eldritch knight subclass I read the following description for weapon bond (emphasis mine): ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Switching to Improved Pact Weapon at level 3

My player (Warlock lvl 3. Hexblade, Pact of the Blade) and I are in a discussion about switching Invocations. He wishes to, now that he's went from level 2 to level 3, switch to 'Improved Pact ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Does damage from Armor of Agathys take place before or after a character takes damage from an attack that hits?

Suppose I cast Armor of Agathys at level 2 as a Warlock, which will provide +10 temporary hit points. If an attacker hits with a melee attack and deals 11 damage, does the attacker take the 10 damage ...
11
votes
1answer
5k views

Do the new UA Pact of the Tome invocations, Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors, overlap with one another?

With the release of the new UA Class Feature Variants, do the Eldritch Invocations Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors use the same 5 names as a base, or are the names separate for each Invocation? ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Dissonant Whispers and Misty Escape: Which reaction effect happens?

The effect of the warlock's Misty Escape feature is that when the warlock takes damage she can use her reaction to teleport away to a location of her choosing within range. The effect of failing a ...
11
votes
2answers
11k views

How do I interpret the Warlock spell table? [duplicate]

Can somebody explain the Warlock spell table for me? Maybe I'm just slow, but I don't understand it. I've played Wizards before and the Wizard spell slot table was simple to get: at 1st level you get ...
11
votes
2answers
892 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Dark Arts Archlich warlock patrons's Arcane Invisibility activate every time you cast a level 1+ spell?

The Dark Arts Archlich Patron for Warlock says that: Arcane Invisibility At 1st level, when you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher, you and all that you are wearing or carrying ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a mute warlock make normal use of the Voice of the Chain Master class feature?

Consider a Warlock with The Great Old One patron and Pact of the Chain, who is mute because his tongue has been removed. He communicates with most characters through Awakened Mind, granted by the ...
11
votes
2answers
18k views

Changing elements for spells

I think I remember in an older version of D&D allowing you to change a fire spell into a cold-based spell, or vice versa. In 5E, is there any way to allow you to alter say a Scorching Ray into a ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Can the weapon summoned via a Warlock's Pact of the Blade be pre-silvered when summoned?

Would it be possible to manifest a weapon that has either the Silvered or the Adamantine property? Per the description of Pact of the Blade: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your ...
11
votes
2answers
6k views

Is the target aware of the source of telepathy via Awakened Mind?

If a warlock uses their Awakened Mind feature and communicates with someone, does the target inherently understand the source of the communication? Is there some sort of give-away (ex: all your mind-...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

Does the warlock's Gift of the Ever-Living Ones eldritch invocation change how the Vampiric Touch spell behaves?

The warlock's Gift of the Ever-Living Ones (XGtE p. 57) eldritch invocation is described as follows: Whenever you regain hit points while your familiar is within 100 feet of you, treat any dice ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Is the Warlock's Hexblade Curse unaffected by an Antimagic Field?

The Hexblade Warlock has the ability to convey a curse on a target with the Hexblade's Curse feature (XGtE, p. 55): Starting at 1st level, as a bonus action, choose one creature you can see within 30 ...
11
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a Warlock maintain Hex outside of combat?

Hex states: "If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature." The spell has a minimum duration of "...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a Book of Shadows be used as regular book?

A bit of a noob question about the Warlock's Pact of the Tome: Can the Book of Shadows be used as a regular book? Does it have blank pages one can write on for miscellaneous notes or drawings, maybe? ...
11
votes
3answers
17k views

Improved Pact Weapon spell attack + damage

From Xanathar's Guide to Everything the warlock invocation Improved Pact Weapon allows you to use a pact weapon as a focus for Warlock spells. It also makes your Pact Weapon +1. The DMG under +1 ...
11
votes
3answers
11k views

Can a warlock choose a lower-level spell upcast at a higher level for their Mystic Arcanum class feature?

A player asked me if they could use their 17th-level Mystic Arcanum (Warlock class feature) to select the 6th-level spell "Mass Suggestion" cast at 9th level (to always make the suggestion last a year ...
11
votes
2answers
596 views

What archfey exist in Eberron lore that would make a suitable warlock patron?

I'm planning on making an Archfey warlock for an upcoming Eberron game. To flesh out my character's backstory, I want to know more about what kind of "fey" entities such a warlock might form ...
11
votes
2answers
520 views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
11
votes
5answers
5k views

What restrictions exist for the Warlock Shadow Walk power?

D&D 4's Warlock power Shadow Walk states the following (text copied from the D&D Compendium): On your turn, if you move at least 3 squares away from where you started your turn, you gain ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

How can I balance practical spells with RP spells?

I'm playing a warlock in our DnD 5e campaign. Near as I can tell, this is sort of specific to warlocks because they have so few spells known (correct me if I am wrong). Either way, I still have a ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Can two repelling blasts from opposite directions deal extra damage by crushing the target?

There are two Warlock twins, Boris and Doris, who have made a deal with a celestial entity to cleanse the evil from the world. In one of the catacombs they are exploring they encounter a skeleton. ...
10
votes
2answers
11k views

How many Pact Weapons can a Blade Pact Warlock create?

The question is relatively simple and I have searched far and wide for an official ruling or good answer: How many Pact Weapons can a Warlock create (have out) at the same time? The RAW says: You ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Warlock Spell slot level interact with the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything?

I have a warlock tiefling for which I am considering to choose the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything. This will get me 2 sorcery points to spend. Looking at the sorcery point ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Do the Pact of the Blade warlock's Eldritch Smite and Lifedrinker eldritch invocations work with ranged pact weapons?

It is possible for a Pact of the Blade warlock to have a ranged weapon as a pact weapon. The description of the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57) includes the following: ...
10
votes
2answers
37k views

How can I cast spells as a Hexblade Warlock while using a sword and shield?

I'm building a Hexblade Warlock from level one. This pretty much requires you to have a sword and shield. How is it possible for me to cast my spells without my hands open?
10
votes
2answers
10k views

Does Mystic Arcanum take up a spells known slot?

For levels where you get a new mystic arcanum, the warlock leveling table also shows that you get one more spell known. Are they the same spell, or is the spell you get from mystic arcanum a different ...
10
votes
2answers
38k views

How often can a Warlock update his spells list?

The PHB states: Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and replace it with another spell from the warlock spell list Does that mean ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a warlock use Eldritch Smite in an antimagic field?

The warlock's Eldritch Smite eldritch invocation (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 56) states: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation grant a +1 to magical pact weapons that don't already have a +X bonus?

In the text for the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57), it says: In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already ...
10
votes
1answer
6k views

Does the Warlock's Expanded Spell List from their patron only add it to their list of options, not their spells known?

Expanded Spell List The Fiend lets you choose from an expanded list of spells when you learn a warlock spell. The following spells are added to the warlock spell list for you. Should this mean, ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use an unattuned magic weapon (that requires attunement) as a Warlock pact weapon?

I was reading a recent question about Warlock Pact Weapons and Attunement, and it got me thinking. The answers there indicate "A Magic Weapon that is also a Pact Weapon still requires attunement." ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

Does the Voice of the Chain Master invocation allow me to see through my familiar's senses without using an action?

After reading this Sorlock guide and a further discussion in the comments about this topic, it's still unclear to me if the Voice of the Chain Master invocation lifts the requirement of spending an ...

1
3 4
5
6 7
15