Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Equipment usable by characters to cause damage to other characters or creatures.

1
vote
1answer
71 views

Which monsters have immunity or resistance to non-silvered non-magical weapons?

The Player's Handbook (p. 148) (and the Basic Rules) state about silvered weapons: Some monsters that have immunity or resistance to nonmagical weapons are susceptible to silver weapons [...] ...
1
vote
1answer
90 views

elemental damage on/of weapon [on hold]

Does the elemental damage of a weapon replace or add to the damage of a weapon? I'm toying with the idea of making a magical quaterstaff with lightning damage for instance, which can be toggled on and ...
5
votes
3answers
200 views

Does Dual Wielding count as two attacks, therefore two actions?

I’m not sure if two weapon fighting and duel wielding are the same thing. I’m very new, like first game new. What I’m wondering is: if I have the Dual Wielding Feature, do I make two separate weapon ...
3
votes
1answer
156 views

Does a Flame Tongue sword stay ablaze if you unattune to it while still holding it?

A Flame Tongue sword is a magic item that requires attunement. You can use a bonus action to speak this magic sword's command word, causing flames to erupt from the blade. These flames shed bright ...
2
votes
1answer
75 views

Hammer of Moradin - Hammer return and additional attacks

What kind of magic enchantment would make my war hammer return immediately before my next attack so I can make four ranged attacks? Few details: I would like to have my character (22 lvl multi class ...
9
votes
2answers
551 views

How do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior and Pact of the Blade features interact for two-handed weapons?

In the description of the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior class feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55), it states that you can bond with a weapon that lacks the two-handed property. In the ...
7
votes
3answers
915 views

Can a Hexblade warlock choose a lance for his Hex Warrior weapon?

The lance description says: a lance requires two hands to wield when you aren't mounted. Note that the lance lacks the two handed property but still need 2 hands to wield. The Hexblade warlock's ...
8
votes
1answer
200 views

Where is weapon damage stated?

So I've read from multiple sources that weapon damage in the original D&D booklets is 1d6 regardless of weapon. However, reading through the books, I can't find reference to weapon damage at all. ...
6
votes
3answers
408 views

Is there a way to add or remove a weapon property from an existing weapon?

Can a weapon's properties be modified in any way? For example, a Maul is "Heavy" and "Two-Handed". Are there any rules which govern the adding a property (Such as "Reach") or removing a property (like ...
8
votes
5answers
1k views

Is this Onyx Spear homebrew magic weapon overpowered for a low-level (3-5) character?

I'm building a unique weapon that can be looted off a boss creature in a very early portion of my campaign (expected for characters level 3-5), and I want to ensure that I can fairly hand it out to ...
6
votes
1answer
159 views

Can you make a non-monk weapon into a monk weapon?

Are there any feats, archetypes or similar in Pathfinder that allow you to treat a non-monk weapon as a monk weapon?
5
votes
1answer
190 views

Blood Hunter Weapon Bond Question

Because I've read that blood hunters form a bond with their weapon, allowing them to harness the elements in a whirlwind of dangerous strikes. Is this bond just a ritual-type thing and that's it? Or ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a cleric wield a shield and spear?

I'm looking for a way to get out of the typical classic "warhammer/shield cleric" and just want to swap it with spear/shield. What I mean is a spear in my right hand and shield in the left, pretty ...
5
votes
3answers
305 views

Can you draw/sheathe a weapon while Dashing?

In the Player's Handbook (PHB), the rules for taking the Dash action read: When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after ...
24
votes
5answers
3k views

Handing a weapon to another player during combat

The players in my game recently came across a fairly powerful magic sword as the first magic item they found. Shortly after that, they wound up in a boss fight. The players came up with the ...
9
votes
1answer
766 views

Does nonmagical ammunition fired with silvered bow overcome resistance?

From this question, I have another question. Silvered weapon is not magical, it is only considered magical to overcome resistance, thus ammunition fired from a silvered bow/crossbow cannot overcome ...
11
votes
4answers
913 views

What is the reason for the difference between weapon damage between character and monster opponents?

In an encounter (Wyvern Tor) my character is wielding a two handed greataxe which deals 1d12 damage. My Orc opponent was wielding the same weapon but its damage output was 2d12+6, making it much more ...
2
votes
1answer
223 views

If I use the Oathbow on targets other than my sworn enemy, do I have disadvantage on the attack?

The Oathbow (DMG, p. 183) allows you to declare one enemy as your sworn enemy until the next dawn, and its description adds: While your sworn enemy lives, you have disadvantage on attack rolls with ...
10
votes
2answers
908 views

Does Flame Blade count as a weapon for Green-Flame Blade?

The description for the green-flame blade spell (SCAG, p. 143) says: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell'...
2
votes
2answers
314 views

What weapons were exotic weapons in 3.5e but are now martial weapons in 5e?

With the release of the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron came the double-bladed scimitar. From players of 3.5, I've heard there were more double-bladed weapons such as axes and swords, along with dire ...
14
votes
2answers
604 views

Does a sentient weapon polymorphed into a creature retain the sentience's personality/alignment?

Consider the spell true polymorph. If you turn a creature into a creature, the new creature retains its alignment and personality. If you turn an object into a creature The creature is ...
2
votes
0answers
76 views

Does the Oathbow count as a magical source of damage? [duplicate]

Does the Oathbow count as a magical source of damage to bypass resistance/immunity to nonmagical attacks? While it is in the Magic Items section of the DMG, it does not actually state that it is a ...
5
votes
2answers
586 views

Can the Oathbow's Sworn Enemy feature outlast the attunement?

Consider the Oathbow: Requires Attunement [...] When you use this weapon to make a ranged attack, you can, as a command phrase, say, "Swift death to you who have wronged me." The target ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible to use a weapon as a normal weapon and an arcane focus at the same time?

I am relatively new to D&D, and am currently creating my very first PC, a Tiefling Sorcerer with a Draconic Origin. As I was working on my weapons and items, I got into what an arcane focus is and ...
14
votes
1answer
832 views

Do traps deal weapon damage?

This is mostly for the sake of blade ward, and other effects, that state: You have resistance against bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage dealt by weapons. However, traps may include things ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there ways other than Kensei Weapons or Hex Warrior to use an ability other than STR for non-finesse melee weapons?

Usually melee weapons (without the finesse property) use the character's STR modifier exclusively for attack rolls and damage. I am aware of two exceptions: The Monk (Path of the Kensei) gains the ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there a way or feat to give a weapon the finesse property?

Are there rules that describe how to give certain weapons the finesse property?
6
votes
2answers
645 views

Can the Rod of Pact Keeper +1 be selected as a pact weapon by a Pact of the Blade warlock?

Can the Rod of the Pact Keeper +1 (DMG p. 197) be chosen as a pact weapon by a Pact of the Blade warlock?
13
votes
2answers
2k views

What are the benefits of using a lance in 5e?

Can the benefits from dueling/great weapon fighting styles apply when using a lance while mounted/unmounted respectively? Are Lances a DEX or STR weapon in 5e? What other perks are provided by ...
6
votes
1answer
103 views

Does Precision Damage apply to Harpoons?

Frostburn p.76 introduces the harpoon as an exotic ranged weapon. It has some special rules attached to it. If it deals damage, the harpoon lodges in an opponent who fails a Reflex saving throw (...
4
votes
1answer
58 views

High capacity batteries

It mentions on page 168 that lower capacity batteries still work in more powerful weapons so long as they have enough charges. The rules appear to be mute on whether you can purchase a better battery ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

What are weapon damage dice?

Following discussion here, what constitutes a weapon damage die? Is it any damage die dealt by the weapon? For example, consider a Flame Tongue longsword. While the sword is ablaze, it deals an ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a Barbarian choose which weapon die to add for his Brutal Critical?

Our Barbarian has a Flame Tongue longsword. While the sword is ablaze, it deals an extra 2d6 fire damage to any target it hits. When the Barbarian crits, he doubles all the weapons damage dice, ...
4
votes
4answers
681 views

Is a weapon that grants additional attacks overpowered or exploitable?

I'm bringing a metal into my campaign that's light and strong (think aluminium/titanium) so attacks with weapons made from it end up being faster. Would allowing a second attack on a miss once per ...
37
votes
7answers
8k views

Can weapons get better?

I'm currently running my first D&D 5e campaign. Everybody at the table is new to the game as well, so nobody can really answer the question. While preparing for the game I was reading through the ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you dual wield two hand crossbows? [duplicate]

I have a player (who is a Bard/Rogue) who wants to fire both weapons but while I'm not seeing any rules against it I'm consulting for additional opinions. Is there anything to consider when doing ...
9
votes
6answers
1k views

How to combine melee combat with Material components for spells?

I'm having trouble understanding the action economy of joining "melee combat" with "spellcasting". Jon is a Hexblade warlock (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 55) that likes using his Pact of the ...
1
vote
1answer
178 views

Using a large dwarven waraxe as a medium creature

This question is complicated and is asking about manipulating the rules as written (RAW). RAW states that using a weapon that is not of your size category incurs a cumulative −2 attack penalty ...
0
votes
0answers
84 views

Is it possible to hold both a longsword and a polearm to take advantage of both Attack of Opportunity ranges? [duplicate]

The proposed tactic requires that you hold both a polearm and a longsword at once, particularly when your turn ends. A creature triggers an attack of opportunity against you by moving outside of your ...
6
votes
2answers
881 views

Would it be unbalancing to have this kind of spiked warhammer in Pathfinder?

The weapons I, as a GM, would like to include are warhammers (both a one and a two handed weapon) in the spike and flat, or often crenelated, style that real 14th century medieval hammers used, ...
6
votes
4answers
101 views

Weapon Combat Bonus Stacking

I apologize ahead of time for this question. But it came up in tonight's session. Lets say that you have a Helm of Brilliance, and a Longsword +4. The helm states that if you use its ability to ...
2
votes
1answer
307 views

What happens if my armor/weapon proficiencies from my race and class overlap? [duplicate]

I'm a new D&D 5e player and I'm making a character using both the players handbook and the new Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes book. I was wanting to create a Githyanki Fighter. I noticed that the ...
5
votes
1answer
110 views

Can a Master of Unseen Hand wield oversized weapons with telekinesis? And would he have the -4 on the attack?

I'm planning a MoUH as dungeon boss for my campaign and I was figuring out this kickass fling mage in a black cloak that has at first a huge object hidden in straps on his back. Suddenly he levitates ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Is this homebrew whip blade balanced?

One of my players has asked if he can have his character use a whip blade (i.e., a sword that transforms into a whiplike chain to deal damage at a distance). See here for a picture. Based on my ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens when I attack with an unidentified magic weapon?

What happens when I attack with an unidentified magic weapon? Assume I am proficient with the weapon, am capable of wielding it, and that the weapon does not require attunement. Related: Do you have ...
8
votes
2answers
670 views

Would being able to apply Great Weapon Master twice be a problem?

Great Weapon Master grants the option to take a -5 to your attack roll in order to get a +10 bonus to damage. Due to bounded accuracy, that's a pretty big hit on your chances that's not easy to ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Wielding a Hand Crossbow and a Rapier with Crossbow Expert Feat while dropping & picking up the Rapier

I am trying to see if I am breaking any rules of D&D 5e here. I am a Swashbuckler Rogue (possibly irrelevant). I am wielding a hand crossbow and a rapier in each hand, with the Crossbow Expert ...
8
votes
3answers
976 views

Is a dose of poison on a weapon used up if the target is immune to poison?

The archer in our group was low on arrows, so he switched over to his poisoned ones. I told him the poison would not affect the undead, so they were essentially shot as normal arrows. After the fight ...
0
votes
0answers
71 views

Do fighters have proficiency with ranged weapons? [duplicate]

I'm playing a fighter and when I looked at the proficiencies, it said proficiency with all simple and martial weapons, does that or does that not include ranged simple and martial weapons?
4
votes
2answers
530 views

Does the Flame Arrows spell work on magical ammunition?

I am making a ranger NPC for a session and I have never played with a high level bow user before. In D&D 5e, does a +3 longbow with+3 Arrows and the ranger spell flame arrows, stack at once for ...